• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Choosing the right server software? (Help)

Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
2,448 (0.51/day)
System Name PC
Processor i7 9700KF
Motherboard MSI Z390 A PRO
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 1080 Jetstream
Storage Samsung 850 pro 512gb SSD, 2x Kingston 120GB SSD, 2TB WB Green
Display(s) LG 34UM68 34-Inch
Case Corsair Obsidian 550D
Audio Device(s) Audioengine A5+ Speakers
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G403
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70
Software Windows 10 64bit
My requirements are:

1.) Data storage (Raid 1 or 5 array)
2.) Database hosting to my local network/internet
3.) Streaming data to devices on my local network (HD video, audio etc...)
4.) Hosting webpages
5.) Hosting gaming server/s



My questions are:

1.) What operating system should I choose?
2.) Do I need a static IP or can I use dynamic DNS?
2.1.) Will Dynamic DNS work when hosting a game server?


This information will help me choose the right config for a build I intend on doing in the next couple of months. I currently do not need this server as my data is stored locally on a raid 1 array and the database is very small though I do intend to build a server at a later stage and the cost of the operating system will greatly affect what components I choose to build with.
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Staff member
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,917 (2.93/day)
Location
Mid-Atlantic
System Name Desktop
Processor i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard AsRock MicroATX Z170M Extreme4
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x 16 Gb Gskill Ripjaws 2400
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 5700
Storage Samsung 970 EVO 1 TB m.2 NVMe + Samsung 860 EVO 2 TB SATA3 SSD
Display(s) LG 34GK950F-B 34" 21:9 Ultragear WQHD Nano IPS Curved Gaming Monitor with Radeon FreeSync 2
Case Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Corsair K63 Wireless
Software Windows 10
My requirements are:

1.) Data storage (Raid 1 or 5 array)
2.) Database hosting to my local network/internet
3.) Streaming data to devices on my local network (HD video, audio etc...)
4.) Hosting webpages
5.) Hosting gaming server/s



My questions are:

1.) What operating system should I choose?
2.) Do I need a static IP or can I use dynamic DNS?
2.1.) Will Dynamic DNS work when hosting a game server?


This information will help me choose the right config for a build I intend on doing in the next couple of months. I currently do not need this server as my data is stored locally on a raid 1 array and the database is very small though I do intend to build a server at a later stage and the cost of the operating system will greatly affect what components I choose to build with.
well you will only hear 'linux' from me. however if you use something like ps3media server it currently works better on windows server 2008.

i use dyndns which is fine in most cases for gaming. it depends on the game really.
 
Joined
May 21, 2009
Messages
4,966 (1.19/day)
System Name i7-PC / HTPC / iMac
Processor i7 3820 / Phenom II 940
Motherboard GIGABYTE G1.ASSASSIN2 / M3A79-T Deluxe
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100i / Scythe II (HS only)
Memory G.SKILL Trident X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600mhz / 4GB DDR2 1066 (@800) Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB / GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB
Storage 2x 80GB Intel X-25, 2x600gb SATA, 1x1tb 5400RPM storage /1x600GB, 3x500GB,1x160,1x120 SATA
Display(s) 1x 27" Yamakasi / Vizio 42" HDTV
Case Lian Li Lancool PC-K58 / Antec 900
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Striker 7.1 / Onboard and HDMI from ATi Card
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750W / 610W
Software Ubuntu / Windows 8.1 Pro / OS X / PHPStorm / Gaming
it really depends on which OS you use regularly/already know.

if you've got years on windows it will most likely be easier to continue using it. however if you
don't mind a bit of work, linux is definitely the most flexible (whereas windows has more pre-configured software)

as far as static/dynamic, i would do dynamic as it is generally cheaper. then just sign up for
a free dyndns service, like dyndns.org , and there's your static address accessible from the internet that will work with a game server as well.

note though there is more than one ip , there is your local ip and then your networked (internet) ip. local is for example (192.168.1.1) and you will want that static.
the router/internet/networked ip will depend on your isp/location, and that is the one you can use dyndns with to make static (if it's not already).
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
26,147 (5.95/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX 5500 XT Pulse 8 GiB
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Nixeus NX-EDG274K (3840x2160@144 DP) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW (1440x900@60 HDMI-DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
5.) Hosting gaming server/s
Windows. If you want Active Directory, Windows Server.

1.) Data storage (Raid 1 or 5 array)
2.) Database hosting to my local network/internet
3.) Streaming data to devices on my local network (HD video, audio etc...)
4.) Hosting webpages
1) Should be done on the hardware level which depends entirely on your hardware.
2) Any OS can do that but it mostly depends on what database software you are most familiar with/want to use. Options for MS SQL, for example, are more limited than MySQL.
3) Any OS can handle network shares. Active Directory has the added advantage of tying user accounts to everything but that's a huge price to pay for a small feature.
4) Any OS can do that. Windows has IIS, everything has Apache.


2.) Do I need a static IP or can I use dynamic DNS?
2.1.) Will Dynamic DNS work when hosting a game server?
My server has a static IP address behind my router but my internet IP address frequently changes. I use a dyndns.com free account and run software on my server which updates dyndns every ~12-13 minutes if an update is necessary.

Dynamic IP addresses won't work for critical situations but in my case, the downtime is minimal.
 
Last edited:

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Staff member
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,917 (2.93/day)
Location
Mid-Atlantic
System Name Desktop
Processor i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard AsRock MicroATX Z170M Extreme4
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x 16 Gb Gskill Ripjaws 2400
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 5700
Storage Samsung 970 EVO 1 TB m.2 NVMe + Samsung 860 EVO 2 TB SATA3 SSD
Display(s) LG 34GK950F-B 34" 21:9 Ultragear WQHD Nano IPS Curved Gaming Monitor with Radeon FreeSync 2
Case Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Corsair K63 Wireless
Software Windows 10
couple of notes, linux has THE best software raid available. highly robust and just as quick as the fake raid included in the bios of modern motherboards. (remember even with the raid on the motherboard the cpu is still doing the processing of the drives so you might as well go with real raid software.)

my router has a dynamic ip function which hooks into dyndns and others. so if my wan ip changes it alerts dyndns and updates it automatically. zero downtime on that end.
 
Joined
Jun 29, 2007
Messages
1,197 (0.25/day)
Location
Repentigny, QC, CANADA
System Name CTG Computer
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3700x
Motherboard Asus Strix x470-F
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory 2x 16gb Corsair LPX 3200mhz CAS 16
Video Card(s) Asus RX5700 Strix OC
Storage WD Black SN750 500gb | WD Blue 1TB M.2
Display(s) MSI Optix MAG27C | Asus vg248qe
Case Fractal Design C TG
Audio Device(s) Creative SoundBlaster Z PCI-E
Power Supply eVGA SuperNova 750w G2
Mouse Corsair M55 Pro RGB
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB MK2
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
couple of notes, linux has THE best software raid available. highly robust and just as quick as the fake raid included in the bios of modern motherboards. (remember even with the raid on the motherboard the cpu is still doing the processing of the drives so you might as well go with real raid software.)

my router has a dynamic ip function which hooks into dyndns and others. so if my wan ip changes it alerts dyndns and updates it automatically. zero downtime on that end.
You mean real hardware, since RAID software use more CPU than RAID semi-hardware (chipset)... RAID hardware is a card like adaptec which has her own memory.. these card doesn't need to use the CPU.

The hardware card are expensive, that's why I think the best is to you the semi-hardware RAID, motherboard..

For the server, a wuad would be good, 8 to 16gb of ram, since you will do some database, web, gaming server...

Normally, for database, RAID1 is highly recommanded. Why? RAID55 has poor writing performance vs RAID1 due to Parity calculation. If the database won't be that much accessed, go with raid 5 + hotspair (3* x_Size will be 2/3 total size and 1 disk as spair, since it's mroe secure.. or get an external backup)

If you run raid 5, I Also highly recommand good drive, or Raid drive... WD Black or RE4, do not use Green drive, as since they can be idling, they can be kicked out or the raid.. RE4 has the TLER, Black not, but they are some kinda of solid hard drive ;)
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
2,448 (0.51/day)
System Name PC
Processor i7 9700KF
Motherboard MSI Z390 A PRO
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 1080 Jetstream
Storage Samsung 850 pro 512gb SSD, 2x Kingston 120GB SSD, 2TB WB Green
Display(s) LG 34UM68 34-Inch
Case Corsair Obsidian 550D
Audio Device(s) Audioengine A5+ Speakers
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G403
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70
Software Windows 10 64bit
Windows. If you want Active Directory, Windows Server.


1) Should be done on the hardware level which depends entirely on your hardware.
2) Any OS can do that but it mostly depends on what database software you are most familiar with/want to use. Opens for MS SQL, for example, are more limited than MySQL.
3) Any OS can handle network shares. Active Directory has the added advantage of tying user accounts to everything but that's a huge price to pay for a small feature.
4) Any OS can do that. Windows has IIS, everything has Apache.



My server has a static IP address behind my router but my internet IP address frequently changes. I use a dyndns.com free account and run software on my server which updates dyndns every ~12-13 minutes if an update is necessary.

Dynamic IP addresses won't work for critical situations but in my case, the downtime is minimal.
Thanks for answering all my Q's :)

What version of the Windows server software will allow me to do all of these things I mentioned? Im looking for the cheapest option.
There seem to be lots of different Windows serever packages available... SBS, home, R2 etc...
 

kciaccio

New Member
Joined
Mar 16, 2009
Messages
364 (0.09/day)
Processor QuadCore Intel Core i7-2600K, 4433 MHz (43 x 103)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68 DELUXE GEN 3
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory 8 gigs DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600
Video Card(s) POWER COLOR HD6870 EYEFINITY 6 EDITION 2GB
Storage KINGSTON HYPER X 120G SSD
Display(s) Quad set of Acer X193X's AND 2 Dell P2210 - 22"
Case Silverstone Raven 2 WHITE LIMITED EDITION
Power Supply NZXT HALE 750
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
27,358 (5.02/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 10850K@5.2GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z470 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 1080Ti
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
The question I have to ask is do you want to run multiple websites off the server, or just a single website with multiple pages?

Everything you listed can be done with Win7 Pro, which is a major savings over Server 2008 R2 Standard(unless you have a technet account).

And if a minute or two of downtime doesn't bother you, then a dynamic IP with no-ip.com or something similar would work just fine(that is what my minecraft and terraria server runs on). Really the IP only changed with most connections if the connection goes down and comes back up, like a power outage, and after the connection comes back up a service like no-ip only takes ~5 minutes to pick up the new IP and update the address. I have the no-ip client set to refresh the ip address every 5 minutes, so the maximum it will be down is 5 minutes.

Normally, for database, RAID1 is highly recommanded. Why? RAID55 has poor writing performance vs RAID1 due to Parity calculation.
I'm sure that used to be true, but it isn't anymore. With my relatively inexpensive HighPoint controller, my RAID5 array's write speed maxes out the gigabit connection. RAID1 might still be faster, but having higher write speeds than that with data that will only be accessed over the network isn't really important.
 
Last edited:

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Staff member
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,917 (2.93/day)
Location
Mid-Atlantic
System Name Desktop
Processor i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard AsRock MicroATX Z170M Extreme4
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x 16 Gb Gskill Ripjaws 2400
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 5700
Storage Samsung 970 EVO 1 TB m.2 NVMe + Samsung 860 EVO 2 TB SATA3 SSD
Display(s) LG 34GK950F-B 34" 21:9 Ultragear WQHD Nano IPS Curved Gaming Monitor with Radeon FreeSync 2
Case Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Corsair K63 Wireless
Software Windows 10
You mean real hardware, since RAID software use more CPU than RAID semi-hardware (chipset)... RAID hardware is a card like adaptec which has her own memory.. these card doesn't need to use the CPU.
i have found that very good software raid is faster than most of the crap included on motherboards.
 

r9

Joined
Jul 28, 2008
Messages
2,685 (0.60/day)
System Name PC1| PC2|Poweredge r410
Processor i5 6600k| Ryzen 1600| 2 x E5620 @2.4GHz
Memory 16GB DDR4 |16GB DDR4 | 32GB ECC DDR3
Video Card(s) GTX 1070|2 x RX570 |On-Board
Storage 512GB SSD+1TB SSD|512GB SSD+1TB|2x256GBSSD 2x2TBGB
Display(s) 27" Dell + 2 x 24" LCD Setup
Software Windows 10 |Windows 10| Server 2012 r2
I would go with Linux Ubuntu/CentOS. Both have a lot tutorials available on the net. I`m using Ubuntu server for backup over network and Samba/FTP server for two years now.
 

Easy Rhino

Linux Advocate
Staff member
Joined
Nov 13, 2006
Messages
14,917 (2.93/day)
Location
Mid-Atlantic
System Name Desktop
Processor i5 7500 Kaby Lake
Motherboard AsRock MicroATX Z170M Extreme4
Cooling Stock
Memory 2x 16 Gb Gskill Ripjaws 2400
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 5700
Storage Samsung 970 EVO 1 TB m.2 NVMe + Samsung 860 EVO 2 TB SATA3 SSD
Display(s) LG 34GK950F-B 34" 21:9 Ultragear WQHD Nano IPS Curved Gaming Monitor with Radeon FreeSync 2
Case Corsair Carbide 400C
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Seasonic SSR-650GD Flagship Prime Series 650W Gold
Mouse Logitech G900 Chaos Spectrum
Keyboard Corsair K63 Wireless
Software Windows 10
I would go with Linux Ubuntu/CentOS. Both have a lot tutorials available on the net. I`m using Ubuntu server for backup over network and Samba/FTP server for two years now.
off topic: you using rsync ?
 

FordGT90Concept

"I go fast!1!11!1!"
Joined
Oct 13, 2008
Messages
26,147 (5.95/day)
Location
IA, USA
System Name BY-2015
Processor Intel Core i7-6700K (4 x 4.00 GHz) w/ HT and Turbo on
Motherboard MSI Z170A GAMING M7
Cooling Scythe Kotetsu
Memory 2 x Kingston HyperX DDR4-2133 8 GiB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon RX 5500 XT Pulse 8 GiB
Storage Crucial MX300 275 GB, Seagate Exos X12 TB 7200 RPM
Display(s) Nixeus NX-EDG274K (3840x2160@144 DP) + Samsung SyncMaster 906BW (1440x900@60 HDMI-DVI)
Case Coolermaster HAF 932 w/ USB 3.0 5.25" bay
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC1150, Micca OriGen+
Power Supply Enermax Platimax 850w
Mouse SteelSeries Sensei RAW
Keyboard Tesoro Excalibur
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
Benchmark Scores Faster than the tortoise; slower than the hare.
Thanks for answering all my Q's :)

What version of the Windows server software will allow me to do all of these things I mentioned? Im looking for the cheapest option.
There seem to be lots of different Windows serever packages available... SBS, home, R2 etc...
If you don't have need of Active Directory, Windows 7 Professional. If you do, Windows Server 2008 R2.
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
2,448 (0.51/day)
System Name PC
Processor i7 9700KF
Motherboard MSI Z390 A PRO
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 1080 Jetstream
Storage Samsung 850 pro 512gb SSD, 2x Kingston 120GB SSD, 2TB WB Green
Display(s) LG 34UM68 34-Inch
Case Corsair Obsidian 550D
Audio Device(s) Audioengine A5+ Speakers
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G403
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70
Software Windows 10 64bit
If you don't have need of Active Directory, Windows 7 Professional. If you do, Windows Server 2008 R2.
aaah really... nice i thought id need server software but i guess ill stick with what i know (windows 7 pro)... cant see any reason why i couldnt use it as storage, hosting etc :)

now to plan my rig build!!! still have to wait a month or two though as i need to make some capitol before i spend more on this :)
 
Top