• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Computer won't boot =/

Gamax

New Member
Joined
Apr 26, 2008
Messages
70 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Opteron 170 S939 @2.0
Motherboard MSI K8N Neo 4 Platinum
Memory OCZ Platinum Edition 2GB Dual Channel PC3200@400mhz
Video Card(s) 8800 GTS 512MB
Storage Western Digital 120GB HDD
Power Supply ENERMAX Liberty 500W
#1
So yesterday I did everything I normally do, surf the internets, play some games for a while, music, etc. I turned it off no problem. Then today when I turned it on, it wouldn't POST. Like every fan would start spinning at 100% but nothing will appear on the screen. I saw the little 4 lights and it showed

Top right Red
Top left Green
Low right Green
Low left Red

I think it's the Bios Sign up thing. So I cleared the cmos and still didn't boot. I unplugged everything, plugged it all (After checking and unplugging each device separately) again, and it boot. Is this a hardware issue? It's the first time it happens.

Thanks.
 
Joined
Apr 2, 2007
Messages
2,807 (0.72/day)
Likes
230
Location
US
Processor Intel Q9400
Motherboard asus p5q-pro
Cooling Ultra120
Memory 6GB ddr2
Video Card(s) NVS 290
Storage 3TB + 1.5TB
Display(s) Samsung F2380
Case Silverstone Fortress FT02B
Audio Device(s) Creative X-Fi
Power Supply 750W PC P&C
Software win 7 ultimate 64bit
#2
i have no idea what were the 4 lights..
do u have a second pc to test on?
 

Gamax

New Member
Joined
Apr 26, 2008
Messages
70 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Opteron 170 S939 @2.0
Motherboard MSI K8N Neo 4 Platinum
Memory OCZ Platinum Edition 2GB Dual Channel PC3200@400mhz
Video Card(s) 8800 GTS 512MB
Storage Western Digital 120GB HDD
Power Supply ENERMAX Liberty 500W
#3
It's the four lights on the back of your case, usually the lower part, it's the USB JDB1 connector (MSI K8N Neo4 mobo).
 

Gamax

New Member
Joined
Apr 26, 2008
Messages
70 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Opteron 170 S939 @2.0
Motherboard MSI K8N Neo 4 Platinum
Memory OCZ Platinum Edition 2GB Dual Channel PC3200@400mhz
Video Card(s) 8800 GTS 512MB
Storage Western Digital 120GB HDD
Power Supply ENERMAX Liberty 500W
#4
does anyone know why would this happen?
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
2,444 (0.66/day)
Likes
352
System Name PC
Processor i7 2600K @4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue DDR3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 1080 Jetstream
Storage Samsung 850 pro 512gb SSD, 2x Kingston 120GB SSD, 2TB WB Green
Display(s) LG 34UM68 34-Inch Monitor
Case Corsair Obsidian 550D Case
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X PCI Express Audio / Audioengine A5+ Speakers
Power Supply Corsair RM650 Power Supply
Mouse Logitech G500 Mouse
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 Keyboard
Software Windows 10 64bit
#5
well i take it you have internet access.... google the error codes for that motherboard... those lights are for diagnostic purposes and will tell you whats wrong ;)
 

Gamax

New Member
Joined
Apr 26, 2008
Messages
70 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Opteron 170 S939 @2.0
Motherboard MSI K8N Neo 4 Platinum
Memory OCZ Platinum Edition 2GB Dual Channel PC3200@400mhz
Video Card(s) 8800 GTS 512MB
Storage Western Digital 120GB HDD
Power Supply ENERMAX Liberty 500W
#6
Yeah it's the Bios POSTing the processor memory etc, it just hangs in there and doesn't post anything =/ it hasn't happened before though so I wouldn't know why did that happen...
 
Joined
Apr 14, 2008
Messages
1,777 (0.50/day)
Likes
163
Location
South Australia
System Name QUACK
Processor Intel i7 2600K (3.4 GHz, 8 threads)
Motherboard Asus P67P8-V3
Cooling Xigmatek Balder 120mm (4x120,1x140mm case)
Memory Patriot 2 Viper Sector 5, 8GB DDR3 1600 MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GeForce GTX 960 G1 4GB
Storage 1x Samsung EVO 850 (500GB) SSD, 1x Fujitsu 256GB SSD
Display(s) Dell Ultrasharp U2311h 23" (so sexy)
Case CoolerMaster Gladiator RC-600
Audio Device(s) Onboard 5.1
Power Supply Antec 850w with yellow racing stripes
Software Windows 7 HP 64 bit
#7
Did you just take out the battery when you rebooted your CMOS? I found out the hard way that that sometimes doesn't work on modern motherboards...
If you've only taken out the battery to reset things, put it back in and try this:
Is there a 2 pin jumper/connector near the CMOS battery? If there is, does it have 2 pins or 3 pins?
Should look something like this:


If so, try moving the jumper from the original position into the second position, as shown in the picture. Boot your computer, and if it loads into the BIOS, then shut down and place the jumper back to its original position.

Good luck!
 
Joined
Mar 15, 2008
Messages
401 (0.11/day)
Likes
12
Location
California USA
System Name MSI
Processor Intel 4790k@ stock for now
Motherboard MSI z97 gaming 7
Cooling H100i
Memory 16 gb of patriot viperx ddr3 1866
Video Card(s) GTX 970
Storage Crucial c300 128g, wd cavier black 1tb, seagate baracuda 2gb (for storage)
Display(s) 30" dell 3007
Case Haf x 942
Audio Device(s) ac 1150 onboard sound
Power Supply Roswell 1200
Software Windows pro 8.1
#8
Could be the CMOS battery itself, I had to replace my boards battery when i first got it from an overstock dealer.
 

Gamax

New Member
Joined
Apr 26, 2008
Messages
70 (0.02/day)
Likes
0
Processor AMD Opteron 170 S939 @2.0
Motherboard MSI K8N Neo 4 Platinum
Memory OCZ Platinum Edition 2GB Dual Channel PC3200@400mhz
Video Card(s) 8800 GTS 512MB
Storage Western Digital 120GB HDD
Power Supply ENERMAX Liberty 500W
#9
it's not a battery, it's a button I just have to press for 5 seconds and it resets. I don't think it's a problem with that though since it has never happened before.
 
Joined
Oct 4, 2007
Messages
2,444 (0.66/day)
Likes
352
System Name PC
Processor i7 2600K @4ghz
Motherboard Asus P8P67 Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-U14S
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue DDR3 1600mhz
Video Card(s) Palit GTX 1080 Jetstream
Storage Samsung 850 pro 512gb SSD, 2x Kingston 120GB SSD, 2TB WB Green
Display(s) LG 34UM68 34-Inch Monitor
Case Corsair Obsidian 550D Case
Audio Device(s) Asus Xonar D2X PCI Express Audio / Audioengine A5+ Speakers
Power Supply Corsair RM650 Power Supply
Mouse Logitech G500 Mouse
Keyboard Corsair Vengeance K70 Keyboard
Software Windows 10 64bit
#10
here we go....
all you have to do is go to this page: http://www.msicomputer.com/support/sup_tshoot.asp#1_4

Verify that the CMOS jumper is set correctly.
Clear CMOS jumper (normally JBAT1) must be set to “Keep settings” to allow the system to POST
If JBAT1 is set to “clear CMOS” position the motherboard will not power on or post
• On most MSI motherboards you will set JBAT1 as listed below
JBAT1 pins 1-2 Keep settings
• JBAT1 pins 2-3 Clear CMOS settings
• Verify the correct setting for your motherboard in manual as the correct setting may vary from model to model
possibly you have the clear cmos switch in the incorrect place... this would make most sense