1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Computer won't Get Past Boot Screen

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by MikeTyson, Jun 28, 2010.

  1. MikeTyson New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    645 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    South East, United Kingdom
    Basically just made a new PC

    ASUS P5LP-LE
    X1300 PCI-E
    2GB 533MHz
    Win Xp Pro SP3

    all worked amazingly. uninstalled video drivers. windows did some updates before it shut down. shut down ok, then i changed the graphics card from x1300 to 7950gt, and it freezes on boot screen

    switched back to x1300, still freezes on boot screen.

    set jumper to clear cmos, turned pc on, freezes at boot screen again

    then i put x850xt in, freezes at boot screen. removed 6 pin power connector to x850xt, get a warning that says "NO POWER CONNECTOR TO GRAPHICS CARD", so i turn off and connect it. still freezes at boot screen.

    fucking hell, all i did was swiTch a graphics card, then when i put it back it doesnt care!!

    WHAT !

    seriously i spent all day fixing this thing up and now it just fucks me over, im so annoyed

    any suggestions?
     
  2. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4,130 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,479
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    Safe mode and run driver sweeper
     
  3. MikeTyson New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    645 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    South East, United Kingdom
    lol how can i safe mode if it freezes at boot screen? i cant do anything
     
  4. NdMk2o1o

    NdMk2o1o

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    4,130 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,479
    Location:
    Redditch, Worcestershire, England
    F8 before it gets to the boot screen just after it posts
     
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,643 (10.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,143
    Did you set your bios to boot from the proper HDD?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    3,092 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    544
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    You may need to use your system disk to do a restore point
     
  7. MikeTyson New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    645 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    South East, United Kingdom
    okay i mean freezes at POSt then whatever, im sorry if im being blutn but im fucking pissed

    i cannoy set anything in BIOS or do anything, because i cant get past the POST

    it just freezes on a HP logo, it says press F10 for this Press F1 for that but i cant, its just frozen

    obviously i cant boot from a disk if it doesnt even get past POST cos it wont get far enough to allow me the option
     
  8. ZenZimZaliben

    ZenZimZaliben

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,955 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    726
    Make sure everything is seated properly. Maybe you loosened a ram stick removing the x1300. I am sure it's something obvious that you just aren't seeing. I doubt it's the ram though, just saying make sure everything is seated.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. MikeTyson New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    645 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    South East, United Kingdom
    i just checked everything and it's all fine

    i managed to get it to boot up once didnt even touch anything. and then as i was installing nvidia drivers it shut down half way through...

    but it ALWAYS starts up, it just freezes at POST

    that was just a rare occurrence

    i've plugged the CPU fan into a molex to stop the mobo regulating fan speed to make sure its not the CPU getting too hot but it still freezes at POSt
     
  10. ZenZimZaliben

    ZenZimZaliben

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    2,955 (0.69/day)
    Thanks Received:
    726
    try taking out sticks of ram. unplug all external devices. HDD, floppy, everything other than CPU,1 stick of RAM, 1 vid card.

    Oh..you got it to boot. well never mind. Have fun!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  11. MikeTyson New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    645 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    South East, United Kingdom
    no i got it to boot once randomly without touching anything

    its not fixed it was luck, it wont get past POST again

    what the f***
     
  12. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,643 (10.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17,143
    Well, there is no magic that can help you. It's either something broke (hardware, bios, etc.) or something isn't connected properly. Take everything out of the case and connect it all on a desk or something.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  13. MikeTyson New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    645 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    South East, United Kingdom
    i eventually stuck a giant fan pointing into the side and it seems to be okay now...

    i guess it's cos this room is so hot, but im not used to it cos i dont live here so it didnt really seem liek the first thing on my mind
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)