• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Computer hangs on Windows Logo, help!

hooj

New Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2008
Messages
398 (0.11/day)
Likes
18
Location
Londinius
System Name First and last Custom build cus it was just too tedious.
Processor i5 2500k
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V LX
Cooling Stock
Memory G.Skill RipJaw X 2x 2GB
Video Card(s) Inno3D 9600GT 512MB
Storage Seagate Momentus XT 320GB
Display(s) 17" Proview LCD/ 19.5" Viewsonic Optiquest/ 19" LG Flatron LCD TV with the Red bit on it
Case NZXT Source 220
Audio Device(s) None
Power Supply Corsair TX750 V2
Software Windows XP Professional
Benchmark Scores N/A
#1
As title when loading my computer it freezes on the windows logo. I am using Windows XP SP2 OR maybe SP3, can't remember.:laugh:

Now i can't get into Safe Mode because that hangs on BMLoad.sys.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
3,046 (0.91/day)
Likes
684
System Name Has and is well
Processor i7 4770K
Motherboard ASUS B85
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory TEAM 1866mhz 8GBx2 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI 980ti Gold Edition
Storage Intel 520 120GB + Seagate 2TB 7200RPM
Display(s) DELL U2713HM 2560x1440 Monitor
Case Corsair 350D
Power Supply EVGA 850W Gold
Software Win 10
#2

hooj

New Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2008
Messages
398 (0.11/day)
Likes
18
Location
Londinius
System Name First and last Custom build cus it was just too tedious.
Processor i5 2500k
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V LX
Cooling Stock
Memory G.Skill RipJaw X 2x 2GB
Video Card(s) Inno3D 9600GT 512MB
Storage Seagate Momentus XT 320GB
Display(s) 17" Proview LCD/ 19.5" Viewsonic Optiquest/ 19" LG Flatron LCD TV with the Red bit on it
Case NZXT Source 220
Audio Device(s) None
Power Supply Corsair TX750 V2
Software Windows XP Professional
Benchmark Scores N/A
#3
That's the problem.


Jokes aside try unplugging all peripherals and reboot.
Unplugging all the peripherals didn't work.:banghead:
 
Joined
Oct 19, 2008
Messages
3,046 (0.91/day)
Likes
684
System Name Has and is well
Processor i7 4770K
Motherboard ASUS B85
Cooling Corsair H100
Memory TEAM 1866mhz 8GBx2 16GB
Video Card(s) MSI 980ti Gold Edition
Storage Intel 520 120GB + Seagate 2TB 7200RPM
Display(s) DELL U2713HM 2560x1440 Monitor
Case Corsair 350D
Power Supply EVGA 850W Gold
Software Win 10
#4
Windows repair?
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2010
Messages
2,944 (1.13/day)
Likes
1,379
System Name The Sheriff / The Deputy
Processor 2500K / G4560
Motherboard ASRock P67Extreme4 / Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 DDR3
Cooling CM Hyper TX3 / Intel stock
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX / 8 GB Kingston HyperX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 960 SSC / Gigabyte GTX 1050 Ti LP
Storage SSD, some WD and lots of Samsungs
Display(s) BenQ GW2470 / Samsung SyncMaster T220
Case Cooler Master CM690 II Advanced / Thermaltake Core v31
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1/Denon PMA500AE/Wharfedale D 10.1/Senn HD518
Power Supply Corsair TX650 / Corsair TX650M
Mouse Steelseries Rival 100/ Mionix Avior 7000
Keyboard Sidewinder
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10 Pro
#5
Might try to do a repair installation with the XP disk?
 
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
3,416 (1.23/day)
Likes
1,049
System Name My baby
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @ 3.5GHz, 1.45v, NB @ 2700Mhz, HT @ 2700Mhz - 24hr prime95 stable
Motherboard Asus M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Sonic Tower Rev 2 with 120mm Akasa attached, Akasa @ Front, Xilence Red Wing 120mm @ Rear
Memory 16 GB G.Skills 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI ASUS Crossfire 5850
Storage Samsung 1Tb EcoGreen hard drive
Display(s) Hanngs-G 19"
Case Antec VSK 2000 Black Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Onkyo TX-SR309 Receiver, 2x Kef Cresta 1, 1x Kef Center 20c
Power Supply OCZ StealthXstream II 600w, 4x12v/18A, 80% efficiency.
Software Windows Vista X64
#6
As title when loading my computer it freezes on the windows logo. I am using Windows XP SP2 OR maybe SP3, can't remember.:laugh:

Now i can't get into Safe Mode because that hangs on BMLoad.sys.
"First and last Custom build cus it was just too tedious"

In what way?


Hold down F5 as the computer boots to enter safemode. If that doesnt work hold down F8 and as the computer boots and manually select safemode.

If you manage to enter safemode go to Start > Run > MSCONFIG > Startup and untick everything. Then restart your computer.
 

hooj

New Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2008
Messages
398 (0.11/day)
Likes
18
Location
Londinius
System Name First and last Custom build cus it was just too tedious.
Processor i5 2500k
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V LX
Cooling Stock
Memory G.Skill RipJaw X 2x 2GB
Video Card(s) Inno3D 9600GT 512MB
Storage Seagate Momentus XT 320GB
Display(s) 17" Proview LCD/ 19.5" Viewsonic Optiquest/ 19" LG Flatron LCD TV with the Red bit on it
Case NZXT Source 220
Audio Device(s) None
Power Supply Corsair TX750 V2
Software Windows XP Professional
Benchmark Scores N/A
#7
I don't seem to have a windows repair disk.
 

hooj

New Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2008
Messages
398 (0.11/day)
Likes
18
Location
Londinius
System Name First and last Custom build cus it was just too tedious.
Processor i5 2500k
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V LX
Cooling Stock
Memory G.Skill RipJaw X 2x 2GB
Video Card(s) Inno3D 9600GT 512MB
Storage Seagate Momentus XT 320GB
Display(s) 17" Proview LCD/ 19.5" Viewsonic Optiquest/ 19" LG Flatron LCD TV with the Red bit on it
Case NZXT Source 220
Audio Device(s) None
Power Supply Corsair TX750 V2
Software Windows XP Professional
Benchmark Scores N/A
#8
"First and last Custom build cus it was just too tedious"

In what way?


Hold down F5 as the computer boots to enter safemode. If that doesnt work hold down F8 and as the computer boots and manually select safemode.

If you manage to enter safemode go to Start > Run > MSCONFIG > Startup and untick everything. Then restart your computer.
When i first stuck my mobo in my case i forgot to put the spacers underneath. Had to take it all out again, took me ages.
 

DanTheBanjoman

Señor Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
10,488 (2.12/day)
Likes
1,331
#9
According to google it's malware. Reinstalling your machine wouldn't be a bad idea. Since it's not required for your PC to function you could boot from whatever disk you have and delete the file. Instead of crashing your system it might just fail to load.
 

hooj

New Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2008
Messages
398 (0.11/day)
Likes
18
Location
Londinius
System Name First and last Custom build cus it was just too tedious.
Processor i5 2500k
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V LX
Cooling Stock
Memory G.Skill RipJaw X 2x 2GB
Video Card(s) Inno3D 9600GT 512MB
Storage Seagate Momentus XT 320GB
Display(s) 17" Proview LCD/ 19.5" Viewsonic Optiquest/ 19" LG Flatron LCD TV with the Red bit on it
Case NZXT Source 220
Audio Device(s) None
Power Supply Corsair TX750 V2
Software Windows XP Professional
Benchmark Scores N/A
#10
According to google it's malware. Reinstalling your machine wouldn't be a bad idea. Since it's not required for your PC to function you could boot from whatever disk you have and delete the file. Instead of crashing your system it might just fail to load.
Thanks i hope that works.
 

hooj

New Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2008
Messages
398 (0.11/day)
Likes
18
Location
Londinius
System Name First and last Custom build cus it was just too tedious.
Processor i5 2500k
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V LX
Cooling Stock
Memory G.Skill RipJaw X 2x 2GB
Video Card(s) Inno3D 9600GT 512MB
Storage Seagate Momentus XT 320GB
Display(s) 17" Proview LCD/ 19.5" Viewsonic Optiquest/ 19" LG Flatron LCD TV with the Red bit on it
Case NZXT Source 220
Audio Device(s) None
Power Supply Corsair TX750 V2
Software Windows XP Professional
Benchmark Scores N/A
#11
Well i managed to get past the Windows Logo and an automatic check disk started so i'm just waiting that out. Cheers for the help.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,031 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,633
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#12
Get Window 7 64 bit
 
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
3,416 (1.23/day)
Likes
1,049
System Name My baby
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @ 3.5GHz, 1.45v, NB @ 2700Mhz, HT @ 2700Mhz - 24hr prime95 stable
Motherboard Asus M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Sonic Tower Rev 2 with 120mm Akasa attached, Akasa @ Front, Xilence Red Wing 120mm @ Rear
Memory 16 GB G.Skills 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI ASUS Crossfire 5850
Storage Samsung 1Tb EcoGreen hard drive
Display(s) Hanngs-G 19"
Case Antec VSK 2000 Black Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Onkyo TX-SR309 Receiver, 2x Kef Cresta 1, 1x Kef Center 20c
Power Supply OCZ StealthXstream II 600w, 4x12v/18A, 80% efficiency.
Software Windows Vista X64
#13
When i first stuck my mobo in my case i forgot to put the spacers underneath. Had to take it all out again, took me ages.
I did the same thing on my first build over a decade ago.

When you become experienced it becomes second nature and you don't make those silly mistakes anymore.

Get Window 7 64 bit
I agree.

With Windows Vista and Windows 7, you don't have to deal with Windows corrupting. It's almost self fixes itself. To the OP, there is no point having the latest and greatest i5 processor if you are still have 1 foot in the last century with XP.
 

DanTheBanjoman

Señor Moderator
Joined
May 20, 2004
Messages
10,488 (2.12/day)
Likes
1,331
#14
I agree.

With Windows Vista and Windows 7, you don't have to deal with Windows corrupting. It's almost self fixes itself. To the OP, there is no point having the latest and greatest i5 processor if you are still have 1 foot in the last century with XP.
I disagree, Windows vista and 7 get corrupted just as easily. They removed repair install though so it's a bitch to fix when it happens. sfc often doesn't cut it.
 
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
3,416 (1.23/day)
Likes
1,049
System Name My baby
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @ 3.5GHz, 1.45v, NB @ 2700Mhz, HT @ 2700Mhz - 24hr prime95 stable
Motherboard Asus M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Sonic Tower Rev 2 with 120mm Akasa attached, Akasa @ Front, Xilence Red Wing 120mm @ Rear
Memory 16 GB G.Skills 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI ASUS Crossfire 5850
Storage Samsung 1Tb EcoGreen hard drive
Display(s) Hanngs-G 19"
Case Antec VSK 2000 Black Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Onkyo TX-SR309 Receiver, 2x Kef Cresta 1, 1x Kef Center 20c
Power Supply OCZ StealthXstream II 600w, 4x12v/18A, 80% efficiency.
Software Windows Vista X64
#15
I disagree, Windows vista and 7 get corrupted just as easily. They removed repair install though so it's a bitch to fix when it happens. sfc often doesn't cut it.
Admittedly, ive had windows 7 corrupt a few times. Fixing it took less than 10mins. It was always a matter of running start up recovery.

Just for the fact that developers are washing their hands with driver support, and general software support is enough of a reason to drop XP. IMO the interface looks uninspiring and the OS feels so slow nomatter how much RAM you drop in.
 

hooj

New Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2008
Messages
398 (0.11/day)
Likes
18
Location
Londinius
System Name First and last Custom build cus it was just too tedious.
Processor i5 2500k
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V LX
Cooling Stock
Memory G.Skill RipJaw X 2x 2GB
Video Card(s) Inno3D 9600GT 512MB
Storage Seagate Momentus XT 320GB
Display(s) 17" Proview LCD/ 19.5" Viewsonic Optiquest/ 19" LG Flatron LCD TV with the Red bit on it
Case NZXT Source 220
Audio Device(s) None
Power Supply Corsair TX750 V2
Software Windows XP Professional
Benchmark Scores N/A
#16
OK, i tried repairing using the Windows Disk and i still hang at the windows logo screen...good news is that i can get back in on safe mode. Might be a good time to back up all the stuff i need and reinstall. Although i don't want to have to do that.
 
Joined
Jul 22, 2011
Messages
16 (0.01/day)
Likes
3
System Name Mad Moose 2600K
Processor 2600k OC4600
Motherboard Asrock Z68 Extreme 4
Cooling Megahalems 2 x Scythe Gentle Typhoon 1850rpm
Memory 2 x 4Gig Gskill Sniper
Video Card(s) Was Gigabyte 6850OC. Now in kids pc :-( 9800GT
Storage OCZ Agility 3 120, WD 1 TB
Display(s) Benq 22.5
Case NZXT H2
Audio Device(s) Onboard. Logitech Z4 speakers
Power Supply OCZ Fatal1ty 750W
Software W7 Ultimate
#17
Can you do a system restore to a earlier date from safe mode to see if this resolves your problem? Before you do anything though backup what you do not want to lose.
 

hooj

New Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2008
Messages
398 (0.11/day)
Likes
18
Location
Londinius
System Name First and last Custom build cus it was just too tedious.
Processor i5 2500k
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V LX
Cooling Stock
Memory G.Skill RipJaw X 2x 2GB
Video Card(s) Inno3D 9600GT 512MB
Storage Seagate Momentus XT 320GB
Display(s) 17" Proview LCD/ 19.5" Viewsonic Optiquest/ 19" LG Flatron LCD TV with the Red bit on it
Case NZXT Source 220
Audio Device(s) None
Power Supply Corsair TX750 V2
Software Windows XP Professional
Benchmark Scores N/A
#18
Can you do a system restore to a earlier date from safe mode to see if this resolves your problem? Before you do anything though backup what you do not want to lose.
Tried that and it still doesn't work. Could it be something to do with my VGA card, cable and Monitor?
 
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
3,416 (1.23/day)
Likes
1,049
System Name My baby
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @ 3.5GHz, 1.45v, NB @ 2700Mhz, HT @ 2700Mhz - 24hr prime95 stable
Motherboard Asus M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Sonic Tower Rev 2 with 120mm Akasa attached, Akasa @ Front, Xilence Red Wing 120mm @ Rear
Memory 16 GB G.Skills 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI ASUS Crossfire 5850
Storage Samsung 1Tb EcoGreen hard drive
Display(s) Hanngs-G 19"
Case Antec VSK 2000 Black Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Onkyo TX-SR309 Receiver, 2x Kef Cresta 1, 1x Kef Center 20c
Power Supply OCZ StealthXstream II 600w, 4x12v/18A, 80% efficiency.
Software Windows Vista X64
#19
OK, i tried repairing using the Windows Disk and i still hang at the windows logo screen...good news is that i can get back in on safe mode. Might be a good time to back up all the stuff i need and reinstall. Although i don't want to have to do that.
Excellent.

Back up all crucial fails and then do as I sugguested in safemode . Run > MSGCONFIG > Startup > UNTICK ALL.

Also try Start > Control Panel > Performance and Maintenance > Administrative tools and disable any applications that look suspicious or are not part of Windows default.

If there is an application or virus that is stopping your PC from booting this should deactivate it. Run run Spybot and your Anti-virus software in safemode, then again once you are able to boot back into normal windows.

In the meantime really look into Windows 7.
 

hooj

New Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2008
Messages
398 (0.11/day)
Likes
18
Location
Londinius
System Name First and last Custom build cus it was just too tedious.
Processor i5 2500k
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V LX
Cooling Stock
Memory G.Skill RipJaw X 2x 2GB
Video Card(s) Inno3D 9600GT 512MB
Storage Seagate Momentus XT 320GB
Display(s) 17" Proview LCD/ 19.5" Viewsonic Optiquest/ 19" LG Flatron LCD TV with the Red bit on it
Case NZXT Source 220
Audio Device(s) None
Power Supply Corsair TX750 V2
Software Windows XP Professional
Benchmark Scores N/A
#20
I was having monitor troubles yesterday when my monitor kept going into power saving mode and now it freezes on the logo screen. I'll try reseating my gpu or something...
 
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
3,416 (1.23/day)
Likes
1,049
System Name My baby
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @ 3.5GHz, 1.45v, NB @ 2700Mhz, HT @ 2700Mhz - 24hr prime95 stable
Motherboard Asus M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Sonic Tower Rev 2 with 120mm Akasa attached, Akasa @ Front, Xilence Red Wing 120mm @ Rear
Memory 16 GB G.Skills 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI ASUS Crossfire 5850
Storage Samsung 1Tb EcoGreen hard drive
Display(s) Hanngs-G 19"
Case Antec VSK 2000 Black Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Onkyo TX-SR309 Receiver, 2x Kef Cresta 1, 1x Kef Center 20c
Power Supply OCZ StealthXstream II 600w, 4x12v/18A, 80% efficiency.
Software Windows Vista X64
#21
I was having monitor troubles yesterday when my monitor kept going into power saving mode and now it freezes on the logo screen. I'll try reseating my gpu or something...
Issue might be video card driver related. Whilst in safe mode uninstall everything Nvidia related. Then see if it boots into normal windows.
 

hooj

New Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2008
Messages
398 (0.11/day)
Likes
18
Location
Londinius
System Name First and last Custom build cus it was just too tedious.
Processor i5 2500k
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V LX
Cooling Stock
Memory G.Skill RipJaw X 2x 2GB
Video Card(s) Inno3D 9600GT 512MB
Storage Seagate Momentus XT 320GB
Display(s) 17" Proview LCD/ 19.5" Viewsonic Optiquest/ 19" LG Flatron LCD TV with the Red bit on it
Case NZXT Source 220
Audio Device(s) None
Power Supply Corsair TX750 V2
Software Windows XP Professional
Benchmark Scores N/A
#22
Issue might be video card driver related. Whilst in safe mode uninstall everything Nvidia related. Then see if it boots into normal windows.
Tried to uninstall the nvidia driver etc and as the uninstaller came up, my computer crashed.

Update: My computer has randomly started working again...what on Earth is happening? After another Restart btw...
 

hooj

New Member
Joined
Jan 4, 2008
Messages
398 (0.11/day)
Likes
18
Location
Londinius
System Name First and last Custom build cus it was just too tedious.
Processor i5 2500k
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V LX
Cooling Stock
Memory G.Skill RipJaw X 2x 2GB
Video Card(s) Inno3D 9600GT 512MB
Storage Seagate Momentus XT 320GB
Display(s) 17" Proview LCD/ 19.5" Viewsonic Optiquest/ 19" LG Flatron LCD TV with the Red bit on it
Case NZXT Source 220
Audio Device(s) None
Power Supply Corsair TX750 V2
Software Windows XP Professional
Benchmark Scores N/A
#23
So far so good it's still working. I have no idea how touch wood and thanks again.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,031 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,633
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#24
Vista has too many updates. I never had an issue with 7, never
 
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
3,416 (1.23/day)
Likes
1,049
System Name My baby
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @ 3.5GHz, 1.45v, NB @ 2700Mhz, HT @ 2700Mhz - 24hr prime95 stable
Motherboard Asus M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Sonic Tower Rev 2 with 120mm Akasa attached, Akasa @ Front, Xilence Red Wing 120mm @ Rear
Memory 16 GB G.Skills 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI ASUS Crossfire 5850
Storage Samsung 1Tb EcoGreen hard drive
Display(s) Hanngs-G 19"
Case Antec VSK 2000 Black Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Onkyo TX-SR309 Receiver, 2x Kef Cresta 1, 1x Kef Center 20c
Power Supply OCZ StealthXstream II 600w, 4x12v/18A, 80% efficiency.
Software Windows Vista X64
#25
Vista has too many updates. I never had an issue with 7, never
Depends when you get the distribution. A lot of the time an operating system will be patched up to a certain level already, thus minimising the need for as many additional updates.

For example, if you bought Vista at launch, you will have many updates + service packs.

If you bought Vista now. It will be already service packed and updated to the latest version.