• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Comcast Announces World-First Test of 10G Modem Technology Capable of Delivering Multigigabit Speeds to Homes

Toothless

Tech, Games, and TPU!
Supporter
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
7,860 (2.75/day)
Location
Washington, USA
System Name Veraltet
Processor 3700x
Motherboard AsRock Taichi Ultimate x470
Cooling NH-D15 Chromax
Memory G.Skill 2x16GB 3200mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1080 Ti Gaming X
Storage 2 NVME + 3 HDD
Display(s) LG 34UB88-P + 2x AOC 2425W + Dell 2007F
Case CoolerMaster NR600
Audio Device(s) SteelSeries Arctis 5 + Moano condenser microphone
Power Supply EVGA GQ 850w
Mouse Corsair Scimitar Pro
Keyboard Corsair K55
Software Windows 10 Professional
Benchmark Scores PEBCAK
Yeah! Alright, Comcast! /s

You can bring faster speeds, but you can't remove the shitty 1TB data cap?
I pay for 800 down, I get 790 down.

I also pay for unlimited data. It's an option to add on.
 
Joined
Apr 17, 2021
Messages
52 (0.18/day)
The entire neighborhood where I live gets random packet loss on cable internet. They can't fix it. I switched to Fibre to the home and it was easily worth the extra $20 per month (now with the same upload as download speeds). It's not really faster per say (latency was reduced by 5ms but not really noticeable) but it is much more reliable technology. I really notice the improvement doing all the work from home remote desktop connections. No more packet loss. Our cable company sold out and merged with the largest in the country (Rogers) and prices are up so much there's no advantage to cable anymore.
 
Joined
Apr 18, 2019
Messages
88 (0.09/day)
Location
Olympia, WA
System Name Sleepy Painter
Processor AMD Ryzen 5 3600
Motherboard Asus TuF Gaming X570-PLUS/WIFI
Cooling FSP Windale 6 - Passive
Memory 2x16GB F4-3600C16-16GVKC @ 16-19-21-36-58-1T
Video Card(s) MSI RX580 8GB
Storage 2x Samsung PM963 960GB nVME RAID0, Crucial BX500 1TB SATA, WD Blue 3D 2TB SATA
Display(s) Microboard 32" Curved 1080P 144hz VA w/ Freesync
Case NZXT Gamma Classic Black
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1
Power Supply Rosewill 1KW on 240V@60hz
Mouse Logitech MX518 Legend
Keyboard Red Dragon K552
Software Windows 10 Enterprise 2019 LTSC 1809 17763.1757
You missed the funny.
Conspiracy nuts don't care about facts.
Very true. The theorists and opposition alike care not for facts.
I got the joke, but found it funny because of its inaccuracy.
'Anti-5G' revolves around the *wireless* technologies and international inappropriate private-public relationships.
Even the most ardent and uninformed anti-5G tin foil hat wants ubiquous fibre networking.
Luddites and anti-technologists on the other hand...
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 18, 2009
Messages
1,907 (0.41/day)
Location
MN
System Name Personal / HTPC
Processor Ryzen 5900x / i5-4460
Motherboard Asrock x570 Phantom Gaming 4 /ASRock Z87 Extreme4
Cooling Corsair H100i / stock HSF
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 / 8GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS TUF Gaming RTX 3080 / EVGA RTX 3060 XC
Storage 500GB Samsung Pro 970, 250 GB SSD, 1TB & 500GB Western Digital / 2x 4TB & 1x 8TB WD Red
Display(s) Dell - S3220DGF 32" LED Curved QHD FreeSync Monitor / 50" LCD TV
Case CoolerMaster HAF XB Evo / CM HAF XB Evo
Power Supply 850W SeaSonic X Series / 750W SeaSonic X Series
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Black Microsoft Natural Elite Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 / Windows 10 Home 64
I pay for 800 down, I get 790 down.

I also pay for unlimited data. It's an option to add on.
Sure, you can pay for unlimited data, but from what they've shown us it's not needed. They can easily support unlimited data cap, they did it a year and half ago during the lockdown periods. The cap is there to "look good" because Comcast says "very few" people need more than 1.2TB a month. Right now it's just that sweet spot they seem to think people are okay with where they can make more money for people that exceed it or want to pay for the option.
 
Joined
Feb 15, 2019
Messages
832 (0.77/day)
The tech for 10Gb fibre connection were there for decade
The big money comes from the business installments.
Network providers have no intension to speed up connection for home customers

Lack of competition ruins everything.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2006
Messages
1,332 (0.23/day)
Location
Toronto, Ontario
System Name The Expanse
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X
Motherboard Asus Prime X570-Pro BIOS 4021 AM4 AGESA V2 PI 1.2.0.3 Patch C
Cooling Corsair H150i Pro
Memory 32GB Gskill Trident RGB DDR4-3200 14-14-14-34-1T
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon RX 6800 XT 16GB
Storage Corsair MP600 1TB PCIe 4 / Samsung 860Evo 1TB x2 Raid 0 / Asus NAS AS1004T V2 14TB
Display(s) LG 34GP83A-B 34 Inch 21: 9 UltraGear Curved QHD (3440 x 1440) 1ms Nano IPS 160Hz
Case Fractal Design Meshify S2
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi + Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Corsair AX850 Titanium
Mouse Corsair Dark Core RGB
Keyboard Logitech G810
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 21H2
Benchmark Scores 3800X https://valid.x86.fr/1zr4a5 5800X https://valid.x86.fr/2dey9c
Another lab test so what comcast bring something to market then talk. Cable customers been suffering long enough with poor upload speeds and just average latency.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
10,058 (1.60/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/33u9si
Wow, wasn't expecting all the hatred...
Since I have cable internet, it looks like my ISP might upgrade to DOCSIS 4 in a few years of Comcast makes it work well...
At least prices aren't insane here, but as they upgraded my upload speed, I really have no need to update our package with them, as 200/50 is sufficient and we're only paying around $25 a month for it. Obviously no data cap.
 

Toothless

Tech, Games, and TPU!
Supporter
Joined
Mar 26, 2014
Messages
7,860 (2.75/day)
Location
Washington, USA
System Name Veraltet
Processor 3700x
Motherboard AsRock Taichi Ultimate x470
Cooling NH-D15 Chromax
Memory G.Skill 2x16GB 3200mhz
Video Card(s) MSI GTX1080 Ti Gaming X
Storage 2 NVME + 3 HDD
Display(s) LG 34UB88-P + 2x AOC 2425W + Dell 2007F
Case CoolerMaster NR600
Audio Device(s) SteelSeries Arctis 5 + Moano condenser microphone
Power Supply EVGA GQ 850w
Mouse Corsair Scimitar Pro
Keyboard Corsair K55
Software Windows 10 Professional
Benchmark Scores PEBCAK
Sure, you can pay for unlimited data, but from what they've shown us it's not needed. They can easily support unlimited data cap, they did it a year and half ago during the lockdown periods. The cap is there to "look good" because Comcast says "very few" people need more than 1.2TB a month. Right now it's just that sweet spot they seem to think people are okay with where they can make more money for people that exceed it or want to pay for the option.
I've hit 4TB before, so, yeah. I don't want to give chance to go over.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2006
Messages
1,332 (0.23/day)
Location
Toronto, Ontario
System Name The Expanse
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X
Motherboard Asus Prime X570-Pro BIOS 4021 AM4 AGESA V2 PI 1.2.0.3 Patch C
Cooling Corsair H150i Pro
Memory 32GB Gskill Trident RGB DDR4-3200 14-14-14-34-1T
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon RX 6800 XT 16GB
Storage Corsair MP600 1TB PCIe 4 / Samsung 860Evo 1TB x2 Raid 0 / Asus NAS AS1004T V2 14TB
Display(s) LG 34GP83A-B 34 Inch 21: 9 UltraGear Curved QHD (3440 x 1440) 1ms Nano IPS 160Hz
Case Fractal Design Meshify S2
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi + Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Corsair AX850 Titanium
Mouse Corsair Dark Core RGB
Keyboard Logitech G810
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 21H2
Benchmark Scores 3800X https://valid.x86.fr/1zr4a5 5800X https://valid.x86.fr/2dey9c
Wow, wasn't expecting all the hatred...
Since I have cable internet, it looks like my ISP might upgrade to DOCSIS 4 in a few years of Comcast makes it work well...
At least prices aren't insane here, but as they upgraded my upload speed, I really have no need to update our package with them, as 200/50 is sufficient and we're only paying around $25 a month for it. Obviously no data cap.
I think you will be lucky to see Docsis 4.0 available in the market in the next 5 years with the snail pace the cable industry moves. They have been doing these press releases with lab trails for years now. Most current implemations of cable is Docsis 3.1 on the download side and 3.0 on the upload side, and I don't see them spending the money to upgrade most of the infrastructure which will need fiber much closer to the residence.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
10,058 (1.60/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/33u9si
I think you will be lucky to see Docsis 4.0 available in the market in the next 5 years with the snail pace the cable industry moves. They have been doing these press releases with lab trails for years now. Most current implemations of cable is Docsis 3.1 on the download side and 3.0 on the upload side, and I don't see them spending the money to upgrade most of the infrastructure which will need fiber much closer to the residence.
The funny thing is, the original ISP we had here had fibre to the basement, then Ethernet form there, but they were taken over by the cable company who seemingly ripped all that out. They still claim to offer some kind of fibre hybrid service, but I don't have too much insight into it. They only moved to DOCSIS 3.1 a couple of years ago and the fastest upload speed they offer is 50Mbps. That said, our cost have kept being discounted every few years and this time around we got an "off menu" deal as far as I can tell with regards to upload speed. They recently replaced our aging cable modem/router with a newer model as well, a the old one was getting flaky, free of cost of course. I can't really complain about their service.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2006
Messages
1,332 (0.23/day)
Location
Toronto, Ontario
System Name The Expanse
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X
Motherboard Asus Prime X570-Pro BIOS 4021 AM4 AGESA V2 PI 1.2.0.3 Patch C
Cooling Corsair H150i Pro
Memory 32GB Gskill Trident RGB DDR4-3200 14-14-14-34-1T
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon RX 6800 XT 16GB
Storage Corsair MP600 1TB PCIe 4 / Samsung 860Evo 1TB x2 Raid 0 / Asus NAS AS1004T V2 14TB
Display(s) LG 34GP83A-B 34 Inch 21: 9 UltraGear Curved QHD (3440 x 1440) 1ms Nano IPS 160Hz
Case Fractal Design Meshify S2
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi + Logitech Z-5500
Power Supply Corsair AX850 Titanium
Mouse Corsair Dark Core RGB
Keyboard Logitech G810
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 21H2
Benchmark Scores 3800X https://valid.x86.fr/1zr4a5 5800X https://valid.x86.fr/2dey9c
The funny thing is, the original ISP we had here had fibre to the basement, then Ethernet form there, but they were taken over by the cable company who seemingly ripped all that out. They still claim to offer some kind of fibre hybrid service, but I don't have too much insight into it. They only moved to DOCSIS 3.1 a couple of years ago and the fastest upload speed they offer is 50Mbps. That said, our cost have kept being discounted every few years and this time around we got an "off menu" deal as far as I can tell with regards to upload speed. They recently replaced our aging cable modem/router with a newer model as well, a the old one was getting flaky, free of cost of course. I can't really complain about their service.
I was on cable until about 2018. And they still call me now trying to get me back with their discounts, which are not bad I was playing like $25 a month for a year of 500/20 back then. But in area's with no competition no discounts. And i've heard of simliar stories with an ISP getting bought out by cable then they rip up the fiber and go with coaxial cable which doesn't make sense to me but it is what it is. They still have alot of legacy equipment out in the field they want to make money off of so they will continue at their pace. I do think the Data caps need to go like right now kinda silly in 2022 in the post pandemic world we live in with alot of people working from home.
 
Joined
May 18, 2009
Messages
1,907 (0.41/day)
Location
MN
System Name Personal / HTPC
Processor Ryzen 5900x / i5-4460
Motherboard Asrock x570 Phantom Gaming 4 /ASRock Z87 Extreme4
Cooling Corsair H100i / stock HSF
Memory 16GB DDR4 3200 / 8GB DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) ASUS TUF Gaming RTX 3080 / EVGA RTX 3060 XC
Storage 500GB Samsung Pro 970, 250 GB SSD, 1TB & 500GB Western Digital / 2x 4TB & 1x 8TB WD Red
Display(s) Dell - S3220DGF 32" LED Curved QHD FreeSync Monitor / 50" LCD TV
Case CoolerMaster HAF XB Evo / CM HAF XB Evo
Power Supply 850W SeaSonic X Series / 750W SeaSonic X Series
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Black Microsoft Natural Elite Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 / Windows 10 Home 64
The Hell you have a 1TB data cap. Unlimited anywhere in Canada from any company.

The pains of being limited by ISP providers in the area. I could look to going to Comcast's gigabit service, but they always try to finagle bullshit into their contracts and stick you with a shitty price hike after 1 year is up into your two year contract. I'm not looking to spend an extra $70-75 a month (after taxes) for gigabit service from them.

I've had a few issues with Comcast and their customer service in the past and I'd rather not have to be bothered dealing with that headache again.

1st customer service issue was 12 years ago or so. I originally setup my internet service through Earthlink about 5 years prior to this incident. Little did I know, Earthlink just ran their service through Comcast. Fast forward 5 years or so after I originally setup my internet and Earthlink transferred all accounts to Comcast. In the process of consolidating data on Comcast's end, the main email address tied to my internet account was overwritten (it was an email through earthlink.net or .com or whatever it ended in) and replaced with a comcast email. This flagged my account as being inactive and my internet service stopped working one afternoon. I figure maybe it's an outage, no big deal. Next day, internet still not working. I do all the TSing on my end, no internet. I call comcast, they say internet is not down in the area and want me to go through all the bullshit troubleshooting I've already done. I tell them I did all that and nothing is working, I asked if they could reprovision the modem and struggled getting some one to help, all testing on their end and they couldn't connect to the modem. They setup a tech to visit the next day. Tech shows up, brings a new modem, makes sure everything is connected and no matter what he does he cannot get the modem to connect to the internet. Several hours of doing stuff, no luck. He gave up and left.

Day 3 with no internet. Tech returns, a second new modem. He hooks it up, but no internet. He's on the phone with customer service for a few hours and they can't get it figured out. They continue to look into things on their end.

Day 4 with no internet. I get a call from Comcast, they said they figured out the problem was on their end with the system merge and having something to do with the wrong email linked to the account and they're unable to delete the wrong email and input the correct one. They were working on an internal resolution and would let me know when it's resolved.

Day 5 with no internet. I get a call late in the afternoon from the tech that's been by a couple of times already. He's in the area with a 3rd modem and says he has to hookup this modem and they should have internal issues resolved. Tech shows up, swaps modems and in about 15 minutes the internet is back up.

I requested a refund for days I was without internet due to it being their fault, they said no (ass hat wearing bitches).


2nd customer service issue was about 5 years later. I got a letter in the mail saying I wasn't paying modem rental. No back charges will be applied to my account for the past "missed" rental months, but at the start of the next billing period I would see an extra $10 a month charge for renting their modem.

Screw that. I went and purchased my own modem. I contacted customer service, told them I wanted to get my own personal modem setup and to return the rental. About 20 minutes later I have my modem setup. The next day I drive 15 miles out of the way to return the rental modem to a physical Comcast/Xfinity location. I return it. I get a signed receipt of it being returned. A month later I get my bill and I'm being charged $10 for rental.

For the love of.....I call customer service, get the run around. Let them know I still have the paperwork about returning the rental modem. I send them a copy. Issue is resolved.
(okay, so this one wasn't that bad, just annoying)


3rd customer service issue was after disputing the rental fee, my next billing period I see I'm being charged $25 more than I was before. I reach out to customer service and the guy on the phone tells me that I signed up for a "new contract". I told him I did no such thing. I had to argue with the guy for an hour to get the charges reverted. I couldn't figure it out, but for some dumb ass reason they magically put me on some TV+internet plan because it would "save me money". I ended up getting some cable box in the mail, that I had to drive to the physical store location and return it. Once I returned it, I had to argue with customer service on the phone for another hour about the bullshit contract they put me on without my permission. I got the contract removed because they couldn't find any signature or e-signature from me agreeing to a new contract. I eventually got back to the normal, internet only plan and I was back to paying just my $50 a month.


As you can see, I don't want to deal with their piss poor customer service anymore. I'd hate to sign up for gigabit service, get some run around and end up with them trying to give me the shaft. No thank you.
 

AsRock

TPU addict
Joined
Jun 23, 2007
Messages
17,464 (3.28/day)
Location
UK\USA
Processor 2500k \ AMD 3900X+NH-D15
Motherboard ASRock Z68 \ ASRock AM4 X570 Pro 4
Memory Samsung low profile 2x8GB \ Patriot 2x16GB PVS432G320C6K
Video Card(s) eVga GTX1060 SSC \ XFX R9 390X
Storage 2xIntel 80Gb (SATA2) Crucial MX500 \ Samsung 860 1TB +Samsung Evo 250GB+500GB Sabrent 1TB Rocket
Display(s) Samsung 1080P \ LG UN70043
Case HTPC400 \ Thermaltake Armor case ( VE2000BWS ), With Zalman fan controller ( wattage usage ).
Audio Device(s) Yamaha RX-V677 \ Yamaha CX-830+Yamaha MX-630 Infinity RS4000\Paradigm P Studio 20, Blue Yeti
Power Supply Seasonic Focus 650w \ Seasonic Prime TX-750
Mouse Steelseries Sensei wireless \ Steelseries Sensei wireless
Keyboard Logitech K120 \ ROCCAT MK Pro ( modded amber leds )
Benchmark Scores Meh benchmarks.
Agreed. I get my speeds. Don't ask what they cost though, it makes me grumpy.

Yeah i been hitting them up for a discount for about 8 years, so 200\10 for $50 ( should be $80 ) with no cap for a long time. I guess they were losing people to Verizon so had to do some thing about it and as soon as there is no competition they would change in a instant.

They used to use there down speed as a reason to pick them over verizon but kept telling them that verizon had a much better upload speed and if a message needs to get there and back fast you need both which gaming is a main one for this. How ever Comcast do not permit you to run a dedi server.
 
Joined
Apr 17, 2021
Messages
52 (0.18/day)
Wow, wasn't expecting all the hatred...
Since I have cable internet, it looks like my ISP might upgrade to DOCSIS 4 in a few years of Comcast makes it work well...
At least prices aren't insane here, but as they upgraded my upload speed, I really have no need to update our package with them, as 200/50 is sufficient and we're only paying around $25 a month for it. Obviously no data cap.
It depends if you've been stuck with only cable as an option for the last 2 decades, and they've doubled the price to $100 minimum for cable internet where I live in Canada, so yeah, the cable company is hated.
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
17,257 (5.52/day)
Location
USA
as 200/50 is sufficient and we're only paying around $25 a month for it.
Good grief! That is cheap! Lucky you!

Wow, wasn't expecting all the hatred...
They've earned it. Comcast is a crap company. I'm being MUCH more nice with my choice of words then I would like to be, but you know, forum rules and whatnot..
 
Joined
Dec 30, 2010
Messages
1,389 (0.34/day)
Datacaps are imposed to assure that the ISP itself is'nt paying too much to other peerings; basicly from what i understand is that outside certain peerings ISP's have to pay. Perhaps they just charge comcast quite alot.

I experience the same too, here in Portugal. I have 1000/100mbit glasfibre, works excellent and games do fly with 100MB p/s downloads, however when i ramp up usenet to for example Holland i barely get 600kbps and on servers that supposed to be unlimited. These caps are introduced because ISP's have to pay to other peerings for usage.

It's not a technical limitation, on public websites with speedtest i do get the full 1000mbit and 95mbit upload over a distance of 2400km, they just cap it, even when i turn on SSL and what more to obfuscate the traffic i'm doing in particular. Docsis is still a very competing platform; ive used cable quite alot and its reliability is just excellent.

It just does'nt beat glasfibre obviously but technically you could use cable inside the house while wired with glass outside. You could fully utilitize cable as it was intended.
 
Joined
Nov 11, 2004
Messages
10,058 (1.60/day)
Location
Formosa
System Name Overlord Mk MXVI
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 3800X
Motherboard Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro
Memory 32GB Viper Steel 3600 DDR4 @ 3800MHz 16-19-16-19-36
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 2080 Gaming OC 8G
Storage 1TB WD Black NVMe (2018), 2TB Viper VPN100, 1TB WD Blue 3D NAND
Display(s) Asus PG27AQ
Case Corsair Carbide 275Q
Audio Device(s) Corsair Virtuoso SE
Power Supply Corsair RM750
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed
Keyboard Wooting Two
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores https://valid.x86.fr/33u9si
Good grief! That is cheap! Lucky you!
It's actually kind of expensive, in Sweden some places even have "free" 500/500 or Gigabit connections, depending on what the housing association has negotiated with the service provider. It's obviously not free, but usually heavily discounted and included as part of your management fee. Most of these deals are $10-15 a month in real costs.
Another thing that many larger villages, towns and cities have are communal broadband, where the city or even the local power supplier owns the infrastructure and then you can pick between a dozen or so service providers, who then have to compete among themselves to offer whatever deals they want. Both options have helped keep broadband prices down in Sweden, although there are still areas that are only serviced by a single provider and you often pay more there, unsurprisingly. Anything below 100/100 isn't really considered broadband in Sweden these days.
The US could really do with local government owned and operated broadband networks, but from my understanding, that's illegal in many states.
They've earned it. Comcast is a crap company. I'm being MUCH more nice with my choice of words then I would like to be, but you know, forum rules and whatnot..
Well, I obviously see some news about US broadband providers and they all seems to be more or less terrible from my understanding. Most of them don't even seem to want to be service providers, they'd rather you just gave them the login to your online banking...

It depends if you've been stuck with only cable as an option for the last 2 decades, and they've doubled the price to $100 minimum for cable internet where I live in Canada, so yeah, the cable company is hated.
I was friendly with a chap in Victoria that I came in contact with when I worked at QNAP and he was cursing the Canadian broadband providers. Sadly he passed away rather unexpectedly a few years ago.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
12,489 (3.42/day)
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Apollo
Processor Intel Core i9 9880H
Motherboard Some proprietary Apple thing.
Memory 64GB DDR4-2667
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon Pro 5600M, 8GB HBM2
Storage 1TB Apple NVMe, 4TB External
Display(s) Laptop @ 3072x1920 + 2x LG 5k Ultrafine TB3 displays
Case MacBook Pro (16", 2019)
Audio Device(s) AirPods Pro, Sennheiser HD 380s w/ FIIO Alpen 2, or Logitech 2.1 Speakers
Power Supply 96w Power Adapter
Mouse Logitech MX Master 3
Keyboard Logitech G915, GL Clicky
Software MacOS 12.1
Agreed. I get my speeds. Don't ask what they cost though, it makes me grumpy.
I pay $80 USD/month for 960/42. If I got a bit more upload, then I'd be completely satisfied.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
12,489 (3.42/day)
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Apollo
Processor Intel Core i9 9880H
Motherboard Some proprietary Apple thing.
Memory 64GB DDR4-2667
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon Pro 5600M, 8GB HBM2
Storage 1TB Apple NVMe, 4TB External
Display(s) Laptop @ 3072x1920 + 2x LG 5k Ultrafine TB3 displays
Case MacBook Pro (16", 2019)
Audio Device(s) AirPods Pro, Sennheiser HD 380s w/ FIIO Alpen 2, or Logitech 2.1 Speakers
Power Supply 96w Power Adapter
Mouse Logitech MX Master 3
Keyboard Logitech G915, GL Clicky
Software MacOS 12.1

Durvelle27

Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jul 10, 2012
Messages
6,304 (1.81/day)
Location
Memphis, TN
System Name Black Prometheus
Processor AMD Ryzen 7 5800X
Motherboard ASRock B550M Pro4
Cooling ID Cooling Auraflow 360 Snow Edition
Memory Oloy 32GB(2x16GB) DDR4 3600MHz CL18
Video Card(s) Gigabyte RTX 3070 Ti Gaming OC
Storage Sandisk X300 512GB + WD Black 6TB+WD Black 6TB
Display(s) LG Nanocell85 49" 4K 120Hz+3x 24" 1200P Monitors
Case DeepCool Matrexx 55 V3 w/ 6x120mm Intake + 3x120mm Exhaust
Audio Device(s) LG Dolby Atmos
Power Supply Corsair RMX850 Fully Modular
Mouse Logitech Trackman
Keyboard Dell OEM
Software Windows 10 EDU x64
I see some angry people. Me personally I love Comcast. Been dealing with them for 5 years now with no issues

I pay $160 monthly for Unlimited DATA and speeds upto 1.2GBps along with Home security. Price has not changed and my service has been solid. In my defense I use wired connections on all my primary devices as well. Latency tends to hover around 10ms though buts that’s still decent for gaming depending on the server.

I just did this pull and mind you this is on WiFi from the other side of my house

EC73A6E8-57C0-4427-957B-A9E9C2BDF1E7.jpeg
 
Joined
Jul 5, 2013
Messages
17,257 (5.52/day)
Location
USA
I pay $160 monthly for Unlimited DATA and speeds upto 1.2GBps
Ouch! Good grief that's expensive! That's almost twice what I pay and you get a slower service. Through our local fiber provider we get unlimited 1gbps full-duplex for $50 per month. I pay $35 extra for higher speeds. Comcast is fleecing you..
 
Top