• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Confused about changing clocks

Joined
Aug 13, 2009
Messages
1,962 (0.64/day)
Likes
659
Location
Czech republic
Processor Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon Rx 580 Nitro+ 8GB
Display(s) Dell U2415
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 550W
Software Windows 7 x64
#1
I haven't used RBE for years, last time I did was when I still had my 4850. Since then I forgot pretty much everything I knew, and rest changed with new technology.
I did read the guide and still am fairly confused. Hoping someone can shed some light onto this.

1) How comes there are 6 clocks in the bios I saved from my card, and about 10 in other bios for the same type I downloaded? Or rather, why can't I add new ones? Say I want the card (5850 in my case) boot with the default 725/1000 clock, but the actual 3D settings would be 800/1200. How do I do that when I can't (unless I missed something) add another clock and there doesn't seem to be a way to change how the modes are connected either?

2) Do the upper clock limits only apply to CCC Overdrive function? I understand how the signatures work, but maybe if I just set the clocks in bios I don't need to bother.

3) Does the "memory clocks should all be the same" rule still apply? I remember it would do funky stuff on my 4850, but seeing the current untouched bios has 1000/900/300 maybe it's no longer the case?
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2009
Messages
1,962 (0.64/day)
Likes
659
Location
Czech republic
Processor Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon Rx 580 Nitro+ 8GB
Display(s) Dell U2415
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 550W
Software Windows 7 x64
#2
Nobody knows?
 

cadaveca

My name is Dave
Joined
Apr 10, 2006
Messages
16,546 (3.88/day)
Likes
10,908
Location
Parkland County, Alberta
System Name Gamer
Processor Intel i7-6700K (ES)
Motherboard MSI Aegis TI
Cooling Custom Dragon Cooler
Memory 16 GB Kingston HyperX 2133 MHz C13
Video Card(s) 2x MSI GAMING GTX 980
Storage 2x Intel 600P
Display(s) Dell 3008WFP
Case MSI Aegis Ti
Mouse MSI Interceptor DS B1
Keyboard MSI DS4200 GAMING Keyboard
Software Windows 10 Home
#3
Because clocks are managed by driver, BIOS modding, at this point, is rather useless for DX11 cards.


%-series cards, you can mod fairly easily, both in clocks and voltage. I suggest, however, that you simply mod the CCC maximums, and the voltage, and use software to clock, so that all those other clock modes can still be active.
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2009
Messages
1,962 (0.64/day)
Likes
659
Location
Czech republic
Processor Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon Rx 580 Nitro+ 8GB
Display(s) Dell U2415
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 550W
Software Windows 7 x64
#4
Hm, the trouble is I really despise CCC, it's huge pile of bloatware crap. Besides it offers absolutely no functionality I'd be interested in.

And for the maximum frequencies limit I'd have to mod the bios anyway, so it makes sense for me to do it all there :p


I am just confused why my bios has say 6 clock states and other I downloaded maybe 10.
 
Joined
Nov 26, 2004
Messages
4,369 (0.92/day)
Likes
1,506
Location
Canuck in Norway
System Name Hellbox 3.0(same case new guts)
Processor i7 4790K
Motherboard Asus Z97 Sabertooth Mark 1
Cooling TT Kandalf L.C.S.(Water/Air)AC Cuplex Kryos CPU Block/Noctua
Memory 2x8GB Corsair Vengance Pro 2400
Video Card(s) Sapphire Tri-X Fury (Unlocked to Fury X)
Storage WD Caviar Black SATA 3 1TB x2 RAID 0 2xSamsung 850 Evo 500GB RAID 0
Display(s) ASUS MG279Q 1440 IPS 144Hz FreeSync
Case TT Kandalf L.C.S.
Audio Device(s) Soundblaster ZX/Logitech Z906 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1050W 80+ Gold
Mouse G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard G19s
Software Win 10 Pro x64
#5
Hm, the trouble is I really despise CCC, it's huge pile of bloatware crap. Besides it offers absolutely no functionality I'd be interested in.

And for the maximum frequencies limit I'd have to mod the bios anyway, so it makes sense for me to do it all there :p


I am just confused why my bios has say 6 clock states and other I downloaded maybe 10.
Ah but it DOES have functionality;) It lets you easily overclock your card...
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2009
Messages
1,962 (0.64/day)
Likes
659
Location
Czech republic
Processor Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon Rx 580 Nitro+ 8GB
Display(s) Dell U2415
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 550W
Software Windows 7 x64
#6
I don't see a reason to do it that way really. I just want to set a clock for 3D once for all. Shiny slider in bloatware addition to the OS doesn't cut it for me.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,027 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,630
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#7
You have 16 Gb of 1866 and your worried about CCC?
 
Joined
Feb 19, 2006
Messages
5,606 (1.30/day)
Likes
1,284
Location
New York
System Name http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=73751
Processor i7-920 CO@4.2GHZ / ASUS GL553VW 15.6" Gaming Laptop NVIDIA GTX 960M 4GB Intel Core i56300HQ 8GB DDR4
Motherboard Asus P6T Deluxe Intel X58
Cooling Asetek Liquid CPU Cooling System
Memory CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) DDR3 1600
Video Card(s) 2X ATI Radeon HD 4870 X2 2GB DDR5 PCI-Express
Storage (RAID-0) with 4 Identical Hard Drives (1.28TB (320GBx4)
Display(s) LG 50" 50PK550 1080p 600Hz Plasma/37 Inch WestingHouse @1920x1080
Case Thermaltake M9 (I hate it its like trying to live in a 1 inch box)
Power Supply ThermalTake ToughPower 1200 Watt
Software Windows 7 professional 64
#8
AMD GPU's will not run at their best with out the app you reference to as bloatware. You need the CCC application.
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2009
Messages
1,962 (0.64/day)
Likes
659
Location
Czech republic
Processor Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon Rx 580 Nitro+ 8GB
Display(s) Dell U2415
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 550W
Software Windows 7 x64
#9
You have 16 Gb of 1866 and your worried about CCC?
From general principle, yes. I disable services I don't need/want and I edit registry to stop unwanted stuff (like VIA audio deck, Java update checks etc.) from loading as well. It's called tweaking :p
AMD GPU's will not run at their best with out the app you reference to as bloatware. You need the CCC application.
Which functionality are you talking about? Define "at their best".
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,027 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,630
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#10
From general principle, yes. I disable services I don't need/want and I edit registry to stop unwanted stuff (like VIA audio deck, Java update checks etc.) from loading as well. It's called tweaking :p
Back in the day of 128 Mb Ram I too did this but times have changed. You need Java updates and CCC and it has no impact on your performance. It will actually hurt your system to not have these services running. At least save you time to have to check on updates that fix problems. So relax and tweak something else :p Unless your still using XP
 

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,398 (4.85/day)
Likes
5,477
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#11
Hm, the trouble is I really despise CCC, it's huge pile of bloatware crap. Besides it offers absolutely no functionality I'd be interested in.
Except for features that change based on application profiles (which do help, even without crossfire.)

As far as the bloatware argument, it's kind of a moot point. Lets have a lesson on "how applications and memory work."

Task manager, it can tell you a lot of things about an application, including how much memory it uses.

CCC_usage.JPG


I: Working Set (Memory): How much active memory the application is using.
II: Peak working set (memory): Maximum active memory the application has used in the past.
III: Private working set (memory): Non-shared memory for that application.

Basically it says, "I've used a max of 100Mb of ram, but when I'm not doing anything (which is 99% of the time since CCC is just running in the background, no windows or anything,) it uses a whole whopping < 9Mb of ram." So if you're really going to complain about 10Mb out of 16Gb, I think you need to get your head examined because it's a drop in the ocean that CCC actually uses and since CCC uses practially no CPU power, you're just hurting your own video performance by not using it since it offers you the ability to optimize your video and 3d settings.

So yeah, it uses up to 100Mb when you boot it, then it caches everything and 90% of the application isn't even in active memory.

Congratulations, not using CCC has saved you 0.05% to a maximum (rare) of 0.6% of your memory. You're time has be sufficiently wasted. :)

Real tweaking is disabling things like SuperFetch when you have an SSD, disabling the page file when you have a ton of memory or moving off of your SSD to squeeze some more life out of it, things like that. Keep in mind that things that start at boot run once, and unless its a poorly programmed application, it won't use much resources at all once it has started.

"Premature optimization is the root of all evil." -- Donald Knuth
For those of you who don't know who Donald Knuth is...
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Donald_Knuth
 
Joined
Aug 13, 2009
Messages
1,962 (0.64/day)
Likes
659
Location
Czech republic
Processor Core i7 3770K
Motherboard Gigabyte Z77X-UD3H
Memory 16GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire Radeon Rx 580 Nitro+ 8GB
Display(s) Dell U2415
Audio Device(s) Creative Sound Blaster ZxR
Power Supply Seasonic 550W
Software Windows 7 x64
#12
Not having CCC and Java updates hurting whatever? Come on, you can't be serious with this.
You ARE right there's no need to do what I do, but I'm not telling anyone to stop playing guitar because he has no band and thus it's pointless either, right?

disabling the page file when you have a ton of memory
No offence, but after seeing this I have hard time taking any advices from you. This is equally silly to me saving 50MB out of 16GB.

Thanks for explaining the memory usage sets though, I was bloody confused by those ever since I started using Win7.
 
Last edited:

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,398 (4.85/day)
Likes
5,477
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#13
No offence, but after seeing this I have hard time taking any advices from you. This is equally silly to me saving 50MB out of 16GB.
There are a number of applications that will swap memory out to the page file if it is available because the application might know that it isn't needed. Not every application just shoves everything into memory, some applications (not many anymore,) will require that the page file is around to run (although I haven't encountered this in the last 3 years). The fact that I have a degree in computer science, develop software at a professional level, and have written assembly for a HCS12 micro-controller means that I know nothing about how computers work or how memory management works from a very low level. If you really want to play ignorant that is fine with me, just don't try to call me out when you only think that you're right with no background to reflect that you might know what you're talking about. :confused:

I'm not going to say your wrong with what you're doing, I'm just saying that you're optimizing the wrong things if you really want your machine to run faster. Since you obviously are resistant to being helped, I guess I'll stop trying to help you and let you fend for yourself. :ohwell: Good day.