• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

COA and Reselling Computers

flashstar

New Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
743 (0.20/day)
Likes
56
System Name Einstein IV
Processor 1090t @ 3.8 Ghz
Motherboard Fatal1ty 990FX Professional
Cooling Swiftech H20 Cooling Kit w/ Apogee XT Rev. 2
Memory 32 GB DDR3
Video Card(s) MSI 260 XT 216 edition
Storage 2x 120gb Sandisk Extreme SSDs, 1x 120 gb Corsair Force 2
Display(s) Samsung BW206
Case Lian-li Lan-cool
Audio Device(s) M-Audio Profire 610
Power Supply Corsair TX-750
#1
I am planning to sell several Dell Dimension 8200 and 4600 computers with XP Pro COA labels attached to them. Should I just leave the COA labels on the computers and reformat their drives? Can I take off the COAs and reuse them on new computers? I am unfamiliar with the correct process when it comes to reselling computers but I would prefer to be able to reuse the XP installations since I paid for them.

Thanks.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
15,309 (4.00/day)
Likes
4,717
Location
US
Processor 2500k \ 3770k
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ Z77
Memory Samsung low profile 1600
Video Card(s) XFX 6770 \ XFX R9 290X
Storage Intel 80Gb (SATA2) WD 250Gb \ Team SSD+Samsung Evo 250Gb+500Gb+ 2xCorsair Force+WD250GbHDD
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ Toshiba HDTV 1080P
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( original ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V475 \ Marantz SR5008 Tannoy Mercury MKII Paradigm 5SE + Tannoy Mercury F4
Power Supply PC&Power 750w \ Seasonic 750w MKII
Mouse MS intelimouse \ Logitech G700s + Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
#2
I am planning to sell several Dell Dimension 8200 and 4600 computers with XP Pro COA labels attached to them. Should I just leave the COA labels on the computers and reformat their drives? Can I take off the COAs and reuse them on new computers? I am unfamiliar with the correct process when it comes to reselling computers but I would prefer to be able to reuse the XP installations since I paid for them.

Thanks.
With my DELL you cannot activate the lic on a different comp. i tried it and failed lol. And i believe that the lic is only for that comp unless there retail. IF retail versions you are required to remove OS of old comp before installing it on another.

COA lebel thats that MS sticker with key ?.. well that means it's OEM as far as i have seen..
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,275 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,362
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#3
I am planning to sell several Dell Dimension 8200 and 4600 computers with XP Pro COA labels attached to them. Should I just leave the COA labels on the computers and reformat their drives? Can I take off the COAs and reuse them on new computers? I am unfamiliar with the correct process when it comes to reselling computers but I would prefer to be able to reuse the XP installations since I paid for them.

Thanks.
It depends on what type of licences they are.

If they are OEM licences, you can not take them off and reuse them, you would have to leave them on and only use them with that computer.

If they are Retail licenses, then you can take them off and reuse them.

COA lebel thats that MS sticker with key ?.. well that means it's OEM as far as i have seen..
The retail copies come with COA stickers also. It should say right on the sticker what type it is.
 
Last edited:

flashstar

New Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2007
Messages
743 (0.20/day)
Likes
56
System Name Einstein IV
Processor 1090t @ 3.8 Ghz
Motherboard Fatal1ty 990FX Professional
Cooling Swiftech H20 Cooling Kit w/ Apogee XT Rev. 2
Memory 32 GB DDR3
Video Card(s) MSI 260 XT 216 edition
Storage 2x 120gb Sandisk Extreme SSDs, 1x 120 gb Corsair Force 2
Display(s) Samsung BW206
Case Lian-li Lan-cool
Audio Device(s) M-Audio Profire 610
Power Supply Corsair TX-750
#4
These are the COA's that came with the Dell computers so I assume that they are OEM (I'm not sure why Dell would use Retail keys).

I've heard that you can always just use the telephone activation method with the OEM keys even if you switch computers, but I didn't know if that was true.

Otherwise, do people on the forum usually sell retail copies of XP Pro for around $40? $140 for xp alone is a PITA when the computers that you're building are only worth $250.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,275 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,362
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX960 STRIX @ 1500/1900
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#5
You can use the telephone activation with OEM keys, if you know what to say to get them to activate it, however using this method to activate an OEM key isn't legal.
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2007
Messages
5,048 (1.38/day)
Likes
1,782
System Name Addison Clark
Processor I7 7700k @ 5GHZ 1.35v
Motherboard Asus Z270 ITX
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory Corsair 16GB DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) Zotac 1080 TI F.E.
Storage Plextor M8Pe 1TB M.2
Display(s) Asus 28" 4K
Case Corsair 380T
Audio Device(s) Creative Omni USB
Power Supply EVGA G3 Supernova 1KW
Mouse G.Skill 780
Keyboard MS Sidewinder x4
Software Win 10 Pro
#6
With the newer pre-SP2A OEM COA's it's pretty hard to take the key and use it on another system. Also with Dell's it seems lately about every other OS install we do on a Dell, we have to call M$ to activate it. Also some OEM COA's will not say OEM but will have HP, Compaq, etc where the OEM label is generally located.