• We've upgraded our forums. Please post any issues/requests in this thread.

Cooling issues on stock speeds.

Joined
Apr 7, 2008
Messages
425 (0.12/day)
Likes
43
Location
Clermont, FL
System Name Fixxer Upper
Processor Intel Core2Quad Q9450 @ 2.66Ghz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage Formula x48
Cooling Xigmatec 120mm Rifle Cooler
Memory 2 GB (2 x 1 GB) DDR2-1066 OCZ Reaper
Video Card(s) XFX HD4890 1GB DDR5 CF w/ XFX HD4850 1GB DDR3
Storage Western Digital 320 Caviar in Raid 0, Samsung Spingpoint F1 500GB
Display(s) LG 22" (L226WTQ)
Case Silverstone TJ09
Audio Device(s) Supreme FX II w/ Logitech G51 5.1
Power Supply BFG 1000W Modular PSU
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Benchmark Scores 7.7 in Windows 7
#1
Ok, so I have an Athlon x2 5200+ 90nm w/ an arctic cooling Freezer 64 pro. It is idling right now @ 40 degrees C. So here is the scenario. I have recently moved into a place that didn't have AC. I went from 74 degrees F to 90 degrees F. So my core temps sored to almost 47 degrees C. I didn't see any problems with that as it was hot. When it was in 74 degree F it was running at 30-31 degrees C at idle. Now I have AC again and it is 75 degrees right now, I was wondering why my comp is idling @ 40 degrees C? I have cool n' quiet enabled (not overvolting or anything), and all fans are dust free. Wire management is good...could it be the MX-2 thermal paste was affected by the vast temp change and just needs to be reset? In which case i'll just pick up some Arctic Silver 5 as I am out of MX-2. (*note* placement of the computer is exactly the same as in my old house)
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2008
Messages
425 (0.12/day)
Likes
43
Location
Clermont, FL
System Name Fixxer Upper
Processor Intel Core2Quad Q9450 @ 2.66Ghz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage Formula x48
Cooling Xigmatec 120mm Rifle Cooler
Memory 2 GB (2 x 1 GB) DDR2-1066 OCZ Reaper
Video Card(s) XFX HD4890 1GB DDR5 CF w/ XFX HD4850 1GB DDR3
Storage Western Digital 320 Caviar in Raid 0, Samsung Spingpoint F1 500GB
Display(s) LG 22" (L226WTQ)
Case Silverstone TJ09
Audio Device(s) Supreme FX II w/ Logitech G51 5.1
Power Supply BFG 1000W Modular PSU
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Benchmark Scores 7.7 in Windows 7
#2
no advice? :(
 
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.64/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#3
Even with the best air cooler you can get temps below what your ambient temp is(like the degrees in your room).
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2008
Messages
425 (0.12/day)
Likes
43
Location
Clermont, FL
System Name Fixxer Upper
Processor Intel Core2Quad Q9450 @ 2.66Ghz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage Formula x48
Cooling Xigmatec 120mm Rifle Cooler
Memory 2 GB (2 x 1 GB) DDR2-1066 OCZ Reaper
Video Card(s) XFX HD4890 1GB DDR5 CF w/ XFX HD4850 1GB DDR3
Storage Western Digital 320 Caviar in Raid 0, Samsung Spingpoint F1 500GB
Display(s) LG 22" (L226WTQ)
Case Silverstone TJ09
Audio Device(s) Supreme FX II w/ Logitech G51 5.1
Power Supply BFG 1000W Modular PSU
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Benchmark Scores 7.7 in Windows 7
#4
I am a bit confused by your answer...are you saying you "can't" get it below your ambient temp? I understand that, but I was wondering why the 9 degree difference (in Celsius) on idle speeds with a 1 degree difference (in Fahrenheit) of room temperature.

I see where it is confusing shadow, I have Air conditioning again...i am no longer in 90 degrees anymore, I'm now at 75 degrees (in Fahrenheit).
 
Last edited:
Joined
May 27, 2005
Messages
3,651 (0.80/day)
Likes
341
Location
Little Rock Arkansas, United States
System Name Monolith
Processor Intel Xeon E3110 Wolfdale@3.5GHz
Motherboard MSI P35-Neo
Cooling Active Air
Memory 4GB DDR2 800
Video Card(s) Sapphire HD 3850 512MB PCI-E
Storage 1 x 80GB Internal, 1 x 250GB Internal, 1 x 40GB External
Display(s) Acer X203w
Case Generic black case with locking front bezel
Audio Device(s) Creative SB Audigy 2 ZS
Power Supply 500 Watt Seasonic M12
Software Windows 7 Ultimate x64
#5
Your heatsink could have shifted in the move. It wouldn't hurt trying to reset it with new thermal paste. In the meantime press on all the fasteners to make sure none of them are loose.
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,633 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,357
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#6
you could have knocked your cooler loose, but MX2 is non curing, so I doubt its the TIM at fault here. Possibly bad contact from the move tho. Wont hurt one but to pull the cooler and reaply the TIM.


Edit: damn your fast thermo....lol
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,529 (4.58/day)
Likes
3,161
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#7
90F is like 32C, so I think the contact between the heatsink got messed up in the move like Thermo said. Get your hands on some AS5 or something else that's good and re-apply. Wouldn't hurt to blow out the heatsink with a can of air as you reseat, either.
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2008
Messages
425 (0.12/day)
Likes
43
Location
Clermont, FL
System Name Fixxer Upper
Processor Intel Core2Quad Q9450 @ 2.66Ghz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage Formula x48
Cooling Xigmatec 120mm Rifle Cooler
Memory 2 GB (2 x 1 GB) DDR2-1066 OCZ Reaper
Video Card(s) XFX HD4890 1GB DDR5 CF w/ XFX HD4850 1GB DDR3
Storage Western Digital 320 Caviar in Raid 0, Samsung Spingpoint F1 500GB
Display(s) LG 22" (L226WTQ)
Case Silverstone TJ09
Audio Device(s) Supreme FX II w/ Logitech G51 5.1
Power Supply BFG 1000W Modular PSU
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Benchmark Scores 7.7 in Windows 7
#8
Alright. So I am just gonna pick up some more AC5. Thanks for the advice guys. You'll hear nothing more about this unless it doesn't work...then again planning on going to Spider arch. so this will be just a "in the meantime" thing. Thanks again though.
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,633 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,357
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#9
Um.... MX2 is "good" its rated better than AS5
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,529 (4.58/day)
Likes
3,161
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#10
My 5200+ Windsor idles at 30c and loads at 40-42c at 1.33v, about 68f ambiant
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2008
Messages
425 (0.12/day)
Likes
43
Location
Clermont, FL
System Name Fixxer Upper
Processor Intel Core2Quad Q9450 @ 2.66Ghz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage Formula x48
Cooling Xigmatec 120mm Rifle Cooler
Memory 2 GB (2 x 1 GB) DDR2-1066 OCZ Reaper
Video Card(s) XFX HD4890 1GB DDR5 CF w/ XFX HD4850 1GB DDR3
Storage Western Digital 320 Caviar in Raid 0, Samsung Spingpoint F1 500GB
Display(s) LG 22" (L226WTQ)
Case Silverstone TJ09
Audio Device(s) Supreme FX II w/ Logitech G51 5.1
Power Supply BFG 1000W Modular PSU
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Benchmark Scores 7.7 in Windows 7
#11
Um.... MX2 is "good" its rated better than AS5
Yeah, it also doesn't have metal so less chance of shock damage if you get it on your motherboard, I've just always used AS5 and I only used MX-2 because it was already on the heatsink.

My 5200+ Windsor idles at 30c and loads at 40-42c at 1.33v, about 68f ambiant
Mine used too before I moved. :shadedshu
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,529 (4.58/day)
Likes
3,161
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#12
I doubt a jump from 74 to 90 would make that big of a difference. It got messed up in the move.
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2008
Messages
425 (0.12/day)
Likes
43
Location
Clermont, FL
System Name Fixxer Upper
Processor Intel Core2Quad Q9450 @ 2.66Ghz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage Formula x48
Cooling Xigmatec 120mm Rifle Cooler
Memory 2 GB (2 x 1 GB) DDR2-1066 OCZ Reaper
Video Card(s) XFX HD4890 1GB DDR5 CF w/ XFX HD4850 1GB DDR3
Storage Western Digital 320 Caviar in Raid 0, Samsung Spingpoint F1 500GB
Display(s) LG 22" (L226WTQ)
Case Silverstone TJ09
Audio Device(s) Supreme FX II w/ Logitech G51 5.1
Power Supply BFG 1000W Modular PSU
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Benchmark Scores 7.7 in Windows 7
#13
Yeah. It must have...I was wondering though. Would I see a difference if i upgraded to a Zalmann? I was on a budget when i built this computer and couldn't afford it, but now I have the cash, and was wondering would it be worth the $45+?
 

sneekypeet

Unpaid Babysitter
Staff member
Joined
Apr 12, 2006
Messages
24,633 (5.77/day)
Likes
9,357
System Name His
Processor Intel i7 5930K
Motherboard Asus Maximus V Extreme
Cooling Thermalright True Spirit 140 BW Rev.A
Memory Corsair Dominator Platinum ROG
Video Card(s) nVidia GTX 1080 SLI with EVGA Hybrid coolers.
Storage Samsung 960 Pro / Crucial MX300 750GB / Seagate 1TB Spinner
Display(s) Sony 43" 4K 60hz
Case SilverStone Temjin TJ11
Audio Device(s) Realtek on board > Sony receiver > Cerwin Vega's
Power Supply Thermaltake TPSG 1050W
Mouse Always Changing
Keyboard Always Changing
Software Windows 10 Pro 64
#14
Yeah. It must have...I was wondering though. Would I see a difference if i upgraded to a Zalmann? I was on a budget when i built this computer and couldn't afford it, but now I have the cash, and was wondering would it be worth the $45+?
yes and no. It will perform better than stock, but there are better coolers out there for the money. Having a Zalman 9500 myself, the flaw I see , is that the zalman isnt for "extreme" OC's as it gets saturated with heat easily at higher voltages.

the Arctic Coolers are usually great performers for the money, also the Xigmatech line is getting lots of good words from users here as well!

I say stick with yours over $45 at a zalman....or look at a couple of shoot outs on coolers and see what is better than your AC.
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,529 (4.58/day)
Likes
3,161
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#15
Joined
Dec 23, 2007
Messages
16,919 (4.64/day)
Likes
1,622
Location
Omaha, NE
System Name The ShadowFold Draconis (Ordering soon)
Processor AMD Phenom II X6 1055T 2.8ghz
Motherboard ASUS M4A87TD EVO AM3 AMD 870
Cooling Stock
Memory Kingston ValueRAM 4GB DDR3-1333
Video Card(s) XFX ATi Radeon HD 5850 1gb
Storage Western Digital 640gb
Display(s) Acer 21.5" 5ms Full HD 1920x1080P
Case Antec Nine-Hundred
Audio Device(s) Onboard + Creative "Fatal1ty" Headset
Power Supply Antec Earthwatts 650w
Software Windows 7 Home Premium 64bit
Benchmark Scores -❶-❸-❸-❼-
#16
Yea im gonna pick up that Xigmatek with my next rig :)
 
Joined
May 19, 2007
Messages
7,662 (1.98/day)
Likes
536
Location
c:\programs\kitteh.exe
Processor C2Q6600 @ 1.6 GHz
Motherboard Anus PQ5
Cooling ACFPro
Memory GEiL2 x 1 GB PC2 6400
Video Card(s) MSi 4830 (RIP)
Storage Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320 GB Perpendicular Recording
Display(s) Dell 17'
Case El Cheepo
Audio Device(s) 7.1 Onboard
Power Supply Corsair TX750
Software MCE2K5
#17
+1 on xigmatec
 

hat

Enthusiast
Joined
Nov 20, 2006
Messages
18,529 (4.58/day)
Likes
3,161
Location
Ohio
System Name Starlifter :: Dragonfly
Processor i5 2400 :: Athlon II x4 630
Motherboard MSI H67-G43-B3 :: GIgabyte GA-770T-USB3
Cooling Corsair H70 :: Thermaltake Big Typhoon
Memory 4x2GB DDR3 1333 :: 2x1GB DDR3 1333
Video Card(s) 2x PNY GTX1070 :: GT720
Storage Plextor M5s 128GB, WDC Black 500GB :: Mushkin Enhanced 60GB SSD, WD RE3 1TB
Display(s) Acer P216HL HDMI :: None
Case Antec SOHO 1030B :: Old White Full Tower
Audio Device(s) X-Fi Titanium Fatal1ty Pro - iLive IT153B Soundbar (optical) :: None
Power Supply Corsair CX600w :: Unknown
Software Windows 10 Pro - Plex Server on Dragonfly
Benchmark Scores >9000
#18
I will use my Freezer 64 as long as I can!! I'm very happy with it. XIGMATEK is great for people who want cheap performance though.
 
Joined
Apr 7, 2008
Messages
425 (0.12/day)
Likes
43
Location
Clermont, FL
System Name Fixxer Upper
Processor Intel Core2Quad Q9450 @ 2.66Ghz
Motherboard ASUS Rampage Formula x48
Cooling Xigmatec 120mm Rifle Cooler
Memory 2 GB (2 x 1 GB) DDR2-1066 OCZ Reaper
Video Card(s) XFX HD4890 1GB DDR5 CF w/ XFX HD4850 1GB DDR3
Storage Western Digital 320 Caviar in Raid 0, Samsung Spingpoint F1 500GB
Display(s) LG 22" (L226WTQ)
Case Silverstone TJ09
Audio Device(s) Supreme FX II w/ Logitech G51 5.1
Power Supply BFG 1000W Modular PSU
Software Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Benchmark Scores 7.7 in Windows 7
#19
Don't get me wrong. I love the Freezer 64 pro, I just thought with the $45 price tag you would just actually recieve something that keeps it cooler. But yeah, how is the freezer 64 on the Phenom 9850?