1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

CeBIT 2009: Jetway P55 Offering

Discussion in 'News' started by Darksaber, Mar 4, 2009.

  1. Darksaber

    Darksaber W1zzard's Sidekick Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2005
    Messages:
    2,697 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    992
    Location:
    Gmunden, Austria
    [​IMG]
    There are several manufacturers showing off P55 based boards at CeBIT. We have posted some of the boards which were mentioned at other websites, but Jetway is also throwing their offering into the pool. The board uses bright colored slots on a black PCB. There is an unknown slot next to the memory modules - named CNF 1. The board features 14 USB 2.0, 7 SATA, 1 eSATA, two PCI x16 slots for GPUs and a third named "HD Display slot".

    Source: Jetway
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 7, 2009
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. sapetto

    sapetto

    Joined:
    May 17, 2008
    Messages:
    409 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    47
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    HD display slot :confused:
     
  3. human_error

    human_error

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,862 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    630
    Is it me or do the heatsinks around the cpu area a cheap-looking rip-off of the asus rampage II's heatsinks...I'm also not liking the looong heatpipt to the southbridge - do they really need to be connected, it just looks cheap to me, would be better if both cooling solutions weren't linked...

    I also assume that the dual x16 pci-e slots have to run in x8 x8 mode with 2 graphics cards as doesn't lynnfield only have (approx) x16 available? or have i remembered that wrong?

    **edit**

    also thinking about it that board doesn't have any video out, so maybe the hd video out is for an optional drop-in board that just provides the vga out if you have a lynnfield proc in with an integrated gpu.

    also looks like if you have a large graphics card in the top pcie slot you can't change the ram as the clips would be against the back of the card...
     
  4. ASharp New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2008
    Messages:
    225 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Toronto, ON, Canada
    Why does it look like there's a SODIMM slot on the right there? :wtf:
     
  5. human_error

    human_error

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,862 (0.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    630
    Intel turbo boost memory, i've seen another p55 based board that had a slot for turbo boost 2.0 memory (i assume that is for integrated gpu's on the cpu die and is faster than ddr3?)
     
  6. VIPER

    VIPER

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Messages:
    191 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    I cannot find the 7th SATA...
     
  7. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    I WILL NEVER BUY A JETWAY MOBO!!!! My friend bought one and only two ram slots where working! (there were 4):twitch:
     
  8. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    why is there a horse on the board? does it mean the board is full of horsepoo?
     
  9. VIPER

    VIPER

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2007
    Messages:
    191 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Does the horse on Ferrari means their cars are full of horse poo?

    Sorry for Off-topic...
     
  10. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (2.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    I wonder who wrote that on the motherboard and thought it was a good idea.
     
  11. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (2.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Happens with every motherboard manufacturer. For example this month I have seen a asus board with only two working ram slots, an p5q that didn't work at all and a p5n-t died. All asus but I stand by them because these things happen.
     
  12. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    The other friend also bought one but his is worse, only one works now...
     
  13. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (2.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Could be that jetway are bad but I've never had experience with them. I though asrock were bad because the three boards I had with them all died. Could have been a psu issue because back then I didn't think they were important.
     
  14. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    A magazine rated a board that was made by jetway 40%
     
  15. Apocolypse007

    Apocolypse007 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    615 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    New Sewickley, PA
    I don't like the spacing between PCIe slots.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    23,210 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,576
    Location:
    Houston
    jetway isn't bad because you had a friend that probably bought there cheapest mobo and had it die on them. go get a HA07 and tell me its crap all of the early WR's with P2 were made on that gem
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    well even cheap mobos shouldn't die so easily man!
     
  18. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (2.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Well you get what you pay for.

    I had 3 asrock boards that I got cheap and died so fast I hadn't even opened the boxes yet.
     
  19. cdawall

    cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    23,210 (6.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,576
    Location:
    Houston
    i have 3 they all work as does my Asrock
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  20. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,217 (1.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    667
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    better P55 cooler right now
     
  21. h3llb3nd4

    h3llb3nd4 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    307
    Location:
    Durban, South Africa
    as You should all know, most electronic stuff is manufactured in batches, and you might wonder how they test if they're in good condition...
    first they randomly pick a product from that batch,
    then they test it,
    If it works then that whole batch passes the test...
    Man, why don't they test every single product??(rhetorical question...)
     
  22. DanishDevil

    DanishDevil

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2005
    Messages:
    10,239 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,164
    Location:
    Granite Bay, CA
    I think it's supposed to be 6 SATA. It says so on the card to the right of the board.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)