• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Convert GPT to MBR

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,908 (3.43/day)
Likes
5,425
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#1
j0 all.

I bought an external hard drive to my sister, filled it and sent it to her (she lives like 1200km from me), she gets it, can't use it. I start to dig, and finds out it uses GPT instead of MBR and that Windows XP (which she uses) can't read that. Annoyance. She sends it back (because none of the people she knows down there has 500GB spare backup space :p) so I can set things straight.

However, if you want to convert a disk to MBR the disk can't have any partitions. But the disk looks like (see below). What's that about? I know EFI is some Mac something (or intel something or something sumthin'). The Convert to MBR option is greyed out.

Can I use another tool for that? What do I do?

Thanks for looking!

/Frick



Disk2 is the external drive. It's a Seagate something.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 10, 2008
Messages
3,471 (1.02/day)
Likes
655
System Name Acer Aspire V3-771G-53218G75Maii
Processor Core i5 3210M (2,5-3,1Ghz)
Memory 8GB DDR3 SODIMM
Video Card(s) Geforce GT650M
Storage Samsung 830 256GB - 750GB Toshiba drive
Software Windows 7 x64 Home Premium (non-acer-bloatware)
#2
You don't happen to dual-boot MacOS on that PC? What kind of external disk is it?

EDIT: I see you have a laptop with XP. Try it on there?
 
Joined
Jan 14, 2009
Messages
2,628 (0.80/day)
Likes
521
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name MRCOMP!
Processor Amd 1090T @ 4200 mhz
Motherboard Gigabyte 890FX UD5
Cooling CNPS Extreme
Memory 32GB OCZ Reapers 1600mhz 6-8-6-24 1.65v
Video Card(s) GTX560 TI 26% overclock
Storage 60GB OCZ vertex 3, 2x1TB Raid 0 2x 640GB Raid 0
Display(s) 30" LG lcd
Case No Case... just sitting on cardboard :D
Audio Device(s) Nvida HDMI - Sony MU TE KE 7.2 1695Rms
Power Supply Silverstone 700watts.
#3
if you cant do it using Disk Manager, Try DISKPART in command prompt.

otherwise you will need to find a 3rd party format/paritition program, google around for one.



the only way to go from GPT to MBR is to remove all volumes / parititions from the drive.





EDIT, im farily certain that only XP PRO can read GPT drives, HOME edition cant.
Vista premium and Win 7 can both read GPT drives i think.... i know for sure that the ultimate editions can.
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,908 (3.43/day)
Likes
5,425
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#4
Oh I forgot to mention it's Disk2 that's the external one.

No dual boot. Doesn't work on my XP Home machine.

And I don't think the DISKPART will work either, afaik you do the same thing as in DM, but with commands. And well.. the problem is I can't do anything with that EFI partition. :(

No XP Pro at home, but will look around for a friend with it, and hit Google hard.

HUGE EDIT: I feel kinda retarded now. I knew Mac used some different file system, and the box has a huge sticker on it saying: FOR MAC. D'oh! Will still hit Google hard!

In my defense, it was the cheapest 500GB drive they had.. AND I was in a rush. It's this one.
 
Last edited:
Joined
Oct 10, 2008
Messages
3,471 (1.02/day)
Likes
655
System Name Acer Aspire V3-771G-53218G75Maii
Processor Core i5 3210M (2,5-3,1Ghz)
Memory 8GB DDR3 SODIMM
Video Card(s) Geforce GT650M
Storage Samsung 830 256GB - 750GB Toshiba drive
Software Windows 7 x64 Home Premium (non-acer-bloatware)
#5
Oh I forgot to mention it's Disk2 that's the external one.

No dual boot. Doesn't work on my XP Home machine.

And I don't think the DISKPART will work either, afaik you do the same thing as in DM, but with commands. And well.. the problem is I can't do anything with that EFI partition. :(

No XP Pro at home, but will look around for a friend with it, and hit Google hard.
On the XP laptop, when opening Disk Management, do you see this disk at all?
 

Frick

Fishfaced Nincompoop
Joined
Feb 27, 2006
Messages
14,908 (3.43/day)
Likes
5,425
System Name A dancer in your disco of fire
Processor i3 4130 3.4Ghz
Motherboard MSI B85M-E45
Cooling Cooler Master Hyper 212 Evo
Memory 4 x 4GB Crucial Ballistix Sport 1400Mhz
Video Card(s) Asus GTX 760 DCU2OC 2GB
Storage Crucial BX100 120GB | WD Blue 1TB x 2
Display(s) BenQ GL2450HT
Case AeroCool DS Cube White
Power Supply Cooler Master G550M
Mouse Intellimouse Explorer 3.0
Keyboard Dell SK-3205
Software Windows 10 Pro
#6
On the XP laptop, when opening Disk Management, do you see this disk at all?
Yeah, but it says "GPT Protective Partition." If I remember correctly..
 
Joined
Oct 5, 2007
Messages
30 (0.01/day)
Likes
7
Location
Canada
Processor Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 @ 3.5ghz 1.3 volts
Motherboard ASUS P5K Premium
Cooling Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme (Scythe S-FLEX SFF21F)
Memory OCZ Platinum XTC REV.2 DDR800 4-4-4-15 1GBx4 2volts
Video Card(s) Sapphire 4890 OC
Storage WD Black 640GB & Hitachi 2TB drive
Display(s) Samsung SyncMaster 2443BW 24" LCD
Case Compucase 69R5 EATX Case
Audio Device(s) SoundMax ADI® AD1988B
Power Supply OCZ GameXStream 700W PSU
Software Windows 7 x64
#7
Easy fix, if you know diskpart :)


1.Open up command prompt
2. Type “diskpart” and press Enter. You will be presented with a DISKPART prompt.
3. Select the hard disk you wish to clean by using the select disk command. By default, the primary hard disk is classified as hard disk 0. Type in list disk. Find the number of the disk you want. Then type in "select disk x" x= number of the disk you want
4. Type in clean
5. Open up Disk Management, and you will find it has a new disk to initialize, make sure you check mbr this time :)
 
Last edited: