• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Cmos Checksum Error/ Cmos Checksum Bad???

Joined
Sep 6, 2008
Messages
378 (0.11/day)
Likes
13
Location
Fairfax, Virginia
System Name eYi
Processor i7 920 D0
Motherboard Gigabyte X58A-UD5
Cooling Silver Arrow
Memory 3x2GB G.Skill Pi 1600mhz 7-8-7-24
Video Card(s) Sapphire 6870 1GB
Storage OS: Velociraptor 300GB
Display(s) Samsung 226BW
Case Silverstone Raven 2
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax Revolution85+ 1050w
Software Win7 Pro
#1
so there was a CMOS CHECKSUM ERROR at the beginning of my problem. I decided to change the battery, and now i get a CMOS CHECKSUM BAD message and my problems still persist (BIOS/CMOS not saving, time and date are wrong and reset back to 2001 in november, and I STILL HAVE NO SOUND FOR SOME REASON!) is it time to move on to a new motherboard?

here's the backstory of my problem dating from a couple days ago:
i recently installed a prolimatech megahalem into my rig yesterday (great cooler, btw), and i notice i have trouble booting up (sometimes) and restarting (if i restart from windows or if i do some bios changes). i dont know what the problem is, and i don't think a CPU cooler could really make such chaos. i'm lucky to be posting this (because i cant boot to windows sometimes), but i need a solid fix for this. i also lost sound and while trying to get vista to recognize soundcard or onboard, it doesnt. any ideas?
 

erocker

Senior Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 19, 2006
Messages
42,370 (10.17/day)
Likes
18,019
Processor Intel i7 8700k
Motherboard Gigabyte z370 AORUS Gaming 7
Cooling Water
Memory 16gb G.Skill 4000 MHz DDR4
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 1080
Storage 3 x Samsung Evo 850 500GB, 1 x 250GB, 2 x 2TB HDD
Display(s) Nixeus EDG27
Case Thermaltake X5
Power Supply Corsair HX1000i
Mouse Zowie EC1-B
Software Windows 10
#2
Motherboard is fine, bios is not. Flash the bios.
 
Joined
Oct 12, 2008
Messages
5,654 (1.69/day)
Likes
2,605
Location
στο άλφα έως ωμέγα
System Name Ha/AhHa/Dell
Processor QX9650 SLAWN C1/i7-980x/i7-6700K
Motherboard GA-X48_DS4 (F3B bios)/Gigabyte x58A-UDR3 v 2.0(modded FH bios)/Dell Foxconn 0XJ8C4 Z170
Cooling CNPS9900 LED/H60/ 3 pipe-center fan-air
Memory 8 Gig of G.Skill F2-8800CL5D/24 Gb Corsair Vengence/ 24Gb Samsung DDR4 2133
Video Card(s) Galaxy NVIDIA GeForce GTX 960/PowerColor R9 280/ASUS R9 380X Strix G1
Storage All have SSDs with HDDs for extra storage and backup/Dell-M.2 Samsung 850 EVO PCIe
Display(s) Asus 266H/Viewsonic 1080p/HP ZR24W
Case CM-690/CM-690 II adv/Dell 8900 series
Audio Device(s) All use on board (Realtek) w/2.1 speakers
Power Supply PC P&C 750/PC P&C Silencer 950/CM 700 Extreme
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 10 Pro - 64 bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit/Windows 10 Pro - 64bit
#4
Check and make sure you have nothing touching the motherboard or other components and that you did not scratch a trace or knock something loose or break a component when you installed the cooler, if that is when your trouble started...:)
 
Joined
Sep 6, 2008
Messages
378 (0.11/day)
Likes
13
Location
Fairfax, Virginia
System Name eYi
Processor i7 920 D0
Motherboard Gigabyte X58A-UD5
Cooling Silver Arrow
Memory 3x2GB G.Skill Pi 1600mhz 7-8-7-24
Video Card(s) Sapphire 6870 1GB
Storage OS: Velociraptor 300GB
Display(s) Samsung 226BW
Case Silverstone Raven 2
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax Revolution85+ 1050w
Software Win7 Pro
#5
flashed bios...nothing worked
checked connections...all seems fine
make sure nothing's touching the motherboard...only things that are plugged into their spots are touching the motherboard

running out of options :[
 

Kursah

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 15, 2006
Messages
10,945 (2.68/day)
Likes
5,054
Location
Missoula, MT, USA
System Name Kursah's Gaming Rig - Haswell Edition | Spartan Home Server 2015
Processor i7 4790k 4.0/4.8 @ 1.26v | i7 4790k 4.0/4.4 @ 1.18v - Both delidded w/CLU
Motherboard Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103 | Asus Z87-Pro - BIOS 2103
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S Push-Pull | Cooler Master 212 EVO Stock - Using NT-H1 and AC MX-4
Memory 16GB (2x8) Corsair Dominator DDR3 2400 CL11 | 32GB (4x8) G.Skill DDR3-1600 CL9
Video Card(s) MSI GTX980 Ti Gaming 6G LE @ Stock | Onboard Intel HD 4600
Storage 850EVO 250GB SSD, 960GB SSD, 1x2TB | 840 120GB SSD, RAID10 6x2TB (6TB) + 8TB Backup
Display(s) Samsung 32" TV IPS 1080p, Dell 23" U2312HM IPS 1080p | 19" 4:3 Dell LCD..mostly RDP.
Case Corsair 600C - Stock Fans on Low | Lian Li Lancool PC-K7 - Cougar fans
Audio Device(s) Aune T1 mk1 > AKG K553 Pro + HiFiMAN HE-350 (Equalizer APO + PeaceUI) | Realtek ALC1150
Power Supply EVGA 750G2 Modular + APC 1500VA UPS | EVGA KR500 80+ Bronze + CyberPowerPC 1000VA UPS
Mouse Logitech G502 | Dell USB Laser Mouse
Keyboard Logitech G15 rv2 | Dell USB Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 | Windows Server 2012 R2 (GUI Core,Hyper-V + VMs)
#6
When you say flashed bios...nothing worked, does that mean the flash went ok but the board is still not functioning correctly? Also you said you only really noticed issues after the cooler install, how do you have your case/mb oriented atm? Vertical or horizontal? You might try laying the case on it's side to help better distribute pressure...something's gotta be grounding out or similar.

Have you tried to mount your old cooler and then reflash to bios to see if there are any changes there? I haven't used that particular board, but i would assume where the cpu brace goes on the backside is fairly clear...though if it's not and there's something being grounded out back there, that could definately be a serious problem. Keep us posted man!
 
Joined
Sep 6, 2008
Messages
378 (0.11/day)
Likes
13
Location
Fairfax, Virginia
System Name eYi
Processor i7 920 D0
Motherboard Gigabyte X58A-UD5
Cooling Silver Arrow
Memory 3x2GB G.Skill Pi 1600mhz 7-8-7-24
Video Card(s) Sapphire 6870 1GB
Storage OS: Velociraptor 300GB
Display(s) Samsung 226BW
Case Silverstone Raven 2
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax Revolution85+ 1050w
Software Win7 Pro
#7
When you say flashed bios...nothing worked, does that mean the flash went ok but the board is still not functioning correctly? Also you said you only really noticed issues after the cooler install, how do you have your case/mb oriented atm? Vertical or horizontal? You might try laying the case on it's side to help better distribute pressure...something's gotta be grounding out or similar.

Have you tried to mount your old cooler and then reflash to bios to see if there are any changes there? I haven't used that particular board, but i would assume where the cpu brace goes on the backside is fairly clear...though if it's not and there's something being grounded out back there, that could definately be a serious problem. Keep us posted man!
motherboard is vertical. i changed the positions of the cooler (vertical and horizontal), but still same results. i just dont know anymore. i might pull the trigger on a new motherboard (a nice p45 to last me til everything craps out) so we'll see. i'll try taking my mobo out and see if it'll work with the bare minimum.
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2007
Messages
1,180 (0.30/day)
Likes
45
Location
Hometown CALI, Current WI.
Processor Amd opteron socket 940 250 sledgehammer 2.4ghz x2
Motherboard amd k8t master2 far
Cooling msi k8t stock heatsinks
Memory 2x1gig random ecc ram
Video Card(s) ati x1600 512mb agp pro 8x
Storage seagate 2x200 gig hdd
Display(s) dunno
Case aprevia navigator
Audio Device(s) creative pro 5.1 sorround
Power Supply antec 500 watt psu
Software windows xp media center 2005
#8
test everything.
 
Joined
Sep 6, 2008
Messages
378 (0.11/day)
Likes
13
Location
Fairfax, Virginia
System Name eYi
Processor i7 920 D0
Motherboard Gigabyte X58A-UD5
Cooling Silver Arrow
Memory 3x2GB G.Skill Pi 1600mhz 7-8-7-24
Video Card(s) Sapphire 6870 1GB
Storage OS: Velociraptor 300GB
Display(s) Samsung 226BW
Case Silverstone Raven 2
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax Revolution85+ 1050w
Software Win7 Pro
#9
i took everything out of my case and i still get the same problem. i get a BSOD when trying to load windows. i have to clear CMOS in order to boot windows. *sigh*
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2009
Messages
2,998 (0.95/day)
Likes
458
Location
vermont
System Name The wifes worst enemy
Processor i5-6600k
Motherboard gigabyte G1 gaming Z170X 6
Cooling water
Memory 16gb G.skill ripjaw DDR4 2400 4X4GB 15-15-15-35-2T
Video Card(s) Sapphire Nitro R9380-X 4GB
Storage crucial M500 120GB SSD, Pny 256GB SSD, seagate 750GB, seagate 2TB HDD, WD blue 1TB 2.5" HDD
Display(s) 27 inch samsung @ 1080p but capable of much more ;)
Case Corsair AIR 540 Cube Mid tower
Audio Device(s) onboard creative x-fi
Power Supply EVGA GQ1000W MODULAR
Mouse generic for now
Keyboard generic for now
Software gotta love steam, origin etc etc
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/philbrown_23/
#10
The bios chip its self is borked this same thing happened to me when I owned my asus maximus extreme
 
Joined
Sep 6, 2008
Messages
378 (0.11/day)
Likes
13
Location
Fairfax, Virginia
System Name eYi
Processor i7 920 D0
Motherboard Gigabyte X58A-UD5
Cooling Silver Arrow
Memory 3x2GB G.Skill Pi 1600mhz 7-8-7-24
Video Card(s) Sapphire 6870 1GB
Storage OS: Velociraptor 300GB
Display(s) Samsung 226BW
Case Silverstone Raven 2
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax Revolution85+ 1050w
Software Win7 Pro
#11
Joined
Apr 24, 2007
Messages
692 (0.18/day)
Likes
17
Location
canada
System Name Smooth as silk
Processor Phenom II x4 940 BE oced, 3.6ghz 1.5250v
Motherboard Asus M4A79 Deluxe 790FX
Cooling Cooler master v8
Memory OCZ 1066 MHz Platinum Series 4GB kit 5.5.5.15 2T 1141mhz
Video Card(s) Evga ssc 8800gt at stock p.o.s to hot to o.c
Storage Wd 76gb Raptor/Wd 500gb blue sata II, Wd 160gb sata II
Display(s) 20" Acer 2016wBdb widescreen 1600x1050
Case 120mm back/3x 80mm neon front/250mm side fan
Audio Device(s) realtek/logitech x540
Power Supply Corsair vx550 41amps 12v single rail
Software Winxp pro sp3/vista who lol?
Benchmark Scores 3dmark06 15216k
#12
order new cmos chip, or if u know some with same board, use there's to reprogram it, i had this happen to me with my old abit 3rd eye 939 socket board, just to lazy to spend 20 dollars to order new cmos
 
Joined
Apr 24, 2007
Messages
692 (0.18/day)
Likes
17
Location
canada
System Name Smooth as silk
Processor Phenom II x4 940 BE oced, 3.6ghz 1.5250v
Motherboard Asus M4A79 Deluxe 790FX
Cooling Cooler master v8
Memory OCZ 1066 MHz Platinum Series 4GB kit 5.5.5.15 2T 1141mhz
Video Card(s) Evga ssc 8800gt at stock p.o.s to hot to o.c
Storage Wd 76gb Raptor/Wd 500gb blue sata II, Wd 160gb sata II
Display(s) 20" Acer 2016wBdb widescreen 1600x1050
Case 120mm back/3x 80mm neon front/250mm side fan
Audio Device(s) realtek/logitech x540
Power Supply Corsair vx550 41amps 12v single rail
Software Winxp pro sp3/vista who lol?
Benchmark Scores 3dmark06 15216k
#13
that motherboard u have is top notch for 775 socket, hell ill take it lol
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2007
Messages
1,180 (0.30/day)
Likes
45
Location
Hometown CALI, Current WI.
Processor Amd opteron socket 940 250 sledgehammer 2.4ghz x2
Motherboard amd k8t master2 far
Cooling msi k8t stock heatsinks
Memory 2x1gig random ecc ram
Video Card(s) ati x1600 512mb agp pro 8x
Storage seagate 2x200 gig hdd
Display(s) dunno
Case aprevia navigator
Audio Device(s) creative pro 5.1 sorround
Power Supply antec 500 watt psu
Software windows xp media center 2005
#14
you have vista. no sound. boot up problems. resetted everything and still nothing.

whats the error fro BSOD?
 
Joined
Sep 6, 2008
Messages
378 (0.11/day)
Likes
13
Location
Fairfax, Virginia
System Name eYi
Processor i7 920 D0
Motherboard Gigabyte X58A-UD5
Cooling Silver Arrow
Memory 3x2GB G.Skill Pi 1600mhz 7-8-7-24
Video Card(s) Sapphire 6870 1GB
Storage OS: Velociraptor 300GB
Display(s) Samsung 226BW
Case Silverstone Raven 2
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax Revolution85+ 1050w
Software Win7 Pro
#15
order new cmos chip, or if u know some with same board, use there's to reprogram it, i had this happen to me with my old abit 3rd eye 939 socket board, just to lazy to spend 20 dollars to order new cmos
i dont know what you're talking about and i dont know how to do such a thing. there is someone willing to sell me his rampage on OCN, but i dont know if i want to get the same board again. i also want to know if i can RMA the board, even though i took off the mofset heatsinks.
 
Joined
Sep 6, 2008
Messages
378 (0.11/day)
Likes
13
Location
Fairfax, Virginia
System Name eYi
Processor i7 920 D0
Motherboard Gigabyte X58A-UD5
Cooling Silver Arrow
Memory 3x2GB G.Skill Pi 1600mhz 7-8-7-24
Video Card(s) Sapphire 6870 1GB
Storage OS: Velociraptor 300GB
Display(s) Samsung 226BW
Case Silverstone Raven 2
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax Revolution85+ 1050w
Software Win7 Pro
#16
you have vista. no sound. boot up problems. resetted everything and still nothing.

whats the error fro BSOD?
i dont know. it just restarts in an instant. i forgot how to not make that happen.
 
Joined
Apr 24, 2007
Messages
692 (0.18/day)
Likes
17
Location
canada
System Name Smooth as silk
Processor Phenom II x4 940 BE oced, 3.6ghz 1.5250v
Motherboard Asus M4A79 Deluxe 790FX
Cooling Cooler master v8
Memory OCZ 1066 MHz Platinum Series 4GB kit 5.5.5.15 2T 1141mhz
Video Card(s) Evga ssc 8800gt at stock p.o.s to hot to o.c
Storage Wd 76gb Raptor/Wd 500gb blue sata II, Wd 160gb sata II
Display(s) 20" Acer 2016wBdb widescreen 1600x1050
Case 120mm back/3x 80mm neon front/250mm side fan
Audio Device(s) realtek/logitech x540
Power Supply Corsair vx550 41amps 12v single rail
Software Winxp pro sp3/vista who lol?
Benchmark Scores 3dmark06 15216k
#17
if your cmos chip is soldered on to board your out of luck, if its the pull out socket type, replace cmos chip, its not that difficult method526, ive done it a few times with my other boards, never had a problem since
 
Joined
Apr 24, 2007
Messages
692 (0.18/day)
Likes
17
Location
canada
System Name Smooth as silk
Processor Phenom II x4 940 BE oced, 3.6ghz 1.5250v
Motherboard Asus M4A79 Deluxe 790FX
Cooling Cooler master v8
Memory OCZ 1066 MHz Platinum Series 4GB kit 5.5.5.15 2T 1141mhz
Video Card(s) Evga ssc 8800gt at stock p.o.s to hot to o.c
Storage Wd 76gb Raptor/Wd 500gb blue sata II, Wd 160gb sata II
Display(s) 20" Acer 2016wBdb widescreen 1600x1050
Case 120mm back/3x 80mm neon front/250mm side fan
Audio Device(s) realtek/logitech x540
Power Supply Corsair vx550 41amps 12v single rail
Software Winxp pro sp3/vista who lol?
Benchmark Scores 3dmark06 15216k
#18
have u ran memtest, or check hardrive for bad sectors, or damaged windows files possibly
 
Joined
Sep 6, 2008
Messages
378 (0.11/day)
Likes
13
Location
Fairfax, Virginia
System Name eYi
Processor i7 920 D0
Motherboard Gigabyte X58A-UD5
Cooling Silver Arrow
Memory 3x2GB G.Skill Pi 1600mhz 7-8-7-24
Video Card(s) Sapphire 6870 1GB
Storage OS: Velociraptor 300GB
Display(s) Samsung 226BW
Case Silverstone Raven 2
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax Revolution85+ 1050w
Software Win7 Pro
#19
if your cmos chip is soldered on to board your out of luck, if its the pull out socket type, replace cmos chip, its not that difficult method526, ive done it a few times with my other boards, never had a problem since
it might be soldered. not sure...then again i need to find it. hell, if i cant do anything about it, i'll gladly sell it to you for cheap. i still got box and all.
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2007
Messages
1,180 (0.30/day)
Likes
45
Location
Hometown CALI, Current WI.
Processor Amd opteron socket 940 250 sledgehammer 2.4ghz x2
Motherboard amd k8t master2 far
Cooling msi k8t stock heatsinks
Memory 2x1gig random ecc ram
Video Card(s) ati x1600 512mb agp pro 8x
Storage seagate 2x200 gig hdd
Display(s) dunno
Case aprevia navigator
Audio Device(s) creative pro 5.1 sorround
Power Supply antec 500 watt psu
Software windows xp media center 2005
#20
he can't even get to windows PEOPLE. i think either psu ram or cpu is giving out on you bro. or board itself
 
Joined
Sep 6, 2008
Messages
378 (0.11/day)
Likes
13
Location
Fairfax, Virginia
System Name eYi
Processor i7 920 D0
Motherboard Gigabyte X58A-UD5
Cooling Silver Arrow
Memory 3x2GB G.Skill Pi 1600mhz 7-8-7-24
Video Card(s) Sapphire 6870 1GB
Storage OS: Velociraptor 300GB
Display(s) Samsung 226BW
Case Silverstone Raven 2
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax Revolution85+ 1050w
Software Win7 Pro
#21
he can't even get to windows PEOPLE. i think either psu ram or cpu is giving out on you bro. or board itself
well, i'm using the computer right now, but i have to clear CMOS basically all the time in order to boot into windows, or i'll get that BSOD or just a random restart.
 
Joined
Apr 24, 2007
Messages
692 (0.18/day)
Likes
17
Location
canada
System Name Smooth as silk
Processor Phenom II x4 940 BE oced, 3.6ghz 1.5250v
Motherboard Asus M4A79 Deluxe 790FX
Cooling Cooler master v8
Memory OCZ 1066 MHz Platinum Series 4GB kit 5.5.5.15 2T 1141mhz
Video Card(s) Evga ssc 8800gt at stock p.o.s to hot to o.c
Storage Wd 76gb Raptor/Wd 500gb blue sata II, Wd 160gb sata II
Display(s) 20" Acer 2016wBdb widescreen 1600x1050
Case 120mm back/3x 80mm neon front/250mm side fan
Audio Device(s) realtek/logitech x540
Power Supply Corsair vx550 41amps 12v single rail
Software Winxp pro sp3/vista who lol?
Benchmark Scores 3dmark06 15216k
#22
the cmos is located near 5v battery or close to clear cmos jumper
 
Joined
Feb 1, 2007
Messages
1,180 (0.30/day)
Likes
45
Location
Hometown CALI, Current WI.
Processor Amd opteron socket 940 250 sledgehammer 2.4ghz x2
Motherboard amd k8t master2 far
Cooling msi k8t stock heatsinks
Memory 2x1gig random ecc ram
Video Card(s) ati x1600 512mb agp pro 8x
Storage seagate 2x200 gig hdd
Display(s) dunno
Case aprevia navigator
Audio Device(s) creative pro 5.1 sorround
Power Supply antec 500 watt psu
Software windows xp media center 2005
#23
what a crapper. flashed bios fail. reset cmos got into windows but then BSOD. prntscreen paint ding ding ding!
 
Joined
Apr 24, 2007
Messages
692 (0.18/day)
Likes
17
Location
canada
System Name Smooth as silk
Processor Phenom II x4 940 BE oced, 3.6ghz 1.5250v
Motherboard Asus M4A79 Deluxe 790FX
Cooling Cooler master v8
Memory OCZ 1066 MHz Platinum Series 4GB kit 5.5.5.15 2T 1141mhz
Video Card(s) Evga ssc 8800gt at stock p.o.s to hot to o.c
Storage Wd 76gb Raptor/Wd 500gb blue sata II, Wd 160gb sata II
Display(s) 20" Acer 2016wBdb widescreen 1600x1050
Case 120mm back/3x 80mm neon front/250mm side fan
Audio Device(s) realtek/logitech x540
Power Supply Corsair vx550 41amps 12v single rail
Software Winxp pro sp3/vista who lol?
Benchmark Scores 3dmark06 15216k
#24
try flashing bios again, try a different version this time, then reflash back to your bios version u use, btw how are u flashing?
 
Joined
Sep 6, 2008
Messages
378 (0.11/day)
Likes
13
Location
Fairfax, Virginia
System Name eYi
Processor i7 920 D0
Motherboard Gigabyte X58A-UD5
Cooling Silver Arrow
Memory 3x2GB G.Skill Pi 1600mhz 7-8-7-24
Video Card(s) Sapphire 6870 1GB
Storage OS: Velociraptor 300GB
Display(s) Samsung 226BW
Case Silverstone Raven 2
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Enermax Revolution85+ 1050w
Software Win7 Pro
#25
what a crapper. flashed bios fail. reset cmos got into windows but then BSOD. prntscreen paint ding ding ding!
well i flashed bios back to 803 from 902. it worked, but problems still persist. i'm just running out of options.