• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

CM Storm Trooper+360mm Rad?

Joined
Nov 2, 2010
Messages
46 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
Location
Sweden
Processor Intel Core i7 6700K
Motherboard ASUS Formula VIII
Cooling Custom WC
Memory Corsair Dominator @3600MHz
Video Card(s) Asus GeForce GTX670 2GB DC II
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512GB+1TB EVO 850
Case Corsair 780T
Audio Device(s) On-Board
Power Supply Corsair RMi 850W
#1
Hi there :)

I've been thinking about changing my Antec 902 with the CM Storm Trooper, cuz I have a 360mm rad mounted outside the case and I don't like this way anymore,
So I want a case that can handle the rad inside it
and i thought the CM Storm would be a good choice for me IF I can mount the rad inside it.
So can I mount my rad inside this case?

Thx
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,376 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,020
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#2
Looks to me like only a 2x120mm radiator would fit.
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2010
Messages
46 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
Location
Sweden
Processor Intel Core i7 6700K
Motherboard ASUS Formula VIII
Cooling Custom WC
Memory Corsair Dominator @3600MHz
Video Card(s) Asus GeForce GTX670 2GB DC II
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512GB+1TB EVO 850
Case Corsair 780T
Audio Device(s) On-Board
Power Supply Corsair RMi 850W
#3
So there is no way to mount the rad inside it :(
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,624 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,350
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#4
Only place that might fit a triple rad is the front, and I'm pretty sure you will have to remove the drive bays.

 
Last edited:
Joined
Nov 2, 2010
Messages
46 (0.02/day)
Likes
1
Location
Sweden
Processor Intel Core i7 6700K
Motherboard ASUS Formula VIII
Cooling Custom WC
Memory Corsair Dominator @3600MHz
Video Card(s) Asus GeForce GTX670 2GB DC II
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512GB+1TB EVO 850
Case Corsair 780T
Audio Device(s) On-Board
Power Supply Corsair RMi 850W
#5
Yes i thought about that (Mounting the rad in the front) And it seems to be the only way to mount the rad

The problem is I have XSPC 750 pump/res. which takes Dual 5.25 Bay :D

 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,624 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,350
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#6
I have the same kit, that's where that rad came from. To get the dual bay in there would be very tight, as you can see they are just barely usable in the image I added. Tough one for this case!
 
Joined
May 22, 2010
Messages
2,516 (0.91/day)
Likes
680
Location
Canada
System Name m1dg3t | DeathBox | HairPi 3
Processor 3570k @ 4.0 1.15v BIOS | q9550 @ 3.77 1.325v BIOS
Motherboard Asrock z77e iTX | p5q Dlx 2301 BIOS
Cooling Custom Water | D-14 & HR-03gt | Passive HSF
Memory Samsung MV-3V4G3D 4g x 2 @ 1866 1.35v | OcZ RpR 2g x 4 @ 1067 2.2v
Video Card(s) MSi 7950 tf3 @1000 / 1350 | Asus 5870 V2 @ 900 / 1275
Storage Adata sx900 256Gb / WD 2500 HHTZ | WD 1001 FALS x 2
Display(s) BenQ gw2750hm | 46" Sharp Quatron
Case BitFenix Prodigy - m0dd3d | Antec Fusion Remote MAX
Audio Device(s) Onboard Toslink > Yamaha HTR 6290 | Xonar HDAV1.3 > Yamaha DSP z7
Power Supply Ocz mXp700w | Ocz zx850w | Cannakit 5v 2.5a
Mouse Logitech G700s | Logitech G9x - Cable Repaired
Keyboard TT Meka G1 - Black w Cherry Blacks| Logitech G11
Software Win7 Home | Xp sp3 & Vista ultimate | Raspbian
Benchmark Scores Epeen!! Who needs epeen??
#7
What about inside the top panel? I'm not familiar with that case/rad :eek:
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,624 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,350
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#8
"200mm fan x 1, 1000 RPM, 23 dBA (converted to 2 x 120 / 140 mm fans)" straight from CMs website. So essentially you can do a double 120mm or 140mm rad in the top.
 
Joined
May 22, 2010
Messages
2,516 (0.91/day)
Likes
680
Location
Canada
System Name m1dg3t | DeathBox | HairPi 3
Processor 3570k @ 4.0 1.15v BIOS | q9550 @ 3.77 1.325v BIOS
Motherboard Asrock z77e iTX | p5q Dlx 2301 BIOS
Cooling Custom Water | D-14 & HR-03gt | Passive HSF
Memory Samsung MV-3V4G3D 4g x 2 @ 1866 1.35v | OcZ RpR 2g x 4 @ 1067 2.2v
Video Card(s) MSi 7950 tf3 @1000 / 1350 | Asus 5870 V2 @ 900 / 1275
Storage Adata sx900 256Gb / WD 2500 HHTZ | WD 1001 FALS x 2
Display(s) BenQ gw2750hm | 46" Sharp Quatron
Case BitFenix Prodigy - m0dd3d | Antec Fusion Remote MAX
Audio Device(s) Onboard Toslink > Yamaha HTR 6290 | Xonar HDAV1.3 > Yamaha DSP z7
Power Supply Ocz mXp700w | Ocz zx850w | Cannakit 5v 2.5a
Mouse Logitech G700s | Logitech G9x - Cable Repaired
Keyboard TT Meka G1 - Black w Cherry Blacks| Logitech G11
Software Win7 Home | Xp sp3 & Vista ultimate | Raspbian
Benchmark Scores Epeen!! Who needs epeen??
#9
"200mm fan x 1, 1000 RPM, 23 dBA (converted to 2 x 120 / 140 mm fans)" straight from CMs website. So essentially you can do a double 120mm or 140mm rad in the top.
Can't add another spot in there with a Dremmel? Not sure if the case is deep enough to fit it inside though....
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,624 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,350
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#10
could add a hole but the issue is that the hole you are cutting will be under the front of the handle on top of the case. So not any way for the van to vent freely really. Can be done though.
 
Joined
Jan 31, 2013
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#11
Is there room to mount one or two 3.5" HDDs with the 360mm rad in the front of the trooper/stryker?

Thanks