• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Computer just died

Joined
Jul 9, 2016
Messages
747 (0.39/day)
System Name Main System
Processor i9-10940x
Motherboard MSI X299 Xpower Gaming AC
Cooling Noctua NH-D15S + Second Fan
Memory G.Skill 64GB @3600MHz XMP
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG Strix RTX 3090
Storage 2TB Samsung 970 EVO Plus; 2TB Corsair Force MP600; 2TB Samsung PM981a
Display(s) Dell U4320Q; LG 43MU79-B
Case Corsair A540
Audio Device(s) Creative Lab SoundBlaster ZX-R
Power Supply EVGA G2 1300
Mouse Logitech MK550
Keyboard EVGA Z20 Clicky
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R20 - 6910; FireStrike Ultra - 13241; TimeSpy Extreme - 10067; Port Royal - 13855
So I was in the middle of working and all of the sudden the computer just shut off. I unplugged the power and cable, reset, tried several times, and the computer came on briefly, fans spin for a second, gpu RGB light came on, and then immediately shut off. One time it booted into the bios but upon reboot, it won’t come on again.

I have backup power supply and GPUs, but before I go swapping components, what do you think is the culprit here? I think it is the power supply. Anyone?
 
Joined
Sep 16, 2018
Messages
2,657 (2.40/day)
Processor AMD R9 5900X
Motherboard Asus Strix B550-F Gaming
Cooling Thermalright Frost Commander 2x iPPC 3000
Memory 2x8 G.Skill Trident Z Royal 3200C14, 2x8GB G.Skill Trident Z Black and White 3200 C14
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 3070 Ti FTW3 Ultra
Storage WD SN750 1TB+500GB, 2x Intel 545s 256, WD1TB Black, 1TB Toshiba
Display(s) 22" Sammy, 55" Hisense
Case Fractal Design Meshify C
Audio Device(s) NAD, Mission, Monitor Audio
Power Supply Seasonic Prime GX-750, Zalman ZM-MFC2, Monster HDP1800
Mouse Zowie EC2 Evo
Keyboard Logitech G15
Software Yes
Benchmark Scores Yes
PSU or mobo is my guess.. leaning towards mobo :D
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
28,194 (4.87/day)
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 10850K@5.2GHz
Motherboard AsRock Z470 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 Fans
Memory 32GB DDR4-3600
Video Card(s) RTX 2070 Super
Storage 500GB SX8200 Pro + 8TB with 1TB SSD Cache
Display(s) Acer Nitro VG280K 4K 28"
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply eVGA SuperNOVA 1000w G3
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
I guess PSU first.

But from the symptoms it could be a short somewhere that is tripping the OCP. If that's the case, then it could be any component really.
 

64K

Joined
Mar 13, 2014
Messages
5,121 (1.86/day)
Processor i7 7700k
Motherboard MSI Z270 SLI Plus
Cooling CM Hyper 212 EVO
Memory 2 x 8 GB Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) MSI RTX 2070 Super
Storage Samsung 850 EVO 250 GB and WD Black 4TB
Display(s) Dell 27 inch 1440p 144 Hz
Case Corsair Obsidian 750D Airflow Edition
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply EVGA SuperNova 850 W Gold
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Logitech G105
Software Windows 10
So I was in the middle of working and all of the sudden the computer just shut off. I unplugged the power and cable, reset, tried several times, and the computer came on briefly, fans spin for a second, gpu RGB light came on, and then immediately shut off. One time it booted into the bios but upon reboot, it won’t come on again.

I have backup power supply and GPUs, but before I go swapping components, what do you think is the culprit here? I think it is the power supply. Anyone?

The only time this has happened to me was when my PSU was dying. I replaced it and the problem went away.
 
Joined
Sep 16, 2018
Messages
2,657 (2.40/day)
Processor AMD R9 5900X
Motherboard Asus Strix B550-F Gaming
Cooling Thermalright Frost Commander 2x iPPC 3000
Memory 2x8 G.Skill Trident Z Royal 3200C14, 2x8GB G.Skill Trident Z Black and White 3200 C14
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 3070 Ti FTW3 Ultra
Storage WD SN750 1TB+500GB, 2x Intel 545s 256, WD1TB Black, 1TB Toshiba
Display(s) 22" Sammy, 55" Hisense
Case Fractal Design Meshify C
Audio Device(s) NAD, Mission, Monitor Audio
Power Supply Seasonic Prime GX-750, Zalman ZM-MFC2, Monster HDP1800
Mouse Zowie EC2 Evo
Keyboard Logitech G15
Software Yes
Benchmark Scores Yes
But from the symptoms it could be a short somewhere that is tripping the OCP.
Yup I had a short in my system recently too. Push the button on then instant off over and over.. Wiggle the component in question and it was good till the next time. It literally wreaked havoc and was fun to pinpoint initially.
 
Joined
Sep 10, 2018
Messages
2,136 (1.92/day)
Location
California
System Name His & Hers
Processor R7 5800X/ R9 5950X Stock
Motherboard X570 Aorus Master/ROG Crosshair VIII Hero
Cooling Corsair h150 elite/ Corsair h115i Platinum
Memory 32 GB 4x8GB 4000CL15 Trident Z Royal/ 32 GB 3200 CL14 @3800 CL16 Team T Force Nighthawk
Video Card(s) Evga FTW 3 Ultra 3080ti/Asus Rog Strix 2080ti.
Storage lots of SSD.
Display(s) LG 27GN850/ MSI 27 inch VA panel.
Case 011 Dynamic XL/ Phanteks Evolv X
Audio Device(s) Arctis Pro + gaming Dac/ Corsair sp 2500/ Logitech Z 625
Power Supply Seasonic Ultra Prime Titanium 850w x2
Mouse Logitech G502 Lightspeed/ Logitech G Pro Hero.
Keyboard Corsair K95 RGB Platinum/ Logitech G Pro
I'd say psu or mobo as well.

I had an X570 aorus master just die out of nowhere on me. Shutdown fine one night and wouldn't come on the next day.

Gigabyte did send me a brand new board though.
 
Joined
Jul 9, 2016
Messages
747 (0.39/day)
System Name Main System
Processor i9-10940x
Motherboard MSI X299 Xpower Gaming AC
Cooling Noctua NH-D15S + Second Fan
Memory G.Skill 64GB @3600MHz XMP
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG Strix RTX 3090
Storage 2TB Samsung 970 EVO Plus; 2TB Corsair Force MP600; 2TB Samsung PM981a
Display(s) Dell U4320Q; LG 43MU79-B
Case Corsair A540
Audio Device(s) Creative Lab SoundBlaster ZX-R
Power Supply EVGA G2 1300
Mouse Logitech MK550
Keyboard EVGA Z20 Clicky
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R20 - 6910; FireStrike Ultra - 13241; TimeSpy Extreme - 10067; Port Royal - 13855
Thanks everyone, looks like I will start with the PSU first. Good thing I have the same PSU for backup so I can just swap it out with all the cables in place. If it is the mobo then I am in trouble. I have 5 nvme drives and 6 sata drives that I don’t know what I am going to do. My knees weakened with just that thought.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
32,285 (6.21/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Start at the psu, then motherboard
 
Joined
Jul 9, 2016
Messages
747 (0.39/day)
System Name Main System
Processor i9-10940x
Motherboard MSI X299 Xpower Gaming AC
Cooling Noctua NH-D15S + Second Fan
Memory G.Skill 64GB @3600MHz XMP
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG Strix RTX 3090
Storage 2TB Samsung 970 EVO Plus; 2TB Corsair Force MP600; 2TB Samsung PM981a
Display(s) Dell U4320Q; LG 43MU79-B
Case Corsair A540
Audio Device(s) Creative Lab SoundBlaster ZX-R
Power Supply EVGA G2 1300
Mouse Logitech MK550
Keyboard EVGA Z20 Clicky
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R20 - 6910; FireStrike Ultra - 13241; TimeSpy Extreme - 10067; Port Royal - 13855
Okay, I need some help with this one.

I figure troubleshooting is going to take a while. I went to get lunch, then grabbed the backup PSU. When I was done, about an hour later, I tried to turn on the computer one more time, and it booted with a message - "overclock has failed, system has been restored to default", something of that nature. The only thing I have that is overclocked, is I turned on XMP long time ago. Therefore, I turned that off and rebooted. After the reboot I got into BIOS and turned XMP on again (I kinda need that, otherwise compiled time takes many seconds longer). Saved and rebooted into Windows 10, which is what I am typing on right now. Everything seems okay at the moment.

So, I want to get to the bottom of this as if the computer rebooted, I figured something went wrong. But if it won't turn on, then it could be more serious. I would rather figure this out sooner than continue to work on a ticking time bomb.

First thing that came to my mind is it overheated. But when it shut down, I was literally in the middle of typing code and there was nothing stressing the computer.

Where should I start? I really, really don't want to take it apart to figure this out. So I hope maybe some software monitoring tools can help. Should I run some stress tests? Or test the memory?

Thanks everyone so far.
 
Joined
Sep 16, 2018
Messages
2,657 (2.40/day)
Processor AMD R9 5900X
Motherboard Asus Strix B550-F Gaming
Cooling Thermalright Frost Commander 2x iPPC 3000
Memory 2x8 G.Skill Trident Z Royal 3200C14, 2x8GB G.Skill Trident Z Black and White 3200 C14
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 3070 Ti FTW3 Ultra
Storage WD SN750 1TB+500GB, 2x Intel 545s 256, WD1TB Black, 1TB Toshiba
Display(s) 22" Sammy, 55" Hisense
Case Fractal Design Meshify C
Audio Device(s) NAD, Mission, Monitor Audio
Power Supply Seasonic Prime GX-750, Zalman ZM-MFC2, Monster HDP1800
Mouse Zowie EC2 Evo
Keyboard Logitech G15
Software Yes
Benchmark Scores Yes
On a whim I’m going to guess it may possibly be memory related. Do you have another set? I’m sure the ram itself is fine but sometimes another set can clear the air a little better..
 
Joined
Jul 9, 2016
Messages
747 (0.39/day)
System Name Main System
Processor i9-10940x
Motherboard MSI X299 Xpower Gaming AC
Cooling Noctua NH-D15S + Second Fan
Memory G.Skill 64GB @3600MHz XMP
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG Strix RTX 3090
Storage 2TB Samsung 970 EVO Plus; 2TB Corsair Force MP600; 2TB Samsung PM981a
Display(s) Dell U4320Q; LG 43MU79-B
Case Corsair A540
Audio Device(s) Creative Lab SoundBlaster ZX-R
Power Supply EVGA G2 1300
Mouse Logitech MK550
Keyboard EVGA Z20 Clicky
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R20 - 6910; FireStrike Ultra - 13241; TimeSpy Extreme - 10067; Port Royal - 13855
On a whim I’m going to guess it may possibly be memory related. Do you have another set? I’m sure the ram itself is fine but sometimes another set can clear the air a little better..

I have 2 sets that are both 3200MHz. Maybe the 3600MHz set is stressing the CPU memory controller too much? But should I run memtest first? Or Prime95?
 
Low quality post by bonehead123
Joined
Oct 18, 2013
Messages
2,907 (1.00/day)
Location
Left @Booneys Ave, go 22.96 miles then right 2 mi.
System Name The Big RED One
Processor i9-9900k, oc'd to 5.2 ghz
Motherboard Asus ROG Maximus Hero Wifi Z390
Cooling Corsair H115i pro AIO 560mm push/pull, 11x Corsair 140mm ML RGB Fans, 5 in a modded rack config
Memory 64GB Corsair Vengance RBG pro DDR4-3200 (4x 16GB) in XMP2
Video Card(s) Evga RTX 3080 w/15% O/C
Storage 2x WD Black SN750 1TB m.2 + 4TB Crucial SSD + WD 12TB external HDD
Display(s) 2x Samsung 43" LCD's @4k-1440p
Case Thermaltake TT900 Supertower
Audio Device(s) On-board Intel AC9260 wireless, JBL Studio Pro Bluetooth Speakers
Power Supply EVGA G2 SuperNova 850W Modular
Mouse Logitech MX Master 2
Keyboard Logitech G613 mechanical wireless
Software Windows 10 pro 64 bit, with all the unnecessary background shitzu turned OFF !
Benchmark Scores Quicker than flies on a dung pile
1. Go to your tool shed (or local hardware store)
2. Grab the biggest, baddest sledgehammer, chainsaw or shotgun you can find
3. Smash/shoot/slice up your pc, repeatedly, until it is REALLY, truly d.e.a.d, d.o.n.e, & moar d.e.a.d....

Then feel free to replace the PSU as others have already suggested, hahahahaha :)
 
Joined
Oct 15, 2011
Messages
570 (0.16/day)
Location
Springfield, Vermont
System Name KHR-1
Processor Ryzen 7 3700X with Fclk and Uclk at 1:1
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk
Memory 16 GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000 in XMP mode
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming X Radeon RX5600XT
Storage Samsung 970 Pro 512 GB NVMe SSD
Display(s) AOC G2490VX
Case Corsair 275R
Power Supply eVGA Supernova G3 750W
Mouse Logitech Pro (Hero)
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 21H1
It probably falsely told you about overclock failing, because it shut off or crashed during BIOS initialization.
 
Joined
Jun 3, 2010
Messages
2,395 (0.58/day)
I have 2 sets that are both 3200MHz. Maybe the 3600MHz set is stressing the CPU memory controller too much? But should I run memtest first? Or Prime95?
I had that in my prescott computer. I found out memory was not supported by motherboard so it was a sour grapes moment. I thought I knew the wiser.
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2021
Messages
351 (1.45/day)
It probably falsely told you about overclock failing, because it shut off or crashed during BIOS initialization.
This. The board had issues with power but it can't know why. To the VRM it probably looks similar to overclock pushing the board too hard so you got that message.
 
Joined
May 30, 2018
Messages
1,547 (1.27/day)
Location
Cusp Of Mania, FL
Processor Ryzen 9 3900X
Motherboard Asus ROG Strix X370-F
Cooling Dark Rock 4
Memory 2x8GB TridentZ RGB [3600Mhz CL16]
Video Card(s) Asus ROG Strix RTX 2060 OC
Storage 970 EVO 500GB nvme, 860 EVO 250GB SATA, Seagate Barracuda 1TB + 4TB HDDs
Display(s) 27" MSI G27C4 FHD 165hz
Case NZXT H710
Audio Device(s) Modi Multibit, Vali 2, Shortest Way 51+ - LSR 305's, Focal Clear, HD6xx, HE5xx, LCD-2 Classic
Power Supply Corsair RM650x v2
Mouse iunno whatever cheap crap logitech *clutches Xbox 360 controller security blanket*
Keyboard HyperX Alloy Pro
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores ask your mother
I've never had a power supply fail any other way than this. Assuming you've reset the bios to purge any unstable settings, here.

My thinking is to at least test the PSU first. It could kick up briefly under fault conditions before over-current inevitably kills juice, but in the meantime, I'd be concerned about that up and down eventually damaging the machine. If there is a fault, who knows how it is behaving before it actually triggers protection?

I dunno... again, my instinct is that if you have a potential power supply issue, you have to face that first because a faulty power supply is more likely to damage something else in the machine. If that ends up being good, you can safely play with RAM and other components.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
32,285 (6.21/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
Okay, I need some help with this one.

I figure troubleshooting is going to take a while. I went to get lunch, then grabbed the backup PSU. When I was done, about an hour later, I tried to turn on the computer one more time, and it booted with a message - "overclock has failed, system has been restored to default", something of that nature. The only thing I have that is overclocked, is I turned on XMP long time ago. Therefore, I turned that off and rebooted. After the reboot I got into BIOS and turned XMP on again (I kinda need that, otherwise compiled time takes many seconds longer). Saved and rebooted into Windows 10, which is what I am typing on right now. Everything seems okay at the moment.

So, I want to get to the bottom of this as if the computer rebooted, I figured something went wrong. But if it won't turn on, then it could be more serious. I would rather figure this out sooner than continue to work on a ticking time bomb.

First thing that came to my mind is it overheated. But when it shut down, I was literally in the middle of typing code and there was nothing stressing the computer.

Where should I start? I really, really don't want to take it apart to figure this out. So I hope maybe some software monitoring tools can help. Should I run some stress tests? Or test the memory?

Thanks everyone so far.
The faulty psu providing bad unclean power, caused protection mechanisms in the Motherboard BIOS to trip making it think the overclock was too much.

How old is the cmos battery?
 
Joined
Jul 9, 2016
Messages
747 (0.39/day)
System Name Main System
Processor i9-10940x
Motherboard MSI X299 Xpower Gaming AC
Cooling Noctua NH-D15S + Second Fan
Memory G.Skill 64GB @3600MHz XMP
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG Strix RTX 3090
Storage 2TB Samsung 970 EVO Plus; 2TB Corsair Force MP600; 2TB Samsung PM981a
Display(s) Dell U4320Q; LG 43MU79-B
Case Corsair A540
Audio Device(s) Creative Lab SoundBlaster ZX-R
Power Supply EVGA G2 1300
Mouse Logitech MK550
Keyboard EVGA Z20 Clicky
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R20 - 6910; FireStrike Ultra - 13241; TimeSpy Extreme - 10067; Port Royal - 13855
The faulty psu providing bad unclean power, caused protection mechanisms in the Motherboard BIOS to trip making it think the overclock was too much.

How old is the cmos battery?
The PSU was plugged into a UPS. The CMOS battery was 4 years old. The PSU was 2 years old, bought new when I did the build.
 
Joined
Feb 20, 2020
Messages
2,977 (5.08/day)
Location
Texas
System Name Ghetto Rigs x299 & z490 & x99 & Q9550 Old timer
Processor 9940x w/Optimus SigV2 & 10900k w/Optimus Foundation & 5930k w/EK Magnitude & Q9550 w/EK Evo
Motherboard X299 Rampage VI Apex & z490 Maximus XII Apex & x99 Sabertooth & Acer WG43M
Cooling D5 combo/280 GTX/ VRM water block copper/280 GTX/ D5 Top/Optimus sigV2/TitanXp/Mora 360x2
Memory Trident-Z 3600C16 4x8gb & Trident-Z 3600c16 2x8gb & Trident-Z 3200c14 4x8gb & 4x2gb crucial
Video Card(s) 1080ti FTW3 & Titan Xp & evga 980ti gaming & Onboard graphic's need another gpu
Storage 970 evo plus 500gb & 970 evo 500gb many 2.5" ssd's and WD BLK hdd's
Display(s) 1-AOC G2460PG 24"G-Sync 144Hz/ 2nd 1-ASUS VG248QE 24"/ 3rd LG 43" series
Case D450 second floor for 2nd rad x2/ Cherry Entertainment center/ 2 Test benches
Audio Device(s) Built in Realtek x2 with Insignia 2.0 sound bars & 1-LG sound bar
Power Supply EVGA 1200P2 & 1000P2 with APC AX1500 & 850P2 with CyberPower-GX1325U & 750P2
Mouse Redragon Perdition x3
Keyboard G910 & G710+x2
Software Win-7 pro x3 and Linux Cinnamon 20.1x2 & win-10 pro x3
Benchmark Scores Are in the benchmark section
Hi,
Stay away from p95

Memory at default 2133 or what ever that is leave it for a while
If it acts up with no xmp profile then it's the memory which wouldn't be unusual state which exact kit you have.
 
Joined
Jul 9, 2016
Messages
747 (0.39/day)
System Name Main System
Processor i9-10940x
Motherboard MSI X299 Xpower Gaming AC
Cooling Noctua NH-D15S + Second Fan
Memory G.Skill 64GB @3600MHz XMP
Video Card(s) ASUS ROG Strix RTX 3090
Storage 2TB Samsung 970 EVO Plus; 2TB Corsair Force MP600; 2TB Samsung PM981a
Display(s) Dell U4320Q; LG 43MU79-B
Case Corsair A540
Audio Device(s) Creative Lab SoundBlaster ZX-R
Power Supply EVGA G2 1300
Mouse Logitech MK550
Keyboard EVGA Z20 Clicky
Software Windows 10 Pro
Benchmark Scores Cinebench R20 - 6910; FireStrike Ultra - 13241; TimeSpy Extreme - 10067; Port Royal - 13855
Joined
Sep 16, 2018
Messages
2,657 (2.40/day)
Processor AMD R9 5900X
Motherboard Asus Strix B550-F Gaming
Cooling Thermalright Frost Commander 2x iPPC 3000
Memory 2x8 G.Skill Trident Z Royal 3200C14, 2x8GB G.Skill Trident Z Black and White 3200 C14
Video Card(s) EVGA RTX 3070 Ti FTW3 Ultra
Storage WD SN750 1TB+500GB, 2x Intel 545s 256, WD1TB Black, 1TB Toshiba
Display(s) 22" Sammy, 55" Hisense
Case Fractal Design Meshify C
Audio Device(s) NAD, Mission, Monitor Audio
Power Supply Seasonic Prime GX-750, Zalman ZM-MFC2, Monster HDP1800
Mouse Zowie EC2 Evo
Keyboard Logitech G15
Software Yes
Benchmark Scores Yes
Is there a reason that Prime 95 is no good?
Its the perfect ingredient to turn your CPU into a cold fusion reactor for your home.
 

eidairaman1

The Exiled Airman
Joined
Jul 2, 2007
Messages
32,285 (6.21/day)
Location
Republic of Texas (True Patriot)
System Name PCGOD
Processor AMD FX 8350@ 5.0GHz
Motherboard Asus TUF 990FX Sabertooth R2 2901 Bios
Cooling Scythe Ashura, 2×BitFenix 230mm Spectre Pro LED (Blue,Green), 2x BitFenix 140mm Spectre Pro LED
Memory 16 GB Gskill Ripjaws X 2133 (2400 OC, 10-10-12-20-20, 1T, 1.65V)
Video Card(s) AMD Radeon 290 Sapphire Vapor-X
Storage Samsung 840 Pro 256GB, WD Velociraptor 1TB
Display(s) NEC Multisync LCD 1700V (Display Port Adapter)
Case AeroCool Xpredator Evil Blue Edition
Audio Device(s) Creative Labs Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 1250 XM2 Series (XP3)
Mouse Roccat Kone XTD
Keyboard Roccat Ryos MK Pro
Software Windows 7 Pro 64
The PSU was plugged into a UPS. The CMOS battery was 4 years old. The PSU was 2 years old, bought new when I did the build.
Sometimes the ups can cause troubles.

4yr cmos battery,go ahead and change it
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 15, 2011
Messages
570 (0.16/day)
Location
Springfield, Vermont
System Name KHR-1
Processor Ryzen 7 3700X with Fclk and Uclk at 1:1
Motherboard MSI B450 Tomahawk
Memory 16 GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000 in XMP mode
Video Card(s) MSI Gaming X Radeon RX5600XT
Storage Samsung 970 Pro 512 GB NVMe SSD
Display(s) AOC G2490VX
Case Corsair 275R
Power Supply eVGA Supernova G3 750W
Mouse Logitech Pro (Hero)
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 21H1
This. The board had issues with power but it can't know why. To the VRM it probably looks similar to overclock pushing the board too hard so you got that message.
Dunno about MSI, but with Asus motherboards before UEFI, if I shut it down during early-routine/init, then it will pester me with that message, even at stock clocks.
Then I'm possibly required to go into the BIOS and select the option to save changes, even without actually changing anything and it that BIOS message continues, then I have to clear the CMOS and re-enter everything! (Especially Asus P6Ts!)
 
Top