1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Connecting Laptop to the Internet, No connection

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by akhlaq768, Oct 23, 2007.

  1. akhlaq768 New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Trying to connect to the Internet using my Laptop. (not via the wireless router, but through the Ethernet cable)

    My existing PC is connected to the Internet via an Ethernet cable, which is connected to the Broadband Modem (Virgin).

    What I have tried to do, is take the Ethernet cable from my PC and connect it to the Laptop... Unfortunately, the Laptop isnt connecting to the Internet...

    I have tried repairing the Network, with no success.

    I am using the same cable, which was connected to the PC...

    I do get error messages, when I click on repair in the Network Connection Tab. Its says it cannot assign an IP address.

    I am Using Windows XP Home Edition.

    I've tried using the Ping via cmd ping localhost or 127.0.0.1

    I get the following results -

    Packets: Sent = 4, Recieved = 4, Lost = 0(0%0)

    Also done the following -

    1. Start Internet Explorer.
    2. Click the Tools menu, and then click Internet Options.
    3. Click the Connections tab.
    4. Under Dial-up and VPN Settings, click the broadband connection, click Settings, and then click Automatically detect settings.
    5. Click OK.


    ..... with no luck

    What do I do guys?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  2. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,546 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,384
    Could be that your router is in bridge mode instead of router mode, that way it most likely supports only 1 client.

    Pinging yourself always works, if not you have a serious issue. I assume your router gives you an IP via DHCP? If so check if you're getting an IP on your laptop.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  3. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (3.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,632
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Make sure that the laptop is set to get IP and DNS automatically and that it does not have a different static IP/DNS (that is, if your modem is acting as a DHCP server).
     
  4. akhlaq768 New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'm not using a router... just a normal broadband modem....

    How do I check if im getting an IP on my laptop..

    Many thanks
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  5. akhlaq768 New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    It is set to get IP and DNS automatically
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  6. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    11,950 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,351
    Go to start, run... and type cmd, then press enter. That opens up a command window. Type "ipconfig /all" (without the quotes) and it should list all the enabled network interfaces and there stats, including the IP address.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  7. akhlaq768 New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    just done that... this is what I get

    Host Name: Akhlaq
    Primary DNS suffix:
    Node Type: Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled: No
    WINS Proxy Enabled: No

    Ethernet Adapter Local Area Connections

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix:
    Description: SiS 900 PCI Fast Ethernet Adapter
    DHCP Enabled: YES
    Autoconfiguration Enabled: Yes
    IP Address: 0.0.0.0
    Subnet Mask: 0.0.0.0
    Default Gateway:
    DHCP Server: 255.255.255.255
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  8. Kreij

    Kreij Senior Monkey Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2007
    Messages:
    13,881 (3.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,632
    Location:
    Cheeseland (Wisconsin, USA)
    Your not getting info from the modem, or there is something wrong with the laptop's LAN card.

    Check the computer that works for settings and configure the laptop to be identical and see if it works. That should tell you if the laptop is malfunctioning.
     
  9. akhlaq768 New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I thought of that the other day... enter the same detail into the laptop... but no luck mate...

    this laptop was connected to the internet via the wireless router... but the router died on me.. now im using the cable...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  10. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    11,950 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,351
    Is the card disabled in Network Connections?
     
    10 Year Member at TPU Crunching for Team TPU
  11. akhlaq768 New Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    9 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    My Ethernet Card is enabled...

    and everything else disabled...
     
    10 Year Member at TPU
  12. DanTheBanjoman Señor Moderator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2004
    Messages:
    10,546 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,384
    You are using a router, your home network is connected to your ISP's via a router, which doubles as modem.
    Though the name of the device isn't really relevant. Open the command prompt and type ipconfig, you should get some number in the 192.168.x.x or 10.0.0.x range. if you get 169.something you didn't get an IP.
     
    10 Year Member at TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)