1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

CF 3870's seem a little lacking in performance

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by kenkickr, Apr 18, 2008.

  1. kenkickr

    kenkickr

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2007
    Messages:
    5,002 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,737
    I received my Sapphire 3870 Wed and have been playing with it and after running 3dMark06 my score to me seems very lacking. Attached is my score with CPU-Z and GPU-Z running. Also I notice GPU-Z states cf is disabled even though in CCC Enable CrossfireX is checked.
     

    Attached Files:

    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. philbrown23

    philbrown23 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,231 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    147
    Location:
    vermont
    it's not enabled, the lowest I get with 2 hd3870's 14993 so something is not right
     
  3. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    23,250 (5.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,201
    Your processor is holding you back, is my guess.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  4. trog100

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    5,448 (1.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    619
    its the amd cpu.. my 6000+ at 3.350 gig scored 13000 in 2006 crossfire and 11000 with just one 3870 card.. at its default resolution the 2006 is cpu limited..

    crank up the resolution and bung in some AA and u will see some nice gains with two cards.. at the default resolution u wont..

    dont be mislead by intel users saying something is wrong they get more.. nothing is wrong.. except perhaps the amd cpu where default 2006 scores are concerned..

    still it makes a change from why is my phenom score so low..

    trog
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)