• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Checking for broken parts: RealTemp CPU Temp (..Too high?) and Prime95

Joined
Apr 9, 2009
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
(I posted this on TH forum too, but have yet to solve my problem, I hope no one minds.)

Hi,
I recently built a new system in order to replace a dead one that was running for about 6 years. Right now I'm trying to make sure if there are dead/dying parts so I can RMA Newegg. Here's the spec of the new one:

CPU: E5200 Intel
Heatsink: MASSCOOL 8WA741
MOBO: EP43-UD3L Gigabyte
RAM: 2x G.Skill 2gb DDR2 1066
GPU: 4830 Sapphire Radeon
Case: Antec 300 with 1 added 120mm fan in front (Blow air in)
HDD: WD6400AAKS 650GB
PSU: Earthwatts 430w
OS: Windows Vista 64-bit SP1
DVD ROM: LG DVD Burner Black SATA Model
Thermal Grease: MX-2

All stock settings, no overclock aside from RAM timing and voltage corrections.

Average temp with RealTemp shows 39-40'C on idle which is a little high (Reading around, most people get high 20's to low 30's on idle with this heatsink). I reapplied the thermal grease twice already, and in both cases the idle temp were the same (Cleaned with rubbing alcohol in between).

Is this normal? Maybe my airflow in my case is bad? Here's what it looks like:
http://img11.imageshack.us/my.php?image=300rnr.jpg
(Arrow closest to HS is the HS's fan.)

I was also told that max load temp were what actually matters, so I tried to run Prime95 through RealTemp, but it hangs up at around test #8. (No BSOD, everything just stops on screen) I figure, well, it's probably a dead RAM, so I individually tested the RAM through Vista's Memory Diagnostic, and neither reported any errors. I'm also pretty certain I downloaded the 64 bit version of it...

I also updated my BIOS to the latest, and matched my RAM's timing and voltage in BIOS (The default were too low compared to what the specs say on Newegg).

Any ideas as to why it still hangs? I'd like to get it running to find my max load temp. I was thinking the CPU heatsink fan might be dead, but under BIOS the RPM is listed in the 1200-1400ish, so it's running.

Thanks, I'd appreciate any help
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (2.09/day)
Likes
854
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
#2
Welcome to TPU :toast:

Case Airflow seems fine, but your right, those idle temps are too high.

That could be the reason for failing Prime95. What are the load temps?

Have you made sure the fan is spinning on the HSF?
 
Joined
Apr 9, 2009
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#3
Welcome to TPU :toast:

Case Airflow seems fine, but your right, those idle temps are too high.

That could be the reason for failing Prime95. What are the load temps?

Have you made sure the fan is spinning on the HSF?
Hi,
Load temps? Did you mean the temp reading shown in BIOS before loading an OS? It's around 23'C or so, give or take 1'C.

As for the HSF... I can't see it due to how it's placed and structured (The fan is inside the aluminum fins). What can I use to check if it's really running?

Thanks
 
Joined
Apr 9, 2009
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#4
Actually, here's the BIOS screenshot showing the CPU fan speed reading
http://img15.imageshack.us/img15/1317/img7473.jpg

I have 4 fans total: 2 of which are directly connected to the power supply so their RPM won't be shown under BIOS. The other two (One 120mm for hard drive, and the other the heatsink fan) are connected to the motherboard, so it's got to be running..
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (2.09/day)
Likes
854
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
#5
Load temps as in what temperature do you get under load, so what temps do you get while running Prime 95?
 
Joined
Apr 9, 2009
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#6
Load temps as in what temperature do you get under load, so what temps do you get while running Prime 95?
I think the highest was about 46 or 47, but it hangs up at test #7 or #8 (Going through "Sensor Test" in RealTemp).

Edit: That was only on the cooldown test, and before hanging up
 
Last edited:
Joined
Apr 9, 2009
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#7
Just got some more tests done:
I built another computer with very similar specs (Same parts and brands, but different PSU, OS: XP 32bit, and case, it was to replace another broken PC), and it successfully ran the Prime95 test from RealTemp.

With that in mind, I took it's ram (Which is again the same as the vista machine's ram that kept failing Prime95) and switched them. The vista machine hanged up again at test #7 or #8. RAM is probably ok.

I also ran Orthos, and it seems to run fine without hanging up on the vista machine. Orthos is very similar to Prime95 right?

Here are the results a few minutes ago:
Direct link: http://img11.imageshack.us/my.php?image=clipboard01tll.png
Thumbnail:http://img11.imageshack.us/img11/6948/clipboard01tll.th.png

It's still going as I'm typing this... So I guess it is not a CPU problem? Orthos is only 32bit though, but that should only concern RAM right, which doesn't seem to be the problem. I can't think of anything else besides the Prime95 64bit build just not wanting to play nice with Vista 64bit home premium. As for the temperature... I guess I just got the E5200 from a bad batch? The XP machine that has the same processor outputs similar temp (Higher by about 2-3'C) with the stock cooler. It was purchased at the same time and day.
 
Joined
Jul 28, 2007
Messages
8,013 (2.09/day)
Likes
854
Location
Dorset, UK
System Name Gaming Rig | Uni Laptop
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 (2007) @ 3.6Ghz @ 1.45625v (LLC) / 4 GHz Bench @ 1.63v | AMD Turion 64 X2 TL-62 2 GHz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q Deluxe (Intel P45) | HP 6715b
Cooling Xigmatek Dark Knight w/AC MX2 ~ Case Fans: 2 x 180mm + 1 x 120mm Silverstone Fans
Memory 4GB OCZ Platinum PC2-8000 @ 1000Mhz 5-5-5-15 2.1v | 2 x 1GB DDR2 667 MHz
Video Card(s) XFX GTX 285 1GB, Modded FTW BIOS @ 725/1512/1350 w/Accelero Xtreme GTX 280 + Scythe sinks| ATI X1250
Storage 2x WD6400AAKS 1 TB Raid 0, 140GB Raid 1 & 80GB Maxtor Basics External HDD (storage) | 160GB 2.5"
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster SM2433BW @ 1920 x 1200 via DVI-D | 15.4" WSXGA+ (1680 x 1050 resolution)
Case Silverstone Fortress FT01B-W ~ Logitech G15 R1 / Microsoft Laser Mouse 6000
Audio Device(s) Soundmax AD2000BX Onboard Sound, via Logitech X-230 2.1 | ADI SoundMAX HD Audio
Power Supply Corsair TX650W | HP 90W
Software Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64 | Windows 7 Ultimate Build 7100 x64
Benchmark Scores 3DM06: 19519, Vantage: P16170 ~ Win7: -CPU 7.5 -MEM 7.5 -AERO 7.9 -GFX 6.0 -HDD 6.0
#8
Sorry to have gone quiet on you, but I'm a bit stuck for ideas, just thought I should let you know. I'm sure someone will think of something though :)
 
Joined
Apr 9, 2009
Messages
6 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#9
Sorry to have gone quiet on you, but I'm a bit stuck for ideas, just thought I should let you know. I'm sure someone will think of something though :)
Just posted some results from a little experiment I did about 2 minutes after you posted. :)