• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Computer restarting

mystikl

New Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2009
Messages
100 (0.03/day)
Likes
12
System Name Zangetsu
Processor Q6600 @3.0Ghz
Motherboard GA-P31 DS3L
Cooling akasa AK965
Memory ZEPPELIN 2X2 GB DDR2 800 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) HD 7750
Storage Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Power Supply Antec EA380
Software WIN 7
#1
So I get up this morning and start my computer, I try to check my mail then out of the blue it restarts. After a few more crashes I started the usual troubleshooting: I unplugged everything except the keyboard, cleared CMOS and checked for loose cables. Didn't work. I ruled out the OS (Windows 7) due to the computer restarting even while it was in BIOS.
What could it be, hard drive, video card, motherboard?
 

i789

New Member
Joined
Sep 29, 2009
Messages
145 (0.05/day)
Likes
12
Location
point roberts, wa
#2
I think its probably either your cpu or your ram, if you ram stick has some problem than its going to restart randomly, also check your cpu temps, high cpu temperature also can leads to random shutdowns
 

mystikl

New Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2009
Messages
100 (0.03/day)
Likes
12
System Name Zangetsu
Processor Q6600 @3.0Ghz
Motherboard GA-P31 DS3L
Cooling akasa AK965
Memory ZEPPELIN 2X2 GB DDR2 800 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) HD 7750
Storage Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Power Supply Antec EA380
Software WIN 7
#3
I took out one of the sticks and it's working now. RAM wasn't on my list cause I thought bad ram would give BSODs not restarts. Boy was I wrong! Thanks for the help i789.


EDIT: I ran the Windows 7 memory stability test on the remaining stick and it passed the test. Half an hour later the comp crashed again. Is it still the RAM?
 
Last edited:

i789

New Member
Joined
Sep 29, 2009
Messages
145 (0.05/day)
Likes
12
Location
point roberts, wa
#4
Ok, it seems that corrupted memory is still causing the random shutdown, how about running memtest86+ test and tell me about the result. and I assume you have not overclocked your ram. (BTW, have you tried the ram on a different ram slot, although I dont think its the memory slot problem, but you may want to test it just for sure)
Let me know, ;)
 

mystikl

New Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2009
Messages
100 (0.03/day)
Likes
12
System Name Zangetsu
Processor Q6600 @3.0Ghz
Motherboard GA-P31 DS3L
Cooling akasa AK965
Memory ZEPPELIN 2X2 GB DDR2 800 4-4-4-12
Video Card(s) HD 7750
Storage Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Power Supply Antec EA380
Software WIN 7
#5
I finally gave up on trying to figure it out so I took it to a repair shop. When I got there, big surprise there was nothing wrong with it. I have no clue what was wrong with it, but it's been running for a few hours now without any restarts
 
Joined
Jul 6, 2006
Messages
2,007 (0.48/day)
Likes
219
Location
New Jersey
System Name SINNAH
Processor AMD Phenom II x4 955 3.8ghz AIR
Motherboard ASUS M4A79XTD EVO
Cooling 3 fans of MADNESS
Memory 4GB ADATA XPG DDR3 1600G
Video Card(s) ATI 4890 1GB GDDR5 memory
Storage 500gb SATAII
Display(s) 23" 1080p Acer H233Hbmid
Case Antec Three Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream / 600W / Active PFC
Software Windows 7 Professional 64bit
#6
I finally gave up on trying to figure it out so I took it to a repair shop. When I got there, big surprise there was nothing wrong with it. I have no clue what was wrong with it, but it's been running for a few hours now without any restarts
Ha computers how strange they can be huh.

Well hope it works out for you, my guess would have been the RAM also. but you never know sometimes moving the machine (as you did) and putting it back works hAHA!

EDIT:

Just in case.

Have you checked the RPM's for the CPU fan? or even the GPU fan? Hows the thermal paste on the CPU? (more likelty not the case but better to squash all possiblities)
Dust buildup anywhere? you'd be suprised what dust can do to a PC.
Don't know if you can get your hands on a power supply tester. But if you can make sure its working correctly. Could be a problem with regulating voltage and causing the pc to crash intermittently
Sure you ran memtest86+, Prime95. Maybe run an all around benchmark and monitor your temps with everest or something.
 
Last edited: