• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Change device ID of GT710

dutchy76

New Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2020
Messages
7 (0.22/day)
Hello!

I'm looking to change the device ID of a GT710 to that of a RTX 3080. To my knowledge the bios of the GT710 (MSI) is not signed, so it should be possible, however I am struggling getting nvflash to flash the bios to the card after changing the ID in NiBiTor to 2206. I use the patched version to allow the ID mismatch, and use the -6 flag, yet it is still failing because of the ID mismatch.

Am I working on a dead end?

Any help would be appreciated!
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
16,495 (3.08/day)
Location
Piteå
System Name Black MC in Tokyo
Processor Ryzen 5 2600x
Motherboard Asrock B450M-HDV
Cooling AMD Wraith Spire I think
Memory 2 x 8GB G-skill Aegis 3000 or somesuch
Video Card(s) Powercolor Radeon HD 7850 2GB
Storage Kingston A400 240GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2 | Toshiba P300 2TB
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case Antec dumpster find
Audio Device(s) Line6 UX1 + slightly repaired Sony DR-ZX302
Power Supply Fractal Design Effekt 400W
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Dell Sk3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores I once had +100 dorfs in DF, so yeah pretty great
You still won't get $5000 for it.
 

dutchy76

New Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2020
Messages
7 (0.22/day)
I know :) Not looking for the performance increase, or selling it. No ill intentions here
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
16,495 (3.08/day)
Location
Piteå
System Name Black MC in Tokyo
Processor Ryzen 5 2600x
Motherboard Asrock B450M-HDV
Cooling AMD Wraith Spire I think
Memory 2 x 8GB G-skill Aegis 3000 or somesuch
Video Card(s) Powercolor Radeon HD 7850 2GB
Storage Kingston A400 240GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2 | Toshiba P300 2TB
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case Antec dumpster find
Audio Device(s) Line6 UX1 + slightly repaired Sony DR-ZX302
Power Supply Fractal Design Effekt 400W
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Dell Sk3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores I once had +100 dorfs in DF, so yeah pretty great

dutchy76

New Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2020
Messages
7 (0.22/day)
I got a game code from a friend who purchased a RTX 3080, but received two different codes. The seller does not want this code back, so I'd like to try and activate it
 
Joined
May 12, 2006
Messages
1,218 (0.23/day)
Location
The Gulag Casino
System Name ROG By purecain
Processor AMD Ryzen 9 3900x @4.2-4.46
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair VIII Hero
Cooling Noctua NH U12A
Memory 32Gb G.Skill Trident RGB 4150@3600mhz
Video Card(s) Asus STRIX 3090 OC @?
Storage 1TbSamsung EvoM.2/1TbSamsung SSD/120gbKingston ssd
Display(s) 55"Sony Bravia X855 10bit 4K+HDR@60fps 2K+HDR@120fps IPS panel
Case Thermaltake CoreX71 Limited Edition Etched Tempered Glass Door
Audio Device(s) On board/NIcomplete audio 6
Power Supply Seasonic FOCUS 1000w 80+
Mouse Logitech MX MASTER
Keyboard Corsair Strafe Keyboard
Software Windows10pro
Benchmark Scores [url=https://valid.x86.fr/gtle1y][img]https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/gtle1y-6.png[/img][/url]
The code should just work. I'd be surprised if not.
 

Toothless

Tech, Games, and TPU!
Supporter
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
6,538 (2.72/day)
Location
Washington, USA
System Name Veraltet
Processor 3700x
Motherboard AsRock Taichi Ultimate x470
Cooling NH-D15 Chromax
Memory G.Skill 2x16GB 3200mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1080 Ti Gaming X
Storage 2 NVME + 4 HDD
Display(s) LG 34UB88-P + 2x AOC 2425W
Case CoolerMaster NR600
Audio Device(s) SteelSeries Arctis 5
Power Supply Rosewill Fortress 750w
Mouse Corsair Scimitar Pro
Keyboard Corsair K57
Software Windows 10 Professional
Benchmark Scores Brrrrrrr
The code should just work. I'd be surprised if not.
Codes are tied to the gpu model, or in my case with Xbox game pass the cpu. You can't get a code for a 3080 and have it work on a 710 or 3090 unless the code is for those cards.
 

dutchy76

New Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2020
Messages
7 (0.22/day)
Codes are tied to the gpu model, or in my case with Xbox game pass the cpu. You can't get a code for a 3080 and have it work on a 710 or 3090 unless the code is for those cards.
And that's why I want to trick it, by changing the device id. Though no luck yet
 

Toothless

Tech, Games, and TPU!
Supporter
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
6,538 (2.72/day)
Location
Washington, USA
System Name Veraltet
Processor 3700x
Motherboard AsRock Taichi Ultimate x470
Cooling NH-D15 Chromax
Memory G.Skill 2x16GB 3200mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1080 Ti Gaming X
Storage 2 NVME + 4 HDD
Display(s) LG 34UB88-P + 2x AOC 2425W
Case CoolerMaster NR600
Audio Device(s) SteelSeries Arctis 5
Power Supply Rosewill Fortress 750w
Mouse Corsair Scimitar Pro
Keyboard Corsair K57
Software Windows 10 Professional
Benchmark Scores Brrrrrrr
And that's why I want to trick it, by changing the device id. Though no luck yet
I really doubt you'll get it to work. There's too many people who are against it due to the amount of scammers on the market. I'd love to see someone make a 710 look like a 3080 physically with the heatsink fitting and all that and I get both sides. I really don't think this all is worth a code.
 

dutchy76

New Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2020
Messages
7 (0.22/day)
I really doubt you'll get it to work. There's too many people who are against it due to the amount of scammers on the market. I'd love to see someone make a 710 look like a 3080 physically with the heatsink fitting and all that and I get both sides. I really don't think this all is worth a code.
Yeah I get the other side too, for all you know I could be a scammer. So I think I'll have to do this one on my own haha.

And yeah it is likely not worth it, but I've not got anything better to do :)
 

Toothless

Tech, Games, and TPU!
Supporter
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
6,538 (2.72/day)
Location
Washington, USA
System Name Veraltet
Processor 3700x
Motherboard AsRock Taichi Ultimate x470
Cooling NH-D15 Chromax
Memory G.Skill 2x16GB 3200mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1080 Ti Gaming X
Storage 2 NVME + 4 HDD
Display(s) LG 34UB88-P + 2x AOC 2425W
Case CoolerMaster NR600
Audio Device(s) SteelSeries Arctis 5
Power Supply Rosewill Fortress 750w
Mouse Corsair Scimitar Pro
Keyboard Corsair K57
Software Windows 10 Professional
Benchmark Scores Brrrrrrr
Well, don't brick it. A 710 is still a good card for outputting a display. Sure it's old and weak but so are my HD7450 cards that I use for testing.
 

dutchy76

New Member
Joined
Sep 20, 2020
Messages
7 (0.22/day)
Well, don't brick it. A 710 is still a good card for outputting a display. Sure it's old and weak but so are my HD7450 cards that I use for testing.
I hope I wont :) I use(d) it as GPU when my servers have issues and I need a display output
 
Top