• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Cloning my boot drive - How do I go about it?

Joined
Oct 20, 2012
Messages
332 (0.13/day)
Location
Where ever the wind blows
System Name PATATAS3
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600 ~ 3.7Ghz
Motherboard ASRock B450M Steel Legend
Cooling Deepcool Gammaxx GTE
Memory Corsair Vengeance RGB 16GB (8x2)
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2060 Ventus OC
Storage Boot Drive: ADATA XPG SX6000 256gb, Storage Drive: 1TB Toshiba ~ 7200rpm
Display(s) Dell P2417H
Case Tecware Alpha M
Audio Device(s) SteelSeries Arctis 3
Power Supply Seasonic S12II - 520w
Mouse Logitech G102 w/ Huano Blues (Modded)
Keyboard Drevo GRAMR w/ Outemmu Browns
So I bought myself a new M.2 ssd to replace my boot drive. As much as I could just reinstall windows and reinstall everything again its kinda a hassle to setup everything for my work and how some of my preferences are setup (photoshop and drawing tablet driver optimizations and etc) A friend of mine told me to look into cloning my boot drive that way i don't have to setup everything again.

is cloning relatively easy? or should I just do a windows installation from scratch.

Many thanks in advance!
 
Joined
Dec 18, 2005
Messages
7,173 (1.41/day)
System Name money pit..
Processor Intel 9900K 4.8 at 1.152 core voltage minus 0.120 offset
Motherboard Asus rog Strix Z370-F Gaming
Cooling Dark Rock TF air cooler.. Stock vga air coolers with case side fans to help cooling..
Memory 32 gb corsair vengeance 3200
Video Card(s) Palit Gaming Pro OC 2080TI
Storage 150 nvme boot drive partition.. 1T Sandisk sata.. 1T Transend sata.. 1T 970 evo nvme m 2..
Display(s) 27" Asus PG279Q ROG Swift 165Hrz Nvidia G-Sync, IPS.. 2560x1440..
Case Gigabyte mid-tower.. cheap and nothing special..
Audio Device(s) onboard sounds with stereo amp..
Power Supply EVGA 850 watt..
Mouse Logitech G700s
Keyboard Logitech K270
Software Win 10 pro..
Benchmark Scores Firestike 29500.. timepsy 14000..
download macreum reflect.. its free...

trog
 

1000t

New Member
Joined
Sep 30, 2019
Messages
25 (0.47/day)
I cloned a drive once, few years ago. I used live linux distro and dd command to clone the installed linux OS from HDD to new SSD of similar, but slightly lower capacity. Unfortunately, I don't remember anymore how I did it. There are two possibilities:
  • resize the partitions to fit if necessary and clone whole device,
  • do it partition by partition.
I think I did it the first way, but I'm not sure. But it worked.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
4,533 (0.83/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/ztiub6
Install the M.2 drive, use cloning software...
I'd recommend https://www.miray.de/products/sat.hdclone.html
Then reboot the system, set the M.2 drive as the boot drive and check everything is there.
HD Clone can do the repartitioning on the fly after after it has cloned the drive.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
11,236 (3.12/day)
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro NVMe 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 1Tb SSD
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 55" LG 4K SK8000 Series
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) Focusrite Scarlett // HDMI to Samsung HW-R650 sound bar
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Cooler Master CK550 RBG
Software Windows 10 Pro // Windows 10 Pro
Joined
Jun 2, 2017
Messages
1,500 (1.66/day)
System Name Best AMD Computer
Processor AMD TR4 1920X
Motherboard MSI X399 SLI Plus
Cooling Alphacool Eisbaer 420 x2 Noctua NHU-14S TR4
Memory Gskill RIpjaws 4 3000MHZ 48GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64 Nitro, Gigabyte Vega 64 Gaming OC
Storage 6 x NVME 480 GB, 2 x SSD 2TB, 5TB HDD, 2 TB HDD, 2x 2TB SSHD
Display(s) Acer 49BQ0k 4K monitor
Case Thermaltake Core X9
Audio Device(s) Corsair Void Pro, Logitch Z523 5.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1200!
Mouse Logitech g7 gaming mouse
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 Steam. GOG, Uplay, Origin
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 24955 Time Spy: 13500
Macrium Reflect it is free and it works

Install the M.2 drive, use cloning software...
I'd recommend https://www.miray.de/products/sat.hdclone.html
Then reboot the system, set the M.2 drive as the boot drive and check everything is there.
HD Clone can do the repartitioning on the fly after after it has cloned the drive.
Frig I loved that program I didn't know they added support for M2 drives. Is it still possible to change the C drive when cloning with this one too?
 
Joined
Oct 21, 2005
Messages
5,615 (1.09/day)
Location
USA
System Name Small ATX Desktop
Processor Intel i5 8600K @ 4.6 GHz Core & 4.3 GHz Uncore @ 1.168V
Motherboard Asrock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE, MonoPlus, Fans: 2xThermalright TY143 / 2xCorsair SP-120L / 2xYate Loon D14BH-12
Memory G-Skill TridentZ 2X8GB DDR4 3200 CL14 F4-3200C14D-16GTZ @ 3200 14-14-14-34 2T @ 1.35V
Video Card(s) Zotac 1060 6GB Mini ZT-P10600A-10L with Arctic MonoPlus and Yate Loon D14BH-12 Fan
Storage OS Samsung 970 Pro 512GB NVMe, Games Phison E12 NVMe 1TB, Data WD10EZEX HDD 1TB
Display(s) 2x Asus PB258Q 2560x1440 25" IPS
Case Lian Li PC A05NB (Inverted Mobo)
Audio Device(s) Audiotechnica ATH M50X, Antlion Mod Mic 4, SYBA SD-CM-UAUD, Acoustic Research 2Ch Speakers
Power Supply Seasonic SS-660XP2 660 Watt Platinum
Mouse Zowie EC2A Mouse, Razer Naga Chroma '14, Corsair MM600, Inateck 900x300 XL pad, Tiger Gaming Skates.
Keyboard Filco Majestouch II Ninja TKL, Goldtouch GTC 0033 Ten Key, PS3 Controller
Software Win7 Pro 64 (Installed on Coffee Lake using AsRock's handy PS/2 Simulator in Bios)
Samsung data migration works nicely

I use this one. Its a great program, very fast and easy to use, but, unless I am mistaken, it is only for supported Samsung consumer drives.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
4,533 (0.83/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/ztiub6
Frig I loved that program I didn't know they added support for M2 drives. Is it still possible to change the C drive when cloning with this one too?
Yeah, all the same features as before, just more and better features. Obviously not free, but it has never failed me once.
 
Joined
Jun 2, 2017
Messages
1,500 (1.66/day)
System Name Best AMD Computer
Processor AMD TR4 1920X
Motherboard MSI X399 SLI Plus
Cooling Alphacool Eisbaer 420 x2 Noctua NHU-14S TR4
Memory Gskill RIpjaws 4 3000MHZ 48GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Vega 64 Nitro, Gigabyte Vega 64 Gaming OC
Storage 6 x NVME 480 GB, 2 x SSD 2TB, 5TB HDD, 2 TB HDD, 2x 2TB SSHD
Display(s) Acer 49BQ0k 4K monitor
Case Thermaltake Core X9
Audio Device(s) Corsair Void Pro, Logitch Z523 5.1
Power Supply Corsair HX1200!
Mouse Logitech g7 gaming mouse
Keyboard Logitech G510
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 Steam. GOG, Uplay, Origin
Benchmark Scores Firestrike: 24955 Time Spy: 13500
Yeah, all the same features as before, just more and better features. Obviously not free, but it has never failed me once.
Nice I will get this one when I get home today
 
Joined
Oct 20, 2012
Messages
332 (0.13/day)
Location
Where ever the wind blows
System Name PATATAS3
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 2600 ~ 3.7Ghz
Motherboard ASRock B450M Steel Legend
Cooling Deepcool Gammaxx GTE
Memory Corsair Vengeance RGB 16GB (8x2)
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2060 Ventus OC
Storage Boot Drive: ADATA XPG SX6000 256gb, Storage Drive: 1TB Toshiba ~ 7200rpm
Display(s) Dell P2417H
Case Tecware Alpha M
Audio Device(s) SteelSeries Arctis 3
Power Supply Seasonic S12II - 520w
Mouse Logitech G102 w/ Huano Blues (Modded)
Keyboard Drevo GRAMR w/ Outemmu Browns
Yeah, all the same features as before, just more and better features. Obviously not free, but it has never failed me once.
I don't need to buy it if I plan on just using it one time right? How about using Macrium Reflect, is that another good software as well? The drive will arrive (if seller is correct) hopefully tomorrow. and how long does the cloning process take? Can I still use the PC normally as it clones the drive?
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
15,778 (4.37/day)
What everyone else said... I use EaseUS software... works like a charm (and free).

You can use your PC while you clone... and for how long, that depends on the size of the drives and data. With NVMe to NVMe it should be quick regardless... I wouldnt imagine over an hour for a stuffed full 1TB drive.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
4,533 (0.83/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/ztiub6
I don't need to buy it if I plan on just using it one time right? How about using Macrium Reflect, is that another good software as well? The drive will arrive (if seller is correct) hopefully tomorrow. and how long does the cloning process take? Can I still use the PC normally as it clones the drive?
There's a free version, just very slow in comparison, as it has a speed limit. But there's also the other alternative, if you know what I mean...
I have no idea about the other software, never used it.
 
Joined
Jun 1, 2011
Messages
1,500 (0.48/day)
Location
US of A
System Name gaming
Processor Intel i7-9700k @ 4.9ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z370 AORUS Gaming 3
Cooling Noctua U12A
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1660 Ti OC 6G
Storage Crucial MX500, Crucial P1 NVMe, ScanDisk Ultra 3D
Display(s) Dell - SE2717HR 27" IPS LED FHD FreeSync Monitor
Case Phanteks P400A w/ Noctua fans
Audio Device(s) Klipsch pro-media 2.1 speakers
Power Supply Seasonioc Focus Plus 650w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G15 original
Software Win 10
Benchmark Scores i can finally play crysis
What everyone else said... I use EaseUS software... works like a charm (and free).
Is that Crucial's cloning software or am I thinking of Acronis?
 
Joined
Oct 3, 2019
Messages
38 (0.76/day)
ddrescue is a free option as it comes with pretty much any linux distro. The catch is the new drive has to be bigger than the old drive. It's a bit advanced as it's all command line. You can download clonezilla (also linux) but more user friendly. I'm not sure if they've kept that up to date or not.

Acronis 11 or higher is by far easiest way. Try finding a free copy of True Image HD.

Here's clonezilla's most recent stable release https://osdn.net/projects/clonezilla/downloads/71563/clonezilla-live-2.6.3-7-amd64.iso/
 
Joined
Jan 1, 2019
Messages
40 (0.12/day)
I use the WD version of Acronis. It needs a WD disk to install but after that it's no problem. I have lots of WD disks so I am not worried.

Acronis can copy the boot disk of any rig to another disk. With a dual M.2 motherboard its trivial to copy SSD drive.
 
Joined
Sep 27, 2019
Messages
120 (2.14/day)
Location
Canada
System Name New compy
Processor AMD Ryzen 3600x
Motherboard MSI MEG x570 ACE
Cooling Noctua NH-D15S w. FHP141 + Xigmatek AOS
Memory Patriot Viper 16gb ddr4400
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 1070 HB SLI
Storage 9.5tb
Display(s) Alienware AW2518H 24" 240hz
Case Thermaltake Core v71
Audio Device(s) iFi Nano Idsd Le, Creative T20 + T50, Sennheiser HD6Mix
Power Supply EVGA Supernova G2 1000w
Mouse Logitech G502 Hero custom w. G900 scroll wheel mod
Keyboard Corsair K68 RGB + K70 RGB
Software Win 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/83f50d
I don't need to buy it if I plan on just using it one time right? How about using Macrium Reflect, is that another good software as well? The drive will arrive (if seller is correct) hopefully tomorrow. and how long does the cloning process take? Can I still use the PC normally as it clones the drive?
I used macrium and it took about an hour and a half to clone my hdd onto an ssd (about 185gb). When using macrium, drag each partition from your main drive to the clone drive leaving the big one for last. I watched videos while it did its thing.
 
Joined
Feb 3, 2019
Messages
514 (1.76/day)
Location
Chicago Land
Processor 2700X @ x4 4400Mhz
Motherboard Asus B450-I Gaming
Cooling Stock Air
Memory Corsair 3000nhz 13-15-15-15-32-53 2T
Video Card(s) Asus strix GTX 980 OC
Storage SSD
Display(s) 21" - 55"
Case None
Power Supply Antec CP series 850w
Mouse Razar Mamba Tournament Edition
Keyboard Logitech G910
Software W7
Benchmark Scores Max Cpu clock 7685Mhz FX-8300 WPrime 32m 2.886 seconds AMD 2700x
Don't really need any cloning software. W7 and up you can create a system image right in windows.
Relatively easy to do and it works just fine. I've used it several times myself.


Most people prefer other software for cloning, just a preference thing imo.
 
Joined
Mar 18, 2015
Messages
2,245 (1.31/day)
Location
Long Island
Use the migration tool that comes with the SSD (download from site)
 
Joined
Sep 10, 2014
Messages
601 (0.32/day)
You don't want cloning, you want imaging.
Cloning is to create a bootable disk with the installed OS.
Image is to create a snapshot that you can install (restore) to any disk.

Use Macrium Reflect and create images regularly, say every fortnight, so you always have a recent one.
 

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
12,695 (2.65/day)
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig 2018 - Ryzen+ Edition | SpartanCore | SpartanCore2
Processor R7 2700X @ Stock (3.7/4.35) w/PBO+XFR2 | i7 3770 3.4/3.9 Stock | i7 4770 3.4/3.9 Stock
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix X370-F Gaming | Intel DQ77MK | SuperMicro X10SLQ
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull + NT-H1 | Stock Intel Cooler + AC MX4 | Stock Intel Cooler + AC MX4
Memory 16GB (2x8) G.Skill DDR4-3200 | 16GB (4x4) Samsung DDR3-1600 | 32GB (4x8) Mushkin Stealth DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4000 | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage SSD 250GB + 960GB, 1x2TB | 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) | 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x3TB (9TB)
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" Dell on KVM..mostly headless operation.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans | Modified Lenovo TS430 Case
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Not in use
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC Back-UPS Pro 1500 | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze (Both) + APC Smart-UPS 1500
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse (KVM)
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard (KVM)
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (Hyper-V) | Windows Server 2016 (Hyper-V)
+1 to Macroum Reflect. Works great for this application and backups in general. And you can do both with the free version.
 
Top