• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Clevo P170EM AMD 7970M

Joined
Dec 20, 2016
Messages
35 (0.06/day)
Likes
2
#1
Hi,

I have a Clevo P170EM with an AMD 7970M.

Last year I tried to change the vBIOS of my 7970M, a friend of my tried to change it because he wanted to ''overlock'' the card. He said no worries I said okay do it, then later on he returned my laptop and bricked both my card and the normal BIOS. I had to repair the laptop trough a repair company in the city. They only could repair the BIOS by doing another BIOS on it. They said to try everything with the card but my laptop wouldn't accept it.

The problem:

After the Windows 10 installation I installed all the drivers from the manufacters site (http://www.eurocom.com/ec/drivers(226)ec). Including the SSD driver, then I FIRST installed and fully updated the Intel HD Graphics. After that I installed the AMD videocard drivers (crimsons edition), the weird part is, AMD autodetect sees my card and so does Windows. Then the driver ask me to restart my laptop, after restarting the Windows logo appears then the screen goes black with a blinking cursor left upper screen.

I believe it has someting to do with the vBIOS of the card and I also believe that the card is not bricked but just wrong BIOS.


I asked the manufacter and they say that the card may be bricked, when I ask for the BIOS they would not provide it for free (bastards). I asked for both the motherboard and AMD card BIOS, they said I have to pay for it.

Question:

Can someone provide information and files for the right vBIOS? I mean the vBIOS that is standard.

Greetz,

Jamie

P.s I have some pictures and screenshot of Windows and the BIOS detecting the graphic card, the weird thing is both OS and BIOS detect the card but when I install the drivers it goes black

P.s.s I already tried everything AMD support provided so I have no use for comments like ''Try unistall with DDU'' or try with second monitor etc.


As you can see I've disabled the card because when I enable, Windows freezes and screen goes black.





 

P4-630

The Way It's Meant to be Played
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
9,327 (2.05/day)
Likes
9,182
Location
Vinewood
System Name Sansaya / Sansaya Laptop
Processor Intel i7 6700K @ 4.3GHz (1.175 V) / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Noctua NH-U12S + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut + 3 case fans / Fan
Memory 16GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz CL15 / 6GB DDR4 Samsung 2400MHz CL15
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 512GB + Hitachi 2.5" 7200rpm 750GB / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p + 21.5" LG 22MP67VQ IPS 60Hz 1080p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX Onboard / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system
Power Supply Be quiet! Straight Power 10 500 Watt CM / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech Nano Laser wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 8.1 x64 / Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Superposition 14106 (1080p medium) Fire Strike 21169 graphics score. Valley 8xAA 4218
#2
As far as I know, the BIOS and vBIOS in a laptop is just one BIOS...
Someone can correct me if I'm wrong.
 
Joined
Mar 11, 2009
Messages
1,223 (0.36/day)
Likes
750
Location
Little Rock, AR
System Name Gamer/Server
Processor Intel Core i5 4690/AMD FX 8370
Memory 16/16GB
Video Card(s) EVGA Geforce GTX 980ti FTW/None
Case Fractal Designs/Dell
Power Supply 800w CM/450w Raidmax
Software Windows 10 Pro
#3
Joined
Dec 20, 2016
Messages
35 (0.06/day)
Likes
2
#4
As far as I know, the BIOS and vBIOS in a laptop is just one BIOS...
Someone can correct me if I'm wrong.
Well the repairer said that he fixed the BIOS but couldn't find the proper vBIOS for my card. In other words he said that I have to do it myself
 

P4-630

The Way It's Meant to be Played
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
9,327 (2.05/day)
Likes
9,182
Location
Vinewood
System Name Sansaya / Sansaya Laptop
Processor Intel i7 6700K @ 4.3GHz (1.175 V) / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Noctua NH-U12S + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut + 3 case fans / Fan
Memory 16GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz CL15 / 6GB DDR4 Samsung 2400MHz CL15
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 512GB + Hitachi 2.5" 7200rpm 750GB / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p + 21.5" LG 22MP67VQ IPS 60Hz 1080p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX Onboard / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system
Power Supply Be quiet! Straight Power 10 500 Watt CM / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech Nano Laser wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 8.1 x64 / Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Superposition 14106 (1080p medium) Fire Strike 21169 graphics score. Valley 8xAA 4218
#5
Well the repairer said that he fixed the BIOS but couldn't find the proper vBIOS for my card. In other words he said that I have to do it myself
In that case you may be able to fix it with the right vBIOS from the TPU GPU database as @Papahyooie mentioned.

GL.
 
Joined
Dec 20, 2016
Messages
35 (0.06/day)
Likes
2
#6

P4-630

The Way It's Meant to be Played
Joined
Jan 5, 2006
Messages
9,327 (2.05/day)
Likes
9,182
Location
Vinewood
System Name Sansaya / Sansaya Laptop
Processor Intel i7 6700K @ 4.3GHz (1.175 V) / Intel i3 7100U
Motherboard Asus Z170 Pro Gaming / HP 83A3 (U3E1)
Cooling Noctua NH-U12S + Thermal Grizzly Kryonaut + 3 case fans / Fan
Memory 16GB DDR4 Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000MHz CL15 / 6GB DDR4 Samsung 2400MHz CL15
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1070 Gaming X 8GB / Intel HD620
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 512GB + Hitachi 2.5" 7200rpm 750GB / Samsung 256GB M.2 SSD
Display(s) 23.8" Dell S2417DG 165Hz G-Sync 1440p + 21.5" LG 22MP67VQ IPS 60Hz 1080p / 14" 1080p IPS Glossy
Case Be quiet! Silent Base 600 - Window / HP Pavilion
Audio Device(s) SupremeFX Onboard / Realtek onboard + B&O speaker system
Power Supply Be quiet! Straight Power 10 500 Watt CM / Powerbrick
Mouse Logitech MX Anywhere 2 Laser wireless / Logitech Nano Laser wireless
Keyboard RAPOO E9270P Black 5GHz wireless / HP backlit
Software Windows 8.1 x64 / Windows 10
Benchmark Scores Superposition 14106 (1080p medium) Fire Strike 21169 graphics score. Valley 8xAA 4218
#7
Some nice friend was that....:wtf::shadedshu:
 
Joined
Mar 11, 2009
Messages
1,223 (0.36/day)
Likes
750
Location
Little Rock, AR
System Name Gamer/Server
Processor Intel Core i5 4690/AMD FX 8370
Memory 16/16GB
Video Card(s) EVGA Geforce GTX 980ti FTW/None
Case Fractal Designs/Dell
Power Supply 800w CM/450w Raidmax
Software Windows 10 Pro
#9
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 11, 2009
Messages
1,223 (0.36/day)
Likes
750
Location
Little Rock, AR
System Name Gamer/Server
Processor Intel Core i5 4690/AMD FX 8370
Memory 16/16GB
Video Card(s) EVGA Geforce GTX 980ti FTW/None
Case Fractal Designs/Dell
Power Supply 800w CM/450w Raidmax
Software Windows 10 Pro
#11
Joined
Dec 20, 2016
Messages
35 (0.06/day)
Likes
2
#12
Guys I forgot something important! the GPU-Z!

here take a look, this doesn't look normal or is it because I disabled the driver/card in device manager?



When I try to backup the BIOS it says; BIOS reading not supported on this device
 
Joined
Dec 20, 2016
Messages
35 (0.06/day)
Likes
2
#13
Okay I figured it out, and here is my conclusion.

Version ATIFLASH: 4.17
CLEVO BIOS VERSION: 1.02.17

I downloaded the ROM from this site for my 7970M for Clevo models. Then installed Rufus, did a test drive for 1 round to check then formatted the usb drive (without quick format) and FreeDOS.

I did all the files to the usb drive and restarted my laptop, then I putted the usb as first in the boot order. When I was in FreeDOS I did the following commands:

atiflash -i

It shows the GPU in slot 0 then I read rom 1000 and test: fail

Then I did the command atiflash -ai

It shows that my card has no vBIOS at all.

I was unsure what to do next so I just followed the guide as usual and tried to flash with the commands

atiflash -unlockrom 0

ROM UNLOCKED

atiflash -f -p 0 amdclevo.rom

It said atiflash error 0fl01

Then I just CTRL ALT DEL because I don't want to fuck up my laptop and waiting for a reply from you guys.

Did I tried to installed the wrong ROM? are my named files to long for DOS?
 
Joined
Mar 11, 2009
Messages
1,223 (0.36/day)
Likes
750
Location
Little Rock, AR
System Name Gamer/Server
Processor Intel Core i5 4690/AMD FX 8370
Memory 16/16GB
Video Card(s) EVGA Geforce GTX 980ti FTW/None
Case Fractal Designs/Dell
Power Supply 800w CM/450w Raidmax
Software Windows 10 Pro
#14
0fl01 is the error code for adapter not found, if I am correct. What is the name of the bios file you're trying to flash?

It could be that the adapter is not in slot 0. What is the exact output when you run atiflash -i?

The only fixes for this I'm finding online are to short pins on the card to remove write protection... don't want to go down that road unless absolutely necessary.
 
Joined
Dec 20, 2016
Messages
35 (0.06/day)
Likes
2
#15
I'll post a photo of the DOS in about a half an hour. ehm the original file name of the BIOS is

Clevo.HD7970M.2048.120605.rom but I changed it to amdclevo.rom because a long name is not good for the DOS I read last time
 
Joined
Mar 11, 2009
Messages
1,223 (0.36/day)
Likes
750
Location
Little Rock, AR
System Name Gamer/Server
Processor Intel Core i5 4690/AMD FX 8370
Memory 16/16GB
Video Card(s) EVGA Geforce GTX 980ti FTW/None
Case Fractal Designs/Dell
Power Supply 800w CM/450w Raidmax
Software Windows 10 Pro
#16
Yea you did right on renaming it. Get that screenshot and I'll see if I can help.
 
Joined
Dec 20, 2016
Messages
35 (0.06/day)
Likes
2
#17
Hey thanks in advance for your help, I've searched all over my college and forums but no one really knew what I was talking about.

This is the photo by the way



I've discovered also a problem in Windows 10, after i booted up because of a failed flash (could not read rom error). Windows 10 instant tried to download the driver for the card and everything freezes. This is a common issue with Win10, I fix that later.

Another question (sorry for all the questions xD) do I need to remove the driver completely before flashing the card?

EDIT:

I tried it with the short file names and it gives me the same error. Actually no problem because there is no vbios to fuck up
 
Last edited:
Joined
Mar 11, 2009
Messages
1,223 (0.36/day)
Likes
750
Location
Little Rock, AR
System Name Gamer/Server
Processor Intel Core i5 4690/AMD FX 8370
Memory 16/16GB
Video Card(s) EVGA Geforce GTX 980ti FTW/None
Case Fractal Designs/Dell
Power Supply 800w CM/450w Raidmax
Software Windows 10 Pro
#18
Disregard because I'm dumb.

So from what I'm seeing, it looks like that "failed to read rom" means that the BIOS is write protected. Try running the unlock command before running the flash command again. If that doesn't work... you may need to solder some wires to bypass write protection on the chip....

EDIT: actually try flashing adapter 1... I see that it is marked as a slave. Could be a remnant of the bad flash your buddy did.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Dec 20, 2016
Messages
35 (0.06/day)
Likes
2
#19
Okay I will try that, it's quite frustrating that Win10 instantly download the drivers when I boot. Even when I've disabled the auto driver update in ''Advanced settings'' from System

P.s he says adapter not found when I do 1 instead of 0
 
Last edited:

Solaris17

Creator Solaris Utility DVD
Joined
Aug 16, 2005
Messages
19,603 (4.18/day)
Likes
6,551
Location
Florida
System Name Venslar
Processor I9 7980XE
Motherboard MSI x299 Tomahawk Arctic
Cooling EKWB L360 R2.0
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 1080TI
Storage 2x 2TB Micron SSDs | 1x ADATA 128SSD (Cache) | 1x Drevo 256SSD | 1x 1TB 850 EVO | 1x 250GB 960 EVO
Display(s) 3x AOC Q2577PWQ (2k IPS)
Case Inwin 303 White (Thermaltake Ring 120mm Purple accent)
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC 1220 on Audio-Technica ATH-AG1
Power Supply Seasonic 1050W Snow
Mouse Roccat Tyon White
Keyboard Ducky Shine 6 Snow White
Software Windows 10 x64 Pro
#20
As far as I know, the BIOS and vBIOS in a laptop is just one BIOS...
Someone can correct me if I'm wrong.
This. Using ATIFlash will not work it is not designed for these types of GPUs. The only time ATIflash or NVflash works with mobile GPUs is if the machine manufacturer implements it. In most cases it is as @P4-630 said. The vGPU bios is part of the main ROM.

If it truly is a corruption of the vBIOS block you will need to flash the entire BIOS using the methods the manufacturer specifies on the products support page. In which case you are also stuck with the BIOS provided by the manufacturer because the GPUs will not take stock ROMs.

This is also why you are getting locked messages and cant flash. This information is not accessible via normal SPI means and is probably tied to the main BIOS.
 
Joined
Mar 11, 2009
Messages
1,223 (0.36/day)
Likes
750
Location
Little Rock, AR
System Name Gamer/Server
Processor Intel Core i5 4690/AMD FX 8370
Memory 16/16GB
Video Card(s) EVGA Geforce GTX 980ti FTW/None
Case Fractal Designs/Dell
Power Supply 800w CM/450w Raidmax
Software Windows 10 Pro
#21
Listen to Solaris17... He knows what he's talking about lol. I hadn't thought of this, totally missed the post he quoted.

Reflash the entire bios. Unfortunately, I can't find where you'd actually get that file... Maybe contact the manufacturer.
 

Tatty_One

Senior Moderator & Combat Squirrel
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
20,184 (4.45/day)
Likes
6,601
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#22
Joined
Dec 20, 2016
Messages
35 (0.06/day)
Likes
2
#23
Okay I've send emails to my seller and Eurocom (clevo website is down for some reason for me so couldn't find their support)

I've linked this thread in the email and asked if it's possible to provide me the BIOS and information for my laptop.

I'm waiting for their response, if I read correctly then it means I must flash the P170EM BIOS that is compatible with my 7970m. I guess I have a unique problem xD

Thank you all for your help! And I will keep you guys informed how things are going

Greetz
 
Joined
Dec 20, 2016
Messages
35 (0.06/day)
Likes
2
#24
Nice!

I've recieved a well informed email

Here is the thing:

Hello Jamie.

You are missing 1 very important thing.

The PCIE command that switches it from the Intel to the AMD for flashing.

I have attached the default vbios and flash util for the card.

Please rename the file from .zif to .zip

Extract it to a bootable USB

Please flash it off a DOS boot like you have been doing, but run PX.bat.

The will auto run the PCIE command, and flash the card.

I totally not thought this would be a possible solution. I'm going to test it out tomorrow on college and keep you guys informed!
 
Top