• Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Cooler Master HAF 912 Dual Rad Mount Issues.

Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
1,825 (0.42/day)
Likes
60
System Name Air Cooled Caselabs BH8
Processor Intel Coffee Lake 8700K @ 4.7
Motherboard MSI Gaming M5
Cooling Noctua D15s, 5x 140mm Noctua Chromax, 1x 120mm Noctua Chromax, 2x 80mm Noctua fans
Memory G. Skill Trident Z RGB series 3200mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS STRIX GTX 1080
Storage Samsung EVO 840 250gb SSD, Samung EVO PRO 256gb SSD, 2 TB WD Black Edition HDD.
Display(s) 24" Asus Gaming ROG 144hz
Case Black Caselabs BH8
Power Supply 850w EVGA SuperNOVA G2 Gold PSU with individually sleeved black cables
Mouse Logitech Wireless G403
Keyboard Corsair Mechanical Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 10
#1
Hey guys, yesterday I went through the long process of finding a liquid cooling kit. I ordered it and received it today with overnight shipping (kit was 100$ cheaper NIB through ebay seller). It seems that my dual rad will barely fit inside, making everything cramped and restricting water flow maybe? I have it mounted inside, with a little modding.

My question: Should I mount this bad boy on the top of my case externally, since it has two water cooled holes pre drilled? I looked at all the ways this can be set up, and that is one of them.


Not my pic or kit but a great example of how this looks inside the case (mine is about 1.5" longer).



And this is it externally mounted..




This is a pic of someone elses set up (notice, I have dual 120mm not three). Does my kit come with brackets like that to hold it up in the air? Will I even have to result to this kind of setup?

 
Last edited by a moderator:

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,732 (5.74/day)
Likes
9,518
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H150i PRO RGB
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080ti SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#2
Ok first of, please find the edit button located in the bottom right corner of your posts and learn its nuances. Triple posting is frowned upon;)

Now back to your issues. You have the Drive kit from Swiftech if I am remembering from last night correctly. As long as the barbs are pointed down from the rad and pump, it "should" go up top (assuming there is room for the res and pump to sit comfy using the case mounts for the fans). Also since you have fan grills with that kit, if it is too thick for inside, remove the fans from the rad and sandwich the steel from the top of the case between the fans and the radiator. At least then all you have is the fans on the top of the case with grills to keep pets safe. As I said in the other thread, put in that CD, there are like 24 mounting variations on the CD, so you can see it in rendering before you try one or two of them out.
 
Joined
Oct 27, 2011
Messages
174 (0.08/day)
Likes
54
Location
WI, USA
System Name Mud and Stick
Processor My old squishy brain
Motherboard Arms and fingers
Cooling H20
Memory Not much even if its working
Video Card(s) Imagination
Case Lumpy excuse for a body
Power Supply Red Bull and Hate
#3
Rads outside a 912 look tacky. Get some slim Yate Loons.
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
1,825 (0.42/day)
Likes
60
System Name Air Cooled Caselabs BH8
Processor Intel Coffee Lake 8700K @ 4.7
Motherboard MSI Gaming M5
Cooling Noctua D15s, 5x 140mm Noctua Chromax, 1x 120mm Noctua Chromax, 2x 80mm Noctua fans
Memory G. Skill Trident Z RGB series 3200mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS STRIX GTX 1080
Storage Samsung EVO 840 250gb SSD, Samung EVO PRO 256gb SSD, 2 TB WD Black Edition HDD.
Display(s) 24" Asus Gaming ROG 144hz
Case Black Caselabs BH8
Power Supply 850w EVGA SuperNOVA G2 Gold PSU with individually sleeved black cables
Mouse Logitech Wireless G403
Keyboard Corsair Mechanical Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 10
#4
IHmm

As soon as i turned on the unit, pump came on but water movement didnt. This is how it is mounted in the 3d disc diagram... what am i doing wrong?! Not sure if my bends are to drastic, if so I will have to remount on the top of the case? Wont toy around with it until I get a professional opinon from yall


 
Last edited:

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,732 (5.74/day)
Likes
9,518
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H150i PRO RGB
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080ti SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#5
Where is the rest of the coolant?

When I fill those loops, they are 90% full with coolant before I power them on. You can always disconnect the CPU block and lower it to help bleed the loop, but with what I see, it seems like you used the additive bottle straight into the res. Essentially the coolant should fill the tubes to the top of the radiator level. There is a bit of air lock in the loop, but powering the loop should send that air lock into the reservoir once powered up. You can try laying the case on its back and see if that helps.

Only other tip I have it to make sure the flow into the CPU block is correct and the flow in and out of the bottom of the rad is correct.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2009
Messages
1,577 (0.51/day)
Likes
461
Location
Los Angeles/Orange County CA
System Name Vulcan
Processor i6 6600K
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z170X UD3
Cooling Thermaltake Frio Silent 14
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB (2 x 8GB)
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 970
Storage Mushkin Enhanced Reactor 1TB SSD
Display(s) QNIX 27 Inch 1440p
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Cooler Master V750
Software Win 10 64-bit
#6
To add a bit, It seems you have no reservoir or fill port. So I agree with sneekypeet that you just filled the rad/pump with fluid and not the whole loop.

What I do is fill my res to near the top, turn on the pump and keep filling the tubes are full and the level stays near full in the res. I also leave the cap off for a while so air bubbles can escape there. You don't want any trapped air in there.

Hope that helps.
 

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,732 (5.74/day)
Likes
9,518
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H150i PRO RGB
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080ti SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#7
His res is built into the top of the radiator on the Drive setup. I do agree the cap should be left off to allow air to move, and add fluid as needed.
 
Joined
Aug 17, 2009
Messages
1,577 (0.51/day)
Likes
461
Location
Los Angeles/Orange County CA
System Name Vulcan
Processor i6 6600K
Motherboard GIGABYTE Z170X UD3
Cooling Thermaltake Frio Silent 14
Memory 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB (2 x 8GB)
Video Card(s) ASUS Strix GTX 970
Storage Mushkin Enhanced Reactor 1TB SSD
Display(s) QNIX 27 Inch 1440p
Case Fractal Design Define S
Audio Device(s) On Board
Power Supply Cooler Master V750
Software Win 10 64-bit
#8

sneekypeet

Super Moderator
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,732 (5.74/day)
Likes
9,518
System Name His
Processor Intel i9 7920X
Motherboard Asus Prime X299 Deluxe
Cooling Corsair H150i PRO RGB
Memory G.Skill TridentZ RGB 32GB @ 3600MHz
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080ti SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case Cooler Master Cosmos C700P (Inverted Layout)
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony Receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#9
^^ Edit. I'm just not sure if he dumped in the mixture or if he added water and just didn't finish filling. It seems he just added the bottle and that isn't enough to fill the kit. I believe the bottle he has is supposed to be mixed before its added.
 
Joined
Jan 18, 2006
Messages
1,825 (0.42/day)
Likes
60
System Name Air Cooled Caselabs BH8
Processor Intel Coffee Lake 8700K @ 4.7
Motherboard MSI Gaming M5
Cooling Noctua D15s, 5x 140mm Noctua Chromax, 1x 120mm Noctua Chromax, 2x 80mm Noctua fans
Memory G. Skill Trident Z RGB series 3200mhz
Video Card(s) ASUS STRIX GTX 1080
Storage Samsung EVO 840 250gb SSD, Samung EVO PRO 256gb SSD, 2 TB WD Black Edition HDD.
Display(s) 24" Asus Gaming ROG 144hz
Case Black Caselabs BH8
Power Supply 850w EVGA SuperNOVA G2 Gold PSU with individually sleeved black cables
Mouse Logitech Wireless G403
Keyboard Corsair Mechanical Gaming Keyboard
Software Windows 10
#10
^^ Edit. I'm just not sure if he dumped in the mixture or if he added water and just didn't finish filling. It seems he just added the bottle and that isn't enough to fill the kit. I believe the bottle he has is supposed to be mixed before its added.
Yes the print that tells you on the bottle to add water is so microscopic tiny. This system is great, sneeky. 22c!!!!! with crapy branded thermal paste!

One more problem: I have five 120mm fans going. For some reason, two others fans lights (color blue fans) will turn on, but the fan will not spin? Is my psu not projecting enough electric at this point running crossfire and a liquid cooling setup?

Thanks for all the help btw
 
Last edited:

Yo_Wattup

New Member
Joined
Jan 26, 2012
Messages
789 (0.36/day)
Likes
198
Location
Brisbane, Australia
System Name Desktop/Gamer/Digital Audio Wokstation ||| HTPC
Processor 2500k @ 4.65ghz ||| AMD A8 @ 3.6ghz
Motherboard ASUS P8Z68-V Pro
Cooling Noctua NH-D14 with single Blue Antec Tri-Cool 120mm ||| Stock
Memory 16GB G.Skill Ripjaws X 1600 @1900mhz 8-9-9-24 ||| 8GB G.Skill 1600 CL9
Video Card(s) 2x HIS HD6950 2GB Crossfire, 6970 clocks ||| HD6550D
Storage 120GB Intel 320 series SSD + 2TB storage ||| 1TB Seagate
Display(s) 32" Sony Bravia LCD 1080p ||| 50" Hitachi Plasma 1080p
Case Raidmax Raptor modded to 7 fans ||| A compact HP Case
Audio Device(s) Firewire audio interface + two 9" studio monitors, 450 REAL watts ||| onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX 750W ||| generic 400W
Software Win 7 Ultimate + Win 8 consumer preview||| Win 7 Pro
Benchmark Scores Never drops below 60fps Battlefield 3 everything on max, fov 90. :D
#11
Ok first of, please find the edit button located in the bottom right corner of your posts and learn its nuances. Triple posting is frowned upon;)
Hahah, you really don't like multi-posting do you? Every time I see you your telling someone not to do it. :laugh: :pimp: