• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

computer problem

Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
6,308 (1.74/day)
Likes
3,428
Location
S.E. Virginia
System Name Barb's Domain/Barb's Cruncher#2
Processor i7 3930k@3.8ghz/i7 860 @ 3.3ghz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition/Gigabyte P55-UD3R
Cooling Deep Cool Assassin/Corsair A50
Memory 16gig DDR3 1600/4gig DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 OC'ed 2.1GHz core/4GHz mem/MSI HD7770
Storage 500GB WD Blue SSD, 2TB Seagate Hybrid SSHD/ WD Caviar Blue 160gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2560*1600/SOYO Topaz S 24" 1920*1200
Case SilverStone Fortress FT04/NZXT Source 210 Black
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z533
Power Supply XFX 750W XXX edition/PC Power Cooling Turbo Cool 860
Mouse Logitect G5
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit /Windows 7 Ult 64 bit
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/fs/14508101
#1
A friend is having comp issue's, I'm would like to get your opinion of what's wrong. The problem is his computer will just turn off, like someone pulled the power cord. Sometimes the comp will work for hours, sometimes it won't last more than 5 minutes. No errors, no BSOD, it's just tunrs off. Personally, I'm thinking it's his PSU(it's over 5 years old). His system specs are-

X2 4800 cpu
ASUS A8V deluxe
1 gig PC2700 Kingston RAM
x800 video card
550 watt PSU
Windows XP pro
 
Joined
Nov 17, 2007
Messages
2,229 (0.60/day)
Likes
316
Location
Larisa, Greece
System Name StarCruiser Dark Knight v.2
Processor Intel® Core™ i5-3570K
Motherboard P8Z77-V LX
Cooling 1x custom W/C loop/ inflow:6x120 /outflow:4x120, 2x200
Memory Viper 3 Black Mamba (4x4GB)
Video Card(s) Powercolor LCS 5870
Storage 1X 128GB OCZ, 2 x 1.500 Gb Seagate
Display(s) Samsung 24" LC24F396
Case custom MDF case (I BUILT IT) check sig.....NOW
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply Tagan 900 watt
Software Win 7 RC / Open office / Games
#2
you could try switching the PSU for a newer one to make sure that is where the problems start!

My guess is also the PSU, but its just a guess....
let us know if it works OK with a different psu.
 

Sir_Real

New Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2009
Messages
706 (0.22/day)
Likes
94
Location
Lincoln England
Processor PC 1: Q6600@3.25,1.34v / PC 2: E8200@3.88,1.35v
Motherboard PC 1: Asus P5Q-SE / PC 2: Asus P5Q-E
Cooling PC 1: Air / PC 2: Air
Memory PC 1: 4gb Ocz PC8500 / PC 2: 4gb Kingston hx PC8500
Video Card(s) PC 1: Saphirre HD4870x2 2GB / PC 2: 2x XFX HD4870 1GB in xfire
Storage PC 1: Samsung 750GB (win7) + Seagate Barracuda 500GB (XP pro) / PC 2: Seagate Barracuda 160GB
Display(s) 2x HANNS-G HH251 24.6" 1980x1080 LCD
Power Supply PC 1: CIT gold 750watt / PC 2: Powercool 850watt modular
Software PC 1: Win7 home 64 + XP pro 32 / PC 2: Win7 home 64
Benchmark Scores PC 1: 3Dmark2006: 18674 PC 2: 3Dmark2006: 19250
#3
Check the ATX & 4 pin plugs powering the mobo. They can get oxidized & lose fitting after time. Thus causing poor connection & making the pc to shut down intermittently. That psu is 5 yrs old so could well be !

To fix use fine sand paper to clean the connections. & Maybe slighty squeez the female connections with long nose pliers to give them a tighter fit to the male pins.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
6,308 (1.74/day)
Likes
3,428
Location
S.E. Virginia
System Name Barb's Domain/Barb's Cruncher#2
Processor i7 3930k@3.8ghz/i7 860 @ 3.3ghz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition/Gigabyte P55-UD3R
Cooling Deep Cool Assassin/Corsair A50
Memory 16gig DDR3 1600/4gig DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 OC'ed 2.1GHz core/4GHz mem/MSI HD7770
Storage 500GB WD Blue SSD, 2TB Seagate Hybrid SSHD/ WD Caviar Blue 160gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2560*1600/SOYO Topaz S 24" 1920*1200
Case SilverStone Fortress FT04/NZXT Source 210 Black
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z533
Power Supply XFX 750W XXX edition/PC Power Cooling Turbo Cool 860
Mouse Logitect G5
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit /Windows 7 Ult 64 bit
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/fs/14508101
#4
I don't have another 20 pin PSU available for testing
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
6,308 (1.74/day)
Likes
3,428
Location
S.E. Virginia
System Name Barb's Domain/Barb's Cruncher#2
Processor i7 3930k@3.8ghz/i7 860 @ 3.3ghz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition/Gigabyte P55-UD3R
Cooling Deep Cool Assassin/Corsair A50
Memory 16gig DDR3 1600/4gig DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 OC'ed 2.1GHz core/4GHz mem/MSI HD7770
Storage 500GB WD Blue SSD, 2TB Seagate Hybrid SSHD/ WD Caviar Blue 160gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2560*1600/SOYO Topaz S 24" 1920*1200
Case SilverStone Fortress FT04/NZXT Source 210 Black
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z533
Power Supply XFX 750W XXX edition/PC Power Cooling Turbo Cool 860
Mouse Logitect G5
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit /Windows 7 Ult 64 bit
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/fs/14508101
#5
Check the ATX & 4 pin plugs powering the mobo. They can get oxidized & lose fitting after time. Thus causing poor connection & making the pc to shut down intermittently. That psu is 5 yrs old so could well be !

To fix use fine sand paper to clean the connections. & Maybe slighty squeez the female connections with long nose pliers to give them a tighter fit to the male pins.
From what I remember when putting the computer together, the ATX and 4 pin CPU power connection were tight.
 
K

kyle2020

Guest
#6
Im just going to sit and point my finger at the PSU - just recommend he swaps it out for a corsair unit or similar and he should be sorted.
 

Sir_Real

New Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2009
Messages
706 (0.22/day)
Likes
94
Location
Lincoln England
Processor PC 1: Q6600@3.25,1.34v / PC 2: E8200@3.88,1.35v
Motherboard PC 1: Asus P5Q-SE / PC 2: Asus P5Q-E
Cooling PC 1: Air / PC 2: Air
Memory PC 1: 4gb Ocz PC8500 / PC 2: 4gb Kingston hx PC8500
Video Card(s) PC 1: Saphirre HD4870x2 2GB / PC 2: 2x XFX HD4870 1GB in xfire
Storage PC 1: Samsung 750GB (win7) + Seagate Barracuda 500GB (XP pro) / PC 2: Seagate Barracuda 160GB
Display(s) 2x HANNS-G HH251 24.6" 1980x1080 LCD
Power Supply PC 1: CIT gold 750watt / PC 2: Powercool 850watt modular
Software PC 1: Win7 home 64 + XP pro 32 / PC 2: Win7 home 64
Benchmark Scores PC 1: 3Dmark2006: 18674 PC 2: 3Dmark2006: 19250
#7
From what I remember when putting the computer together, the ATX and 4 pin CPU power connection were tight.

Yeah but then again it only takes one pin to become blackened or lose to cause big probs. I've seen this prob a few times with pc afew yrs old.

I'd defo av a closer look at the connections before shelling out on a new psu.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
6,308 (1.74/day)
Likes
3,428
Location
S.E. Virginia
System Name Barb's Domain/Barb's Cruncher#2
Processor i7 3930k@3.8ghz/i7 860 @ 3.3ghz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition/Gigabyte P55-UD3R
Cooling Deep Cool Assassin/Corsair A50
Memory 16gig DDR3 1600/4gig DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 OC'ed 2.1GHz core/4GHz mem/MSI HD7770
Storage 500GB WD Blue SSD, 2TB Seagate Hybrid SSHD/ WD Caviar Blue 160gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2560*1600/SOYO Topaz S 24" 1920*1200
Case SilverStone Fortress FT04/NZXT Source 210 Black
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z533
Power Supply XFX 750W XXX edition/PC Power Cooling Turbo Cool 860
Mouse Logitect G5
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit /Windows 7 Ult 64 bit
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/fs/14508101
#8
Yeah but then again it only takes one pin to become blackened or lose to cause big probs. I've seen this prob a few times with pc afew yrs old.

I'd defo av a closer look at the connections before shelling out on a new psu.
I will
 

vaiopup

New Member
Joined
Feb 3, 2008
Messages
840 (0.23/day)
Likes
192
Location
England
System Name Crunching and smapping!
Processor i7 920@3.8
Motherboard Gigabyte EX58-UD3r
Cooling True
Memory 6gb Gskill pc12800
Video Card(s) Crossfired 5770's
Storage 1tb Samsung Spinpoint
Display(s) 50" Panny Viera 1080p
Case Antec 200 I think
Audio Device(s) Audio via Logitech 680's or 580's....or something
Power Supply Corsair 850 TX
Software Win 7 64
Benchmark Scores Just a few coffee stains!!!
#9
May also be worth installing temp monitoring software, eg Coretemp.
Could be a heat issue.
 
Joined
Feb 21, 2008
Messages
6,308 (1.74/day)
Likes
3,428
Location
S.E. Virginia
System Name Barb's Domain/Barb's Cruncher#2
Processor i7 3930k@3.8ghz/i7 860 @ 3.3ghz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage IV Black Edition/Gigabyte P55-UD3R
Cooling Deep Cool Assassin/Corsair A50
Memory 16gig DDR3 1600/4gig DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 OC'ed 2.1GHz core/4GHz mem/MSI HD7770
Storage 500GB WD Blue SSD, 2TB Seagate Hybrid SSHD/ WD Caviar Blue 160gb
Display(s) HP ZR30W 30" 2560*1600/SOYO Topaz S 24" 1920*1200
Case SilverStone Fortress FT04/NZXT Source 210 Black
Audio Device(s) Logitech Z533
Power Supply XFX 750W XXX edition/PC Power Cooling Turbo Cool 860
Mouse Logitect G5
Software Windows 10 Pro 64 bit /Windows 7 Ult 64 bit
Benchmark Scores https://www.3dmark.com/fs/14508101
#10
Get it repaired from some reliable service center....
like geek squad :roll:

Sorry man, I wouldn't trust a reliable service center over the advice I get from here, and I'll explain why. Reguardless of how good the tech is that works on the computer, that 1 person is not as knowledgable as the group opinion of the hundreds of people that visit this site everyday to help with problems like this.

I'll give you a thanks for the laugh though. ;)
 

Phxprovost

Xtreme Refugee
Joined
Apr 6, 2009
Messages
1,217 (0.38/day)
Likes
260
Location
Pennsylvania
System Name Result of Boredom
Processor AMD FX-6350
Motherboard ASUS M5A97
Cooling Enzo Tech Extreme-X
Memory 16gb ddr3
Video Card(s) XFX R9 290
Display(s) Asus 24in (1920X1080) X 2 @144hz
Case NZXT S340
Software WIN7 64bit HP
#11
like geek squad :roll:

Sorry man, I wouldn't trust a reliable service center over the advice I get from here, and I'll explain why. Reguardless of how good the tech is that works on the computer, that 1 person is not as knowledgable as the group opinion of the hundreds of people that visit this site everyday to help with problems like this.

I'll give you a thanks for the laugh though. ;)
:rockout: TPU> every tech service available

but really as mentioned before heat might be an issue, also is a delayed power down? or does it simply just turn off instantly? if its the latter you might want to fix it right away to prevent damage to the other components in the computer :(
 
Joined
Apr 21, 2008
Messages
5,231 (1.47/day)
Likes
664
Location
IRAQ-Baghdad
System Name MASTER
Processor Core i7 3930k run at 4.4ghz
Motherboard Asus Rampage IV extreme
Cooling Corsair H100i
Memory 4x4G kingston hyperx beast 2400mhz
Video Card(s) 2X EVGA GTX680
Storage 2X Crusial M4 256g raid0, 1TbWD g, 2x500 WD B
Display(s) Samsung 27' 1080P LED 3D monitior 2ms
Case CoolerMaster Chosmos II
Audio Device(s) Creative sound blaster X-FI Titanum champion,Creative speakers 7.1 T7900
Power Supply Corsair 1200i, Logitch G500 Mouse, headset Corsair vengeance 1500
Software Win7 64bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3d mark 2011: testing
#12
May also be worth installing temp monitoring software, eg Coretemp.
Could be a heat issue.
+1 a agree with you maybe cpu overheat but coretemp and realtemp don't work with AMD , try HW monitor, pc wizzard ,everest
 

wolf

Performance Enthusiast
Joined
May 7, 2007
Messages
5,576 (1.43/day)
Likes
864
System Name MightyX (MITX)
Processor Core i7 4770K @ 4.2ghz
Motherboard Asus Z87i-Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-L12
Memory 16gb DDR3 1600 LP
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX1080 G1 OC
Storage Lots of SSD's
Display(s) AOC AGON AG352QCX
Case Raven RVZ-01
Power Supply SFX 450 G
Mouse Razer Mamba Tournament Chroma
Keyboard Razer Blackwidow X Chroma
#13
If he has not opened the PC in 5 years I would consider dust as a big enemy too.

The amount of times my sisters PC would start acting up and I'd take the panel off and the cpu+vga heat sinks would always be completely choked, maybe with the fan not even able to turn at all.

Sounds like that or the PSU to me.