• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Computer Starts Only Sometime, Need Help

Karamas

New Member
Joined
Sep 6, 2004
Messages
97 (0.02/day)
Likes
3
Processor Intel Pentium Core 2 Duo Wolfsdale 3.00 ghz 45nm
Motherboard Asus P5Q3 Deluxe/WiFi-AP
Cooling ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Memory 2 x 1024 Mb CORSAIR XMS3 DHX DDR3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire RADEON HD4850
Storage Westren Digital 250 Gb Sata
Display(s) DELL LCD 17 in"
Case Generic Black Case
Power Supply 650 Watt BFG Tech
Software Windows XP Pro (Enterprise)/Windows 7 Ultimate/Ubuntu 9.0.4
#1
So Monday morning (11/2/09) before work my computer was perfectly fine. I come home from work turn my computer on to play a game and it just stopped cooperating with me.

There are so many different errors I'm not sure what I should be looking for.

A few different things happened when i tried turning the computer on multiple times.

1. The Computer has no video. ( I checked the monitor it works, and the connector is secure.)

2. I have no power to the key board or mouse. (I tested the mouse and keyboard on my laptop, and another computer both work)

3. The computer stops before reaching the CMOS. (This has only happened once, if it has happened more its happened when the computer has no video.)

4. Computer freezes at post. (This happened about 4-5 times no idea why)

5. Computer freeze when starting windows.

6. I get windows up after launching applications i get a blue screen, and the computer does a mini memory dump. (I have reseated the RAM and left the computer off to sure that any memory was cleared out)

7. The computer boot works fine for a bit, I walked away went into sleep mode, I came back and I had no video. (This only happened once after I walked away from the computer)

I tried working with the computer some more this morning, but to no avail. I have tried reseating the RAM, and video card. Is there anything else I could do before I take the computer apart and test it piece by piece.

My thoughts: The video card is dead/dying, the mother boards pci-e 16x slot has died (I haven't checked this yet, I do have 2x pci-e x16 slots) Not understanding why there is no power to the mouse/keyboard (they are both USB), The motherboard could be dying/or part of it is dead. The video card is not overheating, the computer video wouldn't work after being off over night.

My system specs are up to date.

Any feedback or help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks in Advance.
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2009
Messages
5,123 (1.65/day)
Likes
989
Location
North of Germany
System Name Heatbitch / The Dark Tower / Custom Acer
Processor AMD Phenom 2 X4 960T @ 4200mhz 1,44v,3130NB /Q9550 3.4ghz 1.20v/ X2 260 1.42v @3.6
Motherboard Asus M4A89GTD PRO / Asus Rampage Formula/Foxconn A7DA-S 3.0
Cooling Heatkiller 3.0 LT,Laing DDC+,Octakaideca-Rad /EK SP,Tt 400L, B.Ice XT2/Xiggy Black Knight
Memory 4x2gb Transcend 2400 CL10 1.65v: 1600 7-8-7-24-40 1.65 /Dominator 1066 2GB/Ripjaws 2000 CL9 4GB
Video Card(s) 6970, soon to be WCed/ 4870x2 HK Full Cover WC´d / 2xGeforce 8800GT HyperSLI
Storage 128gb Vertex 3, 32GB Ultradrive GX2, 320GB+500GB+2x1TB F1 /160gb Maxtor,500gb F1/ 160GB WD
Display(s) LG Flatron 23" W2353V /Benq 19" FP93E-S/TFT 17"
Case Thermaltake Shark /Superflower SF-860B/Acer m-ATX Tower
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard Sound, on all of them
Power Supply Corsair TX850/ OCZ Modxstream-Pro 600W/ MS-Tech 750w
Software XP 32bit Professional+ Win7 64Bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Vantage: P21385 3DM11: P5920
#2
So Monday morning (11/2/09) before work my computer was perfectly fine. I come home from work turn my computer on to play a game and it just stopped cooperating with me.

There are so many different errors I'm not sure what I should be looking for.

A few different things happened when i tried turning the computer on multiple times.

1. The Computer has no video. ( I checked the monitor it works, and the connector is secure.)

2. I have no power to the key board or mouse. (I tested the mouse and keyboard on my laptop, and another computer both work)

3. The computer stops before reaching the CMOS. (This has only happened once, if it has happened more its happened when the computer has no video.)

4. Computer freezes at post. (This happened about 4-5 times no idea why)

5. Computer freeze when starting windows.

6. I get windows up after launching applications i get a blue screen, and the computer does a mini memory dump. (I have reseated the RAM and left the computer off to sure that any memory was cleared out)

7. The computer boot works fine for a bit, I walked away went into sleep mode, I came back and I had no video. (This only happened once after I walked away from the computer)

I tried working with the computer some more this morning, but to no avail. I have tried reseating the RAM, and video card. Is there anything else I could do before I take the computer apart and test it piece by piece.

My thoughts: The video card is dead/dying, the mother boards pci-e 16x slot has died (I haven't checked this yet, I do have 2x pci-e x16 slots) Not understanding why there is no power to the mouse/keyboard (they are both USB), The motherboard could be dying/or part of it is dead. The video card is not overheating, the computer video wouldn't work after being off over night.

My system specs are up to date.

Any feedback or help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks in Advance.
Standard Question:
How old is your PSU? :D
 

Karamas

New Member
Joined
Sep 6, 2004
Messages
97 (0.02/day)
Likes
3
Processor Intel Pentium Core 2 Duo Wolfsdale 3.00 ghz 45nm
Motherboard Asus P5Q3 Deluxe/WiFi-AP
Cooling ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Memory 2 x 1024 Mb CORSAIR XMS3 DHX DDR3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire RADEON HD4850
Storage Westren Digital 250 Gb Sata
Display(s) DELL LCD 17 in"
Case Generic Black Case
Power Supply 650 Watt BFG Tech
Software Windows XP Pro (Enterprise)/Windows 7 Ultimate/Ubuntu 9.0.4
#3
Standard Question:
How old is your PSU? :D
About 2 years, but it has a lifetime warranty, all the fans are running as well as the processor.
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2009
Messages
5,123 (1.65/day)
Likes
989
Location
North of Germany
System Name Heatbitch / The Dark Tower / Custom Acer
Processor AMD Phenom 2 X4 960T @ 4200mhz 1,44v,3130NB /Q9550 3.4ghz 1.20v/ X2 260 1.42v @3.6
Motherboard Asus M4A89GTD PRO / Asus Rampage Formula/Foxconn A7DA-S 3.0
Cooling Heatkiller 3.0 LT,Laing DDC+,Octakaideca-Rad /EK SP,Tt 400L, B.Ice XT2/Xiggy Black Knight
Memory 4x2gb Transcend 2400 CL10 1.65v: 1600 7-8-7-24-40 1.65 /Dominator 1066 2GB/Ripjaws 2000 CL9 4GB
Video Card(s) 6970, soon to be WCed/ 4870x2 HK Full Cover WC´d / 2xGeforce 8800GT HyperSLI
Storage 128gb Vertex 3, 32GB Ultradrive GX2, 320GB+500GB+2x1TB F1 /160gb Maxtor,500gb F1/ 160GB WD
Display(s) LG Flatron 23" W2353V /Benq 19" FP93E-S/TFT 17"
Case Thermaltake Shark /Superflower SF-860B/Acer m-ATX Tower
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard Sound, on all of them
Power Supply Corsair TX850/ OCZ Modxstream-Pro 600W/ MS-Tech 750w
Software XP 32bit Professional+ Win7 64Bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Vantage: P21385 3DM11: P5920
#4
About 2 years, but it has a lifetime warranty, all the fans are running as well as the processor.
um.... you know that it may run, until it suddenly gives a loud BANG, and all your Hardware is gone?
i dont know the manufacturer of your PSU (its just bfg branded), but if its a generic then i would say: 2 years is enough time for a cheap psu to die. do you have another one for testing there?
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#5
Is the PC in question the one in yours system specs? Any overclock involved?

I'm highly HIGHLY beleiving it's memory related. Could be motherboard but I doubt.

-If overclocked, reset /clear cmos and get it to a postable state then do a few memtest passes for errors.

-If not overclocked, reduce down to a single stick of ram and do a few passes of memtest. Testing each individually, then if both pass, try running memtest in dual channel.

@Velvet Wafer

BFG Is pretty good reputable power supply. Although, just like any peice of electronics, they can go bad.
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2009
Messages
5,123 (1.65/day)
Likes
989
Location
North of Germany
System Name Heatbitch / The Dark Tower / Custom Acer
Processor AMD Phenom 2 X4 960T @ 4200mhz 1,44v,3130NB /Q9550 3.4ghz 1.20v/ X2 260 1.42v @3.6
Motherboard Asus M4A89GTD PRO / Asus Rampage Formula/Foxconn A7DA-S 3.0
Cooling Heatkiller 3.0 LT,Laing DDC+,Octakaideca-Rad /EK SP,Tt 400L, B.Ice XT2/Xiggy Black Knight
Memory 4x2gb Transcend 2400 CL10 1.65v: 1600 7-8-7-24-40 1.65 /Dominator 1066 2GB/Ripjaws 2000 CL9 4GB
Video Card(s) 6970, soon to be WCed/ 4870x2 HK Full Cover WC´d / 2xGeforce 8800GT HyperSLI
Storage 128gb Vertex 3, 32GB Ultradrive GX2, 320GB+500GB+2x1TB F1 /160gb Maxtor,500gb F1/ 160GB WD
Display(s) LG Flatron 23" W2353V /Benq 19" FP93E-S/TFT 17"
Case Thermaltake Shark /Superflower SF-860B/Acer m-ATX Tower
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard Sound, on all of them
Power Supply Corsair TX850/ OCZ Modxstream-Pro 600W/ MS-Tech 750w
Software XP 32bit Professional+ Win7 64Bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Vantage: P21385 3DM11: P5920
#6
Is the PC in question the one in yours system specs? Any overclock involved?

I'm highly HIGHLY beleiving it's memory related. Could be motherboard but I doubt.

-If overclocked, reset /clear cmos and get it to a postable state then do a few memtest passes for errors.

-If not overclocked, reduce down to a single stick of ram and do a few passes of memtest. Testing each individually, then if both pass, try running memtest in dual channel.
if the memory is that defective, memtest will throw him a stack of errors nearly instantly, after starting,am i right?. i say PSU,JR!;)
 

JrRacinFan

Served 5k and counting ...
Joined
Mar 17, 2007
Messages
19,666 (5.01/day)
Likes
4,754
Location
Youngstown, OH
System Name Gamer :Server and Android BuildBox
Processor i7 3930k: Xeon e5-2660
Motherboard MSI X79A-GD45 Plus : Generic
Cooling Liqid cooled: CM 212+
Memory Klevv Neo 2x4Gb 1866 @ 1600 CL9 : 2x8Gb Vengeance 1600 cl9
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 950 SC : XFX R5 220
Storage HGST 2TB + 480GB OCZ Trion 150 : Seagate 1TB SSHD + WD 3TB + 2x HGST 2TB
Display(s) ViewSonic VX2457-MHD 23.6" : headless
Case DIYPC D480-W White Window : Bitfenix Comrade
Audio Device(s) nVidia HDMI : Onboard
Power Supply EVGA 500b : Tt 775W Modular
Software Windows 7 Ultimate+Manjaro 16.06: Ubuntu Server 16.10
#7
if the memory is that defective, memtest will throw him a stack of errors nearly instantly, after starting,am i right?. i say PSU,JR!;)
You are correct! I have dealt with bad sticks in combination with a dying northbridge before and they do EXACTLY what he is describing in his OP.
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2009
Messages
5,123 (1.65/day)
Likes
989
Location
North of Germany
System Name Heatbitch / The Dark Tower / Custom Acer
Processor AMD Phenom 2 X4 960T @ 4200mhz 1,44v,3130NB /Q9550 3.4ghz 1.20v/ X2 260 1.42v @3.6
Motherboard Asus M4A89GTD PRO / Asus Rampage Formula/Foxconn A7DA-S 3.0
Cooling Heatkiller 3.0 LT,Laing DDC+,Octakaideca-Rad /EK SP,Tt 400L, B.Ice XT2/Xiggy Black Knight
Memory 4x2gb Transcend 2400 CL10 1.65v: 1600 7-8-7-24-40 1.65 /Dominator 1066 2GB/Ripjaws 2000 CL9 4GB
Video Card(s) 6970, soon to be WCed/ 4870x2 HK Full Cover WC´d / 2xGeforce 8800GT HyperSLI
Storage 128gb Vertex 3, 32GB Ultradrive GX2, 320GB+500GB+2x1TB F1 /160gb Maxtor,500gb F1/ 160GB WD
Display(s) LG Flatron 23" W2353V /Benq 19" FP93E-S/TFT 17"
Case Thermaltake Shark /Superflower SF-860B/Acer m-ATX Tower
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard Sound, on all of them
Power Supply Corsair TX850/ OCZ Modxstream-Pro 600W/ MS-Tech 750w
Software XP 32bit Professional+ Win7 64Bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Vantage: P21385 3DM11: P5920
#8
You are correct! I have dealt with bad sticks in combination with a dying northbridge before and they do EXACTLY what he is describing in his OP.
i have dealt with nearly the same problems on my A64X2
in the end, it was my PSU beeing overdusted, so it couldnt cool correctly:laugh:
the best would be, if he had the possibilities, to test his Ram and his PSU+ VGA in another board;)
Error Telling is sometimes a little hard :D
 
Last edited:

Karamas

New Member
Joined
Sep 6, 2004
Messages
97 (0.02/day)
Likes
3
Processor Intel Pentium Core 2 Duo Wolfsdale 3.00 ghz 45nm
Motherboard Asus P5Q3 Deluxe/WiFi-AP
Cooling ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Memory 2 x 1024 Mb CORSAIR XMS3 DHX DDR3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire RADEON HD4850
Storage Westren Digital 250 Gb Sata
Display(s) DELL LCD 17 in"
Case Generic Black Case
Power Supply 650 Watt BFG Tech
Software Windows XP Pro (Enterprise)/Windows 7 Ultimate/Ubuntu 9.0.4
#9
The PSU was kinda dusty didn't think anything of it, I did go and look for a can of compressed air, but couldn't find one. I'll pick one up after work.

Yes the computer is the one in the specs.

BGU's PSUs are not cheap, it has a life time warranty.

Memory is running dual channel, I'll try a single stick.

I'll also try switching which PSU cable is being used by my video card, the PSU is meant for dual video cards so there are two of them.

There is no over clocking done to this computer.

(Remember I have no video to work with either)
 
Joined
Jun 16, 2009
Messages
5,123 (1.65/day)
Likes
989
Location
North of Germany
System Name Heatbitch / The Dark Tower / Custom Acer
Processor AMD Phenom 2 X4 960T @ 4200mhz 1,44v,3130NB /Q9550 3.4ghz 1.20v/ X2 260 1.42v @3.6
Motherboard Asus M4A89GTD PRO / Asus Rampage Formula/Foxconn A7DA-S 3.0
Cooling Heatkiller 3.0 LT,Laing DDC+,Octakaideca-Rad /EK SP,Tt 400L, B.Ice XT2/Xiggy Black Knight
Memory 4x2gb Transcend 2400 CL10 1.65v: 1600 7-8-7-24-40 1.65 /Dominator 1066 2GB/Ripjaws 2000 CL9 4GB
Video Card(s) 6970, soon to be WCed/ 4870x2 HK Full Cover WC´d / 2xGeforce 8800GT HyperSLI
Storage 128gb Vertex 3, 32GB Ultradrive GX2, 320GB+500GB+2x1TB F1 /160gb Maxtor,500gb F1/ 160GB WD
Display(s) LG Flatron 23" W2353V /Benq 19" FP93E-S/TFT 17"
Case Thermaltake Shark /Superflower SF-860B/Acer m-ATX Tower
Audio Device(s) Realtek Onboard Sound, on all of them
Power Supply Corsair TX850/ OCZ Modxstream-Pro 600W/ MS-Tech 750w
Software XP 32bit Professional+ Win7 64Bit Ultimate
Benchmark Scores 3DMark Vantage: P21385 3DM11: P5920
#10
The PSU was kinda dusty didn't think anything of it, I did go and look for a can of compressed air, but couldn't find one. I'll pick one up after work.

Yes the computer is the one in the specs.

BGU's PSUs are not cheap, it has a life time warranty.

Memory is running dual channel, I'll try a single stick.

I'll also try switching which PSU cable is being used by my video card, the PSU is meant for dual video cards so there are two of them.

There is no over clocking done to this computer.

(Remember I have no video to work with either)
if that doesnt help: try to borrow some parts of a friend, for a day;)
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
2,444 (0.66/day)
Likes
352
System Name PC
Processor i7 2600K @4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue DDR3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 1080 Jetstream
Storage Samsung 850 pro 512gb SSD, 2x Kingston 120GB SSD, 2TB WB Green
Display(s) LG 34UM68 34-Inch Monitor
Case Corsair Obsidian 550D Case
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X PCI Express Audio / Audioengine A5+ Speakers
Power Supply Corsair RM650 Power Supply
Mouse Logitech G500 Mouse
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 Keyboard
Software Windows 10 64bit
#11
First thoughts are memory..... though with the no signal to video im thinking could also psu...
Test both out...

first try with only one stick of memory in the machine, boot... no luck?.... (then swap to the other stick on its own till you find that it boots)

If you get a boot off one stick, then memory is the issue... if you dont get a boot still same circumstances then likely move onto PSU
To test PSU youll want a multimeter and then itll get a bit more complicated unless you have a spare PSU to test with.

My guess (lucky guess of course but from what ive read its plausable... memory)
If unlucky enough to not have a spare PSU to test with then you either gonna need a multimeter or a spare psu
 

Karamas

New Member
Joined
Sep 6, 2004
Messages
97 (0.02/day)
Likes
3
Processor Intel Pentium Core 2 Duo Wolfsdale 3.00 ghz 45nm
Motherboard Asus P5Q3 Deluxe/WiFi-AP
Cooling ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Memory 2 x 1024 Mb CORSAIR XMS3 DHX DDR3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Sapphire RADEON HD4850
Storage Westren Digital 250 Gb Sata
Display(s) DELL LCD 17 in"
Case Generic Black Case
Power Supply 650 Watt BFG Tech
Software Windows XP Pro (Enterprise)/Windows 7 Ultimate/Ubuntu 9.0.4
#12
Thanks guys, one of the ram sticks went bad, I believe they have a life time warranty as well so, I'll have to check on that.
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
2,444 (0.66/day)
Likes
352
System Name PC
Processor i7 2600K @4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue DDR3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 1080 Jetstream
Storage Samsung 850 pro 512gb SSD, 2x Kingston 120GB SSD, 2TB WB Green
Display(s) LG 34UM68 34-Inch Monitor
Case Corsair Obsidian 550D Case
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X PCI Express Audio / Audioengine A5+ Speakers
Power Supply Corsair RM650 Power Supply
Mouse Logitech G500 Mouse
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 Keyboard
Software Windows 10 64bit
#13
funnily enough one of my corsair dominator sticks went bad tonight aswell... similar circumstances which is why i suspected your ram first... hehe
but they are a good brand and it is lifetime warranty... just go to their sites technical help and fill in an RMA form and youre all good (you got to post it back of course)...