• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Connecting 5.1 Surround to motherboard

Joined
Jan 23, 2012
Messages
73 (0.03/day)
Likes
10
Location
Paradise City
#1
Hello guys, I need your help solving a problem
I recently bought a 5.1 surround, which came with a console.
I connected everything, but my monitor doesn't have a scart input (as the console has) so I connected it to the aux plug (aux on the console, classic jack on the motherboard)
And my problem is here: the motherboard doesn't recognize it as 5.1, only as stereo. I went here and there and asked, and everyone said that the console where I connected the speakers only had 5.1 output and not input
Recently I built a new PC, and put in it a Maximus IV Gene Z Motherboard, which has 6 jack ports, which has names "rear speakers, front speakers, sbw" etc
And I'm asking you this:
Is there any way I can connect my speakers to directly to the motherboard?
Like an adapter or something?
Thanks in advance!
Speaker's cable



Motherboard's jack ports:
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,625 (2.38/day)
Likes
2,986
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#2
ahhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh.... I wish.

I am only really making a post so I can watch in hopes that you actually can.
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2010
Messages
1,484 (0.58/day)
Likes
544
System Name My Surround PC
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K @ 4.2 GHz (1.15 V)
Motherboard ASRock Z87 Extreme6
Cooling Swiftech MCP35X / XSPC Rasa CPU / Swiftech MCW82 / Koolance HX-1320 w/ 8 Scythe Fans
Memory 16GB (2 x 8 GB) Mushkin Blackline DDR3-2400 CL11-13-13-31
Video Card(s) MSI Nvidia GeForce GTX 980 Ti Armor 2X
Storage Samsung SSD 850 Pro 256GB, 2 x 4TB HGST NAS HDD in RAID 1
Display(s) 3 x Acer K272HUL 27" in Surround 7860x1440
Case NZXT Source 530
Audio Device(s) Integrated ALC1150 + Logitech Z-5500 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1250 1.25kW
Mouse Gigabyte Aivia Krypton
Keyboard Logitech G15
Software Windows 8.1 Pro x64
#3
The outputs from your motherboard are low level. You can connect them with an adapter, but the motherboard cannot provide enough power to drive them beyond a whisper, if that. You need an amplifier in order to use them with any sort of large speakers like the ones you have.
 
Joined
Jan 23, 2012
Messages
73 (0.03/day)
Likes
10
Location
Paradise City
#4
The outputs from your motherboard are low level. You can connect them with an adapter, but the motherboard cannot provide enough power to drive them beyond a whisper, if that. You need an amplifier in order to use them with any sort of large speakers like the ones you have.
Can you please specify what kind of adapter and amplifier I must use? And any other info would be more than useful, thanks!
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2011
Messages
5,625 (2.38/day)
Likes
2,986
Processor Intel I7 4790k (stock)
Motherboard ASRock H97M-ITX/ac LGA 1150 Intel H97
Cooling Prolimatech megahalem
Memory Crucial 2x4gb 1600mhz
Video Card(s) EVGA 1060 3gb
Storage OWC Mercury SSD 240 GB
Display(s) Asus 144hz
Case Raijintek Metis
Power Supply Corsair SF600 600w psu
Software Windows 10 64 Bit
#5
I also have a 5.1 surround speaker setup that uses speaker wire. The only way I know to connect it to my pc is through an av receiver. This amplifies the sound too.

I have yet to get one because they are not cheap. I guess I could of said this first.
 
Joined
Jan 23, 2012
Messages
73 (0.03/day)
Likes
10
Location
Paradise City
#6
Av receiver? What is this? Also do I connect the sealer directly to the receiver or do I need the console? And via the receiver do I have 5.1 surround or stereo sound?
 

Tatty_One

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
19,749 (4.54/day)
Likes
6,015
Location
Worcestershire, UK
Processor Skylake Core i7 6700k @ 4.6gig
Motherboard MSI Z170A Tomahawk
Cooling Cooler Master Seidon 240V AIO/Viper140's
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 3000mhz CL14
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4gb R9 290X VaporX @1150mhz
Storage SkHynix SL308 120GB/CrucialM4/1TB WD Black
Display(s) LG 29inch 2560x1080 Curved Ultrawide IPS
Case Phanteks Enthoo Pro M Windowed - Gunmetal
Audio Device(s) Xifi Elite Pro 7.1/VideoLogic ZXR550's
Power Supply XFX Pro Black Edition 750W Gold modular
Keyboard CM Storm Octane Combo
Software Win 10 Home x64
#7
Av receiver? What is this? Also do I connect the sealer directly to the receiver or do I need the console? And via the receiver do I have 5.1 surround or stereo sound?
AV = Audio/Visual, your motherboard should have a SPDIF out single jack connector, most AV Amps will have for example a "Coax/digital" in single socket..... that should work for basic 5.1 surround, if you were to use just a music amp chances are you would only get stereo.

You mentioned that the system you have came with a "console", what is this console, does it not function as an amp?
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,527 (4.58/day)
Likes
3,160
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#8
He could also use the optical out, or maybe even his hdmi.
 
Joined
Jan 23, 2012
Messages
73 (0.03/day)
Likes
10
Location
Paradise City
#9
your motherboard should have a SPDIF out single jack connector
My motherboard has a SPDIF out, but its not a jack one, its more like a rentacular one
You mentioned that the system you have came with a "console", what is this console, does it not function as an amp?
Console's back:



I don't know if it works as an amp too, how can I tell?

He could also use the optical out, or maybe even his hdmi.
How?
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2010
Messages
1,484 (0.58/day)
Likes
544
System Name My Surround PC
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K @ 4.2 GHz (1.15 V)
Motherboard ASRock Z87 Extreme6
Cooling Swiftech MCP35X / XSPC Rasa CPU / Swiftech MCW82 / Koolance HX-1320 w/ 8 Scythe Fans
Memory 16GB (2 x 8 GB) Mushkin Blackline DDR3-2400 CL11-13-13-31
Video Card(s) MSI Nvidia GeForce GTX 980 Ti Armor 2X
Storage Samsung SSD 850 Pro 256GB, 2 x 4TB HGST NAS HDD in RAID 1
Display(s) 3 x Acer K272HUL 27" in Surround 7860x1440
Case NZXT Source 530
Audio Device(s) Integrated ALC1150 + Logitech Z-5500 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1250 1.25kW
Mouse Gigabyte Aivia Krypton
Keyboard Logitech G15
Software Windows 8.1 Pro x64
#10
Your receiver has a Coax in. You can connect a coaxial S/PDIF to the "CDR Digital In" input and use that to get 5.1 surround. You will have to enable either Dolby Digital Live! or DTS Connect in your computer's audio settings in order to get 5.1 channels and not 2 though.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Jan 23, 2012
Messages
73 (0.03/day)
Likes
10
Location
Paradise City
#11
Your receiver has a Coax in. You can connect a coaxial S/PDIF to the "CDR Digital In" input and use that to get 5.1 surround. You will have to enable wither Dolby Digital Live! or DTS Connect in your computer's audio settings in order to get 5.1 channels and not 2 though.
Thank you so much! So what cable(s) do I need to get?
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2010
Messages
1,484 (0.58/day)
Likes
544
System Name My Surround PC
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K @ 4.2 GHz (1.15 V)
Motherboard ASRock Z87 Extreme6
Cooling Swiftech MCP35X / XSPC Rasa CPU / Swiftech MCW82 / Koolance HX-1320 w/ 8 Scythe Fans
Memory 16GB (2 x 8 GB) Mushkin Blackline DDR3-2400 CL11-13-13-31
Video Card(s) MSI Nvidia GeForce GTX 980 Ti Armor 2X
Storage Samsung SSD 850 Pro 256GB, 2 x 4TB HGST NAS HDD in RAID 1
Display(s) 3 x Acer K272HUL 27" in Surround 7860x1440
Case NZXT Source 530
Audio Device(s) Integrated ALC1150 + Logitech Z-5500 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1250 1.25kW
Mouse Gigabyte Aivia Krypton
Keyboard Logitech G15
Software Windows 8.1 Pro x64
#12
The limited connectivity of your home theater in a box receiver really limits your options. I looked up your specific motherboard, and it does not support Dolby Digital Live or DTS Connect.

This leaves three options for 5.1 audio:

1.) You buy a coaxial output bracket for your motherboard (~$10) (eBay link). This would give you 2 channels all the time and 5.1 channels only when watching films with Dolby Digital or DTS soundtracks.

2.) You buy a sound card with Dolby Digital Live/ DTS Connect support. (~$80) (Newegg example). With this, you would get 5.1 sound all the time, but it would be compressed audio so it would be lower quality than if you used native analog outputs. Still, you don't have a very good receiver, so the audio quality difference compared to the uncompressed analog outputs would be minuscule.

3.) You buy a new A/V receiver. (~$200). You get high-quality 5.1 sound all the time, and your speakers will probably sound better than your current setup for all audio sources like your TV. This is a good option, but it is expensive.

I can help you with whatever decision you make. I hope this helps.
 
Joined
Jan 23, 2012
Messages
73 (0.03/day)
Likes
10
Location
Paradise City
#13
1.) I may get one till i have the money to buy something else, for the movies surround. If i do so, how do i connect it to the console to give me 5.1 sound?

2.) right now i have a rca connected to the console (aux in) which ends to 3.5 mini jack connected to the jack port on my pc. will the sound quality be much different if i get the sound card? also how do i connect the speakers there? it looks like it has jack ports but the cable is the one stated above..

3.) i'm thinking of getting this but once again: how do i connect it to my pc?
found this one on an auction style website in my country, is it good enough?
 
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
3,416 (1.23/day)
Likes
1,049
System Name My baby
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @ 3.5GHz, 1.45v, NB @ 2700Mhz, HT @ 2700Mhz - 24hr prime95 stable
Motherboard Asus M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Sonic Tower Rev 2 with 120mm Akasa attached, Akasa @ Front, Xilence Red Wing 120mm @ Rear
Memory 16 GB G.Skills 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI ASUS Crossfire 5850
Storage Samsung 1Tb EcoGreen hard drive
Display(s) Hanngs-G 19"
Case Antec VSK 2000 Black Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Onkyo TX-SR309 Receiver, 2x Kef Cresta 1, 1x Kef Center 20c
Power Supply OCZ StealthXstream II 600w, 4x12v/18A, 80% efficiency.
Software Windows Vista X64
#14
1.) I may get one till i have the money to buy something else, for the movies surround. If i do so, how do i connect it to the console to give me 5.1 sound?

2.) right now i have a rca connected to the console (aux in) which ends to 3.5 mini jack connected to the jack port on my pc. will the sound quality be much different if i get the sound card? also how do i connect the speakers there? it looks like it has jack ports but the cable is the one stated above..

3.) i'm thinking of getting this but once again: how do i connect it to my pc?
found this one on an auction style website in my country, is it good enough?
It's borderline OK, bread and butter.

You'll connect it to your PC or console using digital coaxial or fibre optical output.
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2010
Messages
1,484 (0.58/day)
Likes
544
System Name My Surround PC
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K @ 4.2 GHz (1.15 V)
Motherboard ASRock Z87 Extreme6
Cooling Swiftech MCP35X / XSPC Rasa CPU / Swiftech MCW82 / Koolance HX-1320 w/ 8 Scythe Fans
Memory 16GB (2 x 8 GB) Mushkin Blackline DDR3-2400 CL11-13-13-31
Video Card(s) MSI Nvidia GeForce GTX 980 Ti Armor 2X
Storage Samsung SSD 850 Pro 256GB, 2 x 4TB HGST NAS HDD in RAID 1
Display(s) 3 x Acer K272HUL 27" in Surround 7860x1440
Case NZXT Source 530
Audio Device(s) Integrated ALC1150 + Logitech Z-5500 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1250 1.25kW
Mouse Gigabyte Aivia Krypton
Keyboard Logitech G15
Software Windows 8.1 Pro x64
#15
That receiver will suit your needs well and allow you to use 5.1 all the time. If you were to go the route of buying the receiver, then you would need to get three RCA to 3.5mm cables like these. Then, you would just connect the six RCA plugs to the DVD multichannel inputs on the receiver and the three analog 3.5mm jacks to your computer.

Considering the receiver is about the same price as a sound card, I would not recommend the sound card.

If you want the least expensive first option and keep your current receiver, buy that bracket and you need just one RCA cable. Connect one end of the RCA cable to the bracket and the other end to the "CDR Digital In" input.
 
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
3,416 (1.23/day)
Likes
1,049
System Name My baby
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @ 3.5GHz, 1.45v, NB @ 2700Mhz, HT @ 2700Mhz - 24hr prime95 stable
Motherboard Asus M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Sonic Tower Rev 2 with 120mm Akasa attached, Akasa @ Front, Xilence Red Wing 120mm @ Rear
Memory 16 GB G.Skills 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI ASUS Crossfire 5850
Storage Samsung 1Tb EcoGreen hard drive
Display(s) Hanngs-G 19"
Case Antec VSK 2000 Black Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Onkyo TX-SR309 Receiver, 2x Kef Cresta 1, 1x Kef Center 20c
Power Supply OCZ StealthXstream II 600w, 4x12v/18A, 80% efficiency.
Software Windows Vista X64
#16
^ I'd recommend not using RCA. Use digital outputs and utilise the ability to decode Dolby Digital or DTS 5.1 from the AV receiver whilst in DVD playback.
 
Joined
Dec 16, 2010
Messages
1,484 (0.58/day)
Likes
544
System Name My Surround PC
Processor Intel Core i7 4770K @ 4.2 GHz (1.15 V)
Motherboard ASRock Z87 Extreme6
Cooling Swiftech MCP35X / XSPC Rasa CPU / Swiftech MCW82 / Koolance HX-1320 w/ 8 Scythe Fans
Memory 16GB (2 x 8 GB) Mushkin Blackline DDR3-2400 CL11-13-13-31
Video Card(s) MSI Nvidia GeForce GTX 980 Ti Armor 2X
Storage Samsung SSD 850 Pro 256GB, 2 x 4TB HGST NAS HDD in RAID 1
Display(s) 3 x Acer K272HUL 27" in Surround 7860x1440
Case NZXT Source 530
Audio Device(s) Integrated ALC1150 + Logitech Z-5500 5.1
Power Supply Seasonic X-1250 1.25kW
Mouse Gigabyte Aivia Krypton
Keyboard Logitech G15
Software Windows 8.1 Pro x64
#17
I agree, but if he wants to play games and use surround sound without DD/DTS encoded sound, the RCA outputs are the only way to go (other than HDMI, of course, which adds cost).
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,031 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,633
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#18
What exactly did you buy?