1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Common LGA-1366 Cooling Myths Busted

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Aug 18, 2008.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    32,762 (9.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,507
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    With the entry of the Core i7 Bloomfield series processors this September thru October, the computing world will witness the entry of a new motherboard processor socket, the 1366-pin Land Grid Array (LGA-1366). FrostyTech demystified the new socket in respect to the way coolers are to be designed to be compatible with it, which will have implications on a vast segment of DIY consumers since LGA-1366 is meant to be a high-performance flagship computing platform. There are two key factors at play:
    • The layout and cooler-retention mechanism of the socket
    • The area of contact between the cooler and the processor's integrated heatspreader (IHS).
    [​IMG]

    Firstly, your LGA 775 cooler won't fit on the LGA 1366, reason being that for the LGA 775, the mount-holes on the motherboards for retention pins / bolt-through kits used to be 72 mm apart. For the LGA 1366 they are 80 mm apart. It wouldn't be wise improvising an adapter to make it work either, since the heatsink's contact area with the IHS will be reduced. For the LGA 775 it is 28.5 sq. mm while it's 32.0 x 35.0 mm (yes, it's rectangular).

    Speaking of the cooler retention mechanism, some coolers could use spring-tensioned machine screws to attach the heatsink to a metal backing plate. Intel's stock cooler is found to use standard through-PCB plastic push-pin mounting brackets. There won't be a retention cage (of the sort found on the older Socket 478 motherboards).

    Source: FrostyTech, image courtesy: Bit-Tech.net
     
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2008
    mep916 says thanks.
  2. snuif09

    snuif09

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2007
    Messages:
    964 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    66
    Location:
    hoorn, Netherlands
    im really thinking of going intel but i cant afford it so now hope amd comes with something good or byebye
     
  3. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    32,762 (9.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,507
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Many thanks to Morgoth for sending this in.
     
  4. chron New Member

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    569 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    33
    can't afford intel, but will say goodbye to amd if they dont have something as good as you can't afford? Ok...

    As for me, I do NOT see this chip in my near future like some of the richer enthusiasts around here. If anything, when this comes out, I'll be buying up the 775 chips as their prices go down.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,570 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    865
    I just want to say this and i may be totally wrong so if I am please correct me

    It looks like they could have easily made it compatible with previous coolers, and by doing it differently - I suspect a backhander by the cooling companies.
     
  6. mdm-adph

    mdm-adph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,478 (0.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Your house.
    Ha! Me too -- I've always wanted to try out a Core just to see how high I can clock it, but I hate to buy one now, knowing that AMD needs all the help it can get (due to Intel's anti-competitive practices).
     
  7. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (5.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,642
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    *Crosses fingers and hopes they don't use push pin*
     
  8. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    23,353 (6.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,908
    read the source...it says the stockers do , but the cooler thay used had screws and a backer plate!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    32,762 (9.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,507
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Stock cooler (that's an ES, final product could differ):

    [​IMG]
     
    sneekypeet says thanks.
  10. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,814 (2.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    This is like AMDs news about a rectangular socket for their new parts. Looks like Intel may have done the same thing perhaps?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (2.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Is it just the CPU and socket thats just recangular? Or are the cooler mounts in a rectangular spacing too?
     
  12. _jM

    _jM New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,454 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    170
    Location:
    Ocala,FL
    I dont know where you've been latly but AMD will ALWAYS be behind INTEL.. the only reason that AMD is in the game is that it would be a monopoly... and they own ATI, they just released the 4870X2... and to me.. thats the best fukn card on the planet...s0n!
     
  13. _jM

    _jM New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,454 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    170
    Location:
    Ocala,FL
    yes.. of course..
     
  14. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    actually, this socket has been rectangular ever since ....
     
  15. _jM

    _jM New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,454 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    170
    Location:
    Ocala,FL
    w0rd to that:rockout:
     
  16. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,804 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    253
    Location:
    Netherlands
    :D
     
  17. $ReaPeR$

    $ReaPeR$

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    588 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    151
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    i have one question. did intel really needed to change the socket?:confused::confused::confused:
     
  18. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe
    ask amd
     
  19. PP Mguire

    PP Mguire

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,941 (1.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,203
    Location:
    Watauga, Texas
    Well this is just completely wrong. AMD has been ahead of Intel before, and when they where they where p00ning the crap outa Intel.

    Also, that stock cooler looks ghey.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  20. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,456 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,716
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    AMD had the first IMC, and the athlon 64 (939) was ahead of intel for a long time.

    Intel have now changed the socket to go with an IMC, as well as triple channel ram - besides 775 was old hat, people were getting used to it :p
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. Threeflow New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2006
    Messages:
    39 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Yes.
    In lamens terms, as newer processors increase in performance, and compute more input/output operations per second, new processors are getting more and more powerful and eventually 'outgrow' their socket. The processor manufacturer releases new socket types with more pins so as not to artificially limit their new processors' potential performance.
    It's to do with how fast or how much the processor can communicate to/with the rest of the system (ie motherboard, RAM etc).
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. X1REME

    X1REME New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    84 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    sometime i wonder if Intel is ever gonna stop copying amd in everything.. amd only built the shitty phenomenon so that Intel would copy it and get a beating for it.. unfortunatly it never happened, but watch and see what happens to nehalem as amd has shanghai and deneb to counter.. nehalem has problems which they are hiding from us but cannot from amd. which is why shanghai is being rushed in b4 Intel fixes it lol
     
  23. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    45,456 (10.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,716
    Location:
    Australalalalalaia.
    i congratulate you on having a useless, uninformative post full of bias and fiction.

    AMD built the phenom... and it was flawed. they're only getting to their original goal now with the release of the SB750 on the newest boards. If you think nehalem has more problems than the phenom... you're in for a surprise.
     
    1c3d0g and WhiteLotus say thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. battousai831 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    14 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Don't forget that the IMC needs quite a few more pins than an old school FSB setup.
     
  25. hat

    hat Enthusiast

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2006
    Messages:
    17,943 (4.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,734
    Location:
    Ohio
    I guess you wern't around when the Athlon XP's were raping the Pentium 4's good and hard.
     
    mdm-adph says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)