• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Computer beeps but only shows a flashing underscore

Kuribo

New Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2010
Messages
14 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hi,

Today I have assembled my first homebuilt computer. After installing the PSU, Motherboard, CPU, RAM, and Graphics card, and connecting it to a monitor, the computer fails to show any information. It does beep once, but then it shows a black screen with a flashing underscore in the top left corner.

The components used:

Corsair CX400W | CMPSU-400CXEU
Kingston ValueRAM KVR1333D3N9K2/4G | KVR1333D3N9K2/4G
AMD Athlon II X4 630 | ADX630WFGIBOX
Sapphire Vapor-X HD5750 1GB GDDR5 PCIE | 11164-04-20R
MSI 770-G45 | 7599-030R

I have tested it with a single stick of RAM (2GB).

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2009
Messages
284 (0.09/day)
Likes
79
Location
Wales, Uk
Processor AMD PHENOM 9950BE x4 (140W)
Motherboard ASUS CROSSHAIR II (BIOS 2003)
Cooling ZALMAN 9700L
Memory 4GB CORSAIR DOMINATOR 1066 (2x2GB)
Video Card(s) XFX 9600GT XXX (740/1000)
Storage WD250x2 RAID0/Maxtor 500GB STORAGE
Display(s) SAMSUNG 23"/ACER 20"
Case COOLMASTER 690 CUSTOM
Audio Device(s) SUPREME FX II
Power Supply OCZ 700W
Software WINDOWS 7 64
#2
Right make sure you put all the correct cables into the correct slots, that means the 20/24 pin CPU and the 4/8Pin CPU into the motherboard. Both need to be in.

You connected the PCI power cables to your graphics card labled PCI-E1/PCI-E2 usually or similar.

Check your HDD cables and Sata connections.

It sounds like you haven't plugged something in correctly so give that a shot.
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,909 (3.43/day)
Likes
5,425
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#4
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
6,165 (1.66/day)
Likes
1,655
Location
Austin Texas
System Name silen8
Processor Intel i7 7820X Delidded @ 4.64Ghz / 3.1Ghz Mesh
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling 240mm Corsair H105 Intake
Memory 32 GB Quad 3434Mhz DDR4 15-16-16-38-300-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming
Storage 1Tb Samsung 960 Pro m2, 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) Dell 24" 2560x1440 144hz, G-Sync @ 165Hz
Case NZXT S340 Elite Black
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply FSP HydroG 750W
Mouse zowie ec-2
Keyboard corsair k65 tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cb: 2103 Multi, 209 Single, 10450 Timespy - 10150 GPU/11900 CPU, superpi 1M - 7.71s
#5
shouldnt need an HDD... :/ its not posting.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
6,165 (1.66/day)
Likes
1,655
Location
Austin Texas
System Name silen8
Processor Intel i7 7820X Delidded @ 4.64Ghz / 3.1Ghz Mesh
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling 240mm Corsair H105 Intake
Memory 32 GB Quad 3434Mhz DDR4 15-16-16-38-300-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming
Storage 1Tb Samsung 960 Pro m2, 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) Dell 24" 2560x1440 144hz, G-Sync @ 165Hz
Case NZXT S340 Elite Black
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply FSP HydroG 750W
Mouse zowie ec-2
Keyboard corsair k65 tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cb: 2103 Multi, 209 Single, 10450 Timespy - 10150 GPU/11900 CPU, superpi 1M - 7.71s
#7
I hate to be the bearer of most likely bad news, but I would play with all the hardware, move it around, make sure all the PSU cables are in. Maybe take the mobo out and put it on a box instead of in the case.
 

temp02

New Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2009
Messages
493 (0.15/day)
Likes
165
#8
If that motherboard behaves like by brothers' (one beep before bios post, one beep after) something is stoping the bios from loading and running.

There is a comment on NewEgg indicating that the front panel connections written on the manual are wrong:
Cons: The front panel plugs and the description in the book do not match. This was annoying when trying to figure out how too hook it up. Mine ended up working like this:

PWR LED PWR SW Blank Pin Spot
+ - + - ( )
+ - + - x x
HDD LED RST SW I didn't use these.

Hope that helps.
Maybe that has something to do with it?
 
Joined
Jul 20, 2009
Messages
284 (0.09/day)
Likes
79
Location
Wales, Uk
Processor AMD PHENOM 9950BE x4 (140W)
Motherboard ASUS CROSSHAIR II (BIOS 2003)
Cooling ZALMAN 9700L
Memory 4GB CORSAIR DOMINATOR 1066 (2x2GB)
Video Card(s) XFX 9600GT XXX (740/1000)
Storage WD250x2 RAID0/Maxtor 500GB STORAGE
Display(s) SAMSUNG 23"/ACER 20"
Case COOLMASTER 690 CUSTOM
Audio Device(s) SUPREME FX II
Power Supply OCZ 700W
Software WINDOWS 7 64
#9
Not not to be rude, i know its your first build but did you use standoffs to install the motherboard into the case ?
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
6,165 (1.66/day)
Likes
1,655
Location
Austin Texas
System Name silen8
Processor Intel i7 7820X Delidded @ 4.64Ghz / 3.1Ghz Mesh
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling 240mm Corsair H105 Intake
Memory 32 GB Quad 3434Mhz DDR4 15-16-16-38-300-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming
Storage 1Tb Samsung 960 Pro m2, 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) Dell 24" 2560x1440 144hz, G-Sync @ 165Hz
Case NZXT S340 Elite Black
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply FSP HydroG 750W
Mouse zowie ec-2
Keyboard corsair k65 tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cb: 2103 Multi, 209 Single, 10450 Timespy - 10150 GPU/11900 CPU, superpi 1M - 7.71s
#10
1. shoudn't matter (front panel connectors)
2. check that teh motherboard isnt touching the case as meow said.
3. check that the CLR_CMOS jumper is in the correct position. Sometimes if the jumper is activated the board will behave as you described.
 
Last edited:

Kuribo

New Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2010
Messages
14 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#11
The motherboard is for sure not touching the case. I even took it out and had it on the cardboard box, and it still yielded the same results.

The CMOS jumper is in the right position according to the manual, I believe. Unless I am looking at it the wrong way. Should I switch it and see what happens, or could that damage it?
 
Joined
Aug 24, 2007
Messages
443 (0.12/day)
Likes
128
Location
BY-S36
System Name Bitch / Dogma
Processor 955 BE @ 3.8Gig / 9850 @stock
Video Card(s) 8800 GTX 512 / 4890
Storage 8 x Samsung F2 1.5TB, 8 x Seagate 500s
Display(s) Acer 24 / Dell 24
Case Lian li / Akasa
Software Win server 2008 / Win 7
#12
I would try the following:


1. Clear the cmos.
2. Check the bios versions available for your mobo to see if your cpu is supported by default or requires a certain version.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
6,165 (1.66/day)
Likes
1,655
Location
Austin Texas
System Name silen8
Processor Intel i7 7820X Delidded @ 4.64Ghz / 3.1Ghz Mesh
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling 240mm Corsair H105 Intake
Memory 32 GB Quad 3434Mhz DDR4 15-16-16-38-300-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming
Storage 1Tb Samsung 960 Pro m2, 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) Dell 24" 2560x1440 144hz, G-Sync @ 165Hz
Case NZXT S340 Elite Black
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply FSP HydroG 750W
Mouse zowie ec-2
Keyboard corsair k65 tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cb: 2103 Multi, 209 Single, 10450 Timespy - 10150 GPU/11900 CPU, superpi 1M - 7.71s
#13
I would try the following:


1. Clear the cmos.
2. Check the bios versions available for your mobo to see if your cpu is supported by default or requires a certain version.
^^ thats prolly it right there.
 

Kuribo

New Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2010
Messages
14 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#14
Clearling the CMOS doesn't seem to help, unless I am doing it wrong. The first time I try to boot it after clearing the CMOS, instead of beeping once, it does 1 long beep and then 2 very short ones.

Also on this page: http://www.msi.com/index.php?func=prodcpu2&prod_no=1937&maincat_no=1
it lists:
Athlon II X4 Propus ADX630WFK42GI x630 200 2.80 2M N/A C2 95 7599vA4.zip

I'm pretty sure that is the CPU I have, so it seems it is supported, right? Or did I not understand your post?
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
6,165 (1.66/day)
Likes
1,655
Location
Austin Texas
System Name silen8
Processor Intel i7 7820X Delidded @ 4.64Ghz / 3.1Ghz Mesh
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling 240mm Corsair H105 Intake
Memory 32 GB Quad 3434Mhz DDR4 15-16-16-38-300-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming
Storage 1Tb Samsung 960 Pro m2, 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) Dell 24" 2560x1440 144hz, G-Sync @ 165Hz
Case NZXT S340 Elite Black
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply FSP HydroG 750W
Mouse zowie ec-2
Keyboard corsair k65 tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cb: 2103 Multi, 209 Single, 10450 Timespy - 10150 GPU/11900 CPU, superpi 1M - 7.71s
#15
Maybe try a different PCI-e slot on the videocard.
 

Kuribo

New Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2010
Messages
14 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#16
After resetting, it's not so much a LONG beep and then 2 short ones, it's more like 1 normal beep and then 2 extra short beeps. The first beep just seems long in comparison.

I've moved the graphics card from one slot to another, but still the same thing happens.

Btw, I appreciate all the suggestions so far. Thanks a lot.
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
6,165 (1.66/day)
Likes
1,655
Location
Austin Texas
System Name silen8
Processor Intel i7 7820X Delidded @ 4.64Ghz / 3.1Ghz Mesh
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling 240mm Corsair H105 Intake
Memory 32 GB Quad 3434Mhz DDR4 15-16-16-38-300-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming
Storage 1Tb Samsung 960 Pro m2, 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) Dell 24" 2560x1440 144hz, G-Sync @ 165Hz
Case NZXT S340 Elite Black
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply FSP HydroG 750W
Mouse zowie ec-2
Keyboard corsair k65 tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cb: 2103 Multi, 209 Single, 10450 Timespy - 10150 GPU/11900 CPU, superpi 1M - 7.71s
#17
have you played with the easy OC switch?
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
6,165 (1.66/day)
Likes
1,655
Location
Austin Texas
System Name silen8
Processor Intel i7 7820X Delidded @ 4.64Ghz / 3.1Ghz Mesh
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling 240mm Corsair H105 Intake
Memory 32 GB Quad 3434Mhz DDR4 15-16-16-38-300-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming
Storage 1Tb Samsung 960 Pro m2, 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) Dell 24" 2560x1440 144hz, G-Sync @ 165Hz
Case NZXT S340 Elite Black
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply FSP HydroG 750W
Mouse zowie ec-2
Keyboard corsair k65 tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cb: 2103 Multi, 209 Single, 10450 Timespy - 10150 GPU/11900 CPU, superpi 1M - 7.71s
#19
yeah try switching them off.. At this point you have nothing to lose, so I would start all trying different things... Unplug all the USB, if any... switch to off the OC switch... try every ram slot with one stick.

at this point, if its not catastrophic, which you cant do anything about, then its most likely somthing stupid, like the 4 pin or the 20 pin not being all the way in. or the video power connectors not being all the way in...

EDIT: NVM, there they are.
 

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,732 (5.74/day)
Likes
9,520
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H150i PRO RGB
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080ti SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#20
I assume the bios is AMI?

If so, my handy old school book of codes says 1 long and two short beeps is a video error specifically in its bios rom. Take this with a grain of salt, as this book was written some time ago.
EDIT: looked at award codes and it goes to a video issue as well:(

Any way to try another GPU?
 

Kuribo

New Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2010
Messages
14 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#21
I've tried switching RAM slots, and tried all the different Easy OC switch settings, but it's a no go.
Earlier on, I've tried a different graphics card that my neighbor had, but it didn't change a thing.

So do you guys think there is a faulty component?

Also, something that has been puzzling me, my PSU has one cable that ends in 2 4-pin plugs, only one of which I can actually plug into the motherboard. I've tried switching them up, but is it normal that only one is plugged in, and the other just kinda hangs there?
 
Joined
Nov 13, 2007
Messages
6,165 (1.66/day)
Likes
1,655
Location
Austin Texas
System Name silen8
Processor Intel i7 7820X Delidded @ 4.64Ghz / 3.1Ghz Mesh
Motherboard MSI X299 Tomahawk
Cooling 240mm Corsair H105 Intake
Memory 32 GB Quad 3434Mhz DDR4 15-16-16-38-300-1T
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1080 Ti Gaming
Storage 1Tb Samsung 960 Pro m2, 1TB Samsung 850 Pro SSD
Display(s) Dell 24" 2560x1440 144hz, G-Sync @ 165Hz
Case NZXT S340 Elite Black
Audio Device(s) Arctis 7
Power Supply FSP HydroG 750W
Mouse zowie ec-2
Keyboard corsair k65 tenkeyless
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
Benchmark Scores Cb: 2103 Multi, 209 Single, 10450 Timespy - 10150 GPU/11900 CPU, superpi 1M - 7.71s
#22
I've tried switching RAM slots, and tried all the different Easy OC switch settings, but it's a no go.
Earlier on, I've tried a different graphics card that my neighbor had, but it didn't change a thing.

So do you guys think there is a faulty component?

Also, something that has been puzzling me, my PSU has one cable that ends in 2 4-pin plugs, only one of which I can actually plug into the motherboard. I've tried switching them up, but is it normal that only one is plugged in, and the other just kinda hangs there?
yeah thats for an 8 pin, you only have a 4 pin so the remaining 4 pin will hang there.
 

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,732 (5.74/day)
Likes
9,520
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H150i PRO RGB
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080ti SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#23
read the post just above yours;)
 

Kuribo

New Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2010
Messages
14 (0.01/day)
Likes
0
#24
read the post just above yours;)
Do you mean your post when you said it could be a GPU error?
I've tried a different GPU, and it still didn't work. It seems like the only thing I'm sure of at this point is that the GPU is not to blame, since it's the only component I've actually switched.

As for the 3 beeps, 1 normal one and 2 short ones, it only happens the first boot after a CMOS reset. All other times, it just beeps once.
 

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,732 (5.74/day)
Likes
9,520
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H150i PRO RGB
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080ti SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#25
can you try another GPU? Even if the code is comming up once, its a starting point, everything else is just a guess;)