1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Colorful Intros Long and Flexible SLI Bridge for iGame Graphics Cards

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Nov 3, 2010.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    33,225 (9.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,924
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Graphics card maker Colorful, which recently designed the GeForce GTX 460 and GTS 450 iGame series of graphics cards, found out that its exorbitant cooler design (for mid-range graphics cards) may cause problems for users wanting to install two of these cards in SLI, because a large heatsink obstructs most rigid types of SLI bridges. Unlike with ATI/AMD, NVIDIA leaves it to the motherboard vendors to supply bridge cables. So Colorful designed its own flexible SLI bridge cable, which it might bundle with graphics cards. The cable uses a flexible membrane-type PCB, it's 12.4 cm long. That's long enough to hop over three expansion slots. There's also scope that Colorful will market it separately.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  2. HaZe303

    HaZe303 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    305 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Sweden (08-Stockholm)
    This should be standard on all GFX cards!! Its idiotic that you have to use the two nearest pci-e lanes, just because it only reaches that long(im talking about the flexible short one from amd)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Yukikaze

    Yukikaze

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,421 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    583
    Location:
    Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
    These have existed for years. I had a flexible bridge come with my ancient P5N32-E SLI years ago and these are a dime a dozen on ebay.
     
  4. HaZe303

    HaZe303 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    305 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Sweden (08-Stockholm)
    Well good for, that you got them, here in europ (swdden) I cant find them anywhere, and if I fint any they are all for nvidia cards. Im using ATI in crossfire atm, I have not seen such long xfire bridges.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Helli

    Helli New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2010
    Messages:
    57 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Germany, near Munich
    I've got my flexible Bridge with one of my Asus Mainboards - and use it since Years on every SLI Setup.

    Helli
     
  6. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    23,658 (5.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,716
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  7. fochkoph

    fochkoph

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    151 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Fremont, CA
    iWish this iRetarded iNaming scheme would go away. :cry:
     
    driver66 says thanks.
  8. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,251 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,829
    Location:
    S.Cali
    iConfused....this Flexible SLI bridge has been around forever. Why would Colorful consider this news:confused:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Yukikaze

    Yukikaze

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,421 (0.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    583
    Location:
    Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
    iDunno? theirMarketing?
     
    t77snapshot says thanks.
  10. t77snapshot

    t77snapshot

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,251 (1.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,829
    Location:
    S.Cali
    iGuess:laugh:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    33,225 (9.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,924
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    The "i" prefix referred to intelligent, and later Intel (their branding of chips (example: i286, i486, i686, iA64)), since before Steve Jobs even reached puberty (if he did, because he went on to outdo Fisher Price).
     
    1freedude and t77snapshot say thanks.
  12. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,808 (2.74/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    Pretty smart thinking there. I like those cards too.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. timta2

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    862 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    127
    Location:
    Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
    Sorry man, but I have to disagree. Steve Jobs probably started puberty around 1967ish (Being born in 1955). That was before Intel's 4004 (1971). I'm pretty sure they weren't using the "i" prefix at that time.
     
  14. HaZe303

    HaZe303 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Messages:
    305 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Sweden (08-Stockholm)
    Another Jobs fan? ;)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)