• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Changed RAM settings in BIOS, PC won't boot.

Joined
Apr 21, 2022
Messages
44 (0.68/day)
Hello, I was going through my BIOS settings and when I changed some stuff relating to the ram, my pc didn't boot.

I'm not interested in figuring out what those settings did, but is there anyway I can get back into the bios without taking out the cmos battery or resetting the bios? It took me a long time to adjust all those settings.

Things I have tried:
Taking out the ram
Using only one ram stick
Switching the ram out for another pai

Specs:

SPECS:
MB: Gigabyte Z690 UD DDR4
RAM: Patriot Viper Steel 2x16gb 3600mhz DDR4
CPU: i5-12600k
GPU: Gigabyte RTX 3080ti Gaming OC 12G
SSD: Samsung 790 EVO 2TB
OS: Windows 11
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
36,442 (6.66/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Nope, clear the cmos

And write your settings down or take pictures next time with a polaroid or something
 

sneekypeet

Retired Super Moderator
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
29,170 (4.93/day)
System Name EVA-01
Processor Intel i7 12700K
Motherboard Asus ROG Maximus Z690 HERO EVA Edition
Cooling be quiet! PURE LOOP 360
Memory Sabrent ROCKET DDR5 2x32GB @ 4800MHz @C32
Video Card(s) Asus ROG Strix GeForce RTX 3090 24GB OC EVA Edition
Storage Addlink S95 M.2 PCIe GEN 4x4 2TB
Display(s) Samsung 55" 4K 60hz
Case be quiet! SILENT BASE 802
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply be quiet DARK POWER PRO 12 1500W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 11
Usually a bios will use f12 or similar to snap bios pics, but you need a thumb drive as a place for said images.

As to your plight, only a CMOS reset will get you back. Look in your manual for something along the lines of a safe boot button, if you have it, it might let you back in to undo your recent changes.
 
Joined
Dec 11, 2019
Messages
286 (0.31/day)
Processor Xeon E-2124
Motherboard Fujitsu D3644-B1
Cooling Akasa AK-959CU
Memory 32GB Kingston DDR4 (4x KSM26ES8/8ME)
Video Card(s) Sapphire Pulse 550 2G 64-bit
Storage Samsung 870 Evo, Samsung 980
Display(s) Fujitsu B22-8 TS Pro
Case Akasa Raptor
Power Supply Antec HCG-620
Mouse Logitech MX500
If the battery is inconvenient your board appears to have a jumper, not sure if that's easier to access. Your settings are most likely lost at this point.
 

Mussels

Freshwater Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
53,855 (8.32/day)
Location
Oystralia
System Name Rainbow Sparkles
Processor Ryzen R7 5800X (PBO tweaked, 4.4-5.05GHz)
Motherboard Asus x570 Gaming-F
Cooling EK Quantum Velocity AM4 + EK Quantum ARGB 3090 w/ active backplate. Dual rad.
Memory 2x32GB DDR4 3600 Corsair Vengeance RGB @3800 C18-22-22-22-42 TRFC704 (1.4V, SoC 1.15V Hynix MJR)
Video Card(s) Galax RTX 3090 SG 24GB: Often underclocked to 1500Mhz 0.737v
Storage 2TB WD SN850 NVME + 1TB Sasmsung 970 Pro NVME + WD AN1500 1TB + 1TB Intel 6000P NVME USB 3.2
Display(s) Kogan 32" 4K 72Hz +Gigabyte G32QC (1440p 165Hz) + Phillips 328m6fjrmb (1440p 144Hz)
Case Fractal Design R6
Audio Device(s) Logitech G560 |Razer Leviathan | Corsair Void pro RGB |Blue Yeti mic
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G Pro wireless + Steelseries Prisma XL
Keyboard Razer Huntsman TE (custom white and steel keycaps)
VR HMD Oculus Rift S
Software Windows 11 pro x64 (Yes, it's genuinely a good OS)
Benchmark Scores I don't quite know how i managed to get such a top tier PC, I am not rich.
Try removing one stick of RAM, this resets a lot of boards to defaults for *one* boot allowing you to fix the settings

If that doesnt work, reset the BIOS by shorting the clr_cmos jumper on the motherboard or removing the battery (or via a push button if the board has one) - this resets every setting


You can save settings within the BIOS in various ways, for things that get annoying to remember like RAM timings i take a photo
 
Joined
Jan 6, 2022
Messages
18 (0.11/day)
Location
New Milford, CT 06776
System Name LiQuiDM3tH Main PC
Processor Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-7820X CPU @ 3.60GHz, 3601Mhz, 8 Core(s), 16 Logical Processor(s)
Motherboard ASUSTeK Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Cooler Master Liquid ML360R Addressable RGB Close-Loop AIO CPU Liquid Cooler
Memory 32GB 3200mhz Geil EvoPotenza DDR4 4x4GB+ 2x8GB all in Quad Channel Node and Banks Optimized
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GeForce RTX™ 2060 GAMING OC PRO 6G (rev. 1.0) rev. 2.0
Storage 512GB 970evo Pcie / 2x 3TB Hitachi Deskstar 3 7200rpm Raid0 / 4x 1TB Silicon Power A55 Raid 0
Display(s) Panasonic TH65VX100U 65in Premiere Plasma / 2x LG-27GL850 B27UltraGear 144HZ Nano IPS Displays
Audio Device(s) SoundBlaster X-Fi Xtreme PCIe 7.1 DTS/Dolby/THX
Power Supply Thermaltake Toughpower Grand RGB 850W 80+ Platinum Smart RGB Special Edition
Software Microsoft Windows 11 Professional (x64) Build 22581.200
Hello, I was going through my BIOS settings and when I changed some stuff relating to the ram, my pc didn't boot.

I'm not interested in figuring out what those settings did, but is there anyway I can get back into the bios without taking out the cmos battery or resetting the bios? It took me a long time to adjust all those settings.

Things I have tried:
Taking out the ram
Using only one ram stick
Switching the ram out for another pai

Specs:

SPECS:
MB: Gigabyte Z690 UD DDR4
RAM: Patriot Viper Steel 2x16gb 3600mhz DDR4
CPU: i5-12600k
GPU: Gigabyte RTX 3080ti Gaming OC 12G
SSD: Samsung 790 EVO 2TB
OS: Windows 11Removed all RAM from motherboard
    • Removed all RAM from motherboard
    • Install a single stick in the slot furthest from the CPU
    • Let the stupid thing try to boot about a dozen times till it gets to the bios and then change your settings.
    • I have seen them reboot for over 20 min in a boot loop before it would enter the bios
    • If it doesnt then might have to use the bios recovery switch
  • Asus Boards have a Feature that is in bios - Wait For F1 if error . that would allow the board to go into a recovery mode without erasing your data but allowwing f1 to boot with default settings while keeping your settings intact and if Gigabyte doesnt have that feature than wait for the bios to run its boot loop till it defaults
 
Top