• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

ChkDsk?

Damian^

New Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2008
Messages
552 (0.16/day)
Likes
45
Location
Texas
System Name Quad Damage
Processor AMD Phenom II x4 965
Motherboard MSI 785GM-E65
Cooling Thermaltake Contac 29
Memory DDR3 6gb 1533Mhz
Video Card(s) 9800gt (HD4200 for now)
Storage Seagate 250GB 7200RPM/Hitatchi 500GB
Display(s) Acer AL2216 22" (1680X1050)
Case Antec 300
Power Supply Corsair VX550W
Software Vista Home Premium 64bit
#1
I upgraded my computer with a new motherboard cooler and cpu (Xigmatek, E7200, BiostarTpower IP45). I used my HDD from my other build with all my games programs ect..even an OEM of vista, and somehow it did not ask to reinastall it just booted straight to windows.

Anyways i have been having some problems and about 1 BSOD already, and when i started up my rig it automatically did a ChkDsk and has been at 48% for about 30 minutes already.

Is there something wrong here, could it be because of my HDD with the OEM copy of vista64bit
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
888 (0.24/day)
Likes
69
Location
Lancs,UK
System Name xubidoo
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 2.4ghz
Motherboard ASUS P5K Premium:Black Pearl Edition
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro + MX2
Memory 4gb Corsair XMS2 DDR2 6400 2x 2gb 5-5-5-18 @854
Video Card(s) MSI nVidia GTX260 896mb or GeForce GTX 750Ti 2048mb
Storage WD 640gb / Samsung 750gb / WD 500gb
Display(s) Hanns-G 23"
Case Thermaltake Armour VA8003BWS/1x250mm/2x120mm/2x92mm
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z-10 2.0 Speakers
Power Supply Antec 550w
Mouse Razer Deathadder
Keyboard Standard
Software Windows 7 Professional x64
#2
sounds like conflicts from your old motherboard to me.

if replacing a mainboard/cpu etc ,id "Always" format and reinstall windows otherwise things like this happen
 

Damian^

New Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2008
Messages
552 (0.16/day)
Likes
45
Location
Texas
System Name Quad Damage
Processor AMD Phenom II x4 965
Motherboard MSI 785GM-E65
Cooling Thermaltake Contac 29
Memory DDR3 6gb 1533Mhz
Video Card(s) 9800gt (HD4200 for now)
Storage Seagate 250GB 7200RPM/Hitatchi 500GB
Display(s) Acer AL2216 22" (1680X1050)
Case Antec 300
Power Supply Corsair VX550W
Software Vista Home Premium 64bit
#3
yeah i wanted to format/repair with my OEM copy but the option to upgrade was not allowed when i clicked on .exe from the vista CD, and the only other option was to reinstall but it said it would delete everything from my HDD.

I did not boot from the CD though, i just inserted the cd and clicked on the EXE on my computer, could that be why i did not see the repair/format option?
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
888 (0.24/day)
Likes
69
Location
Lancs,UK
System Name xubidoo
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 2.4ghz
Motherboard ASUS P5K Premium:Black Pearl Edition
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro + MX2
Memory 4gb Corsair XMS2 DDR2 6400 2x 2gb 5-5-5-18 @854
Video Card(s) MSI nVidia GTX260 896mb or GeForce GTX 750Ti 2048mb
Storage WD 640gb / Samsung 750gb / WD 500gb
Display(s) Hanns-G 23"
Case Thermaltake Armour VA8003BWS/1x250mm/2x120mm/2x92mm
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z-10 2.0 Speakers
Power Supply Antec 550w
Mouse Razer Deathadder
Keyboard Standard
Software Windows 7 Professional x64
#4
to format you have to boot from the cd/dvd ,beefore installing a new baord etc you should always backup everythign you can from your c: drive ,and then boot from the cd and do a fresh install.
 

Damian^

New Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2008
Messages
552 (0.16/day)
Likes
45
Location
Texas
System Name Quad Damage
Processor AMD Phenom II x4 965
Motherboard MSI 785GM-E65
Cooling Thermaltake Contac 29
Memory DDR3 6gb 1533Mhz
Video Card(s) 9800gt (HD4200 for now)
Storage Seagate 250GB 7200RPM/Hitatchi 500GB
Display(s) Acer AL2216 22" (1680X1050)
Case Antec 300
Power Supply Corsair VX550W
Software Vista Home Premium 64bit
#5
how can i back it up no extra HDD's besides i already took out the mobo :(
hm...
 
Joined
Feb 14, 2008
Messages
783 (0.22/day)
Likes
121
Location
Latvia
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4400+ lapped @3,0GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-MA785GM-US2H
Cooling Xigmatek HDT-D1264
Memory 2GB Crucial Ballistix Tracer
Video Card(s) Xpertvision 8800GTS 640MB G80
Storage 250GB Seagate Barracuda & 750GB Samsung
Display(s) Samsung Syncmaster 931BF
Case Coolermaster CM690
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC889A
Power Supply HEC WinPower 550W
Software Ubuntu 10.04 x86 & Windows 7 x86
Benchmark Scores I'm scared of benching
#6
Remove all your previous drivers with Driver Cleaner and then install new ones. Maybe this will help.
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
888 (0.24/day)
Likes
69
Location
Lancs,UK
System Name xubidoo
Processor Intel Q6600 G0 2.4ghz
Motherboard ASUS P5K Premium:Black Pearl Edition
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro + MX2
Memory 4gb Corsair XMS2 DDR2 6400 2x 2gb 5-5-5-18 @854
Video Card(s) MSI nVidia GTX260 896mb or GeForce GTX 750Ti 2048mb
Storage WD 640gb / Samsung 750gb / WD 500gb
Display(s) Hanns-G 23"
Case Thermaltake Armour VA8003BWS/1x250mm/2x120mm/2x92mm
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z-10 2.0 Speakers
Power Supply Antec 550w
Mouse Razer Deathadder
Keyboard Standard
Software Windows 7 Professional x64
#7
as in your meant to do it before taking out the board..

if you cant get in to windows now ,your only options are booting from the windows disk and either trying a repair or a format and reinstall windows.