• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Change the start button picture AKA How to screw Windows up: The Complicated Way

Joined
Feb 18, 2010
Messages
1,715 (0.60/day)
Likes
408
System Name Eldritch
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1500X
Motherboard MSI B350 PC Mate
Cooling Satan's butthole after going to Taco Bell
Memory 16 GB G.Skill Flare X
Video Card(s) nVidia (Gigabyte) GT 740 2GB
Storage 80 GB IBM, 2 TB WD Green
Display(s) Dell 2007WFP
Software Debian Buster
#1
This should (in theory) change the start button, but here goes anyways. I did (or didn't, whatever you want to call it) do this on Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit.

Step 1: Get artsy
Make a sweet picture of a nuclear trefoil from the Duke Nukem website.

Step 2: Rambo, I choose you!
Grab ResEdit x64, attempt to assume control of C:\Windows, and Explorer.exe - I apparently had trouble doing this right. Plan B: Copy Explorer.exe elsewhere.

Step 3: Take the safety off
Open new Explorer.exe with ResEdit, delete pictures 6801, 6805, and 6809, add the sweet trefoil 3 times (interesting...), rename one picture to 6801, the next to 6805, the last to 6809 (making sure that each of them are "English (United States)"). Save. Don't attempt to run the new Explorer.exe to see if it works.

Step 4: Pop a few shots
Attempt to write over the original Explorer.exe.

Step 5: Miss
Windows says I have to get permission to do that.

Step 6: Grab a bigger gun
Pop into Linux, teach Windows a thing or two.

Step 7: Complain about the giant hole in your forehead
Start Windows, around this time you should be greeted by a black screen and a message that says that Explorer.exe has crashed; if not, you are unlucky :)

Step 8: Grab a band-aid
Curse like a sailor. Pop back into Linux, notice that there are Explorer.exe.1 and Explorer.exe.2 in the Windows folder. Delete FUBARed Explorer.exe, rename Explorer.exe.2 to Explorer.exe.

All in all, nothing was lost. If anybody knows how to do it correctly, do tell.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 13, 2007
Messages
854 (0.22/day)
Likes
46
Location
Eastern Tennessee
System Name Firebird
Processor Ryzen 7 1700X
Motherboard MSI X370 Titanium
Cooling Tt Water2.0 PRO (They use the same bracket as 3.0)
Memory G.Skill TridentZ 2x8GB 3200 15-15-15-35 B-Die (@3333 ATM)
Video Card(s) ASUS STRIX R9 390 8GB
Storage Too many. Samsung 750GB, 120GB 850 EVO, Seagate 1TB, Toshiba 1TB, OCZ 32GB Cache Drive
Display(s) Samsung 46" UN46D6050 1080P HDTV
Case Home-made tech bench.
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar Essence STX (I use HDMI though *cry*)
Power Supply CWT PUC1000V-S 1000W, Abee Supremer (import) 1200W currently used as primary.
Mouse Razer Copperhead (circa 2005)
Keyboard Tt Challenger Pro (AVOID! Keys wear super fast)
Software Win 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores Meh.
#2
Would've been easier to just assume ownership of Explorer.exe, instead of boot into another OS lol But, good job on pooching it! Sounds like me :D Back when we got our first computer in 1994, I compressed the HD because it'd give over a gig (from the 830MB drive it had), but... Windows couldn't boot from a compressed drive :S So, I pooched the system :( Of course that was before I knew anything, and so I couldn't fix it. Plus I was only 11, so I didn't know any better lol
 
Joined
Feb 18, 2010
Messages
1,715 (0.60/day)
Likes
408
System Name Eldritch
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 1500X
Motherboard MSI B350 PC Mate
Cooling Satan's butthole after going to Taco Bell
Memory 16 GB G.Skill Flare X
Video Card(s) nVidia (Gigabyte) GT 740 2GB
Storage 80 GB IBM, 2 TB WD Green
Display(s) Dell 2007WFP
Software Debian Buster
#3
I'm still not sure how to do it (I guess I could Google it), but when it didn't let me I figured that it'd be better if I couldn't do that from within Windows anyways. :)
 
Joined
Mar 13, 2007
Messages
854 (0.22/day)
Likes
46
Location
Eastern Tennessee
System Name Firebird
Processor Ryzen 7 1700X
Motherboard MSI X370 Titanium
Cooling Tt Water2.0 PRO (They use the same bracket as 3.0)
Memory G.Skill TridentZ 2x8GB 3200 15-15-15-35 B-Die (@3333 ATM)
Video Card(s) ASUS STRIX R9 390 8GB
Storage Too many. Samsung 750GB, 120GB 850 EVO, Seagate 1TB, Toshiba 1TB, OCZ 32GB Cache Drive
Display(s) Samsung 46" UN46D6050 1080P HDTV
Case Home-made tech bench.
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar Essence STX (I use HDMI though *cry*)
Power Supply CWT PUC1000V-S 1000W, Abee Supremer (import) 1200W currently used as primary.
Mouse Razer Copperhead (circa 2005)
Keyboard Tt Challenger Pro (AVOID! Keys wear super fast)
Software Win 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores Meh.
#4
Not as hard as it sounds :)
Right Click> Properties
Goto Security Tab
Click Advanced
Goto Owner Tab
Click Edit
(Assuming you are Admin) Click Administrators (username\Administrators)
Click OK (and on the dialog box that shows up)
Click OK again
Click Edit (to change permissions)
Click Administrators
Tick Full Control box
Click OK
Click OK on the Properties box to save

TADA! :D Yes, I really dumbed it down, I know, but why risk it? lol Often have I ran into instructions that something is implied and left me wondering if that is FOR SURE what needs to be done heh

This works for registry entries and folders too, but it can be dangerous, so don't abuse it. Like I change over Ownership of the "winsxs" folder... because it's effing huge, and ownership is needed to compress the folder lol
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
20,909 (6.24/day)
Likes
10,003
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) PowerColor PCS+ 390 8 GiB DVI + HDMI
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate 6 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster T240 24" LCD (1920x1200 HDMI) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW 19" LCD (1440x900 DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
#5
You can't modify a running a file so it might work to use Task Manager to kill explorer.exe. Make sure it doesn't start again. If it does, you'll have to disable the automatic restarting of it via Group Policy Editor.
 
Joined
Mar 13, 2007
Messages
854 (0.22/day)
Likes
46
Location
Eastern Tennessee
System Name Firebird
Processor Ryzen 7 1700X
Motherboard MSI X370 Titanium
Cooling Tt Water2.0 PRO (They use the same bracket as 3.0)
Memory G.Skill TridentZ 2x8GB 3200 15-15-15-35 B-Die (@3333 ATM)
Video Card(s) ASUS STRIX R9 390 8GB
Storage Too many. Samsung 750GB, 120GB 850 EVO, Seagate 1TB, Toshiba 1TB, OCZ 32GB Cache Drive
Display(s) Samsung 46" UN46D6050 1080P HDTV
Case Home-made tech bench.
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar Essence STX (I use HDMI though *cry*)
Power Supply CWT PUC1000V-S 1000W, Abee Supremer (import) 1200W currently used as primary.
Mouse Razer Copperhead (circa 2005)
Keyboard Tt Challenger Pro (AVOID! Keys wear super fast)
Software Win 10 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores Meh.
#6
You can't modify a running a file so it might work to use Task Manager to kill explorer.exe. Make sure it doesn't start again. If it does, you'll have to disable the automatic restarting of it via Group Policy Editor.
Quite true, that's an equally important step heh I thought I read he had, but doesn't appear so :eek: