1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Computer locking up.

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Agility, Feb 6, 2009.

  1. Agility

    Agility

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,734 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Location:
    Singapore
    Test shows 0 errors. So what is wrong then? I'll try to install the latest x64 vista drivers.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    9,002 (3.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,453
    yea I told you to try the drivers 1st.. it would've saved you alot of time -_-
     
  3. Agility

    Agility

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,734 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Location:
    Singapore
    Cheers. So it seemed that the driver was the root of the problem!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    9,002 (3.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,453
    happy you fixed your problem!
     
  5. Agility

    Agility

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,734 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Location:
    Singapore
    Ok guys... the problem is still persisting. Even when playing MMORPG, my computer just suddenly blacks out any everything hangs. Only the background music plays... As of right now i'm on windows XP with the latest catalyst drivers installed.

    Until now i can't seem to find anything that's "wrong" in my hardware or software. Just what is causing this random lock ups :(

    Also, i could play F.E.A.R 2 yesterday with max settings. Played the whole day and even completed it. And now today, it's starting to lock up again with a simple MMORPG game.

    Nothing has been touched with the ATI catalyst but there's one thing i notice, everytime my computer locks up, CCC would automatically restore to its default settings after the restart.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    9,002 (3.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,453
    is it the temps? try cleaning your rig and psu... maybe your gpu cooler or case fans or something aren't working properly, try also to cut power usage (only 1 HD , 1 ODD)
     
  7. Agility

    Agility

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,734 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Location:
    Singapore
    My PSU has been supplying electricity to these components for 2years already. I don't really see any fault in it. Also GPU cooler is working properly. Case fans are spinning normally.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. n-ster

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Messages:
    9,002 (3.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,453
    open your box to see if there is dust... clean that off... also, could you get the temps of your system?
    your psu could be failing, don't forget that... just try to cut power usage to see if that works... even though 750W is overkill for your system :p
     
  9. Agility

    Agility

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,734 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Location:
    Singapore
    n-ster. I just played a round of F.E.A.R 2 with maxed settings. No lock ups though. It's strange...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. CH@NO

    CH@NO New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2007
    Messages:
    901 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    59
    Location:
    Toluca, Mexico
    I think your issues are related to a bad vga driver, vga card or the PSU, that black lock ups means your VGA stop for responding, your OS remains active, that's why you can still hear the music but the video is dead. Like I said could it be a bad driver, talking about your VGA I'm not sure 'cause you can play fine sometimes, but talking about your PSU It could be the culprit too delivering you unstable power loads, causing system unstability, remember that all PSUs start to decrease It's performance over the time.

    Anyway, your mobo have installed a wireless PCI card???, more precise a wireless card that uses the Realtek RTL8185 chip???. It's known that can cause lags or lock ups using a P35 chipset.

    Also are you run an antivirus software in your HDDs??, some today virus/malware can cause system unstability and It copies Itself into every HDD/Partition/USB Key that you have in your PC, meaning, that even you formated your HDD the virus can load again from the extra HDD/Partition.

    I'm just guessing here, and seeing that you're clueless about your prob I think any info could help you.

    GOOD LUCK!!
     
  11. Agility

    Agility

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,734 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Location:
    Singapore
    Thanks for the response. However, i believe that the problem lies with the driver itself. Whenever i play a game before restoring it to factory default settings first, it would just lock up for no apparent reason. After a restoring the settings to factory, every game i run would work. Even Dead Space, Left 4 Dead, CS:S, mirror's edge and many others. Thus i ruled out a bad PSU too.

    I'm using an ethernet.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. Nitro-Max

    Nitro-Max New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,476 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    239
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom.{East Anglian Coast
    couple of things

    check temps of your gpu / cpu

    uninstal your graphics driver run driver cleaner rid the pc of all ati related files reinstal your graphics driver see if that helps..

    i had problems when running armed assault with my 3870x2 i did the driver cleaner thing and reinstalled the drivers aint had a problem since runs great.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. Agility

    Agility

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,734 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Location:
    Singapore
    I installed the drivers from a fresh windows xp install. It also occurred in Windows 7 after a fresh format too.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. Nitro-Max

    Nitro-Max New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,476 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    239
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom.{East Anglian Coast
    try dissabling vpu recovery see if the screen stays on but the game freezes then you know its driver bug or somthing
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  15. Agility

    Agility

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,734 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Location:
    Singapore
    Am trying it now. Another hang up just occurred. Btw consistent alt+tabbing will also hang when i tab it back to a game.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. Agility

    Agility

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,734 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Location:
    Singapore
    Ok. Apparently after i restore factory settings and turn VPU Recovery off, any games i go in will black out after 5seconds. So i assume it's the driver that's the root of the problem?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  17. Nitro-Max

    Nitro-Max New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,476 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    239
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom.{East Anglian Coast
    seems to looks that way
     
    Agility says thanks.
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. Agility

    Agility

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,734 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Location:
    Singapore
    So what's the most stable version that you can recommend.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  19. Bundy

    Bundy

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,130 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    160
    I'm not so sure your symptoms can be isolated to the graphics card. It may be that your OC is not 100% stable. I have had fairly similar problems in the past due to insufficient NB volts and/or vcore.
     
  20. Agility

    Agility

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,734 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Location:
    Singapore
    Ok. Right now i'm using Catalyst 8.11. I'm still having lock ups and stuff. Also note that everytime after ever lock up, when i press restart my speaker gives out a BEEEEEEEP sound.

    Even when it's not OC'ed, i still get locks up.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  21. Nitro-Max

    Nitro-Max New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,476 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    239
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom.{East Anglian Coast
    How does it run when you're not gaming ? any bsod or errors? file corruption ?? check your processess look for anything unusual and how much resources its using and reaserch what it does in google i once got a nasty little infection called stonedrive which caused constant hardrive activity slowing everything.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  22. Nitro-Max

    Nitro-Max New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2006
    Messages:
    2,476 (0.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    239
    Location:
    Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom.{East Anglian Coast
    have you tried HD TUNE to check the hard disk for errors?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  23. Agility

    Agility

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,734 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Location:
    Singapore
    No. Nothing. I run perfectly smooth as long i dont run any 3d games. No unusual process and it's virus clear free. Also i dont have any slow downs but just lock ups.

    These lock ups are beginning to piss me off :(
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  24. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,497 (11.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,880
    One long beep sounds like a bad video card to me.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  25. Agility

    Agility

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,734 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Location:
    Singapore
    The beep comes from my speakers. So when it's turned off, i wouldn't even know.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)