• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Change of CPU cooler -- Can't overclock anymore =S ?

Spacey

New Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2009
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Processor Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 2,4
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EP45-DS3R
Cooling Artic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
Memory Corsair XMS2 Xtreme TwinX DDR2 PC6400 CL5 2x1GB
Video Card(s) Radeon HD 4670
Case Antec Sonata III
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 500W
Software Windows XP SP3
Well.. I don't know if this is related but when I installed my new CPU cooler I had to use quite a bit of force and cunning(when the first failed) to get the clips to attach.

Anyhow before this I could reach 3,4 stabily and at least get 3,6 to boot into windows. Now when I try to alter the clock frequencies the first thing that happens is that the computers boots into windows with default freqs and when I reboot it it shuts off and then I hear the CPU turning on and off in an endless loop (you know the weird sound the cpu makes)..

So am I screwed? What's broken the CPU or mobo?
 

KBD

New Member
Joined
Feb 23, 2007
Messages
2,477 (0.52/day)
Location
The Rotten Big Apple
Processor Intel e8600 @ 4.9 Ghz
Motherboard DFI Lanparty DK X48-T2RSB Plus
Cooling Water
Memory 2GB (2 x 1GB) of Buffalo Firestix DDR2-1066
Video Card(s) MSI Radeon HD 4870 1GB OC (820/950) & tweaking
Storage 2x 74GB Velociraptors in RAID 0; 320 GB Barracuda 7200.10
Display(s) 22" Mitsubishi Diamond Pro 2070SB
Case Silverstone TJ09-BW
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Profesional
Power Supply Ultra X3 800W
Software Windows XP Pro w/ SP3
It seems that that could be your issue. If you have another CPU or board you can test those components in your system and find out.

Also,just to be certain, make sure all the connectors are plugged in all the way. Try to boot with 1 stick of RAM, video card, board and CPU and HDD and see if the issue still occurs. If it does you'll have to test with another board or CPU.
 
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
43,012 (8.58/day)
Processor i7 8700K
Motherboard Asus Maximus Hero X WiFi
Cooling Water
Memory 32GB G.Skill 3200Mhz CL14
Video Card(s) RX 5700 XT
Storage SSD's
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Lian Li PC 011 Dynamic
Audio Device(s) Yamaha AG03
Power Supply Corsair H1000i
Mouse PCMR Model O
Keyboard Razer BlackWidow Tournament Ed.
Software Windows 10 Enterprise
Make sure you didn't physically break your motherboard with the pressure from the cooler.
 
Joined
Aug 22, 2008
Messages
2,304 (0.54/day)
Location
Edmonton, Alberta
System Name AMD | Intel | Chumpy
Processor PHII 955BE Stock | i7 920 D0 4.01 GHz | i7 920 D0 4.01 GHz
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70 | EX58 - UD5 | E760 4 Way SLI
Cooling Zalman 9700 CNPS | Water Loop | Water Loop
Memory 4 GB XMS3 1600 MHz | 6 GB Dominators 1600 MHz | 6 GB Dominators 1866 MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x 9600GSO, GTX260 216 | 2 x GTX 260 216 | GTX 260 216, 9600 GSO
Storage WD 640GB | Couple o' 5400RPMs | WD 1TB
Case Cosmos S | Lancool K62 Dragonlord | Lian Li PC-P80 Armor
Power Supply TX850 | HX 1000 | HX 1000
Software Win 7 Home Premium | Win 7 Ultimate | Vista Home Premium
(when the first failed)

What kind of failure happened with the old cooler? It may have caused some damage overheating wise etc when it went if it was on under load at the time.
 

Spacey

New Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2009
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Processor Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 2,4
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EP45-DS3R
Cooling Artic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
Memory Corsair XMS2 Xtreme TwinX DDR2 PC6400 CL5 2x1GB
Video Card(s) Radeon HD 4670
Case Antec Sonata III
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 500W
Software Windows XP SP3
What kind of failure happened with the old cooler? It may have caused some damage overheating wise etc when it went if it was on under load at the time.
No I mean.. When forcefully trying to push down the cooler haha.

Anyhow, I can't see any physical damage and it seems stable under default clocks but I haven't put it under wprime yet but I'm assuming it's completely stable actually. But yeah I'll try to get a chance to try the CPU under another board.

Make sure you didn't physically break your motherboard with the pressure from the cooler.
Wouldn't that actually make the whole system unbootable?
 
Joined
Oct 16, 2006
Messages
2,573 (0.52/day)
Location
N.Ireland
Processor Core I5 4440 / 4430
Motherboard Asus z87-k / Gigabyte ga h97- d3h
Cooling Arctic freezer / Generic
Memory 8 gb Mushkin / Various
Video Card(s) Radeon 7850 cf / Gtx 690
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250 gb / 2x1 terabyte hdds Wd 256 gb nvme
Display(s) Technika 32" / Asus 24` ips
Case Corsair
Audio Device(s) X-fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair 850 w
Software Windows 10
Could be just a worse cooler. What makes were the coolers ?
 

Spacey

New Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2009
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Processor Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 2,4
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EP45-DS3R
Cooling Artic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
Memory Corsair XMS2 Xtreme TwinX DDR2 PC6400 CL5 2x1GB
Video Card(s) Radeon HD 4670
Case Antec Sonata III
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 500W
Software Windows XP SP3
Make sure you didn't physically break your motherboard with the pressure from the cooler.
Could be just a worse cooler. What makes were the coolers ?
Idle temps are lower now than before, haven't takena look at load temperatures but I assume the same.
 
Joined
Aug 26, 2008
Messages
639 (0.15/day)
Location
Fresno, CA
System Name MFCJA
Processor Intel 4770k
Motherboard MSI Z87-G45
Cooling Intel Liquid Cooler
Memory Corsair DDR3 4X4GB
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 770
Storage 120GB SSD/1TB
Display(s) 23" Acer H233H
Case Corsair Mid Tower
Power Supply Corsair TX850M
Software Windows 7 64 bit
Could be just a worse cooler. What makes were the coolers ?
I doubt the cooler would affect how the BIOS conducts itself. Even with a terrible cooler, you should be able to boot with overclocked settings. It sounds more like a problem with your mobo/cpu.
 
Joined
Aug 26, 2008
Messages
639 (0.15/day)
Location
Fresno, CA
System Name MFCJA
Processor Intel 4770k
Motherboard MSI Z87-G45
Cooling Intel Liquid Cooler
Memory Corsair DDR3 4X4GB
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 770
Storage 120GB SSD/1TB
Display(s) 23" Acer H233H
Case Corsair Mid Tower
Power Supply Corsair TX850M
Software Windows 7 64 bit
Idle temps are lower now than before, haven't takena look at load temperatures but I assume the same.
Well that's good. At least we know it's not your cooler.
 

at0msk

New Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2008
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
WELL

I took the processor out of my DELL laptop to clean out the heatsink and apply new thermal compound and when I hooked everything back up the laptop could no longer see my desktop on the network (the only two, and both are in the same workgroup (nothing's changed about the desktop or the way the laptop connects to the network)).

Now the two cannot see each other but they can both see the router. My conclusion is that computers are just stupid.
 

spearman914

New Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2008
Messages
3,338 (0.76/day)
Location
Brooklyn, New York 11223
System Name Mine | Dad + Mom
Processor E8500 E0 Wolfdale @ 4.6GHz 1.5V | E2180 M0 Allendale @ 3.0GHz 1.3V
Motherboard Asus Maximus Formula (X48) w/ Rampage BIOS | Asus P5Q Pro (P45)
Cooling Xigmatek Rifle HDT-S1283 w/ SFF21F Fan | Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
Memory G.Skill Pi Black 2x2GB 1.02GHz CL5 | OCZ Reaper 2x2GB 1.05GHz CL5
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4870X2 2GB 820/1020MHz | Sapphire 4850 1GB 700/1100MHz
Storage WD VR 150GB 10K RPM + WD 500GB 7.2K RPM | WD 200GB 7.2K RPM
Display(s) Acer P243WAID 24" 1920x1200 LCD | Acer V193W 19" 1440x900 LCD
Case Cooler Master HAF 932 Full-Tower | Antec Twelve Hundred Mid-Tower
Audio Device(s) Fatal1ty Xtreme Gamer w/ Z-5500 5.1 | On-Board Audio w/ S-220 2.1
Power Supply PC Power and Cooling 750W Non-Modular | Corsair HX-520W Modular
Software Windows Vista Home Premium X64 | Windows Vista Home Premium X64
Benchmark Scores Not Wasting Time!
It seems like the mobo is not detecting the HSF is seated or there at all. make sure all screws/pins are correctly inserted and so are plugs, you can ask for a replacement if nothing works out.
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2006
Messages
1,745 (0.34/day)
Location
The Nevada Wasteland
System Name 9th Level
Processor AMD Phenom II 940 BE @3.4Ghz
Motherboard GIGABYTE MA790FX-UD5P
Cooling Corsair H100, x2 250mm, x1 140mm, x3 120mm fans.
Memory 8GB Patriot DDR2
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX480 (800/1600/2000/@1.0v)
Storage x1 80GB, x2 1TB.
Display(s) Acer 24" 2ms 1920x1200
Case HAF 932
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Fatal1ty Xtreme gamer 64mb Xram
Power Supply Corsair HX850W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Well.. I don't know if this is related but when I installed my new CPU cooler I had to use quite a bit of force and cunning(when the first failed) to get the clips to attach.

Anyhow before this I could reach 3,4 stabily and at least get 3,6 to boot into windows. Now when I try to alter the clock frequencies the first thing that happens is that the computers boots into windows with default freqs and when I reboot it it shuts off and then I hear the CPU turning on and off in an endless loop (you know the weird sound the cpu makes)..

So am I screwed? What's broken the CPU or mobo?
The CPU makes a sound?:confused::wtf:
 

Spacey

New Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2009
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Processor Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 2,4
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EP45-DS3R
Cooling Artic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
Memory Corsair XMS2 Xtreme TwinX DDR2 PC6400 CL5 2x1GB
Video Card(s) Radeon HD 4670
Case Antec Sonata III
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 500W
Software Windows XP SP3
It seems like the mobo is not detecting the HSF is seated or there at all. make sure all screws/pins are correctly inserted and so are plugs, you can ask for a replacement if nothing works out.
Yes I have no idea how the board can detect if the HSF is clipped on correctly but apparently this was what was causing the mysterious reboot loops. A small clip in the right corner that wasn't clipped on completely.

Anyhow.. I can't seem to boot into BIOS anymore though, as soon as I attempt it the computer reboots, it boots fine into windows though, I'd rather not clear CMOS since on my model I have to remove the battery. Any ideas? :banghead:
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2008
Messages
2,878 (0.67/day)
Location
South Carolina
System Name KILLER
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K
Motherboard MSI Z87 G45 Gaming
Cooling Water Cooling
Memory 2x8GB Gskill 2400mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 980
Storage SSD Samsung 500GB
Display(s) 24" Asus 144hz
Case Cooler Master HAF
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Platinum
Power Supply Antec 1200 Watt Modular
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Vantage 51342
Much as it sucks thats exactly what you need to do is reset the cmos!!
 

philbrown23

New Member
Joined
Dec 22, 2007
Messages
1,229 (0.27/day)
Location
vermont
System Name Dominator
Processor INTEL C2Q Q6600 FTW!!
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-E!!!
Cooling TEC cooled cpu, everything else is under water :D
Memory 4GB CELL SHOCK D9GMH 1066MHZ/4GB CRUCIAL REDS
Video Card(s) 4850 (VT)/ 4850 IN CROSSFIRE!
Storage western digital= 1X 250GB, 1X 500GB, IDE 160GB (BOOT DRIVE ONLY). SEAGATE FREE AGENT 500GB EHDD
Display(s) viewsonic 19" hd widescreen
Case ROCKETFISH FOR NOW :(
Audio Device(s) ONBOARD WORKS JUST FINE FOR ME :p
Power Supply ULTRA X3 1KW MODULAR
Software win vista ultimate 64 TWEAKED!!!
Benchmark Scores http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc.php?id=434759 3dm06: http://service.futuremark.com/compare?3dm0
is the motherboard bowed?? if you need to physically force the cooler on like that its not done right or something. I would say take it off lap i for a good 30 minutes then put it back on if your motherboard is bowed it will affect overclocking
 

Spacey

New Member
Joined
Jan 27, 2009
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Processor Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 2,4
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EP45-DS3R
Cooling Artic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro
Memory Corsair XMS2 Xtreme TwinX DDR2 PC6400 CL5 2x1GB
Video Card(s) Radeon HD 4670
Case Antec Sonata III
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 500W
Software Windows XP SP3
is the motherboard bowed?? if you need to physically force the cooler on like that its not done right or something. I would say take it off lap i for a good 30 minutes then put it back on if your motherboard is bowed it will affect overclocking
Don't think it became that bowed since I applied pretty much equal pressure to it.

Anyhow somehow I managed to start booting into BIOS against without clearing CMOS :confused:. I'm hitting 3,2 stable but I used to be able to do 3,6 on auto.. So I dunno if I've screwed the mobo somehow.

On the weird side it might have something to do with that my EasyTune6 is reporting that no voltages are changed (even vcore that I set to a fixed value) but still I'm running Windows 7 might just be EasyTune not giving me the right values.
 
Top