• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Chrome Processes Getting Out Of Control ... Taking All My RAM

Joined
Jan 27, 2010
Messages
4,114 (1.03/day)
Location
USA
System Name ASUS ROG Zephrus M15
Processor AMD Rhyzen 7 4800HS
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) Geforce RTX 2060
Storage 1TB
I am trying to figure out how to control the chrome tab processes. They are hogging all my RAM after a day or so of not fully closing it out or restarting my computer.

Right now, it shows 22, I only have 16 tabs open.
1607135293614.png


I downloaded 'The Great Suspender' add on for chrome that shuts the tab down until I click on it if I do not use it for like 10 mins. I think this may be partially to blame? I notice the count seems to go up when I reload a tab from being suspended. However, it is not 1:1 .. I just unsuspended a tab and now it jumped to 27 processes. All of them soaking up some RAM so I cant tell if one is older or not so I could close it out ..

1607135525149.png


Is there other options out there to control the crazy Chrome RAM usage?
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2020
Messages
11 (0.14/day)
System Name Self-built
Processor AMD R5 3600
Motherboard AsRock B450M Pro4
Cooling BeQuiet!, Silverstone, Artic
Memory 16GB: Corsair CMK16GX4M2D3600C18
Video Card(s) Gigabyte Eagle RTX3070
Storage WD Black m.2 mvne 1TB, WD HDD 6TB
Display(s) LG 27GN950
Case DeepCool E-Shield
Audio Device(s) Behringer DEQ2496, DCX2496, A500. etc
Power Supply Seasonic Core GM-650SRM
Software Linux Mint + Windows10 pro
Benchmark Scores Not worthy of attention
Well, I get 7 Chrome processes, just with a single tab open (your message). That's 6 basic + 1 per tab.
With 16 tabs, that makes 6+16 = 22 processes.

I think the underlying 6 processes handle different aspects of the window, and as a result we get faster displays.
I suspect the main option is to cut down on tabs....sorry.
 

Rei

Joined
Aug 1, 2020
Messages
656 (3.81/day)
Location
Guam
System Name 1 Desktop/2 Laptops/1 Netbook
Processor AMD Athon X2 64/Intel Pentium 997/Intel Pentium 4/Intel Atom
Motherboard EpoX ATX motherboard/Samsung/Toshiba/Lenovo
Cooling Stock
Memory 4 GB/4 GB/2 GB/2 GB
Video Card(s) Asus GeForce GTX 780 Ti/Intel HD Graphics/GeForce 4MX/Intel GMA
Storage 6+ TB Total
Display(s) HP Pavilion 14 Inch 1024x768@60Hz 4:3 Aspect Ratio CRT Monitor
Case None
Audio Device(s) Various
Power Supply Seasonic 500 Watt & VenomRX 500 Watt
Mouse Wayes Iron Man Wireless Mouse
Keyboard Rexus VR2 Wireless Keyboard
Software Win10 & WinXP SP3
Benchmark Scores It sucks...
I am trying to figure out how to control the chrome tab processes. They are hogging all my RAM after a day or so of not fully closing it out or restarting my computer.

Right now, it shows 22, I only have 16 tabs open.
View attachment 178203

I downloaded 'The Great Suspender' add on for chrome that shuts the tab down until I click on it if I do not use it for like 10 mins. I think this may be partially to blame? I notice the count seems to go up when I reload a tab from being suspended. However, it is not 1:1 .. I just unsuspended a tab and now it jumped to 27 processes. All of them soaking up some RAM so I cant tell if one is older or not so I could close it out ..

View attachment 178204

Is there other options out there to control the crazy Chrome RAM usage?
Well, I get 7 Chrome processes, just with a single tab open (your message). That's 6 basic + 1 per tab.
With 16 tabs, that makes 6+16 = 22 processes.

I think the underlying 6 processes handle different aspects of the window, and as a result we get faster displays.
I suspect the main option is to cut down on tabs....sorry.
This is normal. This is how Google Chrome & most other forks & browsers works. Each threads runs a single task for the browser such as Tabs, Extensions, Add-Ons, Components, etc. This is done in such a way so that when a single thread crashes, it doesn't bring the rest of the thread & the whole browser down with it.
 

Toothless

Tech, Games, and TPU!
Supporter
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
6,900 (2.77/day)
Location
Washington, USA
System Name Veraltet
Processor 3700x
Motherboard AsRock Taichi Ultimate x470
Cooling NH-D15 Chromax
Memory G.Skill 2x16GB 3200mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1080 Ti Gaming X
Storage 2 NVME + 4 HDD
Display(s) LG 34UB88-P + 2x AOC 2425W
Case CoolerMaster NR600
Audio Device(s) SteelSeries Arctis 5
Power Supply Rosewill Fortress 750w
Mouse Corsair Scimitar Pro
Keyboard Corsair K57
Software Windows 10 Professional
Benchmark Scores Brrrrrrr
That's standard task amount and ram usage. If it's "eating all your ram" then maybe you need more?
 

Rei

Joined
Aug 1, 2020
Messages
656 (3.81/day)
Location
Guam
System Name 1 Desktop/2 Laptops/1 Netbook
Processor AMD Athon X2 64/Intel Pentium 997/Intel Pentium 4/Intel Atom
Motherboard EpoX ATX motherboard/Samsung/Toshiba/Lenovo
Cooling Stock
Memory 4 GB/4 GB/2 GB/2 GB
Video Card(s) Asus GeForce GTX 780 Ti/Intel HD Graphics/GeForce 4MX/Intel GMA
Storage 6+ TB Total
Display(s) HP Pavilion 14 Inch 1024x768@60Hz 4:3 Aspect Ratio CRT Monitor
Case None
Audio Device(s) Various
Power Supply Seasonic 500 Watt & VenomRX 500 Watt
Mouse Wayes Iron Man Wireless Mouse
Keyboard Rexus VR2 Wireless Keyboard
Software Win10 & WinXP SP3
Benchmark Scores It sucks...
That's standard task amount and ram usage. If it's "eating all your ram" then maybe you need more?
Oh, yeah.. And 8 GB RAM is the optimal RAM usage if you open lots of tabs with lots of extensions & add-ons running. I have been running fine on a 2 GB RAM laptop (not this computer) for short term browsing.

To free up more RAM, just close any unnecessary tabs & disable unneeded extensions & add-ons.
 
Joined
Jan 29, 2012
Messages
5,608 (1.71/day)
Location
Florida
System Name natr0n-PC
Processor Ryzen 3600XT / 3700X
Motherboard Aorus
Memory DDR4 4000 - 32GB
Video Card(s) Asus Strix 980 Ti /Sapphire Pulse RX590 / EVGA GTX 1660 Ti SC
Storage Various SSD/HD
Display(s) AOC 24" IPS / Various Dells
Case Sunbeam Transformer Silver / Matrexx 55
Audio Device(s) Various
Power Supply Corsair TX 650w / Evga NEX 750B
Mouse Alienware AW558 @ 5000 DPI
Software XP/7/8.1
Benchmark Scores http://valid.x86.fr/79kuh6
Chrome needs/eats a lot of ram to data harvest.

I never have any issues with firefox to be honest.
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2014
Messages
908 (0.41/day)
Location
Nowy Warsaw
System Name SYBARIS
Processor AMD Ryzen™ 5 3600
Motherboard MSI Arsenal Gaming B450 Tomahawk
Cooling Cryorig H7 Quad Lumi
Memory Team T-Force Delta RGB 2x8GB 3200CL16
Video Card(s) Colorful GeForce RTX 2060 6G V2
Storage WD Black WD1003FZEX 1TB + Crucial MX500 500GB
Display(s) LG 22MP68VQ-P 22" 75hz IPS
Case In Win Mana 136
Audio Device(s) HyperX Cloud X | iVOOMi iVO-169SUFBT 2.1
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Cooler Master MM711 | Logitech G102 Prodigy | Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
Keyboard Fantech MK871 RGB TKL Outemu Blue mechanical keyboard
Software Windows 10 Education v2004 x64
Capture.PNG


Don't ask me why I have 46 open tabs. Just don't.

P.s. Ok I manually counted. I have 86 open tabs. Of those only 46 are loaded I guess.
 

Rei

Joined
Aug 1, 2020
Messages
656 (3.81/day)
Location
Guam
System Name 1 Desktop/2 Laptops/1 Netbook
Processor AMD Athon X2 64/Intel Pentium 997/Intel Pentium 4/Intel Atom
Motherboard EpoX ATX motherboard/Samsung/Toshiba/Lenovo
Cooling Stock
Memory 4 GB/4 GB/2 GB/2 GB
Video Card(s) Asus GeForce GTX 780 Ti/Intel HD Graphics/GeForce 4MX/Intel GMA
Storage 6+ TB Total
Display(s) HP Pavilion 14 Inch 1024x768@60Hz 4:3 Aspect Ratio CRT Monitor
Case None
Audio Device(s) Various
Power Supply Seasonic 500 Watt & VenomRX 500 Watt
Mouse Wayes Iron Man Wireless Mouse
Keyboard Rexus VR2 Wireless Keyboard
Software Win10 & WinXP SP3
Benchmark Scores It sucks...
Chrome needs/eats a lot of ram to data harvest.

I never have any issues with firefox to be honest.
Hope this is a joke.
First of all, unapproved data harvesting is not legal. Second, data harvesting doesn't consume much of system resources. Third, Firefox also does this multi-threaded task loading (just check your task manager).
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2015
Messages
598 (0.29/day)
System Name open air
Processor Ryzen R7 1700 Stock
Motherboard Fatal1ty AB350 Gaming-ITX/ac
Cooling Scythe Fuma
Memory Corsair Vengeance LPX 32GB (2 X 16GB) DDR4 DRAM 3466 (PC4-27700) C16 for Intel 100 Series - Red PC M
Video Card(s) XFX RX460 4GB SINGLE SLOT
Storage Crucial Mx100 256GB & Sandisk SSD Plus 480GB
Display(s) NOW LG 27MP38 1980X1080 IPS/OLD Philips Brilliance 220CW 1680x1050 CCFL Monitor ( DEFUNCT)
Case NOTHING no case
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CORSAIR SF450 PLATINUM
Mouse Elecom wireless mouse
Keyboard Logitech Mk240 Nano Wireless Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro/Enterprise
Benchmark Scores Don't know any benchmark. It runs good enough for me.
This is basically chrome, their ram hungry and modern webpages are also space hungry at the same time that does not help. I am a tab hogger too never closing them after opening it, well it got so bad my chrome usage alone used 36GB or more of ram. The only cure I can think off is to keep you tabs opening very low and lcosing them after used. The great tab suspender do save ram space.

Alternatively you can try to used session manager but I don't find it as good as the now defunct firefox session manager which is great when it work. That session manager backup all your backpage and forward pages links too which current firefox and chrome session managers do not. Old firefox is also not as memory intensive as chrome too sadly the new version just sucks with many broken good app compatibility with the apps such as the old firefox session managers. I miss that manager as i could organise my tab hoarding to sessions easily.
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
16,745 (3.08/day)
Location
Piteå
System Name Black MC in Tokyo
Processor Ryzen 5 2600x
Motherboard Asrock B450M-HDV
Cooling AMD Wraith Spire I think
Memory 2 x 8GB G-skill Aegis 3000 or somesuch
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2060 Gaming OC Pro
Storage Kingston A400 240GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2 | Toshiba P300 2TB
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case Antec dumpster find
Audio Device(s) Line6 UX1 + some headphones
Power Supply Fractal Design Effekt 400W
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Dell Sk3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores I once had +100 dorfs in DF, so yeah pretty great
Chrome needs/eats a lot of ram to data harvest.

I never have any issues with firefox to be honest.

Otoh Firefox will max out your RAM to the point of making the system unusable if you leave tabs open long enough. On the laptop (8GB) I always have 5 tabs on the background and I sometimes have to restart firefox to free up the RAM.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Rei
Joined
Apr 18, 2013
Messages
929 (0.33/day)
According to your specs you only have 6GB of RAM installed which is not nearly enough to use Chrome with that many tabs open.

I'd recommend switching to Firefox and installing uBlock Origin + NoScript, which could cut your RAM use in half.
 

ixi

Joined
Aug 19, 2014
Messages
364 (0.16/day)
You can try to use extension which freezes websites if you havent touched them in like 5 or 10 minutes.
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: Rei
Joined
Apr 26, 2019
Messages
203 (0.32/day)
Location
Italy
System Name The Worker
Processor Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard MSI b450 Tomahawk Max
Cooling Arctic Freezer 33 eSport One
Memory 16Gb DDR4 3200 Mhz Corsair vengeance LPX
Video Card(s) Gigabyte gtx 1660 Ti OC @2030Mhz core and 7400Mhz memory
Storage 2x 250Gb Samsung 850 Evo, 3TB HDD
Display(s) Asus mx259q
Case Corsair Spec Alpha
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply CoolerMaster G750M
Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma
Keyboard Gamdias Hermes e2
Software W10 64bit, Some Linux distros
I am trying to figure out how to control the chrome tab processes. They are hogging all my RAM after a day or so of not fully closing it out or restarting my computer.

Right now, it shows 22, I only have 16 tabs open.
View attachment 178203

I downloaded 'The Great Suspender' add on for chrome that shuts the tab down until I click on it if I do not use it for like 10 mins. I think this may be partially to blame? I notice the count seems to go up when I reload a tab from being suspended. However, it is not 1:1 .. I just unsuspended a tab and now it jumped to 27 processes. All of them soaking up some RAM so I cant tell if one is older or not so I could close it out ..

View attachment 178204

Is there other options out there to control the crazy Chrome RAM usage?
I would't be concerned... Yesterday I was Downloading a lot of univesity lessons and it used almost 10Gb of ram
 

rukawaxz

New Member
Joined
Dec 5, 2020
Messages
2 (0.04/day)
This is what you need, had same issue with Chrome, it got so bad that was freezing my computer multiple times.
It automatically suspends tabs, especially useful to people like me that on average have 50+ tabs open same time.
 
Joined
Sep 17, 2014
Messages
14,281 (6.16/day)
Location
The Washing Machine
Processor i7 8700k 4.7Ghz @ 1.26v
Motherboard AsRock Fatal1ty K6 Z370
Cooling beQuiet! Dark Rock Pro 3
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3200/C16
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X @ 2100/5500
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 1TB + Samsung 830 256GB + Crucial BX100 250GB + Toshiba 1TB HDD
Display(s) Gigabyte G34QWC (34'' 3440x1440x)
Case Fractal Design Define C TG
Power Supply EVGA G2 750w
Mouse Logitech G502 Protheus Spectrum
Keyboard Sharkoon MK80 (Brown)
Software W10 x64
I am trying to figure out how to control the chrome tab processes. They are hogging all my RAM after a day or so of not fully closing it out or restarting my computer.

Right now, it shows 22, I only have 16 tabs open.
View attachment 178203

I downloaded 'The Great Suspender' add on for chrome that shuts the tab down until I click on it if I do not use it for like 10 mins. I think this may be partially to blame? I notice the count seems to go up when I reload a tab from being suspended. However, it is not 1:1 .. I just unsuspended a tab and now it jumped to 27 processes. All of them soaking up some RAM so I cant tell if one is older or not so I could close it out ..

View attachment 178204

Is there other options out there to control the crazy Chrome RAM usage?

Uninstall and get Firefox. Run in private mode only. If you need a link or a login save it explicitly in the FF login manager.

No history saved, but runs like a dream.

According to your specs you only have 6GB of RAM installed which is not nearly enough to use Chrome with that many tabs open.

I'd recommend switching to Firefox and installing uBlock Origin + NoScript, which could cut your RAM use in half.

+1 though it seems Origin is in need of a refinement, its no longer a catch all
 
Joined
Jan 27, 2010
Messages
4,114 (1.03/day)
Location
USA
System Name ASUS ROG Zephrus M15
Processor AMD Rhyzen 7 4800HS
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) Geforce RTX 2060
Storage 1TB
sorry, those specs were about 10 years old :) I have updated them now ... I am running 16GB in my laptop now.

Thanks for the suggestions, I will look into them and see what I can do, if anything, about this outside of closing down tabs ... because that is crazy talk :)
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2019
Messages
316 (0.66/day)
Location
Canada
System Name New compy
Processor AMD Ryzen 3600x
Motherboard MSI MEG x570 ACE
Cooling Noctua NH-D15S w. FHP141 + Xigmatek AOS
Memory Patriot Viper 16gb ddr4400
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 1070 HB SLI
Storage 9.5tb
Display(s) Alienware AW2518H 24" 240hz, LG 43" 4k HDR TV 43UM6910PUA
Case Thermaltake Core v71
Audio Device(s) iFi Nano Idsd Le, Creative T20 + T50, Sennheiser HD6Mix
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1000w
Mouse Logitech G502 Hero custom w. G900 scroll wheel mod, G602, M705
Keyboard Corsair K68 RGB + K70 RGB, MK700
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/83f50d
Yeah that actually looks normal, if you use firefox tabs won't load unless you click on them so it uses less ram that way but if you have multiple tabs it does use up ram. My firefox process is at 900odd megabytes and I've only got like 5 tabs open.

abff.png
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: Rei
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
7,915 (1.50/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
6,339 (4.30/day)
System Name Good enough
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1700X - 4.0 Ghz / 1.350V
Motherboard ASRock B450M Pro4
Cooling Deepcool Gammaxx L240 V2
Memory 16GB - Corsair Vengeance LPX - 3333 Mhz CL16
Video Card(s) OEM Dell GTX 1080 with Kraken G12 + Water 3.0 Performer C
Storage 1x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB , 1x Samsung 860 EVO 500GB
Display(s) 4K Samsung TV
Case Deepcool Matrexx 70
Power Supply GPS-750C

Rei

Joined
Aug 1, 2020
Messages
656 (3.81/day)
Location
Guam
System Name 1 Desktop/2 Laptops/1 Netbook
Processor AMD Athon X2 64/Intel Pentium 997/Intel Pentium 4/Intel Atom
Motherboard EpoX ATX motherboard/Samsung/Toshiba/Lenovo
Cooling Stock
Memory 4 GB/4 GB/2 GB/2 GB
Video Card(s) Asus GeForce GTX 780 Ti/Intel HD Graphics/GeForce 4MX/Intel GMA
Storage 6+ TB Total
Display(s) HP Pavilion 14 Inch 1024x768@60Hz 4:3 Aspect Ratio CRT Monitor
Case None
Audio Device(s) Various
Power Supply Seasonic 500 Watt & VenomRX 500 Watt
Mouse Wayes Iron Man Wireless Mouse
Keyboard Rexus VR2 Wireless Keyboard
Software Win10 & WinXP SP3
Benchmark Scores It sucks...
I don't think that matters.
Well, if Google doesn't want to get caught with lawsuits & bad press breathing down their neck, then it would've been wise to get user approval especially with many willing sample data.
Regardless if anonymous statistical usage data (or something of the sort) is disabled or enabled does not matter as it would not affect browser performance.
 
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
7,915 (1.50/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
First of all, unapproved data harvesting is not legal.
Yeah, I didn't see this earlier. Sorry Rei, but that is not true at all. In order for something to be "not legal", there has to be a law specifying it (and "it" needs to be specifically defined) is "illegal". And there is no law anywhere in the world that says "unapproved data harvesting is illegal". Except maybe in North Korea, if any such law was passed, it would be shot down immediate by that country's Supreme Court as being too vague and general.

Well, if Google doesn't want to get caught with lawsuits & bad press
The courts have already ruled over and over again "for" Google, ISPs, cell carriers, Facebook and others. They can harvest pretty much all they want without our approval. HOWEVER, if we specifically say they cannot, then they can't. However, that may mean we cannot use their software or access their site.

You are right about bad press - but for many of these companies, they don't care about bad press.

It is important to remember that consumers tend to be our own worst enemies. If we don't want out information out there, we should not post it.

Having said all that, the greater risk is really from sites that are supposed to protect our data who then fail to do so through incompetence, ignorance and even criminal neglect. For example, the massive Equifax breach a few years ago. It could have easily been prevented but they failed to apply a patch that would have blocked the vulnerability the bad guys exploited - a patch that was available for several months before the breach! :( And they failed to secure the data on their servers as nearly all of the data of the 147 million users compromised was stored "in the clear"! That is, it was not encrypted! :mad:
 
Joined
Jan 8, 2017
Messages
6,339 (4.30/day)
System Name Good enough
Processor AMD Ryzen R7 1700X - 4.0 Ghz / 1.350V
Motherboard ASRock B450M Pro4
Cooling Deepcool Gammaxx L240 V2
Memory 16GB - Corsair Vengeance LPX - 3333 Mhz CL16
Video Card(s) OEM Dell GTX 1080 with Kraken G12 + Water 3.0 Performer C
Storage 1x Samsung 850 EVO 250GB , 1x Samsung 860 EVO 500GB
Display(s) 4K Samsung TV
Case Deepcool Matrexx 70
Power Supply GPS-750C
Well, if Google doesn't want to get caught with lawsuits & bad press breathing down their neck

They do get caught all the time, that's why I said it doesn't matter.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Rei
Joined
Oct 26, 2016
Messages
1,013 (0.65/day)
Location
BGD
System Name KING-XEON
Processor Xeon 2697 V2(12c/24t) (OC-3,45Ghz-ALL*CORES----TURBO BOOSTING 4,03Ghz)
Motherboard Sabertooth X79
Cooling Xigmatek LOKI SD963 double-Fan
Memory 34Gb DDR3 Kingston Hyper Blue 1540Mhz Active clocks(9-9-9-30-160-2T)
Video Card(s) 1)R9 Fury Sapphire Nitro 4gbHBM/1080Mhz***2)MATROX P690
Storage 2 x ssd-Kingston 240Gb A400 in RAID 0+ HDD 500Gb +Samsung 128gb
Display(s) BenQ 28"EL2870U(4K-HDR)/ Acer 24"(1080P)/ 2x Eizo 19"
Case Lian Lee
Audio Device(s) Realtek/Creative T20 Speakers
Power Supply F S P Hyper S 700W
Mouse Asus TUF-GAMING M3
Keyboard Func FUNC-KB-460/Mechanical Keyboard
Software Win 10
Benchmark Scores Fire Strike=14610,Cinebench R15=1789,Cinebench R20=3756.Passmark=20073,Geekbench4=32885 multi
It does not matter if is it Chrome,MsEdge,Opera...etc. all browser will "eat"a lot of memory if you love to keep many tabs open,pause video on 1 tab open on another&another&another...believe me I am one of those people who just like to keep 50-100 tabs open and even if I reset or shutdown I always love to continue where I left with all tabs-re open :)....

image_2020-12-05_173241.png
Anyway it is recommended to use CCleaner or some other similar apps from time to time to clean all that junk and start with"fresh"page-re-opening....
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: Rei

Toothless

Tech, Games, and TPU!
Supporter
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
6,900 (2.77/day)
Location
Washington, USA
System Name Veraltet
Processor 3700x
Motherboard AsRock Taichi Ultimate x470
Cooling NH-D15 Chromax
Memory G.Skill 2x16GB 3200mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1080 Ti Gaming X
Storage 2 NVME + 4 HDD
Display(s) LG 34UB88-P + 2x AOC 2425W
Case CoolerMaster NR600
Audio Device(s) SteelSeries Arctis 5
Power Supply Rosewill Fortress 750w
Mouse Corsair Scimitar Pro
Keyboard Corsair K57
Software Windows 10 Professional
Benchmark Scores Brrrrrrr
It does not matter if is it Chrome,MsEdge,Opera...etc. all browser will "eat"a lot of memory if you love to keep many tabs open...believe me I am one of those people who just like to keep 50-100 tabs open....

View attachment 178313
Anyway it is recommended to use CCleaner or some other similar apps from time to time to clean all that junk and start "fresh"page-re-opening....
Anything but CCleaner. Piriform has gone so far down from when they started that's it's laughable.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Rei
Joined
Jul 25, 2006
Messages
7,915 (1.50/day)
Location
Nebraska, USA
System Name Brightworks Systems BWS-6 E-IV
Processor Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.9GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 Rev 1.0
Cooling Quality case, 2 x Fractal Design 140mm fans, stock CPU HSF
Memory 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4 3000 Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) EVGA GEForce GTX 1050Ti 4Gb GDDR5
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB SSD, Samsung 860 Evo 500GB SSD
Display(s) Samsung S24E650BW LED x 2
Case Fractal Design Define R4
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W G2 Gold
Mouse Microsoft Wireless 5000
Keyboard Microsoft Wireless Comfort 5050
Software W10 Pro 64-bit
They do get caught all the time, that's why I said it doesn't matter.
And frankly, Google should be one of the least of our worries. Unless you tell them, Google, Microsoft and Mozilla, for example, they don't know our real names, street addresses, billing information, or even our physical location if we connect via Ethernet. And they are not trying to collect that information either. The closest Microsoft, for example, knows of my physical location is my POP (point of presence) - the physical location where my ISP connects me to the Internet backbone. In my case, that is 6 miles away on the other side of town.

Of MUCH BIGGER concern is our ISPs and especially cell phone carriers. They do know our real names, billing information etc. And they can tie that to everything we do on the Internet. An our cell phone carriers also know who we texted, who we emailed. But worse, they know within few feet where we have been, where we are standing - to include the aisle of the store we are in, the direction we are heading and how fast we are traveling! :eek: :kookoo:

Anything but CCleaner.
Totally disagree. CCleaner is still a great program. Yes, Piriform, the company, has issues since being bought by Avast, but CCleaner, the program, is still a great cleaner. Just because we don't like the politics and policies of a company (or in this case, their parent company), that does not mean their products are bad.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Rei
Top