• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Checkerboard crash Gigabyte Rx 570 8gb Rev 2.0

Drakequila

New Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2021
Messages
4 (0.01/day)
Where i can found this bios https://www.techpowerup.com/gpu-specs/gigabyte-rx-570-gaming-rev-2-0.b7317 but for a 8 gb card? I had this problem with a NEW RX 570 and i read some posts and realize that it is because it was used for mining with a mining bios (i think i got scammed, i bought it new). The gpu crashed when i was in not demanding tasks like Youtube or the Windows desk, in game or in demanding situations it had a wonderful performance. I'm going to ask for a refund, and if they don't respond i'm going to flash it to the original bios.
PD: I'm from Chile (Sorry for the bad english)
Here's a picture from other people with the same issue (My gpu it suposed to be new, i bought it in a store)
Here's my exactly same problem but his gpu was by second-had

20180224_165455.jpg
20200320_161012.jpg
 

r9

Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
2,918 (0.60/day)
System Name Primary | Secondary | Poweredge r410|Dell XPS
Processor i7 9700k| Ryzen 1600| 2 x E5620 |i5 5500U
Memory 16GB DDR4 |16GB DDR4 | 32GB ECC DDR3|8GB DDR4
Video Card(s) GTX 1070|2 x RX570 |On-Board|On-Board|
Storage 512GB SSD+1TB SSD|512GB SSD+1TB|2x256GBSSD 2x2TBGB
Display(s) 50" 4k TV | 27" + 2 x 24" LCD Setup
VR HMD Samsung Odyssey+
Software Windows 10 |Windows 10| Server 2012 r2
Where i can found this bios https://www.techpowerup.com/gpu-specs/gigabyte-rx-570-gaming-rev-2-0.b7317 but for a 8 gb card? I had this problem with a NEW RX 570 and i read some posts and realize that it is because it was used for mining with a mining bios (i think i got scammed, i bought it new). The gpu crashed when i was in not demanding tasks like Youtube or the Windows desk, in game or in demanding situations it had a wonderful performance. I'm going to ask for a refund, and if they don't respond i'm going to flash it to the original bios.
PD: I'm from Chile (Sorry for the bad english)
Here's a picture from other people with the same issue (My gpu it suposed to be new, i bought it in a store)
Here's my exactly same problem but his gpu was by second-had

View attachment 182714View attachment 182715
Yeah that looks like memory issue. The mining bios tightens the memory timings not necessarily causing damage to the card but using the card with those timings can cause issues when using it for other stuff like youtube or gaming.
You can try flashing back the original bios if you can find it, just make sure you backup the one it's on right now. Also when looking for BIOS for a specific model make sure it's for the same of VRAM Micron, Samsung etc .. as manufactures can make the same model with 3 different memory modules.
Also note some bioses can have timings for multiple VRAM modules.
You also try downclocking the mem/gpu clocks a bit to make the card more stable.
 

Drakequila

New Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2021
Messages
4 (0.01/day)
Thanks for the response, in a few days i'm going to go to the store for a refund. I want to know to if a tiny overclock and undervolt could make this problem, i use this video to do it (remember that my gpu it suposed to be new)
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
12,795 (4.92/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel Xeon E3-1260L v5
Motherboard MSI E3 KRAIT Gaming v5
Cooling Tt tower + 120mm Tt fan
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 970 Mini
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
Use GPU-z to see what the specifications are for the clocks, post a picture here.
A mining Bios will have high Memory clocks, and a low Core clock.
 

Drakequila

New Member
Joined
Jan 6, 2021
Messages
4 (0.01/day)
Here is the screenshot, the store warranty service said that the gpu is ok, they tried it in different pcs and said that everything was ok
I installed it and this is the gpu z stats after the warranty check
gpu z rx 570.gif
 
Joined
Oct 22, 2014
Messages
12,795 (4.92/day)
Location
Sunshine Coast
System Name Black Box
Processor Intel Xeon E3-1260L v5
Motherboard MSI E3 KRAIT Gaming v5
Cooling Tt tower + 120mm Tt fan
Memory Thermaltake Toughram 16GB 4400MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 970 Mini
Storage Kingston A2000 512Gb NVME
Display(s) AOC 24" Freesync 1m.s. 75Hz
Case Corsair 450D High Air Flow.
Audio Device(s) No need.
Power Supply FSP Aurum 650W
Mouse Yes
Keyboard Of course
Software W10 Pro 64 bit
That screenshot looks fine, it's not a mining Bios.
 

gabwong

New Member
Joined
Sep 14, 2021
Messages
2 (0.02/day)
I have the same problem and im from chile also. Do you solve it?
 
Top