• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

component to VGA/HDMI converter for PC monitor

Joined
Aug 12, 2011
Messages
71 (0.03/day)
Likes
4
Location
UK
System Name Alienware m18x
Processor Intel Core™ i7 2920XM @ 4GHz
Memory 16GB of Kingston Hyper X 1866MHz DDR3
Video Card(s) Dual 2GB GDDR5 AMD Radeon™ HD 6990M - AMD CrossFireX™
Storage Corsair 240GB Force GT SATA 6Gb/s 2.5" Solid State Drive, WD 750GB 2.5" SATA-II Scorpio Black HDD
Case Space black anodized aluminum
Audio Device(s) USB FiiO USB DAC headphone amplifier E10
Power Supply 330W AC Adapter
Software Windows 8.1 Pro x64
#1
Hi, just wanted to know if anyone has used anything like this before.

I used one of THESE and it's bloody awful! Component > to HDMI
Picture is grainy nothing like native component quality. I wanted to use this to play my old games consoles like the PlayStation 2 and Xbox 1 on my PC monitor.

I'm using THIS Asus monitor.

And the component cables I'm using are both official for PlayStation 2, as well as for one for Xbox 1. No 3rd party cables.

I decided to try this converter device on my LG LCD TV, still grainy video but not as bad as using it on the PC monitor. Put it directly into component on the LCD TV and no problem.

However I intend to use the consoles on the PC monitor. Otherwise I wouldn't bother with the converter and use the component direct on the LCD TV.

I also noticed the LCD TV is 120hz whereas the monitor is:
Analog Signal Frequency : 24~92 KHz(H)/ 50~85 Hz(V)
Digital Signal Frequency : 24~92 KHz(H)/ 50~85 Hz(V)

I have no idea about signal frequencies but I'm assuming the 120hz is why the visuals are less grainy on the LCD TV to that of the monitor.

Anyhow Is there any decent converters out there?? Anyone personally use such a thing on their monitor that works great?
My monitor only has VGA, HDMI and display port. Maybe a converter to VGA is better suited?

Please advise, thanks :)
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2008
Messages
4,016 (1.17/day)
Likes
900
Location
Ohio
System Name Desktop|| Virtual Host 0
Processor Intel Core i5 2500-K @ 4.3ghz || 2x Xeon L5630 (total 8 cores, 16 threads)
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V || Dell PowerEdge R710 (Intel 5520 chipset)
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100 || Stock hotplug fans and passive heatsinks
Memory 4x4gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 || 12x4gb Hynix DDR3 1066 FB-DIMMs
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 760 Gaming Twin Frozr 4GB OC || Don't know, don't care
Storage Hitachi 7K3000 2TB || 6x300gb 15k rpm SAS internal hotswap, 12x3tb Seagate NAS drives in enclosure
Display(s) ViewSonic VA2349S || remote iDRAC KVM console
Case Antec P280 || Dell PowerEdge R710
Audio Device(s) HRT MusicStreamer II+ and Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 || Don't know, don't care
Power Supply SeaSonic X650 Gold || 2x870w hot-swappable
Mouse Logitech G500 || remote iDRAC KVM console
Keyboard Logitech G510 || remote iDRAC KVM console
Software Win7 Ultimate x64 || VMware vSphere 6.0 with vCenter Server 6.0
Benchmark Scores Over 9000 on the scouter
#2
The signal frequency has nothing to do with it at all actually. It's just a result of poor conversion is my guess. Maybe you could try using a video capture card in your PC? I'm not sure if any of those allow you to display the input in real-time or if they just record though.

edit: Actually, I'm having a hard time even finding a component capture card that isn't expensive.

edit2: Maybe you could try component to VGA adapters I guess. Here is a Startech one.

edit3: Here is component to HDMI device from startech as well. iirc, that's supposed to be a quality brand.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Aug 12, 2011
Messages
71 (0.03/day)
Likes
4
Location
UK
System Name Alienware m18x
Processor Intel Core™ i7 2920XM @ 4GHz
Memory 16GB of Kingston Hyper X 1866MHz DDR3
Video Card(s) Dual 2GB GDDR5 AMD Radeon™ HD 6990M - AMD CrossFireX™
Storage Corsair 240GB Force GT SATA 6Gb/s 2.5" Solid State Drive, WD 750GB 2.5" SATA-II Scorpio Black HDD
Case Space black anodized aluminum
Audio Device(s) USB FiiO USB DAC headphone amplifier E10
Power Supply 330W AC Adapter
Software Windows 8.1 Pro x64
#3
Damn they're a bit pricey :p

Anymore recommendations? I will still look into the Startech brands if they do the job.
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2008
Messages
4,016 (1.17/day)
Likes
900
Location
Ohio
System Name Desktop|| Virtual Host 0
Processor Intel Core i5 2500-K @ 4.3ghz || 2x Xeon L5630 (total 8 cores, 16 threads)
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V || Dell PowerEdge R710 (Intel 5520 chipset)
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100 || Stock hotplug fans and passive heatsinks
Memory 4x4gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 || 12x4gb Hynix DDR3 1066 FB-DIMMs
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 760 Gaming Twin Frozr 4GB OC || Don't know, don't care
Storage Hitachi 7K3000 2TB || 6x300gb 15k rpm SAS internal hotswap, 12x3tb Seagate NAS drives in enclosure
Display(s) ViewSonic VA2349S || remote iDRAC KVM console
Case Antec P280 || Dell PowerEdge R710
Audio Device(s) HRT MusicStreamer II+ and Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 || Don't know, don't care
Power Supply SeaSonic X650 Gold || 2x870w hot-swappable
Mouse Logitech G500 || remote iDRAC KVM console
Keyboard Logitech G510 || remote iDRAC KVM console
Software Win7 Ultimate x64 || VMware vSphere 6.0 with vCenter Server 6.0
Benchmark Scores Over 9000 on the scouter
#4
Nope, sorry I don't really know too much about it, I just did some googling around. I do have some experience with really expensive Startech KVM switches and I can say they are built pretty tough and work well. No experience with any of their other products though. I suggest looking around for reviews.

Also, I'm not sure how nice your PC is, but you could emulate some of the PS2 games. Still no functional XBOX emulator that I'm aware of though.
 
Joined
Aug 12, 2011
Messages
71 (0.03/day)
Likes
4
Location
UK
System Name Alienware m18x
Processor Intel Core™ i7 2920XM @ 4GHz
Memory 16GB of Kingston Hyper X 1866MHz DDR3
Video Card(s) Dual 2GB GDDR5 AMD Radeon™ HD 6990M - AMD CrossFireX™
Storage Corsair 240GB Force GT SATA 6Gb/s 2.5" Solid State Drive, WD 750GB 2.5" SATA-II Scorpio Black HDD
Case Space black anodized aluminum
Audio Device(s) USB FiiO USB DAC headphone amplifier E10
Power Supply 330W AC Adapter
Software Windows 8.1 Pro x64
#5
No probs, I'll have a scout about, but if anyone does have any experience with these things let me know what's best to use.

Yes I could emulate PS2, would be nice to emulate Xbox as well but nothing really out there for it.
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2008
Messages
1,874 (0.53/day)
Likes
334
Location
Cobourg,Ontario
System Name FX CrossFireX
Processor AMD FX™ 8370 @Stock
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD5 (rev. 3.1
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 the BEAST
Memory AMD Radeon™ R5 Entertainment Series 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3-1600 MHz CL11 Part Number: R5316G1601U2K-G T
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming R9 390
Storage x3 Seagates 1Terabyte X1 Seagate 2Terabyte <Steam Install
Display(s) 40 Inch Samsung HDTV (monitor)
Case HAF-X:)
Audio Device(s) AMD/HDMI to Onkyo HT-R508 Receiver
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 Power Supply
Software Windows 10 Pro X64
Joined
Jul 20, 2008
Messages
4,016 (1.17/day)
Likes
900
Location
Ohio
System Name Desktop|| Virtual Host 0
Processor Intel Core i5 2500-K @ 4.3ghz || 2x Xeon L5630 (total 8 cores, 16 threads)
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V || Dell PowerEdge R710 (Intel 5520 chipset)
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100 || Stock hotplug fans and passive heatsinks
Memory 4x4gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 || 12x4gb Hynix DDR3 1066 FB-DIMMs
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 760 Gaming Twin Frozr 4GB OC || Don't know, don't care
Storage Hitachi 7K3000 2TB || 6x300gb 15k rpm SAS internal hotswap, 12x3tb Seagate NAS drives in enclosure
Display(s) ViewSonic VA2349S || remote iDRAC KVM console
Case Antec P280 || Dell PowerEdge R710
Audio Device(s) HRT MusicStreamer II+ and Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 || Don't know, don't care
Power Supply SeaSonic X650 Gold || 2x870w hot-swappable
Mouse Logitech G500 || remote iDRAC KVM console
Keyboard Logitech G510 || remote iDRAC KVM console
Software Win7 Ultimate x64 || VMware vSphere 6.0 with vCenter Server 6.0
Benchmark Scores Over 9000 on the scouter
#7
They're not trying to connect his PC to the monitor, they want to connect previous generation game consoles (PS2/xbox) to his monitor.
 
Joined
May 21, 2009
Messages
4,966 (1.59/day)
Likes
1,511
System Name i7-PC / HTPC / iMac
Processor i7 3820 / Phenom II 940
Motherboard GIGABYTE G1.ASSASSIN2 / M3A79-T Deluxe
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100i / Scythe II (HS only)
Memory G.SKILL Trident X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1600mhz / 4GB DDR2 1066 (@800) Corsair Dominator
Video Card(s) GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB / GB Radeon HD 7950s 3GB
Storage 2x 80GB Intel X-25, 2x600gb SATA, 1x1tb 5400RPM storage /1x600GB, 3x500GB,1x160,1x120 SATA
Display(s) 1x 27" Yamakasi / Vizio 42" HDTV
Case Lian Li Lancool PC-K58 / Antec 900
Audio Device(s) HT Omega Striker 7.1 / Onboard and HDMI from ATi Card
Power Supply PC Power & Cooling 750W / 610W
Software Ubuntu / Windows 8.1 Pro / OS X / PHPStorm / Gaming
#8
either way H82LUZ73's vag adapter should work :)
 
Joined
Mar 26, 2008
Messages
1,874 (0.53/day)
Likes
334
Location
Cobourg,Ontario
System Name FX CrossFireX
Processor AMD FX™ 8370 @Stock
Motherboard GA-990FXA-UD5 (rev. 3.1
Cooling Noctua NH-D15 the BEAST
Memory AMD Radeon™ R5 Entertainment Series 16GB (2x8GB) DDR3-1600 MHz CL11 Part Number: R5316G1601U2K-G T
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming R9 390
Storage x3 Seagates 1Terabyte X1 Seagate 2Terabyte <Steam Install
Display(s) 40 Inch Samsung HDTV (monitor)
Case HAF-X:)
Audio Device(s) AMD/HDMI to Onkyo HT-R508 Receiver
Power Supply EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G2 Power Supply
Software Windows 10 Pro X64
#9
They're not trying to connect his PC to the monitor, they want to connect previous generation game consoles (PS2/xbox) to his monitor.
I know i said above Just looked it up meaning the ps2 plugs lol.
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2008
Messages
4,016 (1.17/day)
Likes
900
Location
Ohio
System Name Desktop|| Virtual Host 0
Processor Intel Core i5 2500-K @ 4.3ghz || 2x Xeon L5630 (total 8 cores, 16 threads)
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V || Dell PowerEdge R710 (Intel 5520 chipset)
Cooling Corsair Hydro H100 || Stock hotplug fans and passive heatsinks
Memory 4x4gb Corsair Vengeance DDR3 1600 || 12x4gb Hynix DDR3 1066 FB-DIMMs
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 760 Gaming Twin Frozr 4GB OC || Don't know, don't care
Storage Hitachi 7K3000 2TB || 6x300gb 15k rpm SAS internal hotswap, 12x3tb Seagate NAS drives in enclosure
Display(s) ViewSonic VA2349S || remote iDRAC KVM console
Case Antec P280 || Dell PowerEdge R710
Audio Device(s) HRT MusicStreamer II+ and Focusrite Scarlett 18i8 || Don't know, don't care
Power Supply SeaSonic X650 Gold || 2x870w hot-swappable
Mouse Logitech G500 || remote iDRAC KVM console
Keyboard Logitech G510 || remote iDRAC KVM console
Software Win7 Ultimate x64 || VMware vSphere 6.0 with vCenter Server 6.0
Benchmark Scores Over 9000 on the scouter
#10
I don't understand why you're telling him to go from VGA (lol "vag") to DVI then HDMI. PS2 and Xbox don't even have VGA last I checked :confused:
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2009
Messages
5,868 (1.83/day)
Likes
3,151
Location
Cybertron aka Canada
Processor Intel Core i5-3570K
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 8GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670
Storage Intel 520 60GB, Seagate Barracuda XT 2TB
Display(s) BenQ 24" XL2420T
Case Corsair 550D
Audio Device(s) Sennheiser HD600, Audeze LCD-3F, Mytek Stereo 192 DSD, La Figaro 339, Burson HA-160, Geek Pulse X
Power Supply Corsair AX650
Mouse steelseries Sensei MLG edition
Keyboard Cooler Master QuickFire Pro
Software Windows 7 64-bit Home Premium
Joined
Aug 12, 2011
Messages
71 (0.03/day)
Likes
4
Location
UK
System Name Alienware m18x
Processor Intel Core™ i7 2920XM @ 4GHz
Memory 16GB of Kingston Hyper X 1866MHz DDR3
Video Card(s) Dual 2GB GDDR5 AMD Radeon™ HD 6990M - AMD CrossFireX™
Storage Corsair 240GB Force GT SATA 6Gb/s 2.5" Solid State Drive, WD 750GB 2.5" SATA-II Scorpio Black HDD
Case Space black anodized aluminum
Audio Device(s) USB FiiO USB DAC headphone amplifier E10
Power Supply 330W AC Adapter
Software Windows 8.1 Pro x64
#12
LMAO! That's some wild connections suggested there :p

My problem at the moment is I'm in the middle of getting components for building my PC as well as receiving a laptop. They will easily run PS2 emulators, but the PCSX2 emulator is far from perfect.

Anyhow component > HDMI is nothing but trouble with dire results. Best to go the component > VGA route.

XCM are well known, I completely forgot about them! Nice suggestion there BumbleBee, cheers :)
 
Joined
Mar 6, 2009
Messages
5,868 (1.83/day)
Likes
3,151
Location
Cybertron aka Canada
Processor Intel Core i5-3570K
Motherboard Asus P8Z77-V Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 8GB Mushkin Blackline DDR3-1600
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 670
Storage Intel 520 60GB, Seagate Barracuda XT 2TB
Display(s) BenQ 24" XL2420T
Case Corsair 550D
Audio Device(s) Sennheiser HD600, Audeze LCD-3F, Mytek Stereo 192 DSD, La Figaro 339, Burson HA-160, Geek Pulse X
Power Supply Corsair AX650
Mouse steelseries Sensei MLG edition
Keyboard Cooler Master QuickFire Pro
Software Windows 7 64-bit Home Premium
#13
here is a demo


$75 might seem like a lot for this device but it's a little more than a simple adapter.
 
Last edited by a moderator:
Joined
Aug 12, 2011
Messages
71 (0.03/day)
Likes
4
Location
UK
System Name Alienware m18x
Processor Intel Core™ i7 2920XM @ 4GHz
Memory 16GB of Kingston Hyper X 1866MHz DDR3
Video Card(s) Dual 2GB GDDR5 AMD Radeon™ HD 6990M - AMD CrossFireX™
Storage Corsair 240GB Force GT SATA 6Gb/s 2.5" Solid State Drive, WD 750GB 2.5" SATA-II Scorpio Black HDD
Case Space black anodized aluminum
Audio Device(s) USB FiiO USB DAC headphone amplifier E10
Power Supply 330W AC Adapter
Software Windows 8.1 Pro x64
#14
yikes @ the sound of the speakers at the beginning, but anyhow this looks like my cup of tea and upscales to by the looks of it!
There's far more expensive devices out there than this that would do jack all for me, that XCM device is a steal!

Only one thing to do which is to buy and test the thing out, however I have e-mailed XCM with details of my setup just to make sure. But again XCM are well known and I'm sure they can produce the goods.

On a side note avoid THIS PRODUCT, absolutely useless. I bought this over 2 years ago and the quality produced on screen was bad. The connectors were soo bad that the cables wouldn't fit, I had to literally screw off the case to get to the connections haha. Ohh boy that's what you get for buying any old crap without any reading up.