• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Connecting my PC to a receiver for 5.1 sound.

Joined
Mar 30, 2011
Messages
765 (0.31/day)
Likes
160
Location
Pocomoke, MD
System Name Good Enough
Processor Intel G3258 @ 3.8ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H81M-H
Cooling Stock
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws 8gb
Video Card(s) MSI 650 ti Boost
Storage Crucial MX100 128gb SSD
Display(s) ASUS VN248
Case Coolermaster Ammo 533
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC887
Power Supply Antec BP550
Mouse G502
Keyboard Sidewinder x4
Software Windows 7
#1
I sold my Z-5500's months ago and seeing a great deal on some speakers I decided to buy them.



2 pioneer rear satellites and a pioneer center for $15 :)

Now I'm in the market for a receiver but I'm unsure of what inputs I'm looking for to have 5.1.

My sound card is this

.

With the logitech system I just used the cable provided.

From what I've been able to gather so far is that I would need 3



and a receiver with 6 inputs.

Is this right and if so are there any other options?
 

Mussels

Moderprator
Staff member
Joined
Oct 6, 2004
Messages
46,114 (9.57/day)
Likes
13,542
Location
Australalalalalaia.
System Name Daddy Long Legs
Processor Ryzen R7 1700, 3.9GHz 1.375v
Motherboard MSI X370 Gaming PRO carbon
Cooling Fractal Celsius S24 (Silent fans, meh pump)
Memory 16GB 2133 generic @ 2800
Video Card(s) MSI GTX 1080 Gaming X (BIOS modded to Gaming Z - faster and solved black screen bugs!)
Storage 1TB Intel SSD Pro 6000p (60TB USB3 storage)
Display(s) Samsung 4K 40" HDTV (UA40KU6000WXXY) / 27" Qnix 2K 110Hz
Case Fractal Design R5. So much room, so quiet...
Audio Device(s) Pioneer VSX-519V + Yamaha YHT-270 / sennheiser HD595/518 + bob marley zion's
Power Supply Corsair HX 750i (Platinum, fan off til 300W)
Mouse Logitech G403 + KKmoon desk-sized mousepad
Keyboard Corsair K65 Rapidfire
Software Windows 10 pro x64 (all systems)
Benchmark Scores Laptops: i7-4510U + 840M 2GB (touchscreen) 275GB SSD + 16GB i7-2630QM + GT 540M + 8GB
#2
I sold my Z-5500's months ago and seeing a great deal on some speakers I decided to buy them.

https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/...vPkXP6gcCZ2b1qZARfasIwuy-RYnLGd4u1_qiWtObyoPH

2 pioneer rear satellites and a pioneer center for $15 :)

Now I'm in the market for a receiver but I'm unsure of what inputs I'm looking for to have 5.1.

My sound card is this

http://images10.newegg.com/NeweggImage/ProductImageCompressAll300/29-102-003-05.jpg.

With the logitech system I just used the cable provided.

From what I've been able to gather so far is that I would need 3

http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/11H7OY65hVL.jpg

and a receiver with 6 inputs.

Is this right and if so are there any other options?
if you have analogue outputs, thats it. you need an input per channel.


if your card does digital and supports DD live encoding (or DTS connect), then get a receiver that supports those.
 
Joined
Jan 17, 2010
Messages
10,031 (3.47/day)
Likes
6,633
Location
Oregon
System Name Delta // Alpha-HTPC
Processor Intel i7 6700K // Intel i5 4570
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z270X-Gaming K7 // Gigabyte H97M -D3H
Cooling Corsair H80i V2 // Silverstone NT-06 Pro
Memory Corsair DDR4 3000 32gb //G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB 1600
Video Card(s) EVGA GTX980ti// EVGA GTX 1050ti
Storage Samsung 950 Pro 512, 2 Tb FireCuda// Samsung 850 Pro, 1 X 4 Tb HGST, 1 x 6Tb Toshiba
Display(s) ASUS PB278Q 27" 1440X 2560 // 50" Samsung Plasma 720p
Case Corsair Obsidian Series 550D // Silverstone Granada GD05
Audio Device(s) ASUS Xonar DGX // HDMI to Yamaha RX V571
Power Supply Corsair TX850M // SeaSonic G Series 550w
Mouse Logitech G502
Keyboard Corsair K70
Software Windows 10 64bit // Windows 7 64bit with Kodi
#3
If your buying a receiver just use HDMI if you can
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2011
Messages
765 (0.31/day)
Likes
160
Location
Pocomoke, MD
System Name Good Enough
Processor Intel G3258 @ 3.8ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H81M-H
Cooling Stock
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws 8gb
Video Card(s) MSI 650 ti Boost
Storage Crucial MX100 128gb SSD
Display(s) ASUS VN248
Case Coolermaster Ammo 533
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC887
Power Supply Antec BP550
Mouse G502
Keyboard Sidewinder x4
Software Windows 7
#4
I'd prefer not to have to buy a new sound card but I've yet to find an amp with 5.1 analog or just 5 minus a sub since I don't have one, unless someone can suggest one. About HDMI, my video card has that but how would I go about doing that? Cable from video card into receiver then out to the monitor?
 

tayga

New Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2011
Messages
12 (0.01/day)
Likes
3
#5
im using the home theater. my sound goes through my video card to the a/v receiver via HDMI. once you boot your computer up via HDMI right click on the speakers icon in the taskbar and open playback devices then it should say your tv name or receiver at the bottom click on configure and the rest is easy. the sound card you got will not do 5.1 (sorda) but you will need a reciver that dose seprate analog 5.1 since you gonna mostly see (video L & R). make sure the reciver has optical if you can't use your analog setup and i would recommend sound blaster x-fi titanium. you can do 7.1 analog or optical but you got the download the dolby digital/DTS packs to do 5.1 optical or you will just get stereo. i think it's cheaper to go optical or HDMI for analog the receiver gotta have this
https://encrypted-tbn1.gstatic.com/...8SpFO3UEoprlCGzSV_SzAgI9h5PeWNkWQ47Q10DlxjtqQ
so it's better to run less wires and HDMI audio is as good as optical just with HDMI you get video audio and 3D depending on cable version but most of then have v1.4 and HDMI can do all the decoding for you just use LAV audio or ffdshow audio decoder to use dolby digital-HD or DTS-HD if the receiver can't decode it you will see MPCM witch is fine
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HDMI
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2011
Messages
765 (0.31/day)
Likes
160
Location
Pocomoke, MD
System Name Good Enough
Processor Intel G3258 @ 3.8ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H81M-H
Cooling Stock
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws 8gb
Video Card(s) MSI 650 ti Boost
Storage Crucial MX100 128gb SSD
Display(s) ASUS VN248
Case Coolermaster Ammo 533
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC887
Power Supply Antec BP550
Mouse G502
Keyboard Sidewinder x4
Software Windows 7
#7
Well I opened the playback devices window and under my current choice (Speakers, SB Audigy, Default Device) there's (Digital Audio Interface, SB Audigy, Ready). So, this card outputs digital? I'm really dumb when it comes to sound.
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2011
Messages
765 (0.31/day)
Likes
160
Location
Pocomoke, MD
System Name Good Enough
Processor Intel G3258 @ 3.8ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H81M-H
Cooling Stock
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws 8gb
Video Card(s) MSI 650 ti Boost
Storage Crucial MX100 128gb SSD
Display(s) ASUS VN248
Case Coolermaster Ammo 533
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC887
Power Supply Antec BP550
Mouse G502
Keyboard Sidewinder x4
Software Windows 7
#8
Here's a picture, don't know how to add to previous post. Also, I'm guessing this would only be 2 channels anyway.
 

Attachments

Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
3,416 (1.23/day)
Likes
1,049
System Name My baby
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @ 3.5GHz, 1.45v, NB @ 2700Mhz, HT @ 2700Mhz - 24hr prime95 stable
Motherboard Asus M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Sonic Tower Rev 2 with 120mm Akasa attached, Akasa @ Front, Xilence Red Wing 120mm @ Rear
Memory 16 GB G.Skills 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI ASUS Crossfire 5850
Storage Samsung 1Tb EcoGreen hard drive
Display(s) Hanngs-G 19"
Case Antec VSK 2000 Black Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Onkyo TX-SR309 Receiver, 2x Kef Cresta 1, 1x Kef Center 20c
Power Supply OCZ StealthXstream II 600w, 4x12v/18A, 80% efficiency.
Software Windows Vista X64
#9
I sold my Z-5500's months ago and seeing a great deal on some speakers I decided to buy them.

https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/...vPkXP6gcCZ2b1qZARfasIwuy-RYnLGd4u1_qiWtObyoPH

2 pioneer rear satellites and a pioneer center for $15 :)

Now I'm in the market for a receiver but I'm unsure of what inputs I'm looking for to have 5.1.

My sound card is this

http://images10.newegg.com/NeweggImage/ProductImageCompressAll300/29-102-003-05.jpg.

With the logitech system I just used the cable provided.

From what I've been able to gather so far is that I would need 3

http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/11H7OY65hVL.jpg

and a receiver with 6 inputs.

Is this right and if so are there any other options?
Throw away the soundcard as it doesn't have digital connections. Your video card has HDMI output so you're better off using that. Most modern receivers will support HDMI too.
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2011
Messages
765 (0.31/day)
Likes
160
Location
Pocomoke, MD
System Name Good Enough
Processor Intel G3258 @ 3.8ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H81M-H
Cooling Stock
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws 8gb
Video Card(s) MSI 650 ti Boost
Storage Crucial MX100 128gb SSD
Display(s) ASUS VN248
Case Coolermaster Ammo 533
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC887
Power Supply Antec BP550
Mouse G502
Keyboard Sidewinder x4
Software Windows 7
#10
Last edited:

tayga

New Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2011
Messages
12 (0.01/day)
Likes
3
#11
Well I opened the playback devices window and under my current choice (Speakers, SB Audigy, Default Device) there's (Digital Audio Interface, SB Audigy, Ready). So, this card outputs digital? I'm really dumb when it comes to sound.
from the picture i saw no, optical or HDMI do digital and ya it's complicated when you look into the details of hardware well if you doing analog you would use speakers to do the 5.1 did you get the sound card drivers from the source site because it will give you a control panel to do the surround setup
 

tayga

New Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2011
Messages
12 (0.01/day)
Likes
3
#12
Here's a picture, don't know how to add to previous post. Also, I'm guessing this would only be 2 channels anyway.
oh the black out put seays digital so it's probably digital to analog conversion witch is fine because you can do 24-bit/192Khz well the sound card is digital but it's going through an analog wire and it's only show left and right and your looking at Yamaha i got RX-1700 ($1000+) but it's outdated if your going new. if you can use all 3 plugs in your sound card (blue is line-in for recording or mic unless that pink/orange one is mic only) then you should be able to pick a surround setup.
my sound card
http://s11.postimg.org/g2frn9uoj/sound_card.jpg
if your "speakers" only show L R then you can't do surround on your sound card but your AMD video card can easly do it just buy a cheap HDMI cable don't go expensive it's a rip off. from a store/supermarket it will run you $30 or order from a site for less
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2011
Messages
765 (0.31/day)
Likes
160
Location
Pocomoke, MD
System Name Good Enough
Processor Intel G3258 @ 3.8ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H81M-H
Cooling Stock
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws 8gb
Video Card(s) MSI 650 ti Boost
Storage Crucial MX100 128gb SSD
Display(s) ASUS VN248
Case Coolermaster Ammo 533
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC887
Power Supply Antec BP550
Mouse G502
Keyboard Sidewinder x4
Software Windows 7
#13
Yeah, it's either an analog receiver, most likely old, from CL which would be ideal, or a couple HDMI cables and a receiver with that. Thanks for the help.
 
Joined
May 18, 2010
Messages
3,416 (1.23/day)
Likes
1,049
System Name My baby
Processor Athlon II X4 620 @ 3.5GHz, 1.45v, NB @ 2700Mhz, HT @ 2700Mhz - 24hr prime95 stable
Motherboard Asus M4A785TD-V EVO
Cooling Sonic Tower Rev 2 with 120mm Akasa attached, Akasa @ Front, Xilence Red Wing 120mm @ Rear
Memory 16 GB G.Skills 1600Mhz
Video Card(s) ATI ASUS Crossfire 5850
Storage Samsung 1Tb EcoGreen hard drive
Display(s) Hanngs-G 19"
Case Antec VSK 2000 Black Tower Case
Audio Device(s) Onkyo TX-SR309 Receiver, 2x Kef Cresta 1, 1x Kef Center 20c
Power Supply OCZ StealthXstream II 600w, 4x12v/18A, 80% efficiency.
Software Windows Vista X64
#14
Yeah, I probably am. I guess I'll have to see what kinda receiver I can find on CL.

I found this page http://support.creative.com/kb/ShowArticle.aspx?sid=96220

Okay, nevermind, found out. It's stereo :(
The diagram it shows digital coaxial but it requires some sort of converter from 3m analogue to digital so I'm not sure it'll be able to correctly do pass-through. This soundcard goes back to when Creative used to do false advertising, they would advertise a card as SPDIF ready when infarct it wasn't and then they'll suggest a converter which meant Dolby Digital pass-through wouldn't work as intended.


But in all honesty I'd rather use the video cards HDMI output as the SB doesn't hold any benefit feature wise to merit keeping it. Also HDMI will allow for pass-through for the newer HD standards such as Dolby Digital True HD and DTS Masters which are found on certain bluray discs.
 
Last edited:

tayga

New Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2011
Messages
12 (0.01/day)
Likes
3
#15
hey i just thought it over (doh) since your going for a receiver make shure it has HDMI (most do). for the monitor it's optional (only DVI/AVG) fuck the 5.1 analog stuff. iv only saw that stuff at a computer store and it's better to run one wire than a bunch. and the audio through HDMI is great unless the AMD HDMI drivers are fucking up. it comes with the video card drivers and it's strangely also on realtek.com.tw
some video card can have micro HDMI or non at all but AMD grabed the HDMI before nvidia did for the HDMI cord. i got nvidia 460 had 9600GT. (9600GT has s/pdif but it required a cord that plugs into the video card like thos pointy pins at the bottom of the mobo) stupid windows update installed a older version over the new drivers for HDMI audio
 

tayga

New Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2011
Messages
12 (0.01/day)
Likes
3
#16
http://www.svp-team.com/ takes 24fps videos and turns it into 60fps it's great but you need a high end CPU to get the job done and a average video card. uses openCL. running AMD phenom II x4 965 3.4GHz. make shure your power profile is in high performance so it can detect best profile SVP will use. but if i go on this will lead to questions and i'll just end up doing a video tutorial.

fyi if new HDMI audio drivers get installed the settings go back to default like stereo & full-range speakers off

XD omg i was wounder why he was saying CL for creative labs. they don't sell receivers just sound cards and surround devices etc.. just stick with HDMI if you wants the speaker channels going to the correct ones then doing a virtual surround

find a receiver that dose the YPAO Reflected Sound Control (R.S.C.) sound optimization for automatic speaker setup. some sound cards can do it to "room correction"
 
Last edited:

Aquinus

Resident Wat-man
Joined
Jan 28, 2012
Messages
10,401 (4.84/day)
Likes
5,481
Location
Concord, NH
System Name Kratos
Processor Intel Core i7 3930k @ 4.2Ghz
Motherboard ASUS P9X79 Deluxe
Cooling Zalman CPNS9900MAX 130mm
Memory G.Skill DDR3-2133, 16gb (4x4gb) @ 9-11-10-28-108-1T 1.65v
Video Card(s) MSI AMD Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB @ PCI-E 3.0
Storage 2x120Gb SATA3 Corsair Force GT Raid-0, 4x1Tb RAID-5, 1x500GB
Display(s) 1x LG 27UD69P (4k), 2x Dell S2340M (1080p)
Case Antec 1200
Audio Device(s) Onboard Realtek® ALC898 8-Channel High Definition Audio
Power Supply Seasonic 1000-watt 80 PLUS Platinum
Mouse Logitech G602
Keyboard Rosewill RK-9100
Software Ubuntu 17.10
Benchmark Scores Benchmarks aren't everything.
#17
People, lets not overcomplicate something that should be simple.

Your best bet would be to go with a receiver with optical audio on it if you haven't invested in the receiver yet, unless you really need the receiver switching HDMI for you. You don't need an expensive audio card for digital output, but you would need a new one. Something like this: ASUS Xonar DGX Gaming Audio Card - Newegg.com

If the receiver is dedicated to the computer HDMI will be the better option if you have HDMI handy, which is appears that you do from your screenshot.

Pick one, simple, method. Don't go putting anything between the computer and the receiver.
Edit: Even more so when he hasn't purchased the receiver yet. In that case HDMI is a winner if it is to be dedicated to the computer.
 

tayga

New Member
Joined
Jun 3, 2011
Messages
12 (0.01/day)
Likes
3
#18
anyways if you need help getting the decoding to work or if you don't care about dolby/dts just make shure you open your high definition audio properties click on advance tab and put the default format at it's highest because it converts it. it's not gonna sound better it's just output at that quality. anyways gotta sleep. gotta pick up BDPS5100 because of DSD output and i got pink Floyd dark side of the moon on SACD gonna sound dope on this
http://www.paradigm.com/products/pr...rstanding/paradigm/monitor-series-7/monitor-9
center 1, surround 1 and
http://www.paradigm.com/products/products-by-category/subwoofer/paradigm/dsp-series/dsp-3100
bass is bloddy smooth and i can feel it through the couch.
gonna get a new a/v receiver soon so i can do 7.2 or so. yes i still have my old sub woofer energy 10" smaller it is the tighter it sound and has a better kick
 
Joined
Mar 30, 2011
Messages
765 (0.31/day)
Likes
160
Location
Pocomoke, MD
System Name Good Enough
Processor Intel G3258 @ 3.8ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-H81M-H
Cooling Stock
Memory G.Skill Ripjaws 8gb
Video Card(s) MSI 650 ti Boost
Storage Crucial MX100 128gb SSD
Display(s) ASUS VN248
Case Coolermaster Ammo 533
Audio Device(s) Realtek ALC887
Power Supply Antec BP550
Mouse G502
Keyboard Sidewinder x4
Software Windows 7
#19