• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Computer shuts down at welcome screen

t3chb0y

New Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2009
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#1
The computer was reformatted with both XP and Windows 7, so it's a clean slate. The computer shuts down every time it loads into the welcome screen.

Things that I have tried:
1) Replacing the power supply
2) Reformatting as mentioned above
3) Memtest 86+ with no errors
4) Checkdisk when the computer was actually working for the short time it worked after replacing the power supply and then having the problem reappear a day later - Checkdisk reported no errors

What could be the culprit here?

System:
AMD X2 4200+ Windsor 65W EE
2GB Rendition/Crucial DDR2 667 RAM
250GB Hitachi Hard Drive
ECS Geforce6100SM-M Motherboard
350W Power Supply
 
Joined
Oct 25, 2009
Messages
260 (0.09/day)
Likes
8
#2
same prob here. i reset bios and worked :S i dont know why check that

also if u have a cpu heatsink n faan that the fans rpms are ok.
 

t3chb0y

New Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2009
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#3
same prob here. i reset bios and worked :S i dont know why check that

also if u have a cpu heatsink n faan that the fans rpms are ok.
Interesting solution, I will try that once I get the computer back from my friend. The fan RPMs are around 2000 so it's good.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2009
Messages
2,143 (0.66/day)
Likes
312
System Name THE MAD BEAST!!!
Processor Tinfoil rapper with some coathangers
Motherboard Graham cracker with with frosting
Cooling A shovel full of snow
Memory Grey matter out of a corpse
Video Card(s) Cat eyes
Storage A whales brain
Display(s) Cyclops eyeball
Case Inside a yetis hollowed out corpse
Audio Device(s) howling banchee
Power Supply 32 hamster on a massive wheel
Software WHo needs software when you have a box of kittens
Benchmark Scores IS gatrillions a number?
#4
if the bios was overlocked previous to a fresh install, itll stilll hold them settings and with windows 7 fresh install it might make it unstable, so reset your bios and if that doesnt work, reset your cmos and if that doesnt work, try to start it in safe mode, if that doesnt work yell at it

Or your power supple might be bad, it gets the most stress when windows is starting up.
 

t3chb0y

New Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2009
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#5
if it is software problem then start your system in safe mode.
in start menu go to run.
then type msconfig.
press ok.
then go to start up option and disable all the start up.

start>run>msconfig>startup>disable all startup.
The system is a clean install and it shuts down as safe mode is loading.
 

theonedub

habe fidem
Joined
Apr 30, 2009
Messages
7,909 (2.51/day)
Likes
5,122
Location
Northern CA, USA
System Name Erakith || Asus UX305FA
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.2ghz 1.068v || Intel Core M 5Y10 @ 800mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UP4 TH || ASUS OE
Cooling EK Supremacy, D5 w/ EK Top, 2X EK-CoolStream XTX 360 & Photon 270 Res || !PASSIVE!
Memory 16GB Samsung 'Wonder' RAM || 8GB LPDDR3 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA 780Ti Classified HydroCopper || Intel HD Graphics 5300
Storage 256gb Corsair Performance Pro, 2TB Caviar Green, 2TB Samsung F4 || Toshiba 256GB SSD
Display(s) DELL Ultrasharp U2715H 27" || 13.3" 1080P IPS
Case CaseLabs Merlin SM8 || Aluminum Unibody
Power Supply NZXT Hale-90-1000-M
Mouse Logitech M705 Marathon
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB w/ Cherry MX Silent
Software Windows 10 Pro x64 || WIndows 10 Home x64
Benchmark Scores WCG & F@H Only
#6
In the BIOS check your CPU temp. Had a computer where a pushpin on the HSF broke and the furthest it would get into windows was the load screen before powering itself down.

Probably not the issue, but I will throw it out there.
 

Marcos669

New Member
Joined
Nov 28, 2009
Messages
18 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Location
Madrid(Spain)
System Name Custom Gamer System / Asus M50VN-AS016C
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 945 @ 3,39Ghz / Intel Core Duo Mobile P8600
Motherboard Asrock AliveDual-esata2 / Asus M50VN series
Cooling Schyte Katana III/Thermaltake Massive 23 ST
Memory 2x2Gb Kingston DDR2-800 CL6 / 2x2Gb Samsung M4 DDR2-800
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 6850 / Nvidia 9650m gt DDR2 1GB
Storage WD Caviar Black 640GB+Seagate 7200.12 / Hitachi Travelstar 5k500
Display(s) Asus VB191T / 15.4" LCD
Case Coooler Master CM-690 / Asus M50 series
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Audigy / Realtek High Definition Audio
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 600W /
Software Windows XP SP2 Professional 32 bit+Win 7 Ultimate 32 bit / Windows 7 Ultimate 32 bit
#7
Have you installed AMD Dual-core optimizer?
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,888 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,416
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#9
Bad harddrive? It's a longshot, but well. It's a wierd problem. :?
 

Marcos669

New Member
Joined
Nov 28, 2009
Messages
18 (0.01/day)
Likes
2
Location
Madrid(Spain)
System Name Custom Gamer System / Asus M50VN-AS016C
Processor AMD Phenom II X4 945 @ 3,39Ghz / Intel Core Duo Mobile P8600
Motherboard Asrock AliveDual-esata2 / Asus M50VN series
Cooling Schyte Katana III/Thermaltake Massive 23 ST
Memory 2x2Gb Kingston DDR2-800 CL6 / 2x2Gb Samsung M4 DDR2-800
Video Card(s) Gigabyte 6850 / Nvidia 9650m gt DDR2 1GB
Storage WD Caviar Black 640GB+Seagate 7200.12 / Hitachi Travelstar 5k500
Display(s) Asus VB191T / 15.4" LCD
Case Coooler Master CM-690 / Asus M50 series
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster Audigy / Realtek High Definition Audio
Power Supply OCZ StealthXStream 600W /
Software Windows XP SP2 Professional 32 bit+Win 7 Ultimate 32 bit / Windows 7 Ultimate 32 bit
#10

t3chb0y

New Member
Joined
Nov 27, 2009
Messages
5 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#11
The weird thing now is that it will boot successfully if I warm it up.

Warm up as in:
Press Del at POST and go to PC Health. Let the system temp rise up to 35-40C (from 27C) which takes 10-15 minutes and exit BIOS. Then load windows and all is fine.

This problem is getting weirder by the minute.
 

Nate895

New Member
Joined
Jan 25, 2011
Messages
1 (0.00/day)
Likes
0
#12
Fix

I know this is like so much later since the question has been asked, but I had the same problem with my laptop and I found the fix! If you are using a laptop, take the battery out for 30 seconds and then put it back in! Also I am guessing if you are using a desktop, you could just unplug the power supply for about the same amount of time. Hope this helps!!

Nate
 
Joined
Jan 12, 2009
Messages
1,236 (0.38/day)
Likes
165
Location
Connecticut
System Name Corsair 900D
Processor FX8350
Motherboard Asus Crosshair V
Cooling Corsair H110I
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance
Video Card(s) Asus GTX1080
Storage 2x 500GB 1x 1TB WD Green
Display(s) Acer 24" 1080p / HP 27" 1080p LED
Case Corsair 900D
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-Fi (Built in/Mobo) - Xonar Sound Card
Power Supply Enermax 1020Watt
Mouse Logitech Something Whatever
Keyboard Logtich G910
Software Windows 10
#13
The weird thing now is that it will boot successfully if I warm it up.

Warm up as in:
Press Del at POST and go to PC Health. Let the system temp rise up to 35-40C (from 27C) which takes 10-15 minutes and exit BIOS. Then load windows and all is fine.

This problem is getting weirder by the minute.
Sounds like a faulty reading from a thermal sensor at lower temps tripping somewhere.

Pull the CMOS battery and disconnect from power for 15 minutes or so. Let everything reset. Re-seat your memory and proc, make sure thermal paste isn't overdone, and that the heatsink is firm on top.

Then give it a go, see if that helps.
 

qubit

Overclocked quantum bit
Joined
Dec 6, 2007
Messages
14,554 (3.97/day)
Likes
8,061
Location
Quantum Well UK
System Name Quantumville™
Processor Intel Core i7-2700K at stock (hits 5 gees+ easily)
Motherboard Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
Cooling Noctua NH-D14
Memory 16GB (4 x 4GB Corsair Vengeance DDR3 PC3-12800 C9 1600MHz)
Video Card(s) Zotac GTX 1080 AMP! Extreme Edition
Storage Samsung 850 Pro 256GB | WD Green 4TB
Display(s) BenQ XL2720Z | Asus VG278HE (both 27", 144Hz, 3D Vision 2, 1080p)
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi Fatal1ty PCIe
Power Supply Corsair HX 850W v1
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#14
When you say "it shuts down", how exactly does it shut down?

Is it a controlled Windows style shutdown and then the power goes off?
Do you get a blue screen of death which remains until you press reset?
Do you get a blue screen of death very briefly and then it switches off?
Does the screen just go black and then it switches off?

As it works better when warmed up a bit, it sounds like a hardware problem... which could be in nearly anything and would require substitution of components to troubleshoot effectively.

Make sure everything is seated properly and that the CPU in particular has the HSF mounted properly and isn't overheating. Make sure that your system isn't overclocked; perhaps set your BIOS to safety defaults.

Unplug as many components as possible, leaving just enough for the system to start and give you a picture.
 
Joined
Mar 1, 2010
Messages
3,565 (1.25/day)
Likes
785
Location
By the Channel Tunnel, Kent, England
System Name Benny
Processor Phenom II 1055t @ 3.3GHz; 300x11; 1.380v; NB 2700; HT 2400
Motherboard ASUS Crosshair IV Formula (2002 BIOS)
Cooling Thermalright TRUE 120 Black + 2 Xilence Red Wing PWM 120mm (push/pull) + polycarbonate fan holders
Memory 8GB GeIL Ultra 2133MHZ C9 running at 1600MHz @ 7-7-7-21 1T 1.5v
Video Card(s) MSI Twin Frozr II GTX470 @ Stock w/CPU fan cable-tied on, as one of the GPU fans broke.
Storage 60GB OCZ Agility3 (OS);500GB WDC Grn; 1x1TB WDC Blk (Backup)
Display(s) ASUS PA823Q
Case Silverstone Raven 2 (all cables custom sleeved with velcro mod on side panel...)
Audio Device(s) X-Fi (Onboard) + Harmon Kardon HK6100 amp powering JVC HA-RX700's with Zalman mic
Power Supply Corsair HX650W
Software Win7 Pro x64
Benchmark Scores No benchies so making this space useful! Corsair M90, Logitech G19. Phobya FlexLight LED's (gawjus)
#15
+1 to reset cmos, that's the first step, IMO.
After resetting cmos, make sure you enable AHCI in BIOS if you're using a SATA HDD.