1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Computer locks up when change DDR voltage

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by wazzledoozle, Feb 19, 2005.

  1. wazzledoozle

    wazzledoozle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,412 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Location:
    Seattle
    When I change the voltage for my ram in my bios from 2.6 to 2.7, and save and exit, my screen just goes blank and then my computer starts to beep. Why would it do this? Unplugging the power supply and and clearing the CMOS gets it working again. I have a 450 watt Rosewill PSU with 70% minimum efficiency..
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    3,667 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    914
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    Thats odd I turned mine up to 2.7 right away before I even started OC my Abit IS7 granted mines an Intel chipset but the BIOS (Softmenu) should be the same. I even run the same RAM timings. Are you trying to run it 1:1 in your OC?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. sweeper

    sweeper New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Messages:
    796 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    SW, Ohio
    I can't run my ram past 2.6v either. For some reason it starts to lock up the system. :confused:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  4. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    3,667 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    914
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    Gee I am glad I went with the IS7 as I was considering the NEO. Now granted Im not gonna try to push my 2.4c past 3.0. BTW what bus speed is that if I may ask?. Im currently running 250 FSB/200 RAM 5:4 in Dual Channel at 2.5(sometimes 3)-3-3-7 at 2.8V(the IS7 under volts the RAM a bit so I figure why not push it, it works out to 2.77 anyway.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. sweeper

    sweeper New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Messages:
    796 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    SW, Ohio
    12x267=3200MHz :cool:

    Just borrowed a few sticks of 512MB (1 GB) DDR400. Going to test it. See if I can get some performance out of it. ;)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. wazzledoozle

    wazzledoozle New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    5,412 (1.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    161
    Location:
    Seattle
    Im running the FSB to RAM ratio at 6:6
    I have the timings at 3-3-3-7 to oc my PC2700 to PC3200, and I wanted to up the voltage to 2.7 because stock Corsair XMS PC3200 runs at 2.7 volts.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  7. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    3,667 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    914
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    could be that your pushing the 2700 to far and the voltage increase is too much for it maybe.
    @ Sweeper what Ratio are you running it at tho? I cant get mine to post at 1:1 its obviously to much for my RAM(IS7 has a great feature if it wont post just hold down insert and it resets the bad tweak). In my previous MoBo I would drop the RAM to 333 then kick the FSB up to 250 and the RAM would run at 215 which was fine
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. sweeper

    sweeper New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Messages:
    796 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    SW, Ohio
    Ratio - 5:4
    2.5 3 3 7, 2.6v, 'Dual Channel' now with a couple of new sticks of 512MB DDR400. :cool:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    3,667 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    914
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    I envy you there that should probably be my next upgrade as I have covered everything else as far as this setup is concerned. I think that I might try the 267 and see how it runs had this IS7 for a week and its smashed all my previous benches by at least 100+ Marks on relatively the same setup just a sideways step on the MoBo
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    3,667 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    914
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    hmm all fine and dandy so far will let it run like this a few days and see how the Temps are 267FSB/213.8
    You do any Voltage increase in the CPU at that speed?
     
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2005
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. sweeper

    sweeper New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2004
    Messages:
    796 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    36
    Location:
    SW, Ohio
    3.2GHz I leave it around 1.5v. I up the Volts to 1.6 to get to 3.3GHz
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    3,667 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    914
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    yeah my Default voltage is 1.52 it never drops below 1.47 so thats safe range I might consider kickin it up to 1.55 at this clock. temps look good runnin 36C at idle and the fans on low RPM (2400RPM) so this is cool thanks for makin me push it some more ;)
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)