• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Cloning from 1TB to 2TB hard drive

Joined
Jul 19, 2009
Messages
228 (0.07/day)
Likes
11
System Name Adult Entertainment
Processor i7 2600K 4.4Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P8Z77-I Deluxe
Cooling CM Hyper 212 Evo with two Noctua 12cm fans
Memory 8GB (2x4GB) Corsair Vengeance LP 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA Geforce GTX 690
Storage two 3TB hard drives
Display(s) 27" Asus
Case Bitfenix Prodigy
Audio Device(s) Motherboard Soundcard FTW!
Power Supply Seasonic X850
Software Windows 10 64bit | Linux Mint | Windows XP 32bit
Benchmark Scores Score: OMFGWTFBBQSPEED!
#1
Whats a good free imaging/cloning program? I have a 1TB hard drive with Win7 and I want to seamlessly migrate my stuff to a 2TB hard drive. Any suggestions?
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,627 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,352
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#2
Usually visiting the manufacturers site of the drive will produce a software for their drives.

like Seatools is for Seagate, and WD has a version of Acronis.;)
Standalone, I think its Acronis Easy Migrate (or is it Migrate Easy) that will clone one to the other.
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,654 (1.69/day)
Likes
2,605
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
Joined
Apr 19, 2007
Messages
378 (0.10/day)
Likes
41
System Name The Monolith
Processor Core i7 3770k
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Cooling Stock
Memory 4gb 1333 Upgrading to G-Skill Sniper 2x 8gb 2133
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 680 FTW 4gb
Storage OCZ Revo 3 120gb / 1tb WD Caviar Black
Display(s) Westinghouse LVM37 W-3 37"1080p
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) M-Audio Firewire Solo
Power Supply Corsair HX 1050
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#4
Whats a good free imaging/cloning program? I have a 1TB hard drive with Win7 and I want to seamlessly migrate my stuff to a 2TB hard drive. Any suggestions?
In the search on the start menu type backup. There will be one option that says "backup computer" click on it. Then on the left you can click on create system image. That will make a clone of your current state of your hdd. I use it all the time. You will need another hdd to save the image. Then you can write the image to any hdd and have everything the way it was when you made the image. It's a nice feature in 7.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#5
In the search on the start menu type backup. There will be one option that says "backup computer" click on it. Then on the left you can click on create system image. That will make a clone of your current state of your hdd. I use it all the time. You will need another hdd to save the image. Then you can write the image to any hdd and have everything the way it was when you made the image. It's a nice feature in 7.
As an Administrator who has used Windows servers (and hated them I might add,) I would never rely on Windows backup.

If you want a *complete* backup, I would use an Ubuntu live CD and use dd to copy the drive to an image then use something like zip or tar/gzip to compress it. I searched google real quick, maybe something like this is what you're looking for? Honestly, this is what I would do.

http://www.howtogeek.com/howto/19446/make-a-drive-image-using-an-ubuntu-live-cd/
 

lyndonguitar

I play games
Joined
Apr 1, 2010
Messages
1,850 (0.66/day)
Likes
504
Location
Philippines
System Name X6 | Lyndon-ROG
Processor Intel Core i7-8700k | Intel Core i7 6700HQ
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 Aorus Gaming 5 | Asus ROG-GL552VX
Cooling Deepcool Captain 240EX
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LED | 8 GB
Video Card(s) NVIDIA GTX 1080 8 GB GDDR5X | NVIDIA GeForce GTX 950M 4GB
Storage SSDs: 500GB, HDDs: 2TB, 2TB, 3TB | SSD: 250GB, HDD: 1TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2411 1080p@144Hz, 32" HDTV, 19" Monitor | 15.6"1080p
Case Cougar Panzer Max
Audio Device(s) Corsair Gaming H1500 7.1 | ROCCAT Kave 5.1 | Edifier M3200
Power Supply EVGA 750GQ
Mouse Razer Deathadder Chroma | Logitech G302 | Mad Catz Cyborg R.A.T. 5
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 Cherry MX Red
Software Windows 10
#6
Whats a good free imaging/cloning program? I have a 1TB hard drive with Win7 and I want to seamlessly migrate my stuff to a 2TB hard drive. Any suggestions?
Hello, Migrating a 1TB Hard Drive to a 2TB HDD is very possible.

My Rig started out on just 160GB, when I upgraded HDDs, I cloned my 160 GB into a newly bought 500GB HDD. (it was an OS HDD)

Then on the next HDD upgrade(I bought a 1 TB) I cloned that 500GB to a 1 TB HDD.

No problems at all.

From what I can remember the program I used was Acronis?? I forgot. But it ran the cloning process outside of windows. the cloning took like 30 to 1 hr. then I switched drive letters and the newly bought HDD is now my boot device.
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2007
Messages
5,051 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,785
System Name Addison Clark
Processor I7 7700k @ 5GHZ 1.35v
Motherboard Asus Z270 ITX
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory Corsair 16GB DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) Zotac 1080 TI F.E.
Storage Plextor M8Pe 1TB M.2
Display(s) Asus 28" 4K
Case Corsair 380T
Audio Device(s) Creative Omni USB
Power Supply EVGA G3 Supernova 1KW
Mouse G.Skill 780
Keyboard MS Sidewinder x4
Software Win 10 Pro
#7
If you install either Acronis True Image WD Edition or Seagate's Discwizard but one of the drives being imaged has to be in the loop of the drives your imaging or imaging to. You can either do the clone through windows or make a bootable disc and run the clone off the disc.
 
Joined
Jun 12, 2007
Messages
4,815 (1.25/day)
Likes
639
Location
Wangas, New Zealand
System Name Darth Obsidious
Processor Intel i5 2500K
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V/Gen3
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+ in Push Pull
Memory 2X4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS R9 270x TOP
Storage 128GB Samsung 830 SSD, 1TB WD Black, 2TB WD Green
Display(s) LG IPS234V-PN
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) Infrasonic Quartet
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
Software Windows 7 64bit and Windows XP Home
Benchmark Scores 2cm mark on bench with a razor blade.
#8
As mentioned, if you have two HDDs of the same brand, the company will have supporting cloning software for them for free.

Otherwise you are looking at payware Acronis True Image Home or Norton Ghost.

The other option is to make a windows easy backup, install windows on to the new HDD and then transfer using the easy backup wizard.
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#9

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#10
I like how everyone is ignoring the linux option. Since Linux already has all the tools to do what you want it to do and there a number of LiveCDs and you don't have to pay a thing for it. Also it gets you better at *nix and bash, so the only con to doing it this way is that you have to learn something or follow some instructions.

Honestly, if you want something done correctly, you do it yourself.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2007
Messages
744 (0.19/day)
Likes
78
System Name Tiberius / Aulus
Processor i7 3770K @ 4.6 / i7 4500U 2.4
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4 / Haswell ULT
Cooling Corsair H80i / Internal Fans
Memory 32Gb Crucial Ballistix / 8Gb Integrated
Video Card(s) eVGA 1080FTW / Intel 4400 HD
Storage 850EVO 500GB + Assorted 8TB / Samsung 512 mSATA SSD
Display(s) Samsung S27B970 2560x1440 / 13" WLED 1920x1080
Case Thermaltake S71 / XPS13
Audio Device(s) Realtek HD / Realtek HD
Power Supply Corsair HX750W / 9 cell Battery
Mouse Logitech G402
Keyboard Razer Deathstalker
Software Win 8.1 Pro / Win 8.1 Pro
Benchmark Scores Suggestions.
Joined
Aug 30, 2009
Messages
4,001 (1.32/day)
Likes
1,652
Location
Sarasota, Florida, USA
System Name Awesomesauce 4.3 | Laptop (MSI GE72VR 6RF Apache Pro-023)
Processor Intel Core i7-5820K 4.16GHz 1.28v/3GHz 1.05v uncore | Intel Core i7-6700HQ @ 3.1GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X99-UD5 WiFi LGA2011-v3| Stock
Cooling Corsair H100i v2 w/ 2x EK Vardar F4-120ER + various 120/140mm case fans | Stock
Memory G.Skill RJ-4 16GB DDR4-2666 CL15 quad channel | 12GB DDR4-2133
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG Strix A8G Gaming GTX 1080 @ 2075/1368 boost | NVIDIA GTX 1060 6GB +200/+500 + Intel 530
Storage Samsung 840 EVO 500GB + Seagate 3TB 7200RPM + others | Kingston 256GB M.2 SATA + 1TB 7200RPM
Display(s) Acer G257HU 1440p 60Hz AH-IPS 4ms | 17.3" 1920*1080 60Hz wide angle TN notebook panel
Case Fractal Design Define XL R2 | MSI
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster Z | Realtek with quad stereo speakers and subwoofer
Power Supply Corsair HX850i Platinum | 19.5v 180w Delta brick
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores GTX 1080 please?
#12
I've used Clonezilla (live CD) and it's great as long as you know exactly what you are doing. Recently moved my dad's Windows 7 install from a 36GB Raptor to a 250GB Seagate, then went in Windows and expanded the partition to the full 250GB.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,314 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,723
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#13
I have always used Acronis ( WD's version ) and it's yet to fail me and it's easy to use as well.