• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Computer randomly freezing all the time

Striatum

New Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
Hi,

I've recently been having problems with my system where it keeps randomly freezing, and I was hoping someone here might be able to help me out.

Typically, I can use my computer fine for a day or two, then at some point, completely at random, my system freezes and I'm unable to do anything else. I get no error message or BSOD: I just get a frozen image on my screen and looping audio from the past second or so.

My system won't reboot after this happens: if I try restarting then it goes into an infinite loop of powering up for a couple of seconds (lights appear on the case and fans start up) followed by shutting itself down and then trying to power up again, etc. The only way to fix this is to open up my case and clear the CMOS, where upon booting I get an error message in the BIOS that overclocking failed and all my settings have been reset to default (even though I never overclock my computer). After this I've got a couple of days before this happens all over again.

I'm pretty sure I can rule out all my other parts, since I've connected everything else to an old motherboard and CPU I have (which runs fine).

I would really appreciate any help on this matter - I'm hoping that I can simply replace whatever faulty component I have to save cash.

Thanks
 

_Zod_

New Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2009
Messages
172 (0.06/day)
Likes
37
System Name Zim
Processor AMD FX-6300
Motherboard GA-970A-UD3 (rev. 2.0)
Cooling AMD Stock with heat pipes
Memory Corsair CMV8GX3M2A1333C9 2x 8GB Kit DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 550 Ti FPB
Storage Western Digital WD RE4 1TB - Main
Display(s) HP LP2465 1920x1200
Case COOLMAX CS-480
Audio Device(s) Intergrated VIA VT2021
Power Supply hec X-Power Pro 600
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
#2
System Specs?

Run a memory diagnostic such as memtest.

Also test hard drive with the manufactures utility, then check it again in windows with Chkdsk to see if there are any corrupted files.

Make sure all drivers are up to date.

If the hard drive, memory and drivers can be ruled out then you have to start looking at power supply, motherboard and CPU in that order.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,528 (4.81/day)
Likes
5,614
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#3
if I try restarting then it goes into an infinite loop of powering up for a couple of seconds (lights appear on the case and fans start up) followed by shutting itself down and then trying to power up again, etc.
Do you have an ASUS motherboard? My P9X79 Deluxe will do this if the memory timing and speeds aren't stable. I would try resetting your BIOS and removing any OC. If it still happens I would try under-clocking the memory and relaxing the timings to see if that helps at all.
 

Striatum

New Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#4
My spec:


Case: Fractal Design Define R3
Motherboard: MSI P67A-GD53 (B3)
CPU: Intel Core i5 2500K
Cooling: Gelid Tranquillo Rev.2
RAM: G-Skill 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1600Mhz RipjawsX
Graphics Card: 1GB Asus HD 5870
Sound Card: Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro
Hard Disk: 256GB Samsung 830 Series SSD
Optical Drive: Samsung SH-S223B/BEBE
PSU: Corsair 650W 650HXUK 80 PLUS

I've run memtest which gave no errors for my RAM. I also made sure that all my drivers were updated, although that didn't stop the freezing.

I haven't run a check on my hard drive - although I'm not sure if that could be the issue since I've currently got it connected to a different motherboard/CPU with no problems. I had to reformat it to reinstall windows 7, so perhaps that might have fixed something? I'm also using the same PSU with a different motherboard/CPU with no issues.
 

_Zod_

New Member
Joined
Oct 7, 2009
Messages
172 (0.06/day)
Likes
37
System Name Zim
Processor AMD FX-6300
Motherboard GA-970A-UD3 (rev. 2.0)
Cooling AMD Stock with heat pipes
Memory Corsair CMV8GX3M2A1333C9 2x 8GB Kit DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) EVGA GeForce GTX 550 Ti FPB
Storage Western Digital WD RE4 1TB - Main
Display(s) HP LP2465 1920x1200
Case COOLMAX CS-480
Audio Device(s) Intergrated VIA VT2021
Power Supply hec X-Power Pro 600
Software Windows 7 Ultimate
#5
My spec:


Case: Fractal Design Define R3
Motherboard: MSI P67A-GD53 (B3)
CPU: Intel Core i5 2500K
Cooling: Gelid Tranquillo Rev.2
RAM: G-Skill 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3 1600Mhz RipjawsX
Graphics Card: 1GB Asus HD 5870
Sound Card: Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeGamer Fatal1ty Pro
Hard Disk: 256GB Samsung 830 Series SSD
Optical Drive: Samsung SH-S223B/BEBE
PSU: Corsair 650W 650HXUK 80 PLUS

I've run memtest which gave no errors for my RAM. I also made sure that all my drivers were updated, although that didn't stop the freezing.

I haven't run a check on my hard drive - although I'm not sure if that could be the issue since I've currently got it connected to a different motherboard/CPU with no problems. I had to reformat it to reinstall windows 7, so perhaps that might have fixed something? I'm also using the same PSU with a different motherboard/CPU with no issues.
I would still run a test on that hard drive to be sure before you spend the money to replace the motherboard which is what I think may be your problem.
 

Striatum

New Member
Joined
Dec 16, 2012
Messages
3 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#6
I haven't overclocked my system at all, so it seems odd that I would be forced to underclock my RAM when they are at default settings. I've also checked my CPU using Core Temp and all the temperatures were normal.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,528 (4.81/day)
Likes
5,614
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#7
I would still run a test on that hard drive to be sure before you spend the money to replace the motherboard which is what I think may be your problem.
+1: Test the HDD first, then under-clock memory (make sure it's running at the right voltage as well.) I don't think this is the motherboard but I could be wrong. It seriously sounds like something is becoming unstable for one reason or another.

Have you tried running any stress tests to confirm CPU/Memory stability? I would do this as well before adjusting memory clocks, timings, or voltages.
I haven't overclocked my system at all, so it seems odd that I would be forced to underclock my RAM when they are at default settings.
Your motherboard could have detected the voltage or timings incorrectly.
Is this your memory? G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 ...

If so, is it running at 1600Mhz 9-9-9-24-2T @ 1.5v?
 
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.67/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#8
Before you run memtest and test the HDD which to be frank, is not where to start.


You need to see what the temps are on the CPU and GPU. Aquinas, quit editing your reply.
 
Joined
May 14, 2009
Messages
2,132 (0.67/day)
Likes
477
Location
Chicago burbs
System Name Halloween Boo!
Processor Intel Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77-Up7
Cooling Custom Water/ Thermalchill TA 120.3/ Swiftech Apogeee XT/ MCP655/ Swiftech M icrores/ XSPC RX 240
Memory 16G G.Skill trident 2400MHz
Video Card(s) 3 x Radeon 7970
Storage OCZ Revo Drive 240G
Display(s) 24 inch Viewsonic
Case Phobia WayCoolIt Test Bench
Power Supply Nexus 1100 watt
#9
Reset the cmos and run prime95 for 15 minutes and get back to us if it crashes and look at the temps.
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,528 (4.81/day)
Likes
5,614
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#10