• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Constant BSOD

Joined
Sep 9, 2006
Messages
994 (0.24/day)
Likes
28
Location
SoCal
Processor Intel C2D E6420 (3.2 gHz @ 1.365v)
Motherboard Gigabyte 965P-DS3
Cooling Zalman CNPS9500 LED
Memory 4 x 512mb Corsair XMS2 DDR2 667
Video Card(s) Visiontek HD 4870 512mb
Storage 200gb Maxtor SATA, 400gb WD SATA
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2 ZS
Software Windows XP Pro SP2
#1
If this is in the wrong subforum, please feel free to move it :)

I'm posting here because I have no idea what's going on with my friend's computer. I built it for him and it ran flawlessly until he called me a few days later saying that it was constantly BSOD'ing. I went over and I managed to write down the error code (BAD_POOL_CALLER). I've ran Orthos for a few hours without any problems (nothing is overclocked here), and I even went as far as to reformat for him. I'm about to run Memtest, but I was wondering if there was anything else I could do or check for him?

And just extra info but the BSODs occur at any time... it can BSOD on the desktop, while he's trying to play CS:S, or just when he's browsing the web. Any ideas/suggestions are welcome... thanks in advance!

Specs are as follows:
AMD Athlon X2 5000+ BE (stock speeds)
Gigabyte GA- M57SLI-S4 Skt. AM2
A-DATA DDR2 800 2x1gb (stock)
MSI 8500GT
Western Digital 160gb SATA
Idle temps 23-24C, load temps 43C with an AC Freezer 64.

If I'm missing anything important let me know. Again, it has passed Orthos for at least 4 hours, and I've yet to run Memtest on this.
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2008
Messages
28 (0.01/day)
Likes
9
System Name The toaster oven
Processor Core 2 Duo e4300
Motherboard Gigabyte P965-DS3 Rev. 1.1
Cooling Tuniq Tower
Memory 2 x 1gb G.Skill DDR2 800
Video Card(s) PNY 256mb 6600gt
Storage 160gb, 300gb
Display(s) Hanns-G 19" HW191D
Case Coolermaster Centurion 5
Audio Device(s) TBA
Power Supply Antec TruePower 430w
Software Windows Vista Home Premium
#2
That BSOD comes up with a lot of problems. Could you manage to get the exact error code?

Ex. 000xE000 something or other.
 
Joined
Oct 7, 2007
Messages
15,006 (4.03/day)
Likes
2,940
Location
In a library somewhere on this earth
System Name Haru
Processor i7 3770k @ 4.5ghz
Motherboard Biostar Tz77xme4
Cooling Koolance C370si loop
Memory 8gb G. Skill Trident X 2400mhz at 10-11-11-28
Video Card(s) XFX Double D 7950 / Zotac 620 for physx
Storage Samsung 830 128gb (os)Muskin Chronos 120gb, Pyro 120gb
Display(s) Viewsonic VX2450WM-LED 24" & Hanns G 28"
Case Cooler Master Cosmos II
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-fi Forte 7.1 Opamp modded
Power Supply Silverstone Strider Plus 1000w pp05 cables
Software Win7 Pro64
Benchmark Scores i5 750 4.62ghz pi runs // Evga FTW p55
#3
If its something to do with counterstrike and also browsing the web, then it could be the video card it self... any way to swap out and see?? also whats the psu? Could also be the fact the Psu isn't giving enough power to the video card.
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2006
Messages
994 (0.24/day)
Likes
28
Location
SoCal
Processor Intel C2D E6420 (3.2 gHz @ 1.365v)
Motherboard Gigabyte 965P-DS3
Cooling Zalman CNPS9500 LED
Memory 4 x 512mb Corsair XMS2 DDR2 667
Video Card(s) Visiontek HD 4870 512mb
Storage 200gb Maxtor SATA, 400gb WD SATA
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2 ZS
Software Windows XP Pro SP2
#4
The error code is 0x000000C2 (0x00000040, 0x00000000, 0x80000000, 0x00000000)

Power supply is a Raidmax 450w... even for a no-name brand I think that should be plenty for just a 8500GT... :\
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2008
Messages
28 (0.01/day)
Likes
9
System Name The toaster oven
Processor Core 2 Duo e4300
Motherboard Gigabyte P965-DS3 Rev. 1.1
Cooling Tuniq Tower
Memory 2 x 1gb G.Skill DDR2 800
Video Card(s) PNY 256mb 6600gt
Storage 160gb, 300gb
Display(s) Hanns-G 19" HW191D
Case Coolermaster Centurion 5
Audio Device(s) TBA
Power Supply Antec TruePower 430w
Software Windows Vista Home Premium
#5
Google results say something about IomegaWare having conflicting drivers (That's from the microsoft website). Does he have anything of that sort on there?

I also had this error once on a laptop and it was the ram. Definitely do the memtest.
 
Joined
Sep 9, 2006
Messages
994 (0.24/day)
Likes
28
Location
SoCal
Processor Intel C2D E6420 (3.2 gHz @ 1.365v)
Motherboard Gigabyte 965P-DS3
Cooling Zalman CNPS9500 LED
Memory 4 x 512mb Corsair XMS2 DDR2 667
Video Card(s) Visiontek HD 4870 512mb
Storage 200gb Maxtor SATA, 400gb WD SATA
Audio Device(s) Audigy 2 ZS
Software Windows XP Pro SP2
#6
Iomega? Definately not... I'll have to wait until tomorrow so I can get him Memtest... thanks for all the answers so far :)
 

Nitro-Max

New Member
Joined
Sep 9, 2006
Messages
2,476 (0.60/day)
Likes
232
Location
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom.{East Anglian Coast
System Name Hells Core.
Processor Q6600 Go @ 3.6ghz 24/7 1.360v stable.
Motherboard Asus Rampage Formula.
Cooling Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro (lapped). 1x120mm Akasa fan 2x80mm akasa fans (variable speeds)
Memory OCZ Reaper HPC 4GB 2x2 gigs pc2-6400 latency 6-6-6-15 @1100mhz. D9,s
Video Card(s) 2 x HIS HD5870's Crossfire
Storage WD Caviar SE 160GB 7200RPM SATAII 8MB Cache / Samsung 7200RPM SATAII 16mb Cache.
Display(s) 22" Benq True LED/HD.
Case Inwin IronClad Gaming case
Audio Device(s) Sound Blaster X-Fi™ XtremeMusic EAX 5.0.2
Power Supply Hiper 880W Type-M Quad sli crossfire certified. 85% Efficiency Rated.
Software Windows 7 Home Premium
Benchmark Scores "3dmark06 23995" Q6600@4.3ghz 3870x2 GPU @900mhz MEM @1000mhz-OS XP. "The Current TPU Champ"
#7
could be a driver issue somwhere?
 
Joined
Mar 9, 2008
Messages
28 (0.01/day)
Likes
9
System Name The toaster oven
Processor Core 2 Duo e4300
Motherboard Gigabyte P965-DS3 Rev. 1.1
Cooling Tuniq Tower
Memory 2 x 1gb G.Skill DDR2 800
Video Card(s) PNY 256mb 6600gt
Storage 160gb, 300gb
Display(s) Hanns-G 19" HW191D
Case Coolermaster Centurion 5
Audio Device(s) TBA
Power Supply Antec TruePower 430w
Software Windows Vista Home Premium
#8
Other websites also say problems with drivers. I would just reinstall all the basic drivers. Chipset, video, and audio.

Also, when did this start happening? I would just boot into safe mode and do a system restore a week back...
 

Wile E

Power User
Joined
Oct 1, 2006
Messages
24,318 (5.94/day)
Likes
3,682
System Name The ClusterF**k
Processor 980X @ 4Ghz
Motherboard Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD5 BIOS F12
Cooling MCR-320, DDC-1 pump w/Bitspower res top (1/2" fittings), Koolance CPU-360
Memory 3x2GB Mushkin Redlines 1600Mhz 6-8-6-24 1T
Video Card(s) Evga GTX 580
Storage Corsair Neutron GTX 240GB, 2xSeagate 320GB RAID0; 2xSeagate 3TB; 2xSamsung 2TB; Samsung 1.5TB
Display(s) HP LP2475w 24" 1920x1200 IPS
Case Technofront Bench Station
Audio Device(s) Auzentech X-Fi Forte into Onkyo SR606 and Polk TSi200's + RM6750
Power Supply ENERMAX Galaxy EVO EGX1250EWT 1250W
Software Win7 Ultimate N x64, OSX 10.8.4
#9
Bad Pool Caller has always been caused by ram for me. Tho there are other causes.