• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Computer will turn on but can't seem to go past post

happy

New Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2011
Messages
638 (0.27/day)
Likes
25
System Name HAPPY
Processor i7-2600
Motherboard ASRock P67 EXTREME4 GEN3
Cooling CORSAIR CAFA50 (CPU)
Memory 4GB 1333mhz
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GV-N460OC-1GI
Storage HITACHI 160GB 7200RPM HDT721016SLA380 & 5 IDE 250GB WD HDD
Power Supply Corsair 650 TX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#1
Hi guys,
So here is my build:
MSI 890GXM-G65
Sapphire 7970 OC Edition
Patriot Pyro SE 120GB
FSP 750W

So the problem I am having is that I can turn on my computer but, I would usually hear a beep sound and then for sure the computer will have no problem being detected with my tv. I am connecting it through HDMI. Lately, the computer turns on, but it can't seem to go past the post. The monitor detects the computer, but it won't show anything on screen. I know it doesn't go past post because usually it would make a beep sound. I've tried this on a couple of monitors and have the same problem. I tried DVI and HDMI both with the same problem. Lately, this has been having too much. Also does this have to do with the AMD drivers?


Need help plz

Thanks
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
#2
If you are overclocking, set everything back to stock before you start troubleshooting to make sure that the computer is just not happy with the OC.
 

happy

New Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2011
Messages
638 (0.27/day)
Likes
25
System Name HAPPY
Processor i7-2600
Motherboard ASRock P67 EXTREME4 GEN3
Cooling CORSAIR CAFA50 (CPU)
Memory 4GB 1333mhz
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GV-N460OC-1GI
Storage HITACHI 160GB 7200RPM HDT721016SLA380 & 5 IDE 250GB WD HDD
Power Supply Corsair 650 TX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#3
If you are overclocking, set everything back to stock before you start troubleshooting to make sure that the computer is just not happy with the OC.
The comptuer is not OCed
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
#4
The first thing I would do is reseat everything in the computer (other than pulling and reseating the CPU) and then test the RAM using memtest86+
If the computer will not post it has nothing to do with AMD drivers.
 

happy

New Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2011
Messages
638 (0.27/day)
Likes
25
System Name HAPPY
Processor i7-2600
Motherboard ASRock P67 EXTREME4 GEN3
Cooling CORSAIR CAFA50 (CPU)
Memory 4GB 1333mhz
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GV-N460OC-1GI
Storage HITACHI 160GB 7200RPM HDT721016SLA380 & 5 IDE 250GB WD HDD
Power Supply Corsair 650 TX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#5
The first thing I would do is reseat everything in the computer (other than pulling and reseating the CPU) and then test the RAM using memtest86+
Originally, I removed the power connection to the GPU and it did fix the problem. But this was yesterday. Everything was fine. I played BF3 for hours without breaking a sweat to the computer. Today, when I tried turning on the computer, this problem occurs. If reseating the components again is the problem, what do you think the mobo is defective or something?
 

Kreij

Senior Monkey Moderator
Joined
Feb 6, 2007
Messages
13,817 (3.45/day)
Likes
5,524
Location
Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
#6
Hard to tell. Could be the PSU. Best to take it one thing at a time and start eliminating what's not wrong.
Could be that removing the GPU power connector and plugging it back in moved the GC a bit. That's why I recommended reseating everything to make sure all cards and RAM are seated well.
 

happy

New Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2011
Messages
638 (0.27/day)
Likes
25
System Name HAPPY
Processor i7-2600
Motherboard ASRock P67 EXTREME4 GEN3
Cooling CORSAIR CAFA50 (CPU)
Memory 4GB 1333mhz
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GV-N460OC-1GI
Storage HITACHI 160GB 7200RPM HDT721016SLA380 & 5 IDE 250GB WD HDD
Power Supply Corsair 650 TX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#7
Hard to tell. Could be the PSU. Best to take it one thing at a time and start eliminating what's not wrong.
There is a OC switch on the board, if I remember correctly, I don't have the computer right now because my friend is in possession of it and is having trouble with it on his computer. Do you think it might be the OC switch on the motherboard? The OC switch increases the speed of the FSB. I don't have the computer right now so I cant try, but do you think it might be the problem if it is not on default settings? I don't know what that is, but I don't know if it is in default or I also had this problem with a few of my monitors. When I built this 1 month ago. The computer had no problems with booting up.
 

happy

New Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2011
Messages
638 (0.27/day)
Likes
25
System Name HAPPY
Processor i7-2600
Motherboard ASRock P67 EXTREME4 GEN3
Cooling CORSAIR CAFA50 (CPU)
Memory 4GB 1333mhz
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GV-N460OC-1GI
Storage HITACHI 160GB 7200RPM HDT721016SLA380 & 5 IDE 250GB WD HDD
Power Supply Corsair 650 TX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#8
I recommended reseating everything to make sure all cards and RAM are seated well.
I will definitely do this later when I get to his house.
 

s{orpion

New Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2006
Messages
52 (0.01/day)
Likes
10
#9
Kreij is correct... one step at a time...

1. what EXACTLY is happening? does it hang on post? blank screen? keeps rebooting?

2. IF it may have been GPU related earlier... can you remove GPU and use onboard video?
 

happy

New Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2011
Messages
638 (0.27/day)
Likes
25
System Name HAPPY
Processor i7-2600
Motherboard ASRock P67 EXTREME4 GEN3
Cooling CORSAIR CAFA50 (CPU)
Memory 4GB 1333mhz
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GV-N460OC-1GI
Storage HITACHI 160GB 7200RPM HDT721016SLA380 & 5 IDE 250GB WD HDD
Power Supply Corsair 650 TX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#10
Kreij is correct... one step at a time...

1. what EXACTLY is happening? does it hang on post? blank screen? keeps rebooting?

2. IF it may have been GPU related earlier... can you remove GPU and use onboard video?
It's hard to say actually. The computer does turn up; however, the computer can't be detected by the screen. I've reseated the power connection to the GPU before and it has fixed this problem. I know it did because when I turned on the computer right after I did that, the computer would make that beep noise and the windows screen would be detected to the monitor whether using DVI or HDMI. The has no rebooting problems. When the problem does occur, the computer will be detected but only a black screen will appear to my samsung monitor when I am using a DVI only. It will show no signal when I am connecting via HDMI only to my Samsung lcd tv. I don't have the computer with me at the moment, but just wanted to be prepared to actually fix this problem so that it will not ever happen again.
 

s{orpion

New Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2006
Messages
52 (0.01/day)
Likes
10
#11
baby steps...

does the motherboard have a video port (dvi/vga/hdmi) ?

if so, remove video card and try to use onboard video.

at this time it is best we wait till the machine is available to continue thread.
 

happy

New Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2011
Messages
638 (0.27/day)
Likes
25
System Name HAPPY
Processor i7-2600
Motherboard ASRock P67 EXTREME4 GEN3
Cooling CORSAIR CAFA50 (CPU)
Memory 4GB 1333mhz
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GV-N460OC-1GI
Storage HITACHI 160GB 7200RPM HDT721016SLA380 & 5 IDE 250GB WD HDD
Power Supply Corsair 650 TX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#13
Seems strange. Well I booted the computer back up twice and the problem is gone. I guess my 7970 can't stay on 1000mhz. I had to change the mhz to back to the 9XXmhz by switching the bios switch. Any one can elaborate why this is the case? I was able to use bios 2 (1000 mhz) the other times and played BF3 smoothly.
 

happy

New Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2011
Messages
638 (0.27/day)
Likes
25
System Name HAPPY
Processor i7-2600
Motherboard ASRock P67 EXTREME4 GEN3
Cooling CORSAIR CAFA50 (CPU)
Memory 4GB 1333mhz
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GV-N460OC-1GI
Storage HITACHI 160GB 7200RPM HDT721016SLA380 & 5 IDE 250GB WD HDD
Power Supply Corsair 650 TX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#14
Bump!
 

happy

New Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2011
Messages
638 (0.27/day)
Likes
25
System Name HAPPY
Processor i7-2600
Motherboard ASRock P67 EXTREME4 GEN3
Cooling CORSAIR CAFA50 (CPU)
Memory 4GB 1333mhz
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GV-N460OC-1GI
Storage HITACHI 160GB 7200RPM HDT721016SLA380 & 5 IDE 250GB WD HDD
Power Supply Corsair 650 TX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#15
Hi guys, the problem is happening again.
Is it the motherboard the problem?
When I turned it on just now, one of the fan being controlled by the motherboard was not spinning.
How can you tell if the Corsair H60 is actually running? Could it be that the H60 is not working causing the computer not to turn on?
Sometimes the computer makes a beep sound and sometimes it doesn't.
Plz help.
 

happy

New Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2011
Messages
638 (0.27/day)
Likes
25
System Name HAPPY
Processor i7-2600
Motherboard ASRock P67 EXTREME4 GEN3
Cooling CORSAIR CAFA50 (CPU)
Memory 4GB 1333mhz
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GV-N460OC-1GI
Storage HITACHI 160GB 7200RPM HDT721016SLA380 & 5 IDE 250GB WD HDD
Power Supply Corsair 650 TX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#16
Hi guys, so I just replaced the motherboard and CPU (last night). Everything seemed fine and I played BF3 without a hiccup. It even seemed alot smoother. But today when I play BF3, the game crashes and it gives me a black screen and says mode not supported. Is it the GPU that is defective?

Please help.
 
Joined
Oct 29, 2010
Messages
2,944 (1.11/day)
Likes
1,379
System Name The Sheriff / The Deputy
Processor 2500K / G4560
Motherboard ASRock P67Extreme4 / Gigabyte GA-Z170-HD3 DDR3
Cooling CM Hyper TX3 / Intel stock
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX / 8 GB Kingston HyperX
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 960 SSC / Gigabyte GTX 1050 Ti LP
Storage SSD, some WD and lots of Samsungs
Display(s) BenQ GW2470 / Samsung SyncMaster T220
Case Cooler Master CM690 II Advanced / Thermaltake Core v31
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D1/Denon PMA500AE/Wharfedale D 10.1/Senn HD518
Power Supply Corsair TX650 / Corsair TX650M
Mouse Steelseries Rival 100/ Mionix Avior 7000
Keyboard Sidewinder
Software Windows 10 / Windows 10 Pro
#17
Is it the 7970 or the 460 in your sig? Card is at stock? Have you checked the temps? So the driver crashed but the machine is still on? It happens often? Who says "mode not supported"?
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
4,418 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,538
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X Fury (Unlocked to Fury X)
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS MG279Q 1440 IPS 144Hz FreeSync
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#18
Well now this is just going by what you said in a few posts. You mention reseating the power connection on the GPU I assume you mean connections as in the 6 pin and 8 pin.

I have the same GPU and not had any problems with mine outside of the Firefox/Flash crashes which was easy to fix. No issues using the 2nd BIOS either.

What version of the Catalysts are you using?

Also please update your System Specs so it's easier to know what your working with. :)
 

happy

New Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2011
Messages
638 (0.27/day)
Likes
25
System Name HAPPY
Processor i7-2600
Motherboard ASRock P67 EXTREME4 GEN3
Cooling CORSAIR CAFA50 (CPU)
Memory 4GB 1333mhz
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GV-N460OC-1GI
Storage HITACHI 160GB 7200RPM HDT721016SLA380 & 5 IDE 250GB WD HDD
Power Supply Corsair 650 TX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#19
Is it the 7970 or the 460 in your sig? Card is at stock? Have you checked the temps? So the driver crashed but the machine is still on? It happens often? Who says "mode not supported"?
I have the 7970 and the sig is my own computer. The OP has all of my friends system spec.
Card is in Bios 1 (Stock). Well after that crash; in the middle of playing BF3 the screen goes black and says "mode not supported" my screen seems to not detect the computer. After rebooting the computer after the crash I am unable to play BF3. It says mode not supported on the black screen.

Well now this is just going by what you said in a few posts. You mention reseating the power connection on the GPU I assume you mean connections as in the 6 pin and 8 pin.

I have the same GPU and not had any problems with mine outside of the Firefox/Flash crashes which was easy to fix. No issues using the 2nd BIOS either.

What version of the Catalysts are you using?

Also please update your System Specs so it's easier to know what your working with. :)
This is not my computer; it's my friends and helping him try to trouble shoot. The Catalysts driver is updated which I see in the Catalyst panel. Last update I did on it was 12.6 and I'm almost sure it could not have updated to 12.7 because it never showed it downloading. I assumed that since catalyst says its up to date I wouldn't worry to much. But do you think it is the driver problem?

After changing the entire motherboard as well as the CPU to an AMD 965 (not the old 955) I basically took apart everything and reseated everything. Could it be the SSD?

First build with so many problems. I think I will stay with Intel from now on!!!
Thanks
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
4,418 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,538
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X Fury (Unlocked to Fury X)
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS MG279Q 1440 IPS 144Hz FreeSync
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#20
Well the 12.7 Betas have been said to be the best drivers for the 7 series right now. So it would be worthwhile to try to make sure you have installed them.
 

happy

New Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2011
Messages
638 (0.27/day)
Likes
25
System Name HAPPY
Processor i7-2600
Motherboard ASRock P67 EXTREME4 GEN3
Cooling CORSAIR CAFA50 (CPU)
Memory 4GB 1333mhz
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GV-N460OC-1GI
Storage HITACHI 160GB 7200RPM HDT721016SLA380 & 5 IDE 250GB WD HDD
Power Supply Corsair 650 TX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#21
Well the 12.7 Betas have been said to be the best drivers for the 7 series right now. So it would be worthwhile to try to make sure you have installed them.
Did the catalyst update it for you or did you update it manually? How do you check what version you have?
 
Joined
May 23, 2010
Messages
507 (0.18/day)
Likes
40
System Name Home Theatre
Processor i5 750
Motherboard Gigabyte P55 USB3
Memory 4GB ADATA 1333
Video Card(s) Sapphire 1GB ATI 5670
Storage 32gb Kingston SSD (Os)/ 1TB and 640GB Caviar Blue (Storage)
Display(s) Sony KDL40HX800
Case Cooler Master HAF 922
Audio Device(s) HT Claro Plus
Power Supply Corsair HX650
Software Windows 7 64-bit
#22
Try going to the website.
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
4,418 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,538
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X Fury (Unlocked to Fury X)
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS MG279Q 1440 IPS 144Hz FreeSync
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#23
Did the catalyst update it for you or did you update it manually? How do you check what version you have?
Manually ALWAYS manually. NEVER trust an Auto Updater ;)
 

happy

New Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2011
Messages
638 (0.27/day)
Likes
25
System Name HAPPY
Processor i7-2600
Motherboard ASRock P67 EXTREME4 GEN3
Cooling CORSAIR CAFA50 (CPU)
Memory 4GB 1333mhz
Video Card(s) GIGABYTE GV-N460OC-1GI
Storage HITACHI 160GB 7200RPM HDT721016SLA380 & 5 IDE 250GB WD HDD
Power Supply Corsair 650 TX
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#24
Manually ALWAYS manually. NEVER trust an Auto Updater ;)
Last time I updated manually, it just locked on the previous version. I went to the AMD website to update the newest version and kept on getting stuck on 12.4
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
4,418 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,538
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X Fury (Unlocked to Fury X)
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0 1TB WD Blue
Display(s) ASUS MG279Q 1440 IPS 144Hz FreeSync
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#25
Last time I updated manually, it just locked on the previous version. I went to the AMD website to update the newest version and kept on getting stuck on 12.4
You willl need to check the version strings for the 3D, 2D and OGL drivers. Betas won't update the Version in the Info.

Build Info:
DriverVer=06/26/2012, 8.981.2.0000
8.981.2-120626a-141571E-ATI
CCC: 2012.0626.1157.19430
D3D: 9.14.10.0924
OGL: 6.14.10.11740
OCL: 10.0.938.1

If that info is correct then your on the 12.7's Also don't forget to instal the latest CAPS They aren't just for Crossfire they do have single card fixes as well.