• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Command & Conquer: Red Alert 3 for PC, PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360 Announced

malware

New Member
Joined
Nov 7, 2004
Messages
5,422 (1.13/day)
Likes
954
Location
Bulgaria
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 G0 VID: 1.2125
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3P rev.2.0
Cooling Thermalright Ultra-120 eXtreme + Noctua NF-S12 Fan
Memory 4x1 GB PQI DDR2 PC2-6400
Video Card(s) Colorful iGame Radeon HD 4890 1 GB GDDR5
Storage 2x 500 GB Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 32 MB RAID0
Display(s) BenQ G2400W 24-inch WideScreen LCD
Case Cooler Master COSMOS RC-1000 (sold), Cooler Master HAF-932 (delivered)
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic + Logitech Z-5500 Digital THX
Power Supply Chieftec CFT-1000G-DF 1kW
Software Laptop: Lenovo 3000 N200 C2DT2310/3GB/120GB/GF7300/15.4"/Razer
#1
Following the title's unveiling yesterday, publisher Electronic Arts has officially announced Command & Conquer: Red Alert 3 for PC, PlayStation 3 and Xbox 360. Developed by EA Los Angeles, the same studio that handled Command & Conquer 3: Tiberium Wars, Red Alert 3 will add co-op campaign play, new units, and a new faction to the alternate history strategy series. According to the executive producer Chris Corry, naval combat has been brought "into the heart of the game design." No release estimate was provided, though PC players will be able to gain beta access by purchasing the Command & Conquer 3: Kane's Wrath expansion or the Command & Conquer 3 Limited Collection later this year. Specifics on the beta program are slated to arrive this summer. "The Red Alert games are known for challenging hardcore strategy gamers with depth, variety, and innovative gameplay," said EA LA general manager Mike Verdu. "But they also belong to that rare breed of games that can draw in more casual players with their over-the-top stories, instantly accessible mechanics, and straight-to-the-fun design."

Show full news post
 
Joined
Jan 15, 2005
Messages
5,458 (1.16/day)
Likes
242
Location
England
System Name Jimmy 2004's PC
Processor S754 AMD Athlon64 3200+ @ 2640MHz
Motherboard ASUS K8N
Cooling AC Freezer 64 Pro + Zalman VF1000 + 5x120mm Antec TriCool Case Fans
Memory 1GB Kingston PC3200 (2x512MB)
Video Card(s) Saphire 256MB X800 GTO @ 450MHz/560MHz (Core/Memory)
Storage 500GB Western Digital SATA II + 80GB Maxtor DiamondMax SATA
Display(s) Digimate 17" TFT (1280x1024)
Case Antec P182
Audio Device(s) Audigy 4 + Creative Inspire T7900 7.1 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair HX520W
Software Windows XP Home
#2
Now this is one game I really hope runs on my PC... but I'm not hugely optimistic.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,288 (5.51/day)
Likes
10,395
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 4790K@4.6GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z97 Extreme6
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR3-1866 9-10-9-27
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Corsair 650D Black
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#3
I have never been a fan of RTS games on consoles, the controls just don't work unless they let you use a mouse and keyboard.

I did play my first C&C game on the PS1 though(Red Alert ironically enough). I managed, but once I played it on a PC I never looked back.

I can't wait for this game though.

Now this is one game I really hope runs on my PC... but I'm not hugely optimistic.
It should run, but not obviously not maxed out. I've seen C&C3 running on much worse.
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2007
Messages
836 (0.23/day)
Likes
48
Location
Canadia
System Name Blood
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 @ 2.4Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P5Q PRO @ stock settings
Cooling Antec Case fans (max) OCZ Vandetta 2 CPU cooler with a Kaze Jyuni 120mm fan 1200RPM+-100RPM 67.5CFM
Memory Patriot Viper Series 4GB 2x2GB DDR2 800Mhz 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) BFG NVIDIA GeForce GTX 260 OC MAXCORE 896MB PCIe 2.0 Core 216 @ stock settings
Storage Seagate Barracuda 500GB SATA 3.0Gb/s
Display(s) Acer AL2616Wd 25.5" 1920x1200 800:1 178degrees viewing angle 5ms S-IPS Panel
Case Antec Nine Hundred
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Plosion 7.1 with a coaxial cable connected to a Logitech z5500
Power Supply BFG ES-800 800W
Software Windows Vista (soon to be Windows Xp, Vista, and Windows 7 triple boot)
#4
this is going to be awesome
 

CDdude55

Crazy 4 TPU!!!
Joined
Jul 12, 2007
Messages
8,178 (2.15/day)
Likes
1,269
Location
Virginia
System Name CDdude's Rig!
Processor AMD Athlon II X4 620
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-990FXA-UD3
Cooling Corsair H70
Memory 8GB Corsair Vengence @1600mhz
Video Card(s) XFX HD 6970 2GB
Storage OCZ Agility 3 60GB SSD/WD Velociraptor 300GB
Display(s) ASUS VH232H 23" 1920x1080
Case Cooler Master CM690 (w/ side window)
Audio Device(s) Onboard (It sounds fine)
Power Supply Corsair 850TX
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit SP1
#5
The console version FTW:rockout:. jk
 

Dangle

New Member
Joined
Dec 13, 2007
Messages
497 (0.14/day)
Likes
15
Location
Reno
System Name Vista
Processor Q6600
Memory 2GB Corsair 800mhz
Video Card(s) 2900XT
Storage 300GB 7.2kRPM Seagate for OS; 74GB 10kRPM WD for Games
Audio Device(s) XFi
Power Supply 750W
#6
starcraft will pwn this.
 

PVTCaboose1337

Graphical Hacker
Joined
Feb 1, 2006
Messages
9,501 (2.19/day)
Likes
1,097
Location
Dallas, Texas
System Name Whim
Processor Intel Core i5 2500k @ 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V LX
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212+
Memory 2 x 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws @ 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670 2gb
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256gb, WD 2TB Black
Display(s) Shimian QH270 (1440p), Asus VE228 (1080p)
Case Cooler Master 430 Elite
Audio Device(s) Onboard > PA2V2 Amp > Senn 595's
Power Supply Corsair 750w
Software Windows 8.1 (Tweaked)
#7
I loved RA2... cannot wait for this!
 

OrbitzXT

New Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2007
Messages
1,969 (0.50/day)
Likes
59
Location
New York City
System Name AX-01
Processor Intel Core i5-2500K @3.7 GHz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Cooling Zalman 9700
Memory Kingston HyperX T1 Series 8GB DDR3 1600 MHZ
Video Card(s) GTX 590
Storage Intel X25-M
Display(s) 42" Samsung LED HDTV
Case Antec Twelve Hundred
Audio Device(s) HT | OMEGA STRIKER 7.1
Power Supply Kingwin 1000W
Software Windows 7 64-Bit
#8
I did play my first C&C game on the PS1 though(Red Alert ironically enough). I managed, but once I played it on a PC I never looked back.
I played my first RTS on PS1 also, but it was the original C&C, Tiberium Dawn. My second was Starcraft =) RTS on consoles USED to be bad, but now you can use a keyboard and mouse on the console as well so there is no difference.
 

Gam'ster

New Member
Joined
Jan 13, 2007
Messages
980 (0.25/day)
Likes
109
Location
South Wales, UK
System Name Toshiba L350
Processor AMD QL-65
Motherboard Toshiba 780G/SB700
Cooling Laptop
Memory 3GB
Video Card(s) ATI HD3000
Storage 250GB
Display(s) 17" Widescreen
Case Black/Carbon effect
Audio Device(s) OnBoard
Power Supply Brick
Software WIN7
#9
ohh the missus will be happy:laugh:, she'll never see me when i get this.
C&C red alert is already looking slick :rockout:

Cheers
Gam
 
Joined
May 27, 2005
Messages
3,651 (0.80/day)
Likes
341
Location
Little Rock Arkansas, United States
System Name Monolith
Processor Intel Xeon E3110 Wolfdale@3.5GHz
Motherboard MSI P35-Neo
Cooling Active Air
Memory 4GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 3850 512MB PCI-E
Storage 1 x 80GB Internal, 1 x 250GB Internal, 1 x 40GB External
Display(s) Acer X203w
Case Generic black case with locking front bezel
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply 500 Watt Seasonic M12
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#10
Soviet units look a bit cartoon like, I'm not sure I'm fond of that.
 

OrbitzXT

New Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2007
Messages
1,969 (0.50/day)
Likes
59
Location
New York City
System Name AX-01
Processor Intel Core i5-2500K @3.7 GHz
Motherboard ASRock Z68 Extreme3 Gen3
Cooling Zalman 9700
Memory Kingston HyperX T1 Series 8GB DDR3 1600 MHZ
Video Card(s) GTX 590
Storage Intel X25-M
Display(s) 42" Samsung LED HDTV
Case Antec Twelve Hundred
Audio Device(s) HT | OMEGA STRIKER 7.1
Power Supply Kingwin 1000W
Software Windows 7 64-Bit
#11
Soviet units look a bit cartoon like, I'm not sure I'm fond of that.
They looked cartoonish already in RA2, I just figured that was a theme they were sticking with. Red Alert 2 was more about gameplay, not realism (Graphics or units in the game).
 

Pinchy

New Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2006
Messages
5,105 (1.20/day)
Likes
270
Location
Sydney, Australia
System Name UltraPC
Processor E8500 Core 2 Duo, 1333Mhz FSB, 3.16Ghz @ 4.5GHz (got into Windows @ 4.75GHz)
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-e
Cooling CPU Cooler - TT V14 Pro, 2x120mm CM Blue LED fans, 1x90mm CM Blue LED fan
Memory G.Skill Pi 4GB (2x2GB) Dual Channel DDR2 PC8000 (1000MHz), 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4850 512mb with ASUS EAH4850 BIOS
Storage 2x 500GB Seagate 7200.12 Raid 0
Display(s) Acer AL1912, 19" LCD screen
Case Thermaltake Soprano Black ATX case
Audio Device(s) Onboard 7.1, Speakers - 5 + Sub + Monitor speakers
Power Supply Thermaltake 850W Toughpower Cable Management - Quad (2x18A and 2x30A) 12V rails
Software Win 7 Pro x64, MSN, CS:Source, etc etc
#14
I still play RA2 as well :p.

I wished they didnt use IPX on RA2..really killed the network thing.
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2007
Messages
135 (0.04/day)
Likes
31
System Name blackened 24/7
Processor Intel Core i7-2600K @ 4.4GHz
Motherboard Asus MAXIMUS IV GENE-Z/GEN3
Cooling Corsair H60
Memory 4 x 4Gb Corsair Vengance ddr3 1866Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus Strix 1050ti 4gb
Storage Corsair Force 3 SSD 120gb+4TB WD HD
Display(s) Acer S271HL 27" HD LED 1920x1080
Case Corsair Obsidian 650D
Audio Device(s) X-Fi 2 MB
Power Supply Corsair HX650w
Software Win10 Pro
#15
Red Alert 3 and Starcraft 2. Should be really interesting. Can wait until they come out.
 

candle_86

New Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2006
Messages
3,914 (0.98/day)
Likes
227
#16
I still play RA2 as well :p.

I wished they didnt use IPX on RA2..really killed the network thing.
well it was easier that way, if you pay close attetion you will notice that CnC - RA2 use the same engine, in TS it got update majorly but its overall the same engine.


As for the consoles, why bother, these are games for adults not console kiddies
 

XooM

New Member
Joined
Oct 17, 2004
Messages
468 (0.10/day)
Likes
7
Location
Close to FrozenCPU.com
Processor Athlon 64 3800 x2 Windosr @ 2.65 (and rising)
Motherboard BIOSTAR TForce 550
Cooling Custom Liquid (WMD20RLZT, Swiftech STORM, 2-302 w/ custom shroud, 2x sanyo denki)
Memory Patriot PDC22G5300LLK
Video Card(s) Sapphire x1900GT
Storage 1x maxtor 40gb, 2x hitachi T7K250 160gb drives RAID 0, 1x 160gb Spinpoint
Display(s) 2x 17" CRT (dells; one from 1998, one from 2001) at 1600x1200 each
Case Aspire X-SuperAlien
Audio Device(s) integrated
Power Supply Seasonic S12 600watt
Software WinXP SP2, Folding@Home, Battlefield2, etc
#17
RA3 + SC2 = Fail out of school

I CANNOT WAIT.
 

Pinchy

New Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2006
Messages
5,105 (1.20/day)
Likes
270
Location
Sydney, Australia
System Name UltraPC
Processor E8500 Core 2 Duo, 1333Mhz FSB, 3.16Ghz @ 4.5GHz (got into Windows @ 4.75GHz)
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-e
Cooling CPU Cooler - TT V14 Pro, 2x120mm CM Blue LED fans, 1x90mm CM Blue LED fan
Memory G.Skill Pi 4GB (2x2GB) Dual Channel DDR2 PC8000 (1000MHz), 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4850 512mb with ASUS EAH4850 BIOS
Storage 2x 500GB Seagate 7200.12 Raid 0
Display(s) Acer AL1912, 19" LCD screen
Case Thermaltake Soprano Black ATX case
Audio Device(s) Onboard 7.1, Speakers - 5 + Sub + Monitor speakers
Power Supply Thermaltake 850W Toughpower Cable Management - Quad (2x18A and 2x30A) 12V rails
Software Win 7 Pro x64, MSN, CS:Source, etc etc
#18
well it was easier that way, if you pay close attetion you will notice that CnC - RA2 use the same engine, in TS it got update majorly but its overall the same engine.
Yeah it was easier on their part...but now I can't play RA2 on LAN with Vista :ohwell:.
 

Pinchy

New Member
Joined
Apr 29, 2006
Messages
5,105 (1.20/day)
Likes
270
Location
Sydney, Australia
System Name UltraPC
Processor E8500 Core 2 Duo, 1333Mhz FSB, 3.16Ghz @ 4.5GHz (got into Windows @ 4.75GHz)
Motherboard ASUS P5Q-e
Cooling CPU Cooler - TT V14 Pro, 2x120mm CM Blue LED fans, 1x90mm CM Blue LED fan
Memory G.Skill Pi 4GB (2x2GB) Dual Channel DDR2 PC8000 (1000MHz), 5-5-5-15
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD4850 512mb with ASUS EAH4850 BIOS
Storage 2x 500GB Seagate 7200.12 Raid 0
Display(s) Acer AL1912, 19" LCD screen
Case Thermaltake Soprano Black ATX case
Audio Device(s) Onboard 7.1, Speakers - 5 + Sub + Monitor speakers
Power Supply Thermaltake 850W Toughpower Cable Management - Quad (2x18A and 2x30A) 12V rails
Software Win 7 Pro x64, MSN, CS:Source, etc etc
#20
yes you can, you need the unoffical TCP patch
Lol, I spent ages trying to find it and installed so many programs and crap :p. Would you happen to have a link?
 

candle_86

New Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2006
Messages
3,914 (0.98/day)
Likes
227
#21
let me see if i can find one lol, i know i dont have it anymore deleted it long ago, also there is a guide online to add IPX to vista.


I can't find the patch, but novell does have an IPX protocol for Vista availble. Grab that, or if your really good with windows port the protocols from XP into Vista this actully works also.