1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Computex 2007: DFI LANPARTY X38-T2R Board

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Jun 3, 2007.

  1. malware New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5,476 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    DFI will be showcasing their LANPARTY X38-T2R board over at Computex next week along with their ATI RD790 based LP RD790-M2R board. Both motherboards are creation of two dedicated and top-notch DFI engineers: Oskar and Jarry. Initially DFI will release Intel X38 chipset based board with support for DDR2 only, because of the highly priced DDR3 modules. Another LANPARTY X38-T3R board that supports DDR3 memories will come later. The DFI LANPARTY X38-T2R/T3R boards also support Core 2 Duo/Quad processors with 1333MHz FSB, two x16 PCIe slots for dual graphics + one x4 slot for GPU physics, 8-Phase Digital PWM and special heatpipe cooling for PWM, MCH and ICH.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: VR-Zone
     
    Last edited: Jun 3, 2007
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    41,441 (11.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16,777
    Enough fan headers to power a fan for every room in the house! These boards are going to be awesome!
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Sent1nel New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2007
    Messages:
    38 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dundee
    Now just to picture that with some heatsinks on the north and south bridge... Looking at the way the north bridge has a heat spreader on it, it certainly won't be a small thats for sure.

    Although this thing might be a very nice board for over clocking with its 8 phase digital PWM.
     
  4. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,814 (2.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    547
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    8 Fan HeADERs? Wow, that is flipping awesome.

    I cant wait to see some benches on these.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,168 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    272
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    why in gods name do you need 8 fans?! :confused:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    I counted 12 fan headers, but some of those 4 pin ones might be other.

    And why 8 fans you say, well I have already 8: 2 intake (80mm), 2 outtake (80mm+92mm), 2 (40mm) outtake for GPU and GPU+CPU. Now memory could use one or two and HDDs as well and chipset, so 8 would be nice to have stock on a board :)
     
  7. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,168 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    272
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    I like my ears.

    Thats why I use 1. :laugh:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. boogerlad

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2006
    Messages:
    227 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    hmm, with all this heatpipe cooling, the perhipal things on the back are starting to disapear... I hope that there'll be more perhipal stuff on the rear i/o in the final version
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  9. KennyT772

    KennyT772 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2005
    Messages:
    3,584 (0.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    103
    I only see 6. 1 pwm for the heatsink and 5 3pins. where in the hell do you see 8?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    I like my ears too, that's why all fans are 19db or less and those that arent are running 5V.

    Those 2 besides pci-e must be extra power plugs then.. I even looked that there where 4 besides memory sockets, but it's a heatsink xD
     
  11. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,168 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    272
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS

    The two beside the PCIE slots are more likely floppy connectors, since they are arranged identically on both slots. You wouldn't need this for fan headers.

    Why?

    PS/2. USB. Ethernet. Firewire.

    Serial and parallel probably aren't even really supported anymore.


    Only thing else left to add really is eSata and more usb/firewire/ethernet ports, really.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    holy shit this is my dream board!!! Man the IHS will allow me to use AS5 :)
     
  13. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,168 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    272
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    :confused:

    I've been using AS3/ceramique/5 for ages. wtf are you talking about?

    I just hope intel isn't attaching the IHS like they did to the prescotts.

    Soldered.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  14. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,323 (6.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    So wait, am I to assume that this actually has 2 true 16x PCIe lanes for graphics, not 8x lanes? It's about time a full bandwidth Crossfire solution came to Core2. (Assuming, of course, that it supports Crossfire)
     
  15. BigD6997

    BigD6997 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    891 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    just what ive been waiting for... ddr3 :toast:
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  16. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (1.92/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    Nah the IHS performs better than the die for AS5.
     
  17. Dippyskoodlez

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2005
    Messages:
    5,168 (1.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    272
    Location:
    Kansas City, KS
    This.... doesn't make sense... unless you did it wrong.

    You always could have just put an IHS on the northbridge manually.. but adding a material between here... I have never seen a single test show IHS > direct.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  18. Darkrealms

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    852 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    23
    Location:
    USA
    I too would like an answer to this question. Although from the way I read it it looked like it was saying there were 2 available 16x PCIe slots. Best I have seen so far has been 8x8 xfire lanes.
     
  19. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,993 (1.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    466
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    The Crossfire Xpress 3200 is already offering dual 16x PCI-e. (At lease for AMD version)
     
  20. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,323 (6.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Yeah, but currently, no chipset for Intel cpus supports Crossfire with dual true 16x lanes.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)