• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

computer wont post.....strange issues

Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
675 (0.17/day)
Likes
7
Location
Michigan, US
System Name Clarise
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ (Toledo) @2.8 (255 X 11)
Motherboard Asus A8v Deluxe rev 2
Cooling Gigabyte 3D Cooler Pro + 5 Case Fans
Memory 2GB G-Skill (2.5-3-3-6 1T) @ 467mhz
Video Card(s) XFX 7600GT 256MB GDDR3 @ 640-814
Storage Western Digital WD5000AAKS 500GB (Sata) Maxtor 120GB (Sata) Western Digital 120GB (ide)
Display(s) 19" HP Pavilion M90 / 33" Sony Wega Trinitron
Case Antec Lanboy with a few mods :0)
Audio Device(s) Creative Audigy 4 Pro - Bose Free Style 2.1 Speakers
Power Supply Rosewill Extreme Edition 500W 34A 12V rail
Software Windows XP Pro & Vista Ultimate
#1
the computer i am working on right now has a MSI 845E Max HT and a p4 2.2 had a broken retention bracket so i bought a new one and put it on. 2 of the clips were broken on the original and was held with 2 zip ties lol. any way, now the only way i can get the computer to post is when the cpu fan is not clamped down......... if it is just resting on the cpu it will post about 25% of the time, but when i flip the 3 levers and fasten it down....it's a no go. the temps are fine with it just sitting on it unhooked (~40c) but i cant get it to stay running for long..... any ideas?
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
675 (0.17/day)
Likes
7
Location
Michigan, US
System Name Clarise
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ (Toledo) @2.8 (255 X 11)
Motherboard Asus A8v Deluxe rev 2
Cooling Gigabyte 3D Cooler Pro + 5 Case Fans
Memory 2GB G-Skill (2.5-3-3-6 1T) @ 467mhz
Video Card(s) XFX 7600GT 256MB GDDR3 @ 640-814
Storage Western Digital WD5000AAKS 500GB (Sata) Maxtor 120GB (Sata) Western Digital 120GB (ide)
Display(s) 19" HP Pavilion M90 / 33" Sony Wega Trinitron
Case Antec Lanboy with a few mods :0)
Audio Device(s) Creative Audigy 4 Pro - Bose Free Style 2.1 Speakers
Power Supply Rosewill Extreme Edition 500W 34A 12V rail
Software Windows XP Pro & Vista Ultimate
#2
bump
 
Joined
Feb 10, 2007
Messages
2,404 (0.60/day)
Likes
472
Location
Oulu, Finland
System Name Enslaver :)
Processor Intel i5 3570K Ivy Bridge, 4GHz no voltage increase OC
Motherboard ASRock Z77 Extreme4
Cooling CPU: Noctua NH-D14, Case: mix of different fans
Memory 24GB DDR3 1866MHz- mix Samsung green 1600MHZ OC + Kingston Fury 1866MHz stock
Video Card(s) ASUS GTX 1080 A8G Strix + disbled Intel HD4000
Storage 500GB Samsung Evo 850 SSD, internal WD Red 4TB for storage
Display(s) LG 55SJ810V 4K IPS TV, HDR
Case Corsair 800D
Audio Device(s) Over HDMI
Power Supply Quite new Corsair RM850x
Mouse ROG Gladius
Keyboard QPAD MX-50 mechanical
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#3
Could it be that the cpu is not resting in the exact location it should be.. meening when you apply preasure with the fan it is not perfectly aligned anymore?
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
675 (0.17/day)
Likes
7
Location
Michigan, US
System Name Clarise
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ (Toledo) @2.8 (255 X 11)
Motherboard Asus A8v Deluxe rev 2
Cooling Gigabyte 3D Cooler Pro + 5 Case Fans
Memory 2GB G-Skill (2.5-3-3-6 1T) @ 467mhz
Video Card(s) XFX 7600GT 256MB GDDR3 @ 640-814
Storage Western Digital WD5000AAKS 500GB (Sata) Maxtor 120GB (Sata) Western Digital 120GB (ide)
Display(s) 19" HP Pavilion M90 / 33" Sony Wega Trinitron
Case Antec Lanboy with a few mods :0)
Audio Device(s) Creative Audigy 4 Pro - Bose Free Style 2.1 Speakers
Power Supply Rosewill Extreme Edition 500W 34A 12V rail
Software Windows XP Pro & Vista Ultimate
#4
nah, i think that it was the mobo, cause i have been messing with it for hours now, and nothing happens anymore... no post, no beeps.... fans spin up, dvd light flickers, hdd spins up....and that is it....
 
Joined
Nov 3, 2007
Messages
1,593 (0.43/day)
Likes
631
Processor i7-8700K / i7-6700K / E5-1620 v3 / E5-2650L v4 / E5-2630L v3 / E5-2630 v4
Motherboard Asus Maximus X Apex / Maximus X Code / Maximus IX APEX / Asrock EPC612D4I ITX / Bunch o' Supermicros
Cooling Noctua / Aquacomputer / EKWB / Corsair
Memory Corsair DP DDR4 2x16GB 3200 / Crucial LVP 2133 ECC 8x8GB
Video Card(s) GTX 1070 Ti SLI / GTX 1080 Ti SLI / GTX 1080
Storage nvme's
Display(s) Alienware AW3418DW
Case CaseLabs / Lian Li
Audio Device(s) Creative SB X7
Power Supply Corsair AX1500i / Corsair AX1200i / Seasonic (A handful)
Mouse Logitech
Keyboard Logitech
Software Windows 7 ULT / Windows 10 Pro / unRAID / pfSense
#5
You were holding your stuff down with zip ties? I would look into that "area" a littel more. Like he said, comething is probably not aligned right in that area. Maybe more pressure on one side than the other.
 
Joined
Jul 18, 2007
Messages
2,425 (0.63/day)
Likes
645
System Name panda
Processor 6700k
Motherboard sabretooth s
Cooling raystorm block<black ice stealth 240 rad<ek dcc 18w 140 xres
Memory 32gb ripjaw v
Video Card(s) 290x gamer<ntzx g10<antec 920
Storage 950 pro 250gb boot 850 evo pr0n
Display(s) QX2710LED@110hz lg 27ud68p
Case 540 Air
Audio Device(s) nope
Power Supply 750w superflower
Mouse g502
Keyboard shine 3 with grey, black and red caps
Software win 10
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/marsey99/
#6
could be what ever broke the clips damamged the socket too?
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
675 (0.17/day)
Likes
7
Location
Michigan, US
System Name Clarise
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ (Toledo) @2.8 (255 X 11)
Motherboard Asus A8v Deluxe rev 2
Cooling Gigabyte 3D Cooler Pro + 5 Case Fans
Memory 2GB G-Skill (2.5-3-3-6 1T) @ 467mhz
Video Card(s) XFX 7600GT 256MB GDDR3 @ 640-814
Storage Western Digital WD5000AAKS 500GB (Sata) Maxtor 120GB (Sata) Western Digital 120GB (ide)
Display(s) 19" HP Pavilion M90 / 33" Sony Wega Trinitron
Case Antec Lanboy with a few mods :0)
Audio Device(s) Creative Audigy 4 Pro - Bose Free Style 2.1 Speakers
Power Supply Rosewill Extreme Edition 500W 34A 12V rail
Software Windows XP Pro & Vista Ultimate
#7
yeah it was held with zip ties for over a year lol, just bought a new retention bracket and now it wont work lol!! :banghead: i should have left it alone...
 
Joined
Dec 6, 2006
Messages
675 (0.17/day)
Likes
7
Location
Michigan, US
System Name Clarise
Processor AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ (Toledo) @2.8 (255 X 11)
Motherboard Asus A8v Deluxe rev 2
Cooling Gigabyte 3D Cooler Pro + 5 Case Fans
Memory 2GB G-Skill (2.5-3-3-6 1T) @ 467mhz
Video Card(s) XFX 7600GT 256MB GDDR3 @ 640-814
Storage Western Digital WD5000AAKS 500GB (Sata) Maxtor 120GB (Sata) Western Digital 120GB (ide)
Display(s) 19" HP Pavilion M90 / 33" Sony Wega Trinitron
Case Antec Lanboy with a few mods :0)
Audio Device(s) Creative Audigy 4 Pro - Bose Free Style 2.1 Speakers
Power Supply Rosewill Extreme Edition 500W 34A 12V rail
Software Windows XP Pro & Vista Ultimate
#8
could be what ever broke the clips damamged the socket too?
possible but the clips were broke shortly after the mobo was purchased......many many years ago lol and it worked fine. last year i noticed that it was averaging about 145F so i fixed it with zipties and it never broke 125F under load.