1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Coil whining after NEW CPU

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by hoax32, Aug 31, 2010.

  1. hoax32

    hoax32

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2010
    Messages:
    536 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    TX
    Hi techpowerup!!!!!
    I recently got my AMD XP 2600+ in the mail.
    When i turned on the system, the biggest coil on the motherbord started whinig SUPER LOUD.
    When i touched it, i ALMOST BURNED MY FINGER!!!! :cry:
    It was hotter than the heatsink!!!!!! :eek:

    I was like "Hell no i dont need that!"
    So i decidet to put my old cpu back.
    But after i tryed to turn it on with my old amd athlon 1000 my board started beeping, like there was something wrong with my ram.
    So i thought, "man i fried this thing"! S*IT

    I got bored and wanted to try the 2600 again.
    IT WORKED, but the high pitched noie coming from the coils is horrible!!!
    One more thing: the 2600 has a 333 fsb running on a 266 board.
    Can i do anything to stop the high pitched noise? :cry:
    (i recognized, when i scoll in the internet explorer, the noise level gets higher, im afraid to burn me coil)
    THX
     
  2. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,565 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    796
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    Change back to the old CPU, and reset BIOS before turning on again.
     
  3. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,865 (9.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,322
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    the problem is likely that the 2600 is drawing more power than the board is meant to provide, and its not liking it.

    as for the old CPU, scam has it right - do a BIOS reset. its likely running settings the 1000 cant handle.
     
    scaminatrix says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,565 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    796
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    Also, is your board an OEM? Looks like it is. Presario. How did I miss that :p
    Wouldn't hurt to see if there's a BIOS update for your board, it may help things.

    EDIT:
    Aww, seem your 2600+ isn't supported by your board.
     
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2010
  5. pantherx12

    pantherx12

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    9,763 (3.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,801
    Location:
    Suffolk/Essex, England
    Could always do what I do in these sort of situations.

    heatsinks! lots of them.

    And fans.

    Lots of fans.
     
    scaminatrix says thanks.
  6. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    19,436 (6.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,932
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    scaminatrix says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. scaminatrix

    scaminatrix

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2010
    Messages:
    3,565 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    796
    Location:
    By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
    He was browsing the web! Almost unbelievable innit?

    Hoax: Upgrade mobo. Then slowly upgrade everything else around it.
    Your video card makes you worthy of a donation!!!
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)