• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

CODECS and File Size + GPU

hektor314

New Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2020
Messages
8 (0.11/day)
Hello
I use bandicam

Can somebody help? I record mainly charts on on different timeframes on 4K display. But my GPU 5500xt is limited to 5k resolution (VSR).
Bought 3070 rtx but it have bad drivers because from time to time looses signal somehow. (Screen turns off and on.)

Want to buy

Radeon 6800xt for 8K VSR recording on my 4K screen. Use currently those settings:

file type
mp4.

1 Fps

codec
H264 (AMDVCE/VCN)
quality 100

12 hours of recording gives me with those settings only 300mb file size.

The question is.
Will I get better quality recordings when I buy
Radeon 6800xt?

Iknow i can go cheaper on older cards but this one is more versatile and future proof.

This card have:
4K H264 Decode
Yes
4K H264 Encode
Yes

OR

Radeon Pro W5500?

Because:
https://www.amd.com/system/files/docume ... asheet.pdf
its have better those specs:

HEVC Encode (up to 4K)
HEVC Decode (up to 8K)

W5500 is rdna1 and 600xt is rdna2

What HEVC Decode (up to 8K) really gives me?

Will I get smaller file size, better qualty with W5500?

Thanks for answers.
 
Joined
Nov 25, 2020
Messages
13 (0.23/day)
System Name ASUS ROG STRIX G15
Processor i7-10750H @ 5 GHZ
Motherboard ASUS
Cooling 2 Fans and 7 Heat pipes
Memory 16GB 3200 MHZ Dual channel
Video Card(s) RTX 2060 Mobile
Storage 512 GB Intel 660p SDD
Display(s) 15" 144 HZ 1080p
Power Supply 230 watt charger
Mouse Standard With RGB
Keyboard Standard With RGB
Software Hwinfo
Benchmark Scores Too much for you to handle
buying a better doens't specificly means better video quality.
correct me if i am wrong but 4k is just 4k and 1080p is just 1080p
and bandicam isn't the best screen recorder i suggest OBS
 

hektor314

New Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2020
Messages
8 (0.11/day)
Yes but the gpu or whatever codecs are used can have some improvement from generation of graphic card to other.
Thanks for the answer. But OBS cant recover file when comp crashes. This is only reason I use it.
 

Toothless

Tech, Games, and TPU!
Supporter
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
6,900 (2.77/day)
Location
Washington, USA
System Name Veraltet
Processor 3700x
Motherboard AsRock Taichi Ultimate x470
Cooling NH-D15 Chromax
Memory G.Skill 2x16GB 3200mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1080 Ti Gaming X
Storage 2 NVME + 4 HDD
Display(s) LG 34UB88-P + 2x AOC 2425W
Case CoolerMaster NR600
Audio Device(s) SteelSeries Arctis 5
Power Supply Rosewill Fortress 750w
Mouse Corsair Scimitar Pro
Keyboard Corsair K57
Software Windows 10 Professional
Benchmark Scores Brrrrrrr
I'd be using the built-in Radeon recording or OBS. If your computer is crashing a lot that should be your first priority. Bandicam over the years hasn't seemed to get better.
 

hektor314

New Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2020
Messages
8 (0.11/day)
How you can get your file back after reboot when obs have corrupted file? Thanks.
 
Joined
Nov 20, 2013
Messages
4,632 (1.77/day)
Location
Kiev, Ukraine
System Name WS#1337
Processor Ryzen 5 1600X
Motherboard Gigabyte x470 AORUS Ultra Gamin
Cooling Xigmatek Scylla 240 AIO
Memory 2x8GB Team T-Force Vulkan DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2060 Super Armor OC
Storage Adata SX8200 Pro 1TB
Display(s) Samsung U24E590D (4K/UHD)
Case Chieftec AL-01B-OP
Audio Device(s) ALC1220
Power Supply SeaSonic SSR-550FX (80+ GOLD)
Mouse Logitech G603
Keyboard Zalman K500 modded (Gateron brown)
Software Windows 10, Ubuntu 20.04 LTS
Bought 3070 rtx but it have bad drivers because from time to time looses signal somehow. (Screen turns off and on.)
That's not a driver issue, that's a Displayport cable issue. Clean your ports with compressed air, make sure cable snapped-in in both ports, and if it still sporadically loses signal - just get a different cable. Had the same crap on my 4K Samsung.
Forget about switching GPUs, your RTX3070 is more than capable to do everything you need and more.
Also, bandicam is garbage. A piece of outdated software with outdated pricing model.
I'd switch to OBS, if you need something decent. Personally I cling to NVidia's shadowplay just for convenience (even for desktop recording).

But OBS cant recover file when comp crashes. This is only reason I use it.
That's a weird requirement... Why would you crash it? If you want to record overclocking sessions, you should probably use an external capture card and a second PC/laptop. Not a single piece of recording software out there can guarantee file integrity after BSOD or forced reboot, even bandicam. Only if that software records in small chunks, but that's just stupid.
 

hektor314

New Member
Joined
Nov 10, 2020
Messages
8 (0.11/day)
I was doing DSR NVIDIA up to 8K on 3 displays and on all of them was random switching on and off. Checked everything on alll ports and cables comes with monitors so its not cables fault. Because on my 5500xt i had 5k on all of them and it was perfect - no issues. Was naive and thought when I buy 5700xt xfx I will have 8k like with 3070 but did t know amd have a cap for VSR up to 5k. Though specs for 5700xt says it can do 8K signal at 60hz digital. But amd cant do VSR up to 8K.
So I m gonna now wait till 6800 comes out. and try vsr 8k again. Bought 5700xt 3 days ago and now I listed it on ebay to sell fast. If not its going back to ebuyer.
 
Joined
Dec 10, 2014
Messages
908 (0.41/day)
Location
Nowy Warsaw
System Name SYBARIS
Processor AMD Ryzen™ 5 3600
Motherboard MSI Arsenal Gaming B450 Tomahawk
Cooling Cryorig H7 Quad Lumi
Memory Team T-Force Delta RGB 2x8GB 3200CL16
Video Card(s) Colorful GeForce RTX 2060 6G V2
Storage WD Black WD1003FZEX 1TB + Crucial MX500 500GB
Display(s) LG 22MP68VQ-P 22" 75hz IPS
Case In Win Mana 136
Audio Device(s) HyperX Cloud X | iVOOMi iVO-169SUFBT 2.1
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Cooler Master MM711 | Logitech G102 Prodigy | Logitech G402 Hyperion Fury
Keyboard Fantech MK871 RGB TKL Outemu Blue mechanical keyboard
Software Windows 10 Education v2004 x64
If you want best quality use CPU/Software H264 with as much as bitrate possible.

If you don't have a fast high core CPU only then use GPU/Hardware-accelerated H264. But even then it can't match CPU/Software quality-wise.
Some options are Intel Quicksync if you have an Intel CPU with iGPU (any Intel cpu except the ones with F suffix e.g. Intel Core i7 10700KF), Nvidia NVENC and AMD VCE. Intel Quicksync and Nvidia NVENC is best. AMD VCE a distant last in terms of quality and even software support

Late p.s. And o yea OBS isn't the problem with recording corruption when unforeseen circumstances happen. It's the container aka MP4. Always choose mkv when recording: Should you be recording to MP4 with OBS? — OBS Mythbusters | by Jessica Alouette | Medium
 
Joined
Nov 20, 2013
Messages
4,632 (1.77/day)
Location
Kiev, Ukraine
System Name WS#1337
Processor Ryzen 5 1600X
Motherboard Gigabyte x470 AORUS Ultra Gamin
Cooling Xigmatek Scylla 240 AIO
Memory 2x8GB Team T-Force Vulkan DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2060 Super Armor OC
Storage Adata SX8200 Pro 1TB
Display(s) Samsung U24E590D (4K/UHD)
Case Chieftec AL-01B-OP
Audio Device(s) ALC1220
Power Supply SeaSonic SSR-550FX (80+ GOLD)
Mouse Logitech G603
Keyboard Zalman K500 modded (Gateron brown)
Software Windows 10, Ubuntu 20.04 LTS
I was doing DSR NVIDIA up to 8K on 3 displays and on all of them was random switching on and off.
8K DSR on three displays? WTF are you doing with this stuff anyway? With this ^^^ and mentioned earlier random BSODs I'm not even sure whether you are trolling, or doing something extremely weird that even my miswired brain can't understand... Why use DSR in the first place?
 
Top