• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Cleaned HSF, now PC won't boot

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,801 (1.27/day)
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor AMD Ryzen3 1300X 3.7GHz
Motherboard GA-AB350M-Gaming 3
Cooling Stock
Memory one stick 8GB Viper DDR4
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 1050
Storage WD 3T
Display(s) 50" Samsung and a 23" asus LCD 1080p
Case Antech.
Power Supply Corsair TX850
Mouse Optical
Keyboard K120 Logitech
Software Windows 10 64 bit Home OEM
The heatsink is on correctly, I've never taken out the CPU out from the socket, but I guess I'll do that next. And assemble the whole thing on a table to see if there's something shorting out the mobo
Good idea . but be careful !
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2006
Messages
2,476 (0.52/day)
Location
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom.{East Anglian Coast
System Name Hells Core.
Processor Q6600 Go @ 3.6ghz 24/7 1.360v stable.
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula.
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro (lapped). 1x120mm Akasa fan 2x80mm akasa fans (variable speeds)
Memory OCZ Reaper HPC 4GB 2x2 gigs pc2-6400 latency 6-6-6-15 @1100mhz. D9,s
Video Card(s) 2 x HIS HD5870's Crossfire
Storage WD Caviar SE 160GB 7200RPM SATAII 8MB Cache / Samsung 7200RPM SATAII 16mb Cache.
Display(s) 22" Benq True LED/HD.
Case Inwin IronClad Gaming case
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-Fi™ XtremeMusic EAX 5.0.2
Power Supply Hiper 880W Type-M Quad sli crossfire certified. 85% Efficiency Rated.
Software Windows 7 Home Premium
Benchmark Scores "3dmark06 23995" Q6600@4.3ghz 3870x2 GPU @900mhz MEM @1000mhz-OS XP. "The Current TPU Champ"
Well the 4pin is is usually the 3.3v and the 5v feed and supply higher ampage for components like CPU, RAM, chipset, PCI, AGP.

The 5pin 12v rails are lower ampage and only mainly power fans, cdrom drives,fdd.

So it figures that the fans will spin with the 4 pin unplugged as its not powering up major components.

It could be the power supply but my moneys still on the mobo im pretty shure you'd still here bleeps even for overheating issue.
 
Last edited:

sai-

New Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Location
CA
Processor Phenom II X2 555 BE
Motherboard Asus M4A87TD/USB3
Cooling Arctic Freezer 7 PRO Rev.2
Memory Kingston HyperX 4GB 1333
Video Card(s) Asus 4850 512MB TOP
Storage WDC-WD1600AAJS
Display(s) Samsung 22 inch
Case CM Centurion 5
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX
Power Supply Corsair vx450w
Yeah, I think I might have to just buy a new AMD mobo/cpu combo. Those things are super cheap now
 

trickson

OH, I have such a headache
Joined
Dec 5, 2004
Messages
6,801 (1.27/day)
Location
Planet Earth.
Processor AMD Ryzen3 1300X 3.7GHz
Motherboard GA-AB350M-Gaming 3
Cooling Stock
Memory one stick 8GB Viper DDR4
Video Card(s) GeForce GTX 1050
Storage WD 3T
Display(s) 50" Samsung and a 23" asus LCD 1080p
Case Antech.
Power Supply Corsair TX850
Mouse Optical
Keyboard K120 Logitech
Software Windows 10 64 bit Home OEM
Yeah, I think I might have to just buy a new AMD mobo/cpu combo. Those things are super cheap now
Next time use caned air to clean the thing :eek:
 

sai-

New Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Location
CA
Processor Phenom II X2 555 BE
Motherboard Asus M4A87TD/USB3
Cooling Arctic Freezer 7 PRO Rev.2
Memory Kingston HyperX 4GB 1333
Video Card(s) Asus 4850 512MB TOP
Storage WDC-WD1600AAJS
Display(s) Samsung 22 inch
Case CM Centurion 5
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX
Power Supply Corsair vx450w
I guess its better to have it running warm and loud than not having it running at all :p
I'll be sure to remember that for next time.

I messed around with it more today, taking it out of the case and connecting only the cpu, video card and 1 stick of memory. Same result. Looking at the mobo, there is no bulging or anything that I can imagine would indicate damage. At this point, I pretty much give up.

The X2 555 seems like a decent processor right now for under $100, so I'll go with that. Can any of you guys recommend me a good motherboard to go with it? Preferably under $100 too. The open box deals on Newegg seem nice, I'm not sure how they would play with this Xonar DX + 4850 though. Any help is appreciated :)
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2006
Messages
2,476 (0.52/day)
Location
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom.{East Anglian Coast
System Name Hells Core.
Processor Q6600 Go @ 3.6ghz 24/7 1.360v stable.
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula.
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro (lapped). 1x120mm Akasa fan 2x80mm akasa fans (variable speeds)
Memory OCZ Reaper HPC 4GB 2x2 gigs pc2-6400 latency 6-6-6-15 @1100mhz. D9,s
Video Card(s) 2 x HIS HD5870's Crossfire
Storage WD Caviar SE 160GB 7200RPM SATAII 8MB Cache / Samsung 7200RPM SATAII 16mb Cache.
Display(s) 22" Benq True LED/HD.
Case Inwin IronClad Gaming case
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-Fi™ XtremeMusic EAX 5.0.2
Power Supply Hiper 880W Type-M Quad sli crossfire certified. 85% Efficiency Rated.
Software Windows 7 Home Premium
Benchmark Scores "3dmark06 23995" Q6600@4.3ghz 3870x2 GPU @900mhz MEM @1000mhz-OS XP. "The Current TPU Champ"
Chances are one of the very small diodes has gone or one of the chips has sufferd static damage. You could go over the whole board with a multimeter testing the diodes but this would be very time consuming and you arent guaranteed to find the fault.

Goodluck with the next board :)

P.S. Remember in future turn OFF the power supply, power on the pc to disscharge any remaning power, As The parts in the PSU can hold charge for a while and still send a small amount of power to the mobo, This is how the damage usually occurs.
 
Last edited:

sai-

New Member
Joined
Jan 11, 2008
Messages
32 (0.01/day)
Location
CA
Processor Phenom II X2 555 BE
Motherboard Asus M4A87TD/USB3
Cooling Arctic Freezer 7 PRO Rev.2
Memory Kingston HyperX 4GB 1333
Video Card(s) Asus 4850 512MB TOP
Storage WDC-WD1600AAJS
Display(s) Samsung 22 inch
Case CM Centurion 5
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DX
Power Supply Corsair vx450w
Update: I bought a Phenom II X2 555 BE along with a decent ASUS board + DDR3 Kingston HyperX ram (never heard of them before) and happy to report that everything is smooth.

It must have been either the motherboard or the CPU, I'm wagering on the mobo. Guess I'll have to sell the 2 ram sticks and whatever else is salvageable.


EDIT: Thanks to everyone who helped me!
 
Joined
Jun 28, 2009
Messages
913 (0.25/day)
Location
nebraska
System Name TheBruise
Processor i7-960
Motherboard Gigabyte x58A -Ud5
Cooling Vantage ALC push pull/2x180mm fans/1x120mm silverstone
Memory 12GB Corsair Vengeance 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) 2 Sapphire Vapor-X 5870's in Xfire
Storage Ocz Vertex 3 Max Iops (OS) 300GB Velociraptor, 750 GB WD Black
Display(s) Asus 23" VS238H-P
Case Silverstone Ft01-BW Fortress
Audio Device(s) Creative X-fi Titanium
Power Supply Corsair HX-850
Software W7pro SP1
Glad you got it running again!
 
Joined
Mar 12, 2009
Messages
1,042 (0.27/day)
Location
SCOTLAND!
System Name Machine XII
Processor Phenom II 1155T
Motherboard Asus M4A88TD-M EVO/USB3
Cooling Custom Water Cooling
Memory 8Gb ddr3 1600mhz XMS 3
Video Card(s) HD5970 2Gb
Storage 128Gb Sandisk SATAIII 6G/s
Display(s) 19" + 23" + 17"
Case micro atx case
Audio Device(s) XFi xtreme OEM
Power Supply 750W
Software Windows 7 x64 Ultimate
try booting the computer without any ram and see if it does a memory error beep.
 
Joined
Jul 22, 2008
Messages
728 (0.18/day)
Location
Huntington Beach CA
System Name ROG MACHINE
Processor Ryzen 7 1800x
Motherboard Crosshair vi Hero
Cooling Corsair hydro H115i
Memory corsair vengeance rgb 32gb 4x8gb ddr4
Video Card(s) asus rog strix 1080
Storage samsung 960 evo 1tb m.2/mushkin reactor 1tb ssd/ 3x toshiba 3tb hdd
Display(s) Acer 4k monitor
Case corsair obsidian 750d
Power Supply corsair AX 1200i 1200 watt psu
Mouse coolermaster sentinel
Keyboard corsair k70
Software windows 10 pro 64bit
Update: I bought a Phenom II X2 555 BE along with a decent ASUS board + DDR3 Kingston HyperX ram (never heard of them before) and happy to report that everything is smooth.

It must have been either the motherboard or the CPU, I'm wagering on the mobo. Guess I'll have to sell the 2 ram sticks and whatever else is salvageable.


EDIT: Thanks to everyone who helped me!
glad your up and running again. test the old cpu see if its still good if so sell it with old ram on tpu or craigslist.
 
Top