• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Confused about Firestrike scoring

Joined
Dec 31, 2008
Messages
529 (0.16/day)
Likes
179
Location
Romania
System Name umm...no
Processor Intel i5 4690K 4.4ghz OC
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VII Ranger
Cooling Noctua NH-D15
Memory Kingston HyperX Savage Red 16GB (2 x 8GB), DDR3, 1866MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1070 G1 Gaming
Storage Samsung SSD 850 Evo 120GB / Seagate Barracuda 2TB SATA III / Seagate 750GB SATA I
Display(s) Acer XF270HU 144hz, Samsung SyncMaster P2270HD
Case Corsair Vengeance C70 Military Green + 6xCorsair AF120 Performance Edition
Power Supply Corsair CX600M
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#1
Hey guys,

So I've just got my FX-6350 and OC'ed it (stable I believe so far) to 4.4 Ghz with 1.450 vcore and have done firestrike. Strange thing is, physics score is higher by 1300 points than the highest oc I could get with my previous 965 BE but the FPS for the combined test is lower by 2 frames than the 965. Print screens detailed - here, overall - here for the 6350 and detailed here, overall here for the 965. Now, the only major change I can see is that I have updated the mobo bios, I don't know though if this has anything to do with it. As you can see, the physics test has higher fps on the 6350 but the combined test scores lower than the 965 making the total score lower. I'm really confuse and I hope someone can shed some light on this. :confused: :cry:
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jul 18, 2007
Messages
2,425 (0.63/day)
Likes
645
System Name panda
Processor 6700k
Motherboard sabretooth s
Cooling raystorm block<black ice stealth 240 rad<ek dcc 18w 140 xres
Memory 32gb ripjaw v
Video Card(s) 290x gamer<ntzx g10<antec 920
Storage 950 pro 250gb boot 850 evo pr0n
Display(s) QX2710LED@110hz lg 27ud68p
Case 540 Air
Audio Device(s) nope
Power Supply 750w superflower
Mouse g502
Keyboard shine 3 with grey, black and red caps
Software win 10
Benchmark Scores http://hwbot.org/user/marsey99/
#2
different gpu drivers?

i know i often use older drivers for 3dmark as they just work best with that card/test combo.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2008
Messages
529 (0.16/day)
Likes
179
Location
Romania
System Name umm...no
Processor Intel i5 4690K 4.4ghz OC
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VII Ranger
Cooling Noctua NH-D15
Memory Kingston HyperX Savage Red 16GB (2 x 8GB), DDR3, 1866MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1070 G1 Gaming
Storage Samsung SSD 850 Evo 120GB / Seagate Barracuda 2TB SATA III / Seagate 750GB SATA I
Display(s) Acer XF270HU 144hz, Samsung SyncMaster P2270HD
Case Corsair Vengeance C70 Military Green + 6xCorsair AF120 Performance Edition
Power Supply Corsair CX600M
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#3
different gpu drivers?

i know i often use older drivers for 3dmark as they just work best with that card/test combo.
Unfortunately, no, they're the same drivers. :(
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2008
Messages
529 (0.16/day)
Likes
179
Location
Romania
System Name umm...no
Processor Intel i5 4690K 4.4ghz OC
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VII Ranger
Cooling Noctua NH-D15
Memory Kingston HyperX Savage Red 16GB (2 x 8GB), DDR3, 1866MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1070 G1 Gaming
Storage Samsung SSD 850 Evo 120GB / Seagate Barracuda 2TB SATA III / Seagate 750GB SATA I
Display(s) Acer XF270HU 144hz, Samsung SyncMaster P2270HD
Case Corsair Vengeance C70 Military Green + 6xCorsair AF120 Performance Edition
Power Supply Corsair CX600M
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#4
Ok so I disabled Turbo Core from Bios since it didn't want to stay disabled from AMD Overdrive and I got slightly better Physics score but still lower combined FPS and lower overall score than the 965. Detailed and overall . Also the CPU Power reported in 3dmark shows fluctuating power consumption ranging from 27.9 watt to 41.5 which seems off by about 90 watts since the tdp on this chip is 125 if I'm not mistaken. For the 965 BE it was a straight line showing 123.9 which seems to be correct. So I don't get it, I've disabled Turbo Core and C6 state, why is it showing as not getting enough power? :confused:
 
Last edited:
Joined
Dec 31, 2008
Messages
529 (0.16/day)
Likes
179
Location
Romania
System Name umm...no
Processor Intel i5 4690K 4.4ghz OC
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VII Ranger
Cooling Noctua NH-D15
Memory Kingston HyperX Savage Red 16GB (2 x 8GB), DDR3, 1866MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1070 G1 Gaming
Storage Samsung SSD 850 Evo 120GB / Seagate Barracuda 2TB SATA III / Seagate 750GB SATA I
Display(s) Acer XF270HU 144hz, Samsung SyncMaster P2270HD
Case Corsair Vengeance C70 Military Green + 6xCorsair AF120 Performance Edition
Power Supply Corsair CX600M
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#5
No one have any insights on this? :(
 
Joined
Aug 26, 2013
Messages
954 (0.59/day)
Likes
385
Location
Cumberland Plateau
System Name EVGA-FX | Lenny (Lenovo Y480)
Processor AMD FX-8320 @ 4.5GHz 1.416v | i7 3610qm
Motherboard Asus M5A99FX Pro R2.0
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE
Memory 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance @ 1600 | 8gb DDR3 @ 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX780 Classified @ 1228MHz 1.615v | GT640m LE
Storage Crucial M500 480GB, WD Caviar Blue 500GB, WD Scorpio Blue 750GB | Samsung 250GB 840
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 1440p | 42" Vizio 3D LCD TV 1080p
Case CoolerMaster HAF XB Evo
Power Supply Seasonic G-650
Software Windows 6.3.9600
#6
What is the combined score when the processor is at stock?

More importantly, does it perform better in games?
 
Joined
Jan 21, 2013
Messages
3,800 (2.09/day)
Likes
1,320
System Name Out of the game..
Benchmark Scores d1nky@hwbot.org
#7
I find I get the highest combined when I overclock my cpunb and HT link the highest.

I wouldn't worry about it too much as long as your scores/clocks are similar to the same cpu, and comparing 2 different cpu's isn't the best thing to do unless its different than the 'norm'

also that score could be in margin of error, the phenom maybe better at communicating with the rest of the system or something else is different between configs (ram/ht/fsb etc etc)


also do a bios update if you haven't already, get the latest bios for the Fx6350


also links to the scores are better than pictures, as its easier to compare!
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2008
Messages
529 (0.16/day)
Likes
179
Location
Romania
System Name umm...no
Processor Intel i5 4690K 4.4ghz OC
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VII Ranger
Cooling Noctua NH-D15
Memory Kingston HyperX Savage Red 16GB (2 x 8GB), DDR3, 1866MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1070 G1 Gaming
Storage Samsung SSD 850 Evo 120GB / Seagate Barracuda 2TB SATA III / Seagate 750GB SATA I
Display(s) Acer XF270HU 144hz, Samsung SyncMaster P2270HD
Case Corsair Vengeance C70 Military Green + 6xCorsair AF120 Performance Edition
Power Supply Corsair CX600M
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#8
What is the combined score when the processor is at stock?

More importantly, does it perform better in games?
I scored around 11 point something frames in the combined section on stock. In games I would say it performs better I just hope this isn't a PSU issue.
 
Joined
Aug 26, 2013
Messages
954 (0.59/day)
Likes
385
Location
Cumberland Plateau
System Name EVGA-FX | Lenny (Lenovo Y480)
Processor AMD FX-8320 @ 4.5GHz 1.416v | i7 3610qm
Motherboard Asus M5A99FX Pro R2.0
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE
Memory 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance @ 1600 | 8gb DDR3 @ 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX780 Classified @ 1228MHz 1.615v | GT640m LE
Storage Crucial M500 480GB, WD Caviar Blue 500GB, WD Scorpio Blue 750GB | Samsung 250GB 840
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 1440p | 42" Vizio 3D LCD TV 1080p
Case CoolerMaster HAF XB Evo
Power Supply Seasonic G-650
Software Windows 6.3.9600
#9
I scored around 11 point something frames in the combined section on stock. In games I would say it performs better I just hope this isn't a PSU issue.
I wouldn't think so. From what I understand (and issues my friends have had) PSU issues normally cause shutdowns or crashes. That being said, 600w is probably the bare minimum I would use with your setup.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2008
Messages
529 (0.16/day)
Likes
179
Location
Romania
System Name umm...no
Processor Intel i5 4690K 4.4ghz OC
Motherboard ASUS Maximus VII Ranger
Cooling Noctua NH-D15
Memory Kingston HyperX Savage Red 16GB (2 x 8GB), DDR3, 1866MHz
Video Card(s) Gigabyte GTX 1070 G1 Gaming
Storage Samsung SSD 850 Evo 120GB / Seagate Barracuda 2TB SATA III / Seagate 750GB SATA I
Display(s) Acer XF270HU 144hz, Samsung SyncMaster P2270HD
Case Corsair Vengeance C70 Military Green + 6xCorsair AF120 Performance Edition
Power Supply Corsair CX600M
Mouse Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Keyboard Corsair Strafe RGB
Software Windows 10 Pro 64-bit
#10
I find I get the highest combined when I overclock my cpunb and HT link the highest.

I wouldn't worry about it too much as long as your scores/clocks are similar to the same cpu, and comparing 2 different cpu's isn't the best thing to do unless its different than the 'norm'

also that score could be in margin of error, the phenom maybe better at communicating with the rest of the system or something else is different between configs (ram/ht/fsb etc etc)


also do a bios update if you haven't already, get the latest bios for the Fx6350


also links to the scores are better than pictures, as its easier to compare!
I did a bios update however I didn't notice anything but that doesn't mean there isn't a difference.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,413 (5.50/day)
Likes
10,547
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#11
You're RAM is running at CAS=7 with the 965 and CAS=9 with the 6350. That might be why the combined test is lower.
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2009
Messages
11,681 (3.97/day)
Likes
6,405
Location
Ohio
System Name Daily Driver
Processor 7900X 4.5GHz 10c/10t 1.15V.
Motherboard ASUS Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling MCR320 + Kuplos Kryos NEXT CPU block
Memory GSkill Trident Z 4x8 GB DDR4 3600 MHz CL16
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX 1080 FTW3
Storage 512GB Patriot Hellfire, 512GB OCZ RD400, 640GB Caviar Black, 2TB Caviar Green
Display(s) Yamakasi 27" 2560x1440 IPS
Case Thermaltake P5
Power Supply EVGA 750W Supernova G2
Benchmark Scores Faster than most of you! Bet on it! :)
#12
I wouldn't think so. From what I understand (and issues my friends have had) PSU issues normally cause shutdowns or crashes. That being said, 600w is probably the bare minimum I would use with your setup.
Id run a 600W PSU with that setup all day long... That system isn't pulling 450W... No way.
 
Joined
Aug 26, 2013
Messages
954 (0.59/day)
Likes
385
Location
Cumberland Plateau
System Name EVGA-FX | Lenny (Lenovo Y480)
Processor AMD FX-8320 @ 4.5GHz 1.416v | i7 3610qm
Motherboard Asus M5A99FX Pro R2.0
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE
Memory 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance @ 1600 | 8gb DDR3 @ 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX780 Classified @ 1228MHz 1.615v | GT640m LE
Storage Crucial M500 480GB, WD Caviar Blue 500GB, WD Scorpio Blue 750GB | Samsung 250GB 840
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 1440p | 42" Vizio 3D LCD TV 1080p
Case CoolerMaster HAF XB Evo
Power Supply Seasonic G-650
Software Windows 6.3.9600
#13
Id run a 600W PSU with that setup all day long... That system isn't pulling 450W... No way.
Ok. Dunno the power usage on the 6350.

Stressing my 8320 @ 1.44v will make my system pull 400w from the wall (give or take....measured with a kill a watt and gpu is idling). So again, 600w would be the minumum I would run with that setup.
 
Joined
Sep 23, 2013
Messages
154 (0.10/day)
Likes
29
System Name Trixeon
Processor Xeon E3-1230-V2
Motherboard Asrock Z77 Extreme 3
Cooling Coolmaster EVO
Memory Gskill 2133 8GB
Video Card(s) Sapphire R9-290 Tri-x o/c bios 1000/6000MHz
Storage 128GB SSD, 256GB SSD, 3TB HDD, 1TB HDD
Display(s) 3x 22" 1050 monitors 16:10
Case Xigmatec
Audio Device(s) onboard
Power Supply Xigmatec 800W centurio
Software Win7 64bit
#14
my guess it the combined test (CPU and GPU) is GPU limited. Hence improving the CPU has little effect and the score you are seeing is within normal variation for the performance of the GPU.
 

newtekie1

Semi-Retired Folder
Joined
Nov 22, 2005
Messages
24,413 (5.50/day)
Likes
10,547
Location
Indiana, USA
Processor Intel Core i7 8700K@4.8GHz(Quick and dirty)
Motherboard AsRock Z370 Taichi
Cooling Corsair H110i GTX
Memory 32GB Corsair DDR4-3000
Video Card(s) PNY XLR8 GTX1060 6GB
Storage 480GB Crucial MX200 + 2TB Seagate Solid State Hybrid Drive with 128GB OCZ Synapse SSD Cache
Display(s) QNIX QX2710 1440p@120Hz
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) Onboard is good enough for me
Power Supply Corsair HX850
Software Windows 10 Pro x64
#15
Ok. Dunno the power usage on the 6350.

Stressing my 8320 @ 1.44v will make my system pull 400w from the wall (give or take....measured with a kill a watt and gpu is idling). So again, 600w would be the minumum I would run with that setup.
400w from the wall means about 350w from the PSU, not sure why you'd say 600w is a minimum. The CX600 can more than handle the OPs rig.
 
Joined
Aug 26, 2013
Messages
954 (0.59/day)
Likes
385
Location
Cumberland Plateau
System Name EVGA-FX | Lenny (Lenovo Y480)
Processor AMD FX-8320 @ 4.5GHz 1.416v | i7 3610qm
Motherboard Asus M5A99FX Pro R2.0
Cooling Phanteks PH-TC14PE
Memory 2x4GB Corsair Vengeance @ 1600 | 8gb DDR3 @ 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX780 Classified @ 1228MHz 1.615v | GT640m LE
Storage Crucial M500 480GB, WD Caviar Blue 500GB, WD Scorpio Blue 750GB | Samsung 250GB 840
Display(s) Qnix QX2710 1440p | 42" Vizio 3D LCD TV 1080p
Case CoolerMaster HAF XB Evo
Power Supply Seasonic G-650
Software Windows 6.3.9600
#16
400w from the wall means about 350w from the PSU, not sure why you'd say 600w is a minimum. The CX600 can more than handle the OPs rig.
I said it's MY minimum. That means it's the minimum that I as myself would use with that setup.

Furthermore I've seen my rig pull 560w from the wall (BF4 on a 80 plus gold PSU so maybe a little over 500w DC ) and when it comes to PSU I like to have headroom.

Edited out the lack of morning brew.
 
Last edited: