• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Computer diagnosis

Joined
Oct 5, 2007
Messages
601 (0.16/day)
Likes
34
Location
North Carolina, USA
Processor Q6600 @ 3600mhz with 1600fsb
Motherboard Asus P5E x38
Cooling Zalman CPU, and 4x120mm fans
Memory 2 gig(2x1gig) Crucial ballistix 4gig(4x2gig) Corsair
Video Card(s) ATI 4850
Storage 150gig Raptorx/wd 320gig/2x raptor 37gig
Display(s) Samsung SnycMaster 906bw/acer 19inch
Case Lian Li PC V1000II
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-FI
Power Supply 600w Silverstone ATX
Software vista 64, fruityloops, COD4, TF2, HL2
Benchmark Scores 15983 3dmark06
#1
ok so i have been working on this computer this guy brought into the shop for an hour or two and I cant get it to come on. He said he got a bsod and it cut off and would not come back on. well i have replaced every piece in the computer and nothing will come up on the screen.
The psu comes on and all the fans are working, I can hear the HDD spin at first too. I have replaced the ram, the cpu, the psu, taken out all unnecessary hardware. differenct HDD, different mobo. tried a pci GPU(it has onboard). Im really stumped on this one. even tried different case, and monitor. always does the same thing. :confused:

any help would be greatly appreciated!
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6,375 (1.70/day)
Likes
1,121
System Name The Green Knight
Processor Intel i5 8600k @4.9GHz w/ Corsair H100i CPU AiO w/Corsair HD120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus Z370-E Gaming
Cooling 6x120mm Corsair HD120 RBG fans
Memory Corsair Vengeance RBG 2x8GB 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCUII GTX 980 STRIX
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 2TB backup, 16TB Synology DS1515+ RAID-5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440 OC'd to 100MHz
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX750w Professional Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Firestrike - 11471 @4.9GHz 980 stock @1178 core 1753 memory 1279 boost Unigine Heaven - 1824
#2
Holy crap thats a tough one.

How is it you replaced virtually everything and it still wont work?
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6,375 (1.70/day)
Likes
1,121
System Name The Green Knight
Processor Intel i5 8600k @4.9GHz w/ Corsair H100i CPU AiO w/Corsair HD120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus Z370-E Gaming
Cooling 6x120mm Corsair HD120 RBG fans
Memory Corsair Vengeance RBG 2x8GB 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCUII GTX 980 STRIX
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 2TB backup, 16TB Synology DS1515+ RAID-5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440 OC'd to 100MHz
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX750w Professional Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Firestrike - 11471 @4.9GHz 980 stock @1178 core 1753 memory 1279 boost Unigine Heaven - 1824
#3
The hell? I know that there was a post from farlex that I quoted. Where did it go? :laugh:
 
Last edited:
Joined
Sep 22, 2007
Messages
3,490 (0.92/day)
Likes
571
Location
UK
System Name Dream Weaver
Processor 3770K @ 4.3GHz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77 UD5H
Cooling NH-D14
Memory 8GB DDR3 @ 2000MHz 10-10-10-28 1T
Video Card(s) MSI RX 480 8GB Gaming
Storage Crucial M4 128 Gb + 4TB
Display(s) ASUS 27" 1440p 144hz FreeSync
Case Fractal Design Define R3
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar DS
Power Supply Corsair HX 620W
Software Windows 10 x64
#4
dead mobo?
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2007
Messages
601 (0.16/day)
Likes
34
Location
North Carolina, USA
Processor Q6600 @ 3600mhz with 1600fsb
Motherboard Asus P5E x38
Cooling Zalman CPU, and 4x120mm fans
Memory 2 gig(2x1gig) Crucial ballistix 4gig(4x2gig) Corsair
Video Card(s) ATI 4850
Storage 150gig Raptorx/wd 320gig/2x raptor 37gig
Display(s) Samsung SnycMaster 906bw/acer 19inch
Case Lian Li PC V1000II
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-FI
Power Supply 600w Silverstone ATX
Software vista 64, fruityloops, COD4, TF2, HL2
Benchmark Scores 15983 3dmark06
#5
i have tried another mb, we happened to have the exact same mb laying around. Its an emachine. i cant figure it out, i have even been wearing my static wrist guard thing the entire time.
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2007
Messages
4,829 (1.22/day)
Likes
635
System Name The Cube
Processor Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Asus Prime B350M-A/CSM AM4 mATX
Cooling Stock Wraith Spire
Memory 2x8gb Crucial Ballistix Sport LT DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 760
Storage 256 GB Samsung Evo 850, 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440p LED
Case Thermaltake Core V21
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W
Software Win 10 Education
#6
Yeah I saw after I posted, thats really odd. Some combo you tried must have some of the other parts messed up too. Try to put a mobo, gpu, cpu, and mem that you have on hand together and get it to post. Then replace the parts with the ones from the broken machine one at a time till something goes awry. Thats the only way I can think of.
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6,375 (1.70/day)
Likes
1,121
System Name The Green Knight
Processor Intel i5 8600k @4.9GHz w/ Corsair H100i CPU AiO w/Corsair HD120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus Z370-E Gaming
Cooling 6x120mm Corsair HD120 RBG fans
Memory Corsair Vengeance RBG 2x8GB 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCUII GTX 980 STRIX
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 2TB backup, 16TB Synology DS1515+ RAID-5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440 OC'd to 100MHz
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX750w Professional Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Firestrike - 11471 @4.9GHz 980 stock @1178 core 1753 memory 1279 boost Unigine Heaven - 1824
#7
i have tried another mb, we happened to have the exact same mb laying around. Its an emachine. i cant figure it out, i have even been wearing my static wrist guard thing the entire time.
Is it a grounding issue within the case itself?
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2007
Messages
601 (0.16/day)
Likes
34
Location
North Carolina, USA
Processor Q6600 @ 3600mhz with 1600fsb
Motherboard Asus P5E x38
Cooling Zalman CPU, and 4x120mm fans
Memory 2 gig(2x1gig) Crucial ballistix 4gig(4x2gig) Corsair
Video Card(s) ATI 4850
Storage 150gig Raptorx/wd 320gig/2x raptor 37gig
Display(s) Samsung SnycMaster 906bw/acer 19inch
Case Lian Li PC V1000II
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-FI
Power Supply 600w Silverstone ATX
Software vista 64, fruityloops, COD4, TF2, HL2
Benchmark Scores 15983 3dmark06
#8
i have tried a different case. too, it is maybe possible that the other cpu i tried could be dead too. I have two extra semprons laying around, i tried one and the other has some thermal grease in the pins, lol.
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2007
Messages
4,829 (1.22/day)
Likes
635
System Name The Cube
Processor Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Asus Prime B350M-A/CSM AM4 mATX
Cooling Stock Wraith Spire
Memory 2x8gb Crucial Ballistix Sport LT DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 760
Storage 256 GB Samsung Evo 850, 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440p LED
Case Thermaltake Core V21
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W
Software Win 10 Education
#9
He tried a different case even. I would say try what I said and w/o case, hdd, or anything. Just the things I said plus a monitor. Absolute barebones.
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2007
Messages
601 (0.16/day)
Likes
34
Location
North Carolina, USA
Processor Q6600 @ 3600mhz with 1600fsb
Motherboard Asus P5E x38
Cooling Zalman CPU, and 4x120mm fans
Memory 2 gig(2x1gig) Crucial ballistix 4gig(4x2gig) Corsair
Video Card(s) ATI 4850
Storage 150gig Raptorx/wd 320gig/2x raptor 37gig
Display(s) Samsung SnycMaster 906bw/acer 19inch
Case Lian Li PC V1000II
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-FI
Power Supply 600w Silverstone ATX
Software vista 64, fruityloops, COD4, TF2, HL2
Benchmark Scores 15983 3dmark06
#10
Well thats it. If there is thermal grease on the pins there is no way the cpu will work. Problem solved.
no i didnt use that one, i was saying that why i didnt use that one. ill try what you suggested though.
 
Joined
Mar 29, 2007
Messages
4,829 (1.22/day)
Likes
635
System Name The Cube
Processor Ryzen 5 1600
Motherboard Asus Prime B350M-A/CSM AM4 mATX
Cooling Stock Wraith Spire
Memory 2x8gb Crucial Ballistix Sport LT DDR4-2400
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 760
Storage 256 GB Samsung Evo 850, 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440p LED
Case Thermaltake Core V21
Power Supply EVGA Supernova 550W
Software Win 10 Education
#11
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6,375 (1.70/day)
Likes
1,121
System Name The Green Knight
Processor Intel i5 8600k @4.9GHz w/ Corsair H100i CPU AiO w/Corsair HD120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus Z370-E Gaming
Cooling 6x120mm Corsair HD120 RBG fans
Memory Corsair Vengeance RBG 2x8GB 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCUII GTX 980 STRIX
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 2TB backup, 16TB Synology DS1515+ RAID-5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440 OC'd to 100MHz
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX750w Professional Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Firestrike - 11471 @4.9GHz 980 stock @1178 core 1753 memory 1279 boost Unigine Heaven - 1824
#12
Im anxious to know how this turns out. :)
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2007
Messages
601 (0.16/day)
Likes
34
Location
North Carolina, USA
Processor Q6600 @ 3600mhz with 1600fsb
Motherboard Asus P5E x38
Cooling Zalman CPU, and 4x120mm fans
Memory 2 gig(2x1gig) Crucial ballistix 4gig(4x2gig) Corsair
Video Card(s) ATI 4850
Storage 150gig Raptorx/wd 320gig/2x raptor 37gig
Display(s) Samsung SnycMaster 906bw/acer 19inch
Case Lian Li PC V1000II
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-FI
Power Supply 600w Silverstone ATX
Software vista 64, fruityloops, COD4, TF2, HL2
Benchmark Scores 15983 3dmark06
#13
well i called my boss and he said, dont worry about it. so we are just going to have to call the guy and tell him its dead. I tried though.
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2007
Messages
6,375 (1.70/day)
Likes
1,121
System Name The Green Knight
Processor Intel i5 8600k @4.9GHz w/ Corsair H100i CPU AiO w/Corsair HD120 RBG fan
Motherboard Asus Z370-E Gaming
Cooling 6x120mm Corsair HD120 RBG fans
Memory Corsair Vengeance RBG 2x8GB 3600MHz
Video Card(s) Asus DirectCUII GTX 980 STRIX
Storage Samsung 960 EVO m.2, Samsung 850 EVO 1TB SSD, 2TB backup, 16TB Synology DS1515+ RAID-5
Display(s) Acer Predator 34" 3440x1440 OC'd to 100MHz
Case Corsair 570x RBG Tempered Glass
Audio Device(s) Onboard / Corsair Void Wireless RGB
Power Supply Corsair HX750w Professional Series
Mouse Logitech G602s
Keyboard Corsair K70 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 x64 Professional
Benchmark Scores Firestrike - 11471 @4.9GHz 980 stock @1178 core 1753 memory 1279 boost Unigine Heaven - 1824
#14
Awww...that sucks.

I got three comptuers here you could sell the guy. :laugh:
 
Joined
Mar 27, 2007
Messages
2,746 (0.69/day)
Likes
371
Location
just outside of new orleans
Processor Intel Core i7-4790 Haswell Quad-Core 3.6GHz LGA 1150 84W
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-H87-D3H LGA 1150 Intel H87 HDMI
Cooling CPU - Cooler Master Hyper T4 / Case - cooler master 120mm rear case fan (Air cooling)
Memory G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800)
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX660-DC2O-2GD5 2GB 192-Bit GDDR5 PCI Express 3.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI support
Storage Samsung 500 GB 840 EVO SSD Drive
Display(s) ASUS 23" LED Monitor
Case COOLER MASTER Centurion 5 (silver & black)
Audio Device(s) (onboard audio) Realtek ALC892
Power Supply CORSAIR SU-750TX 750W ATX12V / EPS12V
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit Edition
#15
with something like that you probably have more than one bad component, the only way to be sure you properly confirm the parts work or not is to put them in a working computer one at a time to eliminate what works and what doesnt.

only otherr thought is be sure everythings compatable in case it was thrown together from leftovers.
 

Ehstii

New Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2007
Messages
607 (0.16/day)
Likes
33
Location
The Shore, New Jersey
System Name Betty
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz @ 3.16(weak i know, waiting on better HSF)
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-MA69G-S3H AM2 690G HDMI
Cooling Standard heatsink
Memory A-DATA 2GB(2x1GB dual channel) DDR2 800
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce 7900GS 256MB
Storage 2x250GB Seagate SataII, 2x250GB Maxtor SataII, 1x120GB Maxtor SataII
Display(s) 22" Widescreen Acer LCD Flat Panel Monitor
Case AMS CF-6129BKS Black w/Silver bezel Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
Audio Device(s) OB
Power Supply Rosewill RP550-2-S ATX12V v2.01 550W Power Supply
Software Windows XP SP2, Adobe Master Collection CS3, WoW, COD4, Cubase LE, Office 2007, Bit Comet, & more...
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 4710
#16
thats your problem. its an E-machine.

i have emachines coming in all the time with bad mobos.

usually its the mobo that goes bad, or the PSU kills the mobo

so try a new mobo and PSU that have not been used with each other.

but yeah, i had this same problem and it turned out to be a bad PSU and mobo


edit: if you have a PSU tester use it.
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2008
Messages
401 (0.11/day)
Likes
12
Location
California USA
System Name MSI
Processor Intel 4790k@ stock for now
Motherboard MSI z97 gaming 7
Cooling H100i
Memory 16 gb of patriot viperx ddr3 1866
Video Card(s) GTX 970
Storage Crucial c300 128g, wd cavier black 1tb, seagate baracuda 2gb (for storage)
Display(s) 30" dell 3007
Case Haf x 942
Audio Device(s) ac 1150 onboard sound
Power Supply Roswell 1200
Software Windows pro 8.1
#17
trying other things

No of you guys said try changing the mobo battery or resetting the jumpers. That's another thing if the battery can't power the bios chips nothing will show up on the screen it will come on but do nothing.
 

Ehstii

New Member
Joined
Jun 19, 2007
Messages
607 (0.16/day)
Likes
33
Location
The Shore, New Jersey
System Name Betty
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Windsor 3.0GHz @ 3.16(weak i know, waiting on better HSF)
Motherboard GIGABYTE GA-MA69G-S3H AM2 690G HDMI
Cooling Standard heatsink
Memory A-DATA 2GB(2x1GB dual channel) DDR2 800
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce 7900GS 256MB
Storage 2x250GB Seagate SataII, 2x250GB Maxtor SataII, 1x120GB Maxtor SataII
Display(s) 22" Widescreen Acer LCD Flat Panel Monitor
Case AMS CF-6129BKS Black w/Silver bezel Steel ATX Mid Tower Computer Case
Audio Device(s) OB
Power Supply Rosewill RP550-2-S ATX12V v2.01 550W Power Supply
Software Windows XP SP2, Adobe Master Collection CS3, WoW, COD4, Cubase LE, Office 2007, Bit Comet, & more...
Benchmark Scores 3DMark06 - 4710
#18
No of you guys said try changing the mobo battery or resetting the jumpers. That's another thing if the battery can't power the bios chips nothing will show up on the screen it will come on but do nothing.
nah, its not the battery.

he swapped out mobos.
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (4.96/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#19
Lion, its definitely processor and motherboard causing the issue. Are we talking Socket A, Socket 754 or AM2?
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2007
Messages
601 (0.16/day)
Likes
34
Location
North Carolina, USA
Processor Q6600 @ 3600mhz with 1600fsb
Motherboard Asus P5E x38
Cooling Zalman CPU, and 4x120mm fans
Memory 2 gig(2x1gig) Crucial ballistix 4gig(4x2gig) Corsair
Video Card(s) ATI 4850
Storage 150gig Raptorx/wd 320gig/2x raptor 37gig
Display(s) Samsung SnycMaster 906bw/acer 19inch
Case Lian Li PC V1000II
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X-FI
Power Supply 600w Silverstone ATX
Software vista 64, fruityloops, COD4, TF2, HL2
Benchmark Scores 15983 3dmark06
#20
i actually did change the battery and mess with the jumpers in it. Its a skt 754. Im pretty sure it was a mobo/cpu issue
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2007
Messages
2,646 (0.66/day)
Likes
201
Location
UK
System Name Ma Biatch
Processor i7 860
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-P55-UD3A
Cooling Noctua
Memory 8gb (4x2gb) G-Skill
Video Card(s) GTX 470
Storage WD5000aaks raid0
Display(s) Sony Bravia 37" 1080p
Case CM 690
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Corsair HX520
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
#21
with something like that you probably have more than one bad component, the only way to be sure you properly confirm the parts work or not is to put them in a working computer one at a time to eliminate what works and what doesnt.

only otherr thought is be sure everythings compatable in case it was thrown together from leftovers.
exactly what i would have said, try this and at least you can tell the guy if theres any salvagable parts left rather than "its dead" :laugh:
 
Joined
Oct 11, 2006
Messages
1,009 (0.24/day)
Likes
65
Location
Long Island, NY
System Name My Current Desktop
Processor i7 6700k
Motherboard Gigabyte Z170X-Gaming 7
Cooling Corsair H80i v2
Memory 16GB Kingston HyperX Savage 2666 CL13
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Storage 1TB Mushkin Reactor
Display(s) Asus VK266H 25.5" Widescreen 1920x1200
Case Corsair 760T White
Audio Device(s) Schiit Bifrost
Power Supply Corsair AX860i
Mouse Logitech G500s
Keyboard Corsair K70 RGB LUX
Software Win 10 Pro 1703 x64
#22
i had a similar issue also with my friends pc that i assembled, turned out everything went bad except the CPU and Video card.

also using the known good test method only works when parts are tested periodically or brand new and anti-static measures are used. also motherboard grounding is absolutely a must make sure all grounding holes are used properly.

hope this helps you in anyway...
 

guyguy

New Member
Joined
Mar 26, 2008
Messages
50 (0.01/day)
Likes
4
System Name Dell Dimension 4500S
Processor Intel Celeron 1.80 GHZ
Memory 256 mb ram
Video Card(s) Intel
Storage 1 40 GB hard drive
Case OEM Dell 4500S case
#23
try different ram maybe differnet types....try looking up the manual on the mobo
 

Black Panther

Senior Moderatorâ„¢
Staff member
Joined
May 30, 2007
Messages
8,962 (2.30/day)
Likes
2,169
System Name Great White Bengal
Processor i7 930 @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-X58A-UD3R
Cooling Scythe Yasya
Memory 12GB (3 x 4GB DDR3 Geil Black Dragon)
Video Card(s) EVGA 1070Ti SC Black Edition 8GB
Storage eSata Seagate 2TB -- 240GB SSD Sandisk Extreme
Display(s) 27" 2560x1440 Dell U2711
Case NZXT Switch 810 White
Audio Device(s) Onboard sound & Z5500 Speakers
Power Supply Corsair 850W Gold
Mouse Asus ROG Sica
Keyboard Motospeed
Software Windows 10
#24
I have replaced the ram, the cpu, the psu, taken out all unnecessary hardware. differenct HDD, different mobo. tried a pci GPU(it has onboard). Im really stumped on this one. even tried different case, and monitor. always does the same thing. :confused:

any help would be greatly appreciated!
Did you try the components one at a time or did you keep the replaced hardware and replace more? I'm asking because if coincidentally 2 gave out (eg ram and HDD) you'd still be getting the error if you put new ram and then before you put the new HDD you replace the old ram...